青年领导运动:全球反对种族主义对话

20月XNUMX日,全球和平教育运动(GCPE)举办了“青年领导运动:全球反对种族主义对话”网络研讨会,重点是在当前围绕种族主义的反种族主义和反种族歧视运动中展现青年的声音。世界。

网络研讨会的目标是三方面的:1)促进关于种族和族裔歧视问题的富有成效的全球对话; 2)充当增强和平工作空间青年声音的授权平台,以及3)探索和平教育的方法改造压迫性系统的手段。

该网络研讨会由3个小组组成,为来自美国和加拿大,东欧和欧亚大陆以及东南亚的青年活动家之间进行区域对话提供了空间。 小组成员进行了30分钟的现场对话和问答环节。

对话是由全球和平教育运动的青年实习生设计和协调的,这些实习生为:基顿·奈良,纳雷格·库尤姆吉安,纳泽列·贾姆什迪和凯兰·约翰斯顿。 我们希望这次活动能够为全球运动未来以青年为主导和以青年为中心的努力提供催化剂。

完整的网络研讨会

现在可以观看完整的网络研讨会和区域对话的录像。

区域小组会议/访谈(*也包括在完整的网络研讨会中)

美洲

南亚

乌克兰

中亚

青年小组成员

美洲小组成员

陈冠希 - 加拿大

Alison Chan是面向社区的组织,程序,人员,项目,产品和合作伙伴的开发人员。 她居住在沿海萨利什人(Tsleil-Waututh),S'ólhTéméxw(Stó:lō),xʷməθkʷəy̓əm(Musqueam),也称为加拿大温哥华的传统无限制领土上,并在其中长大。 她对人员,社会,技术和团队的成功与交叉感兴趣,因此在计划开发,业务开发,沟通和营销,活动,人力资源,运营和网站开发角色方面拥有超过14年的工作和志愿服务经验。 她的工作和观点建立在对作为移民,有色人种,旅行者和运动员的话语,社会,政治,文化,语言,地理和心理学进行研究的基础上。 她在大学学士学位中花费了很大一部分时间研究世界各地的权力,公民社会和政府。 她是由青年领导的反种族灭绝组织STAND Canada的前执行董事兼临时传播总监。

凯西·孙(Kathy Sun) - 华盛顿特区

孙凯(Kathy Sun)是全球最大的致力于建设和平的组织“寻找共同点”首席执行官的特别助理。 在担任该职务期间,她领导了该组织在实地计划之外传播建设和平心态和技能的战略和实施工作。 她的工作和兴趣尤其集中于美国的年轻人。 之前,Kathy是Deloitte Consulting的战略与运营顾问,在该公司她曾在医疗保健和指数技术(例如AI和区块链)的交汇处工作。 她还领导了一个反人口贩运非营利组织首席执行官的无偿关系。 凯西(Kathy)毕业于斯沃斯莫尔学院(Swarthmore College),获得经济学和教育学荣誉学位。

伊莱恩·威廉姆斯 –弗吉尼亚

伊莱恩·威廉姆斯(Elaine Williams)是一位积极主义者,组织者,并为边缘化社区倡导公平与正义。 Elaine目前担任Virginia Community Voice的RVA Thrives主管。 她是将平等视角纳入住房,无家可归服务和社区参与方面的专家。 她热衷于为处于边缘化社区的人们提供工具,以根据每天影响其社区的问题做出决策。 伊莱恩(Elaine)的人生目标是激发人们充分利用内在的光芒,这将使他们觉醒成为真实自我的最佳版本。 业余时间,她喜欢与家人共度时光,写现代书法和训练成为跑步者。

南亚小组成员

阿卜杜勒·加法尔·纳扎里(Abdul Ghafar Nazari)– 阿富汗

民间社会活动家Abdul Ghafar Nazari。 他目前担任司法项目的高级顾问。 他在领先组织中拥有超过13年的经验。 他担任过领导和管理职务,并曾与NGO,银行,电信,项目等多个部门合作。 他还是许多国家和国际组织的志愿者。 他是亚洲21位青年领袖的研究员,一位青年世界大使。他是美国国务院赞助的中亚科技论坛,世界青年节和弗里德里希·艾伯特基金会的青年领袖论坛的校友。 此外,他还是阿富汗和巴基斯坦青年对话的代表,也是改革与变革网络的成员。 他被认证为国际廉正官员。 他获得了阿富汗和国外的无数赞誉。 他曾在许多全国性的会议和对话中担任领导角色。

Abdul拥有阿富汗大学国际关系硕士学位和喀布尔大学法律与政治科学学士学位,拥有阿富汗美国大学市场营销学士学位,拥有丝绸之路解决方案领导力文凭,并且是伊斯兰Qalah高中毕业。 他是2005年美国国际教育理事会的青年交流生。

Arwin Shams Siddiquee—— 孟加拉国

17岁的Arwin Shams Siddiquee是来自孟加拉国达卡的一名高中生,有抱负的作家和社会工作者。 Arwin目前主要担任各种青年组织的作家,并从事从动物福利到特殊需要教育的问题。 Arwin致力于专业地促进公平和公正待遇,并在与他合作的每个组织中积极推动这些目标。 Arwin认为,性别,种族,族裔和其他方面的差异绝不应该成为歧视的标准,我们每个人都有责任与同胞站在一起,为每个人创造一个更美好的世界。

艾玛琳·卡比(Emarine Kharbhih)–印度

埃玛琳·卡比(Emarine Kharbhih)是 脉冲非政府组织网络,她的工作包括将“冲动模型”扩展到尼泊尔,孟加拉国和缅甸等邻国,并与利益相关者建立伙伴关系,例如政府,公民社会组织,执法机构,律师,康复,重返社会服务提供商,尤其是跨境人口贩运案件。 她通过组织媒体人员,执法机构,律师,非政府组织的培训与各级利益攸关方合作,以提高他们的认识,并弥合他们之间的差距,以便为被贩运者和幸存者提供顺畅的沟通和适当的援助。

埃玛琳·卡比(Emarine Kharbhih)代表亚洲参加了伦敦国际青年咨询大会(IYAC)CEOP,为联合国制定了有关青年和网络犯罪的在线安全与保障的政策和主要建议。

2015年,Emarine参与了在香港亚洲人权委员会为印度办事处记录在印度的紧急人权侵犯申诉。 在此期间,她还发表了《 2015年少年司法修订法》和《 2016年印度婚内强奸妇女地位评论》。

在伦敦由英国高级专员公署在新德里举行的一次旅行中,她代表印度参加了伦敦会议,参加了高级利益相关者使用信息技术的能力建设,以冲动模式有效地打击了印度东北部的人口贩运活动。 她还参加了冲动模式下的跨境接触和缅甸和泰国学习之旅的印度代表。

她是 敏锐印度 研究员和 GP Birla妇女领袖奖学金 阿南塔·阿斯彭中心。

Heela Yoon –阿富汗

Heela Yoon是阿富汗妇女福利与发展协会(AWWDA)的创始人兼首席执行官,该协会是设在阿富汗的基层民间社会组织,致力于增强妇女和年轻妇女的权能和能力建设。 她目前作为第四位Cora Weiss建设和平研究员在全球妇女和平建设者网络(GNWP)工作,这是一项为期一年的研究金计划,由全球妇女和平建设者网络管理,旨在为受冲突影响国家的年轻妇女建设和平者提供支持,以支持在纽约联合国总部,负责执行《妇女,和平与安全》(WPS)和《青年,和平与安全》(YPS)议程。 作为纽约市Cora Weiss建设和平院士,Heela支持在孟加拉国,印度尼西亚,缅甸和菲律宾实施全球女性和平建设者青年和平与领导力计划全球网络,从而增强了年轻女性摆脱冲突的能力影响社区建立可持续和平并促进性别平等。 Heela还为来自40多个国家的基层建设和平民间社会组织的WPS和YPS重点重点和建议的数据收集和分析做出了贡献,这些资料将在《北京宣言和行动纲领》 25周年左右的过程中用于全球倡导。 在加入GNWP担任Cora Weiss建设和平研究员之前,Heela曾在阿富汗外交部(MoFA)担任联合国部服务台官员和协调员。 她负责处理联合国人口基金(UNFPA),国际电信联盟(ITU),国际民航组织(ICAO),世界知识产权组织(WIPO)和世界动物卫生组织(OIE)的服务台。 她还协助了联合国阿富汗援助团(联阿援助团)和安全理事会服务台。 她目前是在外交部执行关于联合国安理会第1325号决议的国家行动计划(NAP)的委员会成员。 Heela于2017年毕业于喀布尔大学,获得法律和政治学学士学位。她获得了阿富汗美国大学(AUAF)的BBA金融学第二个学士学位。 她目前是Global Nomads Group和阿富汗Soola领导学院的成员,并获得Chevening奖学金。

建立了民间社会组织后,Heela致力于使妇女摆脱贫困和文盲,并帮助她们参与需要她们生活的不同领域。

个人面试

Hulkar Kayumova –乌兹别克斯坦

Hulkar Kayumova拥有16年的专业经验,包括9年的英语作为外语教学和5年的Andijan教师培训。 她目前是“寻找共同点”的项目经理,负责管理安集延地区青年发展组织的赠款计划。 在过去的两年中,Hulkaroy在Shinon Global工作,负责管理医疗保健人员的在职专业发展,并协调有需要的患者的护理。 在她的职业生涯中,Hulkaroy成功地完成了两个颇具竞争力的IREX计划:卓越教学与成就(TEA)教学计划和Edmund Muskie奖学金计划。 她还管理过教育领域的项目,为美国国务院的专业发展和协调访问微奖学金计划的教师提供支持,以及以农村地区孕产妇保健为重点的无偿资助公共卫生项目。 Hulkaroy既拥有安迪延州立大学的新闻学学位,又拥有美国犹他大学的教育学硕士学位,重点是特殊教育。

Andrii Sikoryn –乌克兰

Andrii Sikoryn是一个16岁的少年,住在乌克兰。 安德烈(Andrii)在13岁那年就开始了积极主义的生活,当时他了解到这个世界需要改变,每个人,甚至是孩子,都可以使之成为现实。 作为一名年轻的点对点培训者,促进者,活动家和变革者,Andrii希望在这个世界上有所作为。 Andrii还是年轻倡议“ Double N”的领导者,该倡议由来自伊万诺-弗兰科夫斯克(乌克兰)的青少年团队组成,致力于青年参与,非正规教育和文化。 Double N为青少年创建青少年项目。 这个年轻人小组共同努力,通过挑战社会规范和增强青年权能来打破年龄定型观念并与年龄歧视作斗争。 目前,Andrii正在喀尔巴阡地区创建一个活跃的青少年社区,共同教育和组织不同的社会项目。 Andrii还是伊凡诺-弗兰科夫斯克众多教育,文化和艺术项目的组织者。 他甚至是文化管理与创意产业学院的培训师。 如今,他致力于研究青年参与乌克兰教育体系,并根据青年的需求和愿望设计方法,以改善这一状况。 总体而言,安德里(Andrii)相信,今天的新一代具有在我们的世界中创造积极变化的力量。

对话协调员/采访员

该对话是由以下人员构思,协调和进行的: GCPE的2020年暑期实习生 来自乔治敦大学。

奈良基顿 是乔治敦大学('22)的学生,主修正义与和平研究,辅修普通话。 当她设想并创建了国际气候变化对等教育组织IPECC时,她发现了自己对高中和平教育的热情,该组织旨在培训高中生如何向同龄人讲授有关环境正义的知识。 该组织的使命是建立在全球同理心的愿景基础上的,在那里,学生可以意识到和同情其他国家因气候变化而面临的各种斗争。 在奈良(Georgetown)期间,奈良(Nara)继续研究她热衷的正义问题,包括以巴冲突,大规模监禁和环境保护。 她对未来的愿景建立在她渴望为世界各地的社区赋权和教育的愿望中。 奈良希望将自己的工作与全球和平教育运动结合起来,以将国内和国际社区联系起来,以逐步改变全球冲突。

纳雷格·库尤姆健(Nareg Kuyumjian) 是乔治敦大学国际关系专业的高级学生。 作为一名本科生,他以各种形式的活动参与了校园内外的环保运动,包括组织现场活动以禁止在加利福尼亚使用一次性聚苯乙烯泡沫塑料,研究和分析循环经济系统,以及振兴校园内的回收计划。 他计划通过在公共政策硕士学位和环境管理硕士学位获得双学位的基础上,以在环境问题上的工作经验为基础,以期更深入地探索资源的可持续管理如何推动跨界和平建设。 除了从事环境工作外,Nareg还在洛杉矶,他的家乡和华盛顿特区积极参与了亚美尼亚裔美国人社区。 在担任其他职务后,他为竞选所做的贡献感到自豪,这使国会两院都首次承认美国历史上的亚美尼亚种族灭绝。 在生活的各个方面,纳雷格(Nareg)一直都是将个人视为整体的一部分,并打算利用自己的技能和经验在世界范围内建立团结而又充满力量的社区。

纳泽勒·贾姆希迪 是乔治敦大学(Georgetown College)的政府,正义与和平专业的学生。 Nazeleh是性别平等和人权/维权人士。 她在设计,创建和管理旨在促进发展中国家和战后国家阿富汗的性别平等,增强妇女权能和人权的项目和计划方面拥有丰富的经验。 她曾协助各种政府和国际组织,例如市政当局,农业部,阿富汗红新月会,联合国和美国国际开发署,将性别观点纳入其政策,战略和基于阿富汗的基础文件中。 Nazeleh致力于人权和妇女权利,她帮助阿富汗27个省的许多妇女承认并主张其作为人类及其社区成员的权利。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

1 关于“青年领导运动:反种族主义全球对话”的思考

  1. pingback的: 阿富汗妇女的自由取决于教育和赋权 - 全球和平教育运动

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Youth Leading the Movement: A Global Dialogue on Anti-Racism

On November 20, the Global Campaign for Peace Education (GCPE) hosted “Youth Leading the Movement: A Global Dialogue on Anti-Racism,” a webinar focused on foregrounding youth voices in the current anti-racism and anti-ethnic discrimination movement around the world.

The webinar’s goal was three-fold: 1) facilitate a productive global dialogue on the issues of racial and ethnic discrimination, 2) act as an empowering platform for youth voices in the peaceworking space, and 3) explore the approach of peace education as a means to transform oppressive systems.

The webinar featured 3 panels, providing a space for regional dialogue amongst youth activists from USA & Canada, Eastern Europe & Eurasia, and Southeast Asia. A 30-minute live dialogue and Q&A session followed the panels.

The dialogue was designed and coordinated by youth interns of the Global Campaign for Peace Education: Keaton Nara, Nareg Kuyumjian, Nazeleh Jamshidi, and Caelan Johnston. We hope this event to be a catalyst for future youth-led and youth-focused efforts of the Global Campaign.

Full Webinar

Video recordings of the full webinar and regional dialogues are now available.

Regional Panels/Interviews (*also included in the full webinar)

Americas

South Asia

Ukraine

Central Asia

Youth Panelists

Americas Panelists

Alison Chan –  Canada

Alison Chan is a community-oriented developer of organizations, programs, people, projects, products, and partnerships. She lives in and grew up in the traditional unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples (səl̓ilwətaɁɬ təməxʷ (Tsleil-Waututh), S’ólh Téméxw (Stó:lō), xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam)), also known as Vancouver, BC, Canada. Her interest in the success and intersectionalities of people, society, technology, and teams led to over 14 years of experience working and volunteering in program development, business development, communications and marketing, campaigns, human resources, operations, and web development roles. Her work and perspectives are built on the foundation of studying discourses, society, politics, cultures, languages, geography, and psychology as an immigrant, person of colour, traveler, and athlete. She spent a large portion of her undergraduate degree studying power, civil society, and governments around the world. She is the former Executive Director and interim Communications Director of STAND Canada, a youth-led anti-genocide organization.

Kathy Sun – Washington, DC

Kathy Sun is the Special Assistant to the CEO at Search for Common Ground, the world’s largest dedicated peacebuilding organization. In her role, she leads the strategy and implementation of the organization’s efforts to spread peacebuilding mindsets and skills beyond its on-the-ground programming. Her work and interests focus particularly on young people in the US. Previously, Kathy was a Strategy & Operations Consultant at Deloitte Consulting, where she worked at the intersection of healthcare and exponential technologies, such as AI and blockchain. She also led the probono relationship with the CEO of an anti-human trafficking nonprofit. Kathy graduated from Swarthmore College with an Honors degree in Economics and Education.

Elaine Williams – Virginia

Elaine Williams is an activist, organizer, and advocate for equity and justice for marginalized communities. Elaine currently serves as the Director of RVA Thrives with Virginia Community Voice. She is an expert in bringing an equity lens into housing, homeless services, and community engagement. She is passionate about equipping individuals in marginalized communities with the tools to make decisions around issues that impact their community on a daily basis. Elaine’s life goal is to inspire people to tap into their inner light that will lead to their awakening to becoming the best version of their authentic self. In her free time, she enjoys spending time with family, doing modern calligraphy, and training to become a runner.

South Asia Panelists

Abdul Ghafar Nazari – Afghanistan

Abdul Ghafar Nazari, Civil Society Activist. He is currently working as Senior Advisor to a justice project. He has over 13 years of experience working with leading organizations. He has held leadership and management roles and worked with various sectors from NGO to Banking from Telecommunications to Projects. He also volunteers with many national and international organizations. He is a fellow of Asia 21 Young Leaders, One Young World Ambassador, He is an alumnus of the U.S. Department of State-sponsored Tech Forum Central Asia, World Youth Festival, and the Friedrich Ebert Foundation’s Young Leaders Forum. Additionally, he was a delegate in Afghanistan and Pakistan Youth Dialogue, and a member of Reform and Change Network. He is certified as an international integrity officer. He has received numerous accolades from Afghanistan and abroad. He has been in the leadership role for many conferences and dialogues that are organized nationally.

Abdul holds a master’s degree in International Relations from University of Afghanistan and bachelor’s degree from the Law and Political Sciences Faculty of Kabul University, He has a diploma in Marketing from American University of Afghanistan, He has a Leadership diploma from Silk Road Solutions and is a graduate of Islam Qalah High School. He was a youth exchange student through the American Councils for International Education 2005.

Arwin Shams Siddiquee – Bangladesh

Arwin Shams Siddiquee, 17, is a high school student, aspiring writer, and social worker from Dhaka, Bangladesh. Arwin is currently engaged primarily as a writer for various youth organizations and has worked with issues ranging from animal welfare to special needs education. Arwin strives to professionally promote equity and fair treatment and actively push for these in every organization he works with. Arwin believes that differences such as gender, race, ethnicity and others should never be a metric for discrimination and that it is the duty of each of us to stand with our fellow human beings to create a better world for everyone.

Emarine Kharbhih – India

Emarine Kharbhih is the Program Manager of Impulse NGO Network, her work consists of scaling Impulse Model to neighboring countries like Nepal, Bangladesh and Myanmar and creating partnerships with stakeholders such as Governments, CSOs, Law Enforcement Agencies, Lawyers, Service Providers for Rehabilitation, Reintegration especially for cross border human trafficking cases. She engages with stakeholders at many levels in terms of organizing trainings to sensitize them through training of Media persons, law enforcement agencies, lawyers, NGOs and bridges the gap between them for smooth communication and proper assistance to trafficked persons and survivors.

Emarine Kharbhih represented Asia in International Youth Advisory Congress (IYAC) CEOP, London to formulate Policies and Key Recommendations on Online Safety and Security for Youth and Cyber Crimes for the United Nations Organisation.

In 2015, Emarine was involved in documenting Urgent Appeal on Human Rights Violations in India for India Desk at Asian Human Rights Commission in Hong Kong. During that time, she has also published a Critique on the Juvenile Justice Amendment Act 2015 and the Status of Women on Marital Rape in India, 2016.

She represented India in London, in a trip supported by the British High Commission in New Delhi, to participate in the Capacity Building of High Level Stakeholders in Using Information Technology, to Effectively Combat Human Trafficking in North East India under Impulse Model. She also participated in the Indian Delegates of the Cross Border Exposure and Learning Trip to Myanmar and Thailand under Impulse Model.

She is an Acumen India Fellow and G P Birla Fellowship for Women Leaders of Ananta Aspen Centre.

Heela Yoon – Afghanistan

Heela Yoon is the Founder and CEO of Afghan Women Welfare and Development Association (AWWDA) which is a grassroot level civil society organization based in Afghanistan working towards women and young women empowerment and capacity building. She is currently working at the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders (GNWP) as the Fourth Cora Weiss Peacebuilding Fellow, a one-year fellowship program managed by the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders for young women peacebuilders from conflict affected countries to support global advocacy at the United Nations Headquarters in New York for the implementation of the Women, Peace, and Security (WPS) and Youth, Peace, and Security (YPS) Agendas.  As the Cora Weiss Peacebuilding Fellow in New York City, Heela supports the implementation of the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders’ Young Women for Peace and Leadership Program in Bangladesh, Indonesia, Myanmar, and the Philippines, which enhances the capacities of young women from conflict affected communities to build sustainable peace and promote gender equality. Heela has also contributed to data collection and analysis of key WPS and YPS priorities and recommendations from grassroots peacebuilding civil society organizations from over 40 countries, which will be used for global advocacy during the processes around the 25th anniversary of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action. Prior to joining GNWP as the Cora Weiss Peacebuilding Fellow, Heela worked as a Desk officer and Coordinator for the United Nations Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Afghanistan (MoFA). She was responsible for handling the desks of United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), International Telecommunication Union (ITU), International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and The Word Organization for Animal Health (OIE). She has also assisted the United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan (UNAMA) and the Security Council Desks. She is currently a member of the committee for implementing National Action Plan (NAP) on UNSCR 1325 at MoFA. Heela graduated from Kabul University with a bachelor’s in law and Political Science in 2017. She has a second bachelor’s degree in BBA Finance from the American University of Afghanistan (AUAF). She is currently a member of Global Nomads Group and Soola’s School of Leadership Afghanistan and recipient of Chevening scholarship.

Having founded her civil society organization, Heela is committed to uplifting women from poverty and illiteracy and helping them participate in different spheres of life where they are needed.

Individual Interviews

Hulkar Kayumova – Uzbekistan

Hulkar Kayumova has 16 years of professional experience, including 9 years in teaching English as a foreign language and 5 years in teacher training in Andijan. She is currently a Program Manager for Search for Common Ground, where she is administering a grant-making program for youth development organizations in the Andijan region. For the last 2 years, Hulkaroy has worked for Shinon Global, where she manages in-service professional development for healthcare workers, and coordinates care for patients in need. During her career, Hulkaroy has successfully completed two competitive IREX Programs: Teaching Excellence and Achievement (TEA) Program and the Edmund Muskie Fellowship Program. She has also managed projects in the field of education, supporting teachers in Professional Development and Coordinated Access Microscholarship Program by the US Department of State, as well as grant-funded public health projects focused on maternal health in rural areas. Hulkaroy holds both a degree in Journalism from Andijan State University and a Masters in Education with a focus on Special Education from the University of Utah (United States).

