لماذا ندين التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية؟

(تم إعادة النشر من: يمكنني. 12 أكتوبر 2022)

أدت تهديدات روسيا باستخدام الأسلحة النووية إلى تصعيد التوترات ، وخفض عتبة استخدام الأسلحة النووية ، وزيادة مخاطر الصراع النووي والكارثة العالمية بشكل كبير. تقدم ورقة الإحاطة هذه لمحة عامة عن سبب ضرورة وفعالية نزع الشرعية عن هذه التهديدات.

لماذا ندين التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية؟

ورقة إحاطة من آيكان - أكتوبر 2022

لتحميل الورقة الإعلامية بصيغة pdf انقر هنا.

أدت تهديدات روسيا باستخدام الأسلحة النووية إلى تصعيد التوترات ، وخفض عتبة استخدام الأسلحة النووية ، وزيادة مخاطر الصراع النووي والكارثة العالمية بشكل كبير.

يزداد هذا الخطر بشكل أكبر من خلال ردود الحكومات الأخرى التي تشير ضمناً إلى انتقام محتمل باستخدام الأسلحة النووية ، ومن خلال التعليقات والتحليل الذي يفحص السيناريوهات التي قد تُستخدم فيها الأسلحة النووية في نزاع أوكرانيا ، وتقييم الآثار العسكرية المترتبة على ذلك.

تعمل هذه التطورات على تطبيع فكرة استخدام الأسلحة النووية وتقويض المحظورات التي دامت عقودًا ضد استخدامها. لذلك من الضروري أن يدين المجتمع الدولي باستمرار وبشكل قاطع أي وكل تهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية. يمكن أن تؤدي الإدانة المستمرة والصريحة من الحكومات والمجتمع المدني إلى وصم التهديدات النووية ونزع الشرعية عنها ، والمساعدة في استعادة وتقوية القاعدة المناهضة لاستخدام الأسلحة النووية ، وتعزيز جهود نزع السلاح وعدم الانتشار.

نزع الشرعية فعال

إن إدانة التهديدات ليست مجرد كلام فارغ: نزع الشرعية يعمل. لقد ثبت أنه يؤثر على سلوك الدول المسلحة نوويًا. مثل جميع الدول تقريبًا ، تعلق الدول المسلحة نوويًا قيمة كبيرة على الحفاظ على الشرعية في نظر المجتمع الدولي الأوسع. يمكن أن يعني فقدان الشرعية فقدان الدعم السياسي الدولي ، مما يجعل السعي وراء المصالح الوطنية أكثر صعوبة ، وفي الحالات الخطيرة يؤدي إلى العزلة والنبذ ​​والعقوبات وعواقب اقتصادية كبيرة - والتي بدورها قد تؤدي إلى عدم الاستقرار والاضطرابات المحلية.

لذلك عند السعي لتحقيق أهدافها الوطنية - مهما كانت أنانية أو ساخرة أو عدوانية - تبذل جميع الدول المسلحة نوويًا جهودًا جادة لتبرير أفعالها بموجب القانون الدولي وتصويرها على أنها ممارسة عادية ومقبولة تتبع السوابق الراسخة. على سبيل المثال ، تدعي جميع الدول الخمس الحائزة للأسلحة النووية في معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية أنها تمتثل بالكامل لالتزامات نزع السلاح الواردة في المعاهدة ، والقانون الإنساني الدولي. كانت روسيا تبذل قصارى جهدها لاستخدام أحكام ميثاق الأمم المتحدة لتبرير غزوها لأوكرانيا. حتى القرارات غير الملزمة الصادرة عن الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة يتم التعامل معها بجدية بالغة: فقد بذلت كل من روسيا والولايات المتحدة طاقة هائلة لجمع الأصوات للقرارات الأخيرة بشأن النزاع في أوكرانيا.

