青年非政府组织呼吁努力解决宗教不容忍问题(加纳)

(转自: 新闻加纳。 12 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

By 加纳新闻社

总部位于塔马利的非政府组织青年发展与声音倡议(YOVI)呼吁政府和其他利益相关者加紧努力解决北部地区的宗教不容忍问题,以实现和平共处。

YOVI呼吁所有参与追求和平的利益攸关方合作,优先考虑对话和宽容,解决紧张局势的根源,营造有利于该地区持久和平、和谐与发展的环境。

YOVI呼吁所有参与追求和平的利益攸关方合作,优先考虑对话和宽容,解决紧张局势的根源,营造有利于该地区持久和平、和谐与发展的环境。

YOVI 发表并由执行主任侯赛因·拉赫曼先生签署并抄送加纳通讯社的声明,以纪念每年 12 月 XNUMX 日的国际青年日 (IYD),以引起人们对青年的关注今年国际年的主题是:“为青年提供绿色技能,迈向可持续发展的世界”。

声明称,“我们YOVI深切关注最近发生的宗教不宽容事件,导致塔马利一些年轻穆斯林学者提出攻击性批评,这有可能加剧紧张局势并阻碍北部地区追求和平。”

声明说:“虽然我们承认并尊重北部地区的宗教多样性,但我们坚信,狂热分子传播攻击性的宗教批评是误导性的,不利于追求和平。 和平不是通过分裂或将自己的信仰强加于人来实现的,而是通过理解、尊重和对话来实现的。”

它认识到和平与发展之间的重要联系,并呼吁所有利益攸关方,包括北部地区和平委员会、地区安全委员会、传统当局、宗教领袖和青年团体齐心协力,优先考虑该地区的建设和平努力,以促进社会发展。区域经济转型。

它呼吁所有宗教领袖,无论是基督徒还是穆斯林,营造包容、宽容和宗教间对话的氛围。

声明进一步敦促北部地区和平委员会、地区安全委员会、传统当局和青年团体合作创建对话、和解和和平教育平台,并表示“这应该涉及与社区接触并解决紧张局势的其他根本原因”例如社会经济差异、政治边缘化和历史恩怨。”

报告表示,必须认识到可持续和平需要采取全面的方法,并呼吁政府和其他非国家行为者优先考虑创造就业机会的举措,特别是针对该地区的年轻人。

报告指出,青年人的高失业率可能会滋生挫败感和不满情绪,而极端分子可能会利用这种情绪,招募弱势群体,基于宗教差异实施暴力。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Youth NGO calls for efforts to address religious intolerance (Ghana)

(Reposted from: News Ghana. August 12, 2023)

By Ghana News Agency

Youth Development and Voice Initiative (YOVI), an NGO based in Tamale, has called on government and other stakeholders to step up efforts to address religious intolerance in the Northern Region, for peaceful coexistence.

YOVI appealed to all stakeholders involved in the pursuit of peace to collaborate in prioritising dialogue and tolerance and addressing the root causes of tension to foster an environment conducive to lasting peace, harmony, and development in the region.

YOVI appealed to all stakeholders involved in the pursuit of peace to collaborate in prioritising dialogue and tolerance and addressing the root causes of tension to foster an environment conducive to lasting peace, harmony, and development in the region.

A statement issued by YOVI, and signed by Mr. Hussein Rahman, the Executive Director, and copied to the Ghana News Agency to commemorate the International Youth Day (IYD), which is observed on August 12, every year, to draw attention to youth issues, and this year’s IYD was on the theme: “Green Skills for Youth towards a Sustainable World.”

The statement said, “We at YOVI have observed with deep concern the recent incidences of religious intolerance leading to offensive criticism among some young Muslim scholars in Tamale, which has the potential to escalate tensions and hinder the pursuit of peace in the Northern Region.”

It said, “While we acknowledge and respect the religious diversity in the Northern Region, we firmly believe that the propagation of offensive religious criticism by zealots is misguided and counterproductive to the pursuit of peace. Peace is not achieved through division or the imposition of one’s beliefs onto others but rather through understanding, respect, and dialogue.”

It recognised the important nexus between peace and development and called on all stakeholders, including the Northern Regional Peace Council, Regional Security Council, traditional authorities, religious leaders, and youth groups to come together and prioritise peacebuilding efforts in the region to facilitate the socio-economic transformation of the region.

It called on all religious leaders, both Christian and Muslim, to foster an atmosphere of inclusivity, tolerance, and interfaith dialogue.

The statement further urged the Northern Regional Peace Council, the Regional Security Council, traditional authorities, and youth groups to collaborate to create platforms for dialogue, reconciliation, and peace education, saying “This should involve engaging with communities and addressing other underlying causes of tension such as socio-economic disparities, political marginalisation, and historical grievances.”

It said it was essential to recognise that sustainable peace required a holistic approach and called on the government and other non-state actors to prioritise job creation initiatives, particularly for young people in the region.

It indicated that high unemployment rates among the youth could breed frustration and discontent, which may be exploited by extremist elements, seeking to recruit vulnerable individuals to perpetrate violence based on religious differences.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top