Andrii Sikoryn – Ukraine

Andrii Sikoryn is a 16 year-old teenager living in Ukraine. Andrii began a life of activism when he was 13, when he understood that this world needs changes and everyone–  even children– can make them possible. As a youth peer-to-peer trainer and facilitator, activist, and change-maker, Andrii wants to make a difference in this world. Andrii is also a leader in the young initiative “Double N” – a team of teenagers from Ivano-Frankivsk (Ukraine), which works with youth participation, non-formal education, and culture. Double N creates projects from teenagers for teenagers. Together, this team of young people work to break down the age stereotypes and fight against ageism by challenging societal norms and empowering youth. Currently, Andrii is creating a community of active teens in the Carpathian region that educate and organize different social projects together. Andrii is also an organizer of numerous educational, cultural and art projects in Ivano-Frankivsk. He is even a trainer at the School of Cultural Management and Creative Industries. Today he works on research of youth participation in the Ukrainian educational system and designs methodologies to improve it according to youth needs and desires. Overall, Andrii believes that today the new generation has the power of creating positive changes in our world.

Dialogue Coordinators / Interviewers

This dialogue was conceived, coordinated, and conducted by GCPE’s 2020 summer interns from Georgetown University.

Keaton Nara is a student at Georgetown University (’22) majoring in Justice and Peace Studies, while minoring in Mandarin Chinese. She discovered her passion for peace education in high school, when she envisioned and created International Peer Education on Climate Change—IPECC—an organization designed to train high school students how to teach their peers about environmental justice. The organization’s mission is founded in a vision of global empathy, where students can become aware and compassionate about the different struggles other countries face from climate change. During her time at Georgetown, Nara has continued to study justice issues she is passionate about, including the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, mass incarceration, and environmentalism. Her vision for the future is founded in her desire to empower and educate communities across the world. Nara hopes to use her work with the Global Campaign for Peace Education to connect domestic and international communities in an effort to gradually transform global conflicts.

Nareg Kuyumjian is a senior studying International Relations at Georgetown University. As an undergraduate, he has engaged in the environmental movement on and off campus with his various forms of activism including field organizing to ban single-use Styrofoam in California, researching and analyzing circular economy systems, and revitalizing the recycling program on campus. He plans to build on his experience working on environmental issues by completing a dual-degree in Master’s in Public Policy and Master’s in Environmental Management with the intention of exploring more deeply how the sustainable management of resources can drive transboundary peacebuilding. Alongside his environmental work, Nareg is heavily involved in his Armenian-American community both in Los Angeles, his hometown, and in Washington DC. Upon other roles, he is proud of his contribution to the campaign that resulted in both houses of Congress recognizing the Armenian Genocide for the first time in US History. In all aspects of life, Nareg has always been one that sees the individual as part of the whole and intends to use his skills and experience to build united and empowered communities across the world.

Nazeleh Jamshidi is a student majoring in Government, and Justice and Peace, in Georgetown College. Nazeleh is a gender equality and human/women’s rights activist. She has extensive experience in designing, creating, and managing projects and programs that promote gender equality, women empowerment and human rights in developing and post-war countries, Afghanistan. She has assisted various governmental and International organizations such as Municipalities, the Department of Agriculture, the Afghan Red Crescent Society, the UN, and USAID to include gender perspectives as part of their policies, strategies, and Afghanistan-based foundational documents. Nazeleh is committed to human rights and women’s rights and she has helped a considerable number of women in 27 provinces of Afghanistan to recognize and claim their rights as humans and members of their communities.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Freedom of Afghan Women Depends on Education and Empowerment - Global Campaign for Peace Education

Join the discussion...