وهذا يعني أنهم حساسون تجاه النقد الذي قد يؤدي إلى فقدان الشرعية والدعم الدولي. على سبيل المثال ، ردت روسيا على انتقادات واسعة النطاق لتهديداتها النووية فيما يتعلق بنزاع أوكرانيا من خلال التراجع عن التهديدات (موضحة أن أي استخدام للأسلحة النووية سيكون وفقًا للعقيدة النووية المعلنة لروسيا) ومحاولة تبرير أفعالها يتماشى مع الممارسات الدولية المقبولة - بما في ذلك ، بشكل غريب ، الاستشهاد بالقصف النووي الأمريكي لهيروشيما باعتباره "سابقة". كما ردت روسيا بقوة وبشكل مطول على الإعلان الذي تبناه الاجتماع الأول للدول الأطراف في معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية والذي أدان بشكل قاطع "أي وجميع التهديدات النووية" ، على الرغم من أن الإعلان لم يذكر اسم روسيا ولم يحدد أي تهديد معين.

ولم يقتصر الأمر على الانتقادات الدولية للتهديدات النووية الأخيرة لروسيا التي دفعت الحكومة الروسية إلى توضيح موقفها والتأكيد على أنها لم تغير عقيدتها النووية ، وردود الدول الغربية المسلحة نوويًا - مثل وصف الولايات المتحدة للتهديدات النووية بأنها "غير مسؤولة" وأعلن الأمين العام لمنظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي أن "أي استخدام للأسلحة النووية أمر غير مقبول على الإطلاق ، وسوف يغير طبيعة الصراع تمامًا" - وقد ضاعف وعمم تأثير نزع الشرعية.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الكثير من معارضة الدول المسلحة نوويًا لمعاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية - قبل مفاوضاتها وبعدها - كانت مبنية بشكل صريح (وصحيح!) على الخوف من أن يكون للمعاهدة تأثير في نزع الشرعية عن الأسلحة النووية والأسلحة النووية. الردع. حذرت الولايات المتحدة حلفاءها في الناتو في عام 2016 من دعم التفاوض بشأن معاهدة حظر لأن المعاهدة تهدف إلى "نزع الشرعية عن مفهوم الردع النووي الذي يعتمد عليه العديد من حلفاء وشركاء الولايات المتحدة". قال بيان للناتو صدر عندما كانت معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية على وشك الدخول حيز التنفيذ أن أعضاء الناتو "يرفضون أي محاولة لنزع شرعية الردع النووي"

تعمل نزع الشرعية أيضًا من خلال القنوات غير الحكومية. هناك سجل طويل من الضغوط من المستهلكين والمجتمع المدني التي تؤثر على سلوك الشركات ، والعديد من هذه الأساليب تنطبق أيضًا على الأسلحة النووية. مع تزايد وصمة العار العامة ضد الأسلحة النووية ، يصبح تورط الشركات في الأسلحة النووية أكثر خطورة من الناحية التجارية. لقد أحرزت آيكان بالفعل تقدمًا كبيرًا في إقناع البنوك وصناديق التقاعد والمؤسسات المالية الأخرى بالتخلي عن الشركات المشاركة في إنتاج الأسلحة النووية وصيانتها. إن دخول معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية حيز التنفيذ ، مما يجعل الأسلحة النووية غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي - مثل الأسلحة البيولوجية والكيميائية والألغام الأرضية المضادة للأفراد والذخائر العنقودية - قد أضاف نفوذًا كبيرًا إلى هذا الجهد.

نزع الشرعية في الممارسة

العناصر الرئيسية لنزع الشرعية بنجاح عن تهديدات استخدام الأسلحة النووية هي:

  1. التركيز على ما سيحدث بالفعل إذا تم تنفيذ التهديد
    • أي استخدام للأسلحة النووية سيكون له عواقب إنسانية واسعة النطاق وكارثية [خاصة في المناطق المكتظة بالسكان].
    • تعني هذه العواقب أن التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية لا يمكن ولا يجب مناقشتها بحتة من منظور الجغرافيا السياسية والاستراتيجية والتكتيكات العسكرية.
    • حتى الأسلحة النووية "التكتيكية" المزعومة ، من النوع الذي يتوقع البعض أن تستخدمه روسيا في نزاع أوكرانيا ، عادةً ما يكون لها عوائد متفجرة في حدود 10 إلى 100 كيلوطن. وبالمقارنة ، فإن القنبلة الذرية التي دمرت هيروشيما عام 1945 ، وقتلت 140,000 ألف شخص ، كان لها عائد 15 كيلوطن فقط.
    • من المحتمل أن يؤدي تفجير نووي واحد إلى مقتل مئات الآلاف من المدنيين وإصابة الكثيرين غيرهم ؛ يمكن أن تلوث التساقط الإشعاعي مناطق واسعة في العديد من البلدان.
    • لا يمكن أن تكون هناك استجابة إنسانية فعالة بعد استخدام سلاح نووي. ستنهار القدرات الطبية وقدرات الاستجابة للطوارئ على الفور ، مما يؤدي إلى تفاقم العدد الهائل بالفعل من الضحايا.
    • قد يؤدي انتشار الذعر إلى تحركات جماهيرية واضطراب اقتصادي حاد.
    • إن التفجيرات المتعددة ستكون بالطبع أسوأ بكثير.
  2. التأكيد على أن التهديدات النووية تؤثر على جميع الدول ، وليس فقط هدف (أهداف) التهديد
    • نظرًا للتأثير الواسع النطاق والكارثي لأي استخدام للأسلحة النووية ، فإن التهديد النووي ضد دولة ما يمثل تهديدًا لجميع البلدان.
    • هذا لا يتعلق فقط بروسيا وأوكرانيا. التهديدات النووية ليست مسألة تخص الأعداء المعنيين ، أو للدول المجاورة. مثل تغير المناخ والأمراض الوبائية ، تشكل المخاطر الرهيبة التي تشكلها الأسلحة النووية مشكلة عالمية وتتطلب استجابة عالمية.
    • لذلك من مصلحة جميع الدول - ومسؤولية جميع الدول - مواجهة وإدانة التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية واتخاذ إجراءات لتعزيز القاعدة ضد استخدامها.
  3. التذرع بالقانون الدولي وإبراز الالتزامات التي تعهدت بها الدولة المصدرة للتهديد
    • إن أي تهديد باستخدام الأسلحة النووية هو انتهاك للقانون الدولي ، بما في ذلك ميثاق الأمم المتحدة. كما تحظر معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية صراحة التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية.
    • يكاد يكون من المؤكد أن أي استخدام للأسلحة النووية ينتهك القانون الإنساني الدولي.
    • تتعارض تهديدات روسيا باستخدام الأسلحة النووية في أوكرانيا مع عقيدتها النووية المعلنة ، والتزاماتها بموجب مذكرة بودابست ، وبيانها في يناير 2022 مع الدول الأخرى الحائزة للأسلحة النووية في معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية بأنه "لا يمكن كسب حرب نووية ويجب عدم خوضها أبدًا" والالتزامات التي وافقت عليها مؤتمرات المراجعة لمعاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية.
  4. الإدانة الواضحة والقاطعة لجميع التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية
    • أي وجميع التهديدات باستخدام الأسلحة النووية غير مقبولة ، سواء كانت ضمنية أو صريحة وبغض النظر عن الظروف.
    • جميع التهديدات النووية غير مسؤولة ، بغض النظر عن الدولة التي تصنعها ولماذا. لا توجد تهديدات نووية "مسؤولة".
    • في اجتماعها الأول في يونيو / حزيران ، أدانت الدول الأطراف في معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية بشكل قاطع "أي وجميع التهديدات النووية ، سواء كانت صريحة أو ضمنية وبغض النظر عن الظروف". على الدول الأخرى إصدار إدانات مماثلة.
اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Why condemn threats to use nuclear weapons?

(Reposted from: ICAN.  October 12, 2022)

Russia’s threats to use nuclear weapons have heightened tensions, reduced the threshold for use of nuclear weapons, and greatly increased the risk of nuclear conflict and global catastrophe.  This briefing paper provides an overview of why delegitimisation of these threats is urgent, necessary and effective.

Why condemn threats to use nuclear weapons?

ICAN Briefing paper – October 2022

To download the briefing paper as a pdf click here.

Russia’s threats to use nuclear weapons have heightened tensions, reduced the threshold for use of nuclear weapons, and greatly increased the risk of nuclear conflict and global catastrophe.

This risk is further heightened by responses from other governments that imply possible retaliation with nