معلمو السلام في العالم يقفون مع المعلمين الأفغان

المعلمين: وكلاء التنمية البشرية والاجتماعية

"التعليم هو لبنة البناء الأساسية لكل مجتمع." - الأمم المتحدة ، التعليم للجميع

"... لتأكيد الإيمان بحقوق الإنسان الأساسية…. المساواة في الحقوق بين الرجل والمرأة ... "- ميثاق الأمم المتحدة

"لكل شخص الحق في التعليم." - الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان

"... ضمان التعليم الجيد المنصف والشامل للجميع [بما في ذلك التعليم الابتدائي والثانوي المجاني لجميع الأولاد والبنات]" - الأمم المتحدة ، أهداف التنمية المستدامة

لقرون ، تم الاعتراف بالتعليم كعنصر أساسي في تنمية الإنسان. المجتمعات التي تتميز بمشاركة الشعوب تعتبرها أساسية للحكم الرشيد. منذ تأسيس الأمم المتحدة ، أصبح شرط لا غنى عنه للتنمية الاجتماعية. هذه المبادئ الأساسية ، التي تم تلخيصها في الاقتباسات أعلاه من معايير الأمم المتحدة وأكدها المجتمع المدني الدولي ، أصبحت الآن في خطر شديد في ظل حكم طالبان الأصولي الكاره للمرأة.

التعليم الجيد ، والتحضير لحياة مرضية ومواطنة مسؤولة في مجتمع ميلاد الفرد والمشاركة في مجتمع عالمي متنوع وسريع ، يقوضها تفسير طالبان الخاص وغير الأرثوذكسي للإسلام باعتباره المناهج الأساسية لجميع المدارس. القرآن لا يعطي قيمة إنسانية أقل للمرأة.

إن القيود الشديدة على تعليم الفتيات والشابات بمنعهن من الالتحاق بالمدارس الثانوية والجامعة تنتهك حقهن الأساسي في الحصول على تعليم جيد ، وتحرم المجتمع من إمكانات نصف السكان ، وتقف في طريق التنمية الاقتصادية والسياسية. وهو أمر ضروري لمستقبل قابل للحياة لأفغانستان.

أصبح المشاركون في الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام وأتباعها على دراية بكل من ضرورة تعليم الفتيات ومثابرة المعلمين الأفغان في توفيره من خلال تقارير من سكينة يعقوبي، مؤسس المعهد الأفغاني للتعليم. من الأمثلة الأكثر وضوحا على المثابرة والالتزام المهني للمعلمين الأفغان في التقارير على نطاق واسع مؤتمر صحفي للمطالبة بدفع رواتب المعلمين.

إن أكثر العوائق فظاعة ووضوحًا أمام التعليم الأفغاني في الوقت الحالي هو وضع معلميه المتفانين والشجعان. كان العديد منهم يدرسون بدون رواتب لأشهر ، ولا شك في أنهم يقدمون مساهمات اجتماعية أخرى قدمها المعلمون دائمًا. كثير منهم ، رجالاً ونساءً ، هم المعيلون الوحيدون لأسرهم.

في هذا الوقت ، فإن الإجراء الأكثر بناءًا الذي يجب اتخاذه من أجل رفاهية هؤلاء المعلمين وأسرهم وبلدهم هو أن يقوم البنك الدولي بتحويل بعض المساعدات الإنسانية التي يمكن أن تدفع رواتبهم.

تمت صياغة الرسالة وتعميمها بواسطة Code Pink (مستنسخة أدناه و متاح للتوقيع هنا) إلى الرئيس بايدن ، حيث إن الولايات المتحدة تحمل وزنًا أكبر لدى البنك أكثر من الدول الأخرى. يتم حث القراء على التوقيع على هذه الرسالة ، ويمكن لأولئك الذين يرغبون في اتخاذ المزيد من الإجراءات توجيه رسائل مباشرة إلى البنك الدولي وإلى رؤساء دولهم وممثلي الأمم المتحدة ، داعين إلى دعمهم لهذه المبادرة ، وإلى المنظمة الدولية وكافة أجهزتها وجميع أعضاء المجتمع الدولي للمطالبة بالامتثال للمعايير الدولية كشروط مسبقة لأي تعامل مع طالبان.  (-بار ، 10/5/21)

اطلب من إدارة بايدن والبنك الدولي الإفراج عن أموال لدفع رواتب المعلمين والعاملين الصحيين الأفغان

وجهت النساء الأفغانيات نداءً عاجلاً بشأن عدم دفع رواتب المعلمات والعاملات في مجال الرعاية الصحية الأفغانيات. أضف اسمك إلى العريضة التي تطالب إدارة بايدن والبنك الدولي وأعضاء الكونغرس الرئيسيين بإلغاء تجميد الأموال الأفغانية لدفع رواتب المعلمين والعاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية الأفغان.

