青年调查报告:青年对和平教育的知识和兴趣

青年对和平教育的知识和兴趣

四月2021, 全球和平教育运动(GCPE) 进行了一项以青年为重点的调查,以更好地了解高中和大学适龄青年对和平与社会正义教育的认识和兴趣。 本报告是全球运动的调查结果和分析的结果。 最终,GCPE 希望这份报告能够深入了解青年对和平教育的认识和兴趣,以增加青年的参与度。

和平与社会正义教育青年调查由全球和平教育运动青年团队进行,该团队主要由乔治城大学正义与和平研究项目的学生组成。 团队成员包括:Keaton Nara、Caelan Johnston、Maude Peters、Heather Huang 和 Gabby Smiley。 报告和分析由项目经理 Micaela Segal de la Garza 和全球和平教育运动协调员 Tony Jenkins 监督。

全球和平教育青年运动团队正在跟进调查对象,以探索和平教育青年网络的发展。

主要调查结果和建议转载如下。 如需更多详细信息和分析,请下载完整报告。

下载完整报告

主要发现

  • 在现有的和平教育项目和计划方面,受访者对暴力预防、人权、全球发展、全球公民和性别暴力表现出最高水平的兴趣。
  • 受访者在冥想和恢复性实践中表现出最少的意识。
  • 人们对社会正义有着浓厚的兴趣,特别是在性别暴力、恐怖主义和种族暴力问题上,所有这些都被确定为跨人口群体的重要主题。
  • 对于世界上大学年龄的人口统计数据——无论是参加和平研究计划还是未参加和平研究计划——政治两极分化是对社会正义项目和计划感兴趣的最受好评的主题。
  • 在衡量对以青年为中心的培训的兴趣时,调查发现,平均而言,受访者对创意渠道的兴趣最高(即通过创意表达引入新想法的机会)

图书馆推荐

  • 大多数受访者,无论年龄、地点或参加和平研究项目的情况如何,都在校外了解了和平教育项目和项目。 尽管有明显的兴趣,但学校明显缺乏正规的和平教育。
    推荐:支持在学校发展满足学生兴趣的和平教育机会; 培养学生的技能,使他们可以倡导和平教育计划(受访者对此表现出浓厚的兴趣)。
  • 和平教育本质上是社区驱动的,而青年似乎最感兴趣的恰恰是社区方面。
    推荐:在学校建立俱乐部,教育学生了解和平教育,同时创造一个空间来建立社区联系; 将和平教育带到社区中心; 提供和平教育课后课程。
  • 为青年提供积极参与教育的机会至关重要。
    推荐: 和平教育计划和内容应源自并旨在满足学生的社会正义利益,而不仅仅是教师/教职员工的利益。
  • 社交媒体平台对于青年节目和社区参与非常重要。 Instagram、Facebook、Twitter 和时事通讯成为受访者最常用的工具。
    推荐:创建吸引青年的社交媒体平台; 创建吸引他们感兴趣的和平教育中特定主题的帖子; 平均而言,受访者对以青年为重点的培训的创意渠道表现出最高的兴趣,而社交媒体是实现这一目标的绝佳媒介。
  • 许多受访者对新的以青年为中心的网络表现出兴趣,尽管参加和平研究计划通常表明兴趣水平更高。
    推荐:为那些有兴趣参与并相互联系的人开发一个以青年为中心的新网络。

和平教育宣传

GCPE 对学生能够倡导自己的课程和教育特别感兴趣。 青年参与决策至关重要,这就是为什么受访者被问及他们对学习技能的兴趣,以在他们的学校和社区倡导和平教育。 总体而言,受访者对学习和平教育宣传技能表现出高度的兴趣,各组的平均响应为 3.6,其中 5 表示兴趣最高。 下图展示了这些趋势:

1评论

  1. 在政治伦理道德危机和宗教冲突的背景下,在当前核扩散的困境中,渴望就全球安全达成一致结论的世界领导层和所有主要宗教教官面临着许多复杂的问题。

    目前学术界、机构和管理机构只致力于解决问题的体现; 忽视其日益增加的消极方面,成为摆在全世界面前的一项复杂挑战。 我们的意思是,在全球化和快速技术变革的影响下,今天我们可以看到腐败和不平等如何引发经济焦虑,破坏社会凝聚力、人权与和平,从而阻碍公众信任。

    在这种情况下,基于可持续发展目标 4.7 核心价值观的教育是重新定义当代政治和专业工具的最佳工具,这是我们为实现 2030 年议程采取综合行动所需要的。 此外,我们推进可持续发展目标 4.7 的理念深深扎根于指导全球社会在一个概念中采用可持续发展目标 16.a 的基本思想,以促进和平与非暴力,并欣赏文化对可持续发展的贡献。 事实上,没有和平与全球团结,世界领导层就不可能对可持续发展目标的成功给予虔诚的关注。

    目前,我们 10 至 29 岁的年轻一代的良心尤其脆弱,被用于各种形式的暴力行为,是需要“一致结论”以改善我们的后代并在实际中防止核扩散的最大全球挑战事实。

    不仅如此,我们的宗教教义之间的差距和差异为种族主义和狂热主义的生意提供了安全的基础,这些活动加剧了战争和恐怖主义的基础,同时根据他们自己的政治立场和立场而忽视了核扩散的致命方面。 因此,迄今为止,战争和恐怖主义的基础对于世界领导层和所有在和平与文化多样性的旗帜下挣扎的主要宗教教义来说仍然是不可战胜的。 此后,在这种情况下,世界的金钱和枪支力量不足以打击种族主义、激进化和恐怖主义的思想,这些思想掩盖了宗教自恋背后的罪恶。

    这些都是不可忽视的真实事实。 在这方面,国际社会需要智力(文学)的创新来重新定义我们年轻一代的良心,他们迷恋于信仰的迷宫(宗教教义)、地球的魅力和挫折的致命方面,同时发展他们的专业技能。 这就是我们所说的“UN-SDG 4.7”的定义,是帮助国际社会真正实现“UN-SDG16.a”的唯一途径。

    目前,被推荐为“全校版”的世界各地伟大作家的小说和文学作品大多将新一代的良心引导到一个超出他们想象的难以捉摸的世界,以推进我们确实需要建立的文化多样性一个“更公平的世界”。 毫无疑问,它代表了与过去和现在的情况相关的伟大意识形态,但实际上没有适当的解决方案,我们确实需要推进文化多样性。 它可以作为一种在一定限度内提高道德水平的娱乐,也可以帮助学生发展他们的沟通技巧。 在这里,我们提出的建议是通过发展文学的魅力来娱乐和启蒙来扩展这一想法,因为今天专业、政治和科学洞察力的成就正在超越自然过程而复活,而人性和灵性的恩惠正在下降到一个危险的深渊,并为种族主义、激进化、不容忍和其他人道主义危机创造了基础,成为在所有文化、规范和习俗之间建立信任的障碍,我们确实需要促进文化多样性,为所有可持续发展的成功做出贡献发展目标。

    我们的项目是专门为学术中心设计的,通过娱乐和启示来传达启蒙的基础。 它构成了对英语文学的一次实验,用几句话进行有效的解释和本质的探索,为读者凝聚时间。 我们的管理原则将科学和信仰结合在一起,以超越宗教界限、边界和差异,实现全人类的统一; 还有政治观点,以阐明有效生活的科学基础,并说明积极的心态和美德如何改善个人的生活,并最终改善社会的福祉。

    我们的目的不仅是为了统一被宗教分裂和竞争所分隔的人类的存在,而且还要在我们继承的思想体系之外,将我们信仰的所有定义推广到一个单一的思想、观念和概念中,以促进与科学的对话,消除灵性。 老实说,它的设计目的是为了在和平的基础上统一我们的存在——而不是为了竞争、争论或争论。

    我相信,你们都会很乐意关注采用我们提出的意识形态,因为我们确实需要实现我们的目标。 谢谢

加入讨论...

