世界和平教育工作者与阿富汗教师站在一起

教师:人类和社会发展的推动者

“教育是每个社会的主要组成部分。” —— 联合国,全民教育

“……重申对基本人权的信念……。 男女权利平等……”—— 联合国宪章

“每个人都有受教育的权利。” —— 世界人权宣言

“……确保为所有人提供包容、公平的优质教育[包括为所有男孩和女孩提供免费的小学和中学教育]”—— 联合国,可持续发展目标

几个世纪以来,教育一直被认为是人类发展的组成部分。 以人民参与为特征的社会认为它对善治至关重要。 自联合国成立以来,它已成为一个 必要条件 的社会发展。 在上述联合国标准引述中总结并得到国际公民社会肯定的这些基本原则,现在在塔利班的原教旨主义和厌女主义统治下岌岌可危。

塔利班将伊斯兰教作为所有学校的主要课程的特殊和非正统解释破坏了优质教育、为在出生社会中过上充实的生活和负责任的公民身份以及参与多元化和快速的世界社区所做的准备。 《古兰经》并未赋予女性较低的人类价值。

严格限制女童和年轻妇女接受中学和大学教育,侵犯了她们接受优质教育的基本权利,剥夺了社会一半人口的潜力,阻碍了经济和政治发展,这是阿富汗一个可行的未来所必需的。

全球和平教育运动的参与者和追随者已经熟悉女童教育的必要性以及阿富汗教育工作者通过 来自 Sakena Yacoobi 的报道,阿富汗学习研究所创始人。 阿富汗教育工作者的坚韧和职业承诺的一个最生动的例子是广泛报道的 新闻发布会,要求支付教师工资.

目前,阿富汗教育面临的最严重和最明显的障碍是其敬业和勇敢的教师的处境。 毫无疑问,许多人在没有薪水的情况下教书数月,同时也做出了教师一直以来做出的其他社会贡献。 他们中的许多人,男人和女人,都是家庭的唯一供养者。

目前,为这些教育工作者、他们的家人和他们的国家的福利而采取的唯一最具建设性的行动是让世界银行转移一些可以支付他们工资的人道主义援助。

Code Pink 起草和分发的信件(转载如下, 可在此处签名) 是写给拜登总统的,因为与其他国家相比,美国对世行的影响更大。 敦促读者在这封信上签名,那些希望采取更多行动的人可以直接致函世界银行及其国家元首和联合国代表,呼吁他们支持这一倡议,并 世界机构、其所有机构和国际社会的所有成员要求遵守国际标准,作为与塔利班进行任何和所有交易的先决条件。  (酒吧,10 年 5 月 21 日)

告诉拜登政府和世界银行拨款支付阿富汗教师和卫生工作者的工资

阿富汗妇女发出紧急呼吁,要求不向阿富汗女教师和医护人员支付工资。 在呼吁拜登政府、世界银行和国会主要成员解冻阿富汗资金以支付阿富汗教师和医护人员工资的请愿书上加上你的名字。

在这里签署这封信

尊敬的拜登总统、世界银行和国会主要成员(具体国会议员见下文),

据阿富汗妇女称,塔利班允许女孩上小学(1-6 年级)。 他们仍然没有向女孩开放 7-12 年级,但已承诺这样做。 然而,有一个主要障碍:未向教师支付工资。 目前,全国公立学校女教师有120,000万余人,其中一半左右是家庭的唯一收入来源。 要求这些教师继续无偿教学是非常困难的,甚至是不可能的。

请拨出阿富汗资金支付阿富汗教师的工资。

阿富汗女性医护人员也面临着同样的危机。 阿富汗有超过 13,000 名女性医护人员,包括医生、助产士、护士、疫苗接种员和其他女性工作人员。 其中大部分是通过世界银行通过阿富汗重建信托基金(ARTF)支付的,但自 1 月以来,资金已停止。 与此同时,卫生系统正处于崩溃的边缘。 麻疹和腹泻病例激增; 脊髓灰质炎复发是一个主要风险; 几乎一半的儿童营养不良; 近四分之一的 COVID 医院已经关闭,4 万剂 COVID2 疫苗由于缺乏管理人员而仍未使用。

请解冻阿富汗资金,以支付阿富汗女医护人员和教师的工资。 这笔钱可能来自世界银行阿富汗信托基金或冻结在美国银行的 9.4 亿美元阿富汗资金。

Sincerely,

*除了与拜登总统签约外,我们还呼吁国会的以下主要成员解决这个问题:

众议院金融服务委员会:
主席 Maxine Waters、排名成员 Patrick McHenry 和副总裁 Jake Auchincloss;

众议院国际贸易、海关和全球竞争力金融服务委员会:
主席 Thomas Carper 和高级成员 John Cornyn;

参议院财政委员会:
主席 Ron Wyden 和排名成员 Mike Crapo;

参议院银行、住房和城市发展委员会:
主席 Sherrod Brown 和排名成员 Patrick Toomey;

参议院银行、住房和城市发展委员会安全与国际贸易和金融小组委员会成员:
马克·华纳、比尔·哈格蒂、乔恩·泰斯特、乔恩·奥索夫、克里斯汀·西内玛、迈克·克拉波、史蒂夫·戴恩斯、约翰·肯尼迪。

 

1引用/ pingback的

  1. 饿死塔利班 - 还是阿富汗人民? - 全球和平教育运动

加入讨论...

World’s Peace Educators Stand with Afghan Teachers

Teachers:  Agents of Human and Social Development

“Education is the primary building block of every society.” – UN, Education for All

“… to reaffirm faith in fundamental human rights…. The equal rights of men and women…” – Charter of the United Nations

“Everyone has the right to education.” – Universal Declaration of Human Rights

“…ensure inclusive equitable quality education for all [including, free primary and secondary education for all boys and girls]” – UN, Sustainable Development Goals

For centuries education has been recognized as constitutive to the development of the human person. Societies characterized by peoples’ participation hold it to be essential to good governance. Since the founding of the United Nations, it has become a sine qua non of social development.  These basic principles, summarized in the above quotes from UN standards and affirmed by international civil society, are now in dire jeopardy under the fundamentalist-misogynist rule of the Taliban.

Quality education, preparation for a fulfilling life and responsible citizenship in one’s birth society and participation in a diverse and rapidly world community, is undermined by the Taliban’s idiosyncratic and non-orthodox interpretation of Islam as the primary curricula of all schools. The Koran does not assign lesser human value to women.

The severe restriction on the education of girls and young women in barring their secondary school and university attendance violates their fundamental right to a quality education, denies the society of the potential of half the population, and stands in the way of the economic and political development, requisite to a viable future for Afghanistan.

Participants in and followers of the Global Campaign for Peace Education have become familiar with both the necessity of girls education and the tenacity of Afghan educators in providing it through reports from Sakena Yacoobi, Founder of the Afghan Institute of Learning.  A most vivid example of the tenacity and vocational commitment of Afghan educators is in the widely reported press conference, demanding the payment of teachers salaries.

The most egregious and painfully evident obstacle to Afghan education at the moment is the situation of its dedicated and courageous teachers. Many have been teaching without salaries for months, no doubt while making other social contributions teachers have always made. Many of them, men as well as women, are the sole providers for their families.

At this time, the single most constructive action to be taken for the welfare of these educators, their families and their country is for the World Bank to transfer some of the humanitarian aid that could pay their salaries.

The letter drafted and circulated by Code Pink (reproduced below and available for signature here) is addressed to President Biden, as the United States carries more weight with the Bank than other nations. Readers are urged to sign this letter, and those who wish to take more action could address letters directly to the World Bank and to their own heads of state, and UN representatives, calling for their support for this initiative, and for the world body, all its agencies and all members of the international community to demand compliance with international standards as preconditions for any and all dealings with the Taliban.  (BAR, 10/5/21)

Tell the Biden administration and the World Bank to release funds to pay Afghan teachers & health workers

Afghan women have put out an urgent call regarding the non-payment of salaries to Afghan women teachers and healthcare workers. Add your name to the petition calling on the Biden Administration, the World Bank, and key members of Congress to unfreeze the Afghan funds to pay the salaries of Afghan teachers and healthcare workers.

sign the letter here

Dear President Biden, the World Bank, and key members of Congress (see below for the specific members of Congress),

According to women in Afghanistan, the Taliban is allowing girls to attend primary school (grades 1-6). They have still not opened grades 7-12 to girls but have pledged to do so. However, there is a major hurdle: the non-payment of salaries to teachers. There are currently more than 120,000 female teachers in public schools across the country, and about half of them are the sole source of income for their families. It is very difficult, even impossible, to ask these teachers to continue teaching without pay.

Please release the Afghan funds to pay the salaries of Afghan teachers.

The same crisis is facing Afghan women healthcare workers. There are over 13,000 female healthcare workers in Afghanistan, including doctors, midwives, nurses, vaccinators, and other female staff. Most of them were being paid through the World Bank via the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund (ARTF), but since June, the funding has stopped. Meanwhile, the health system is on the brink of collapse. There has been a surge in cases of measles and diarrhea; a resurgence of polio is a major risk; almost half the children are malnourished; nearly 1 in 4 COVID hospitals have shuttered and 2 million doses of COVID19 vaccines remain unused for lack of personnel to administer them.

Please unfreeze Afghan funds to pay Afghan women healthcare workers and teachers. This money could come from the World Bank Afghan Trust Fund or the $9.4 billion of Afghan funds frozen in U.S. banks.

Sincerely,

*In addition to contracting President Biden, we are calling on the following key members of Congress for this issue:

House Financial Services Committee:
Chairwoman Maxine Waters, Ranking Member Patrick McHenry, and Vice President Jake Auchincloss;

House Financial Services Committee on International Trade, Custom, and Global Competitiveness:
Chairman Thomas Carper and Ranking Member John Cornyn;

Senate Committee on Finance:
Chairman Ron Wyden and Ranking Member Mike Crapo;

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Development:
Chairman Sherrod Brown and Ranking Member Patrick Toomey;

Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Development Subcommittee on Security and International Trade and Finance members:
Mark Warner, Bill Hagerty, Jon Tester, Jon Ossoff, Krysten Sinema, Mike Crapo, Steve Daines, John Kennedy.

 

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Starving the Taliban - or the Afghan people? - Global Campaign for Peace Education

Join the discussion...