وقع الخطاب هنا

عزيزي الرئيس بايدن والبنك الدولي وأعضاء الكونغرس الرئيسيين (انظر أدناه للتعرف على أعضاء الكونغرس المحددين) ،

وفقًا لنساء في أفغانستان ، تسمح طالبان للفتيات بالالتحاق بالمدارس الابتدائية (الصفوف 1-6). لم يفتحوا بعد الصفوف 7-12 للفتيات لكنهم تعهدوا بذلك. ومع ذلك ، هناك عقبة رئيسية: عدم دفع رواتب المعلمين. يوجد حاليًا أكثر من 120,000 ألف معلمة في المدارس الحكومية في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، ونصفهن تقريبًا مصدر الدخل الوحيد لأسرهن. من الصعب للغاية ، بل من المستحيل ، مطالبة هؤلاء المعلمين بمواصلة التدريس بدون أجر.

يرجى الإفراج عن الأموال الأفغانية لدفع رواتب المعلمين الأفغان.

تواجه نفس الأزمة العاملات في مجال الرعاية الصحية الأفغانيات. هناك أكثر من 13,000 عاملة رعاية صحية في أفغانستان ، بما في ذلك الأطباء والقابلات والممرضات والقائمين بالتحصين وموظفات أخريات. تم دفع معظمها من خلال البنك الدولي من خلال الصندوق الاستئماني لإعادة إعمار أفغانستان (ARTF) ، ولكن منذ يونيو ، توقف التمويل. وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإن النظام الصحي على وشك الانهيار. حدثت زيادة كبيرة في حالات الإصابة بالحصبة والإسهال. عودة ظهور شلل الأطفال هو خطر كبير ؛ ما يقرب من نصف الأطفال يعانون من سوء التغذية ؛ تم إغلاق ما يقرب من 1 من كل 4 مستشفيات لـ COVID ولا تزال 2 مليون جرعة من لقاحات COVID19 غير مستخدمة بسبب نقص الموظفين لإعطائها.

يرجى إلغاء تجميد الأموال الأفغانية لدفع رواتب العاملات في مجال الرعاية الصحية والمعلمات الأفغانيات. يمكن أن تأتي هذه الأموال من صندوق الائتمان الأفغاني التابع للبنك الدولي أو 9.4 مليار دولار من الأموال الأفغانية المجمدة في البنوك الأمريكية.

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

* بالإضافة إلى التعاقد مع الرئيس بايدن ، فإننا ندعو الأعضاء الرئيسيين التاليين في الكونغرس لهذه القضية:

لجنة الخدمات المالية بالبيت:
رئيسة مجلس الإدارة ماكسين ووترز ، والعضو المرتبة باتريك ماكهنري ، ونائب الرئيس جيك أوشينكلوس ؛

لجنة الخدمات المالية في مجلس النواب للتجارة الدولية والجمارك والتنافسية العالمية:
رئيس مجلس الإدارة توماس كاربر والعضو التصنيف جون كورنين ؛

لجنة مجلس الشيوخ للشؤون المالية:
رئيس مجلس الإدارة رون وايدن والعضو التصنيف مايك كرابو ؛

لجنة مجلس الشيوخ للبنوك والإسكان والتنمية العمرانية:
رئيس مجلس الإدارة شيرود براون والعضو المرتبة باتريك تومي ؛

أعضاء لجنة مجلس الشيوخ المعنية بالبنوك والإسكان والتنمية الحضرية ، اللجنة الفرعية للأمن والتجارة الدولية والتمويل:
مارك وارنر ، بيل هاجرتي ، جون تيستر ، جون أوسوف ، كريستين سينيما ، مايك كرابو ، ستيف داينز ، جون كينيدي.

 

1 المرجع / اشارة رجعية

  1. تجويع طالبان - أم الشعب الأفغاني؟ - الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام

اشترك في النقاش...

World’s Peace Educators Stand with Afghan Teachers

Teachers:  Agents of Human and Social Development

“Education is the primary building block of every society.” – UN, Education for All

“… to reaffirm faith in fundamental human rights…. The equal rights of men and women…” – Charter of the United Nations

“Everyone has the right to education.” – Universal Declaration of Human Rights

“…ensure inclusive equitable quality education for all [including, free primary and secondary education for all boys and girls]” – UN, Sustainable Development Goals

For centuries education has been recognized as constitutive to the development of the human person. Societies characterized by peoples’ participation hold it to be essential to good governance. Since the founding of the United Nations, it has become a sine qua non of social development.  These basic principles, summarized in the above quotes from UN standards and affirmed by international civil society, are now in dire jeopardy under the fundamentalist-misogynist rule of the Taliban.

Quality education, preparation for a fulfilling life and responsible citizenship in one’s birth society and participation in a diverse and rapidly world community, is undermined by the Taliban’s idiosyncratic and non-orthodox interpretation of Islam as the primary curricula of all schools. The Koran does not assign lesser human value to women.

The severe restriction on the education of girls and young women in barring their secondary school and university attendance violates their fundamental right to a quality education, denies the society of the potential of half the population, and stands in the way of the economic and political development, requisite to a viable future for Afghanistan.

Participants in and followers of the Global Campaign for Peace Education have become familiar with both the necessity of girls education and the tenacity of Afghan educators in providing it through reports from Sakena Yacoobi, Founder of the Afghan Institute of Learning.  A most vivid example of the tenacity and vocational commitment of Afghan educators is in the widely reported press conference, demanding the payment of teachers salaries.

The most egregious and painfully evident obstacle to Afghan education at the moment is the situation of its dedicated and courageous teachers. Many have been teaching without salaries for months, no doubt while making other social contributions teachers have always made. Many of them, men as well as women, are the sole providers for their families.

At this time, the single most constructive action to be taken for the welfare of these educators, their families and their country is for the World Bank to transfer some of the humanitarian aid that could pay their salaries.

The letter drafted and circulated by Code Pink (reproduced below and available for signature here) is addressed to President Biden, as the United States carries more weight with the Bank than other nations. Readers are urged to sign this letter, and those who wish to take more action could address letters directly to the World Bank and to their own heads of state, and UN representatives, calling for their support for this initiative, and for the world body, all its agencies and all members of the international community to demand compliance with international standards as preconditions for any and all dealings with the Taliban.  (BAR, 10/5/21)

Tell the Biden administration and the World Bank to release funds to pay Afghan teachers & health workers

Afghan women have put out an urgent call regarding the non-payment of salaries to Afghan women teachers and healthcare workers. Add your name to the petition calling on the Biden Administration, the World Bank, and key members of Congress to unfreeze the Afghan funds to pay the salaries of Afghan teachers and healthcare workers.

sign the letter here

Dear President Biden, the World Bank, and key members of Congress (see below for the specific members of Congress),

According to women in Afghanistan, the Taliban is allowing girls to attend primary school (grades 1-6). They have still not opened grades 7-12 to girls but have pledged to do so. However, there is a major hurdle: the non-payment of salaries to teachers. There are currently more than 120,000 female teachers in public schools across the country, and about half of them are the sole source of income for their families. It is very difficult, even impossible, to ask these teachers to continue teaching without pay.

Please release the Afghan funds to pay the salaries of Afghan teachers.

The same crisis is facing Afghan women healthcare workers. There are over 13,000 female healthcare workers in Afghanistan, including doctors, midwives, nurses, vaccinators, and other female staff. Most of them were being paid through the World Bank via the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund (ARTF), but since June, the funding has stopped. Meanwhile, the health system is on the brink of collapse. There has been a surge in cases of measles and diarrhea; a resurgence of polio is a major risk; almost half the children are malnourished; nearly 1 in 4 COVID hospitals have shuttered and 2 million doses of COVID19 vaccines remain unused for lack of personnel to administer them.

Please unfreeze Afghan funds to pay Afghan women healthcare workers and teachers. This money could come from the World Bank Afghan Trust Fund or the $9.4 billion of Afghan funds frozen in U.S. banks.

Sincerely,

*In addition to contracting President Biden, we are calling on the following key members of Congress for this issue:

House Financial Services Committee:
Chairwoman Maxine Waters, Ranking Member Patrick McHenry, and Vice President Jake Auchincloss;

House Financial Services Committee on International Trade, Custom, and Global Competitiveness:
Chairman Thomas Carper and Ranking Member John Cornyn;

Senate Committee on Finance:
Chairman Ron Wyden and Ranking Member Mike Crapo;

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Development:
Chairman Sherrod Brown and Ranking Member Patrick Toomey;

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Development Subcommittee on Security and International Trade and Finance members:
Mark Warner, Bill Hagerty, Jon Tester, Jon Ossoff, Krysten Sinema, Mike Crapo, Steve Daines, John Kennedy.

 

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Starving the Taliban - or the Afghan people? - Global Campaign for Peace Education

Join the discussion...