YOUTH SURVEY REPORT: Youth Knowledge & Interest in Peace Education

Youth Knowledge & Interest in Peace Education

In April 2021, the Global Campaign for Peace Education (GCPE) conducted a youth-focused survey to better understand awareness of and interest in peace and social justice education among high-school and college-age youth. This report is the result of the Global Campaign’s findings and analysis. Ultimately, GCPE hopes that this report will provide insight into youth awareness of and interest in peace education in an attempt to increase youth engagement.

The Youth Survey on Peace and Social Justice Education was conducted by the Global Campaign for Peace Education Youth Team, composed primarily of students in the Justice and Peace Studies Program at Georgetown University. Team members include: Keaton Nara, Caelan Johnston, Maude Peters, Heather Huang, and Gabby Smiley. The report and analysis was supervised by Micaela Segal de la Garza, Program Manager, and Tony Jenkins, Coordinator of the Global Campaign for Peace Education.

The Global Campaign for Peace Education Youth Team is following up with survey respondents to explore the development of a peace education youth network.

Key findings and recommendations are reproduced below.  For additional details and analysis, download the complete report.

Download the Complete Report

Key Findings

  • In terms of existing peace education projects and programs, respondents demonstrated the highest levels of interest in violence prevention, human rights, global development, global citizenship, and gender violence.
  • Respondents demonstrated the least amount of awareness in meditation and restorative practices.
  • There was a strong interest in social justice, specifically in regard to issues of gender violence, terrorism, and racial violence, all of which were identified as significant subjects across demographic groups.
  • For world college-age demographics – both enrolled and not enrolled in peace studies programs – political polarization was the top-rated subject for interest in social justice projects and programs.
  • In gauging interest in youth-focused training, the survey found that respondents demonstrated, on average, the highest level of interest in creative outlets (i.e. opportunities to bring in new ideas through creative expression)

Recommendations

  • The majority of respondents, regardless of age, location, or enrollment in peace studies programs, learned about peace education programs and projects outside of school. There is a distinct lack of formal peace education in schools despite marked interest.
    Recommendation: Support the development of peace education opportunities in schools that address students’ interests; capacitate students with skills so they may advocate for peace education programming (something respondents showed strong interest in).
  • Peace education is inherently community-driven, and it is precisely that communal aspect that youth seem to be most interested in.
    Recommendation: Create clubs in schools that educate students about peace education and simultaneously create a space to forge community ties; bring peace education to community centers; provide peace education after-school programs.
  • Providing opportunities for youth to be active participants in their education is of the utmost importance.
    Recommendation: Peace education programming and content should be derived from and designed to meet students’ social justice interests and not just the interests of teachers/faculty.
  • Social media platforms are incredibly important for youth programming and community engagement. Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and newsletters emerged as the most used tools among respondents.
    Recommendation: Create social media platforms that engage youth; create posts that appeal to the specific topics within peace education that they express interest in; respondents demonstrated, on average, the highest level of interest in creative outlets for youth-focused training, and social media is an excellent medium for this.
  • Many respondents demonstrated interest in a new youth focused network, though enrollment in a peace studies program generally indicates a higher level of interest.
    Recommendation: Develop a new youth focused network for those who are interested to become involved and make connections with one another.

Peace Education Advocacy

The GCPE has a particular interest in students being able to advocate for their own curriculum and education. Youth inclusion in decision making is of the utmost importance, which is why respondents were asked about their interest in learning skills to advocate for peace education in their schools and communities. In general, respondents demonstrated high levels of interest in learning peace education advocacy skills with the average response across groups being 3.6 with 5 being the highest level of interest. These trends are demonstrated in the below graph:

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

1 thought on “YOUTH SURVEY REPORT: Youth Knowledge & Interest in Peace Education”

  1. Many complicated questions confront the world’s leadership and all leading religious instructors who thirst for a unanimous conclusion for global security in the current predicament of nuclear proliferation within the context of the moral crisis in political ethics and religious conflicts.

    Presently academia, institutions and governing bodies are dedicated only to tackle the embodiment of the problems; ignoring its negative aspects that increasing day by day as a complicated challenge before the entire world. We mean within the impacts of globalization and rapid technical change, today we can see how corruption and inequality raises economic anxiety and undermines social cohesion, human rights and peace hindering the public trust at large.

    Within these circumstances, education based on the core values of SDG 4.7 is the best instrument to redefine the contemporary political and professional tools that we do need for an integrated action to achieve the 2030 Agenda. Furthermore our idea to advance SDG 4.7 deeply holds the basic ideology to guide the global community to adopt the SDG 16.a in one notion, for the promotion of peace and non-violence and appreciation of cultures contribution to sustainable developments. In fact, without peace and global unity, it is impossible for the world’s leadership to pay devout attention for the success of SDGs by time.

    Presently conscience of our young generation between 10 to 29 ages is especially vulnerable, being used in all form of violence and is the biggest global challenge that needs a “unanimous conclusion” for the betterment of our future generation and to prevent the NUCLEAR PROLIFERATION in actual fact.

    More than that, the gap and difference between our religious teachings are providing the safe ground for the business of racism and fanaticism that exacerbate the basis of war and terrorism while ignoring the lethal aspect of nuclear proliferation according to their own political stances and positions. Thus, the basis of war and terrorism are yet invincible for the world leadership and all the leading religious teachings that struggling with the ensign of peace and cultural diversity till now. Thereafter in these circumstances the world’s money and gun power are not potential enough to combat the thoughts of racism, radicalization and terrorism that conceal their sins behind religious narcissism.

    These are authentic facts that cannot be ignored at any cost. In this regard, the world community needs an innovation of intellectual power (literature) to redefine the conscience of our young generation that enthralled in mazes of faith (religious teachings), terrestrial glamour and the lethal aspects of frustration, while developing their professional skills. This is what we mean is the definition of “UN-SDG 4.7”, the only one way to help the world community to achieve the “UN-SDG16.a” in actual fact.

    Presently the novels and literature of great authors from all around the world that recommended for “unabridged school edition” mostly navigates the conscience of the new generation to an elusive world that is out of their imagination to advance the cultural diversity that we do need to build a “fairer world”. No doubt, it represents the great ideologies that related to past and present situation, but without a proper solution that we do need to advance the cultural diversity in actual fact. It serves as an entertainment for moral advancement within a limit and also helps the students to develop their communication skills. Here what we propose is an extension of that idea by developing the graces of literature for both entertainment and enlightenment, because today the achievements of professional, political and scientific insight are resurrecting beyond the process of Nature and the graces of humanity and spirituality are descending to a dangerous abyss, and creating the basis for racism, radicalization, intolerance and other humanitarian crisis as obstacles on path to build trust among all cultures, norms and mores, that we do need to advance the cultural diversity to contribute for the success of all sustainable development goals.

    Our project is specially designed for academic hubs, to convey the basis for enlightenment by means of entertainment and revelation. It constitutes an experiment with English literature to condense the time for its readership with effective explanation and essential exploration within few words. Our governing principle brings science and faith together for the unification of all mankind beyond not only religious boundaries, borders, and differences; but also political views to illuminate the scientific foundations of effective living and to illustrate how positive mindsets and virtues enhance the lives of individuals and, ultimately, the well-being of society.

    Our intention is not only to unify the existence of mankind separated by religious schisms and competitions, but also to promote all the definitions of our faith in a single idea, notion, and concept beyond our inherited systems of thought to promote a dialogue with science that eliminates spirituality. It is designed, honestly, for the unification of our existence on the foundations of peace–not for competition, argument, or controversy.

    I believe, you all would be glad to pay attention to adopt our proposed ideology as we do need to achieve our goals in actual fact. Thank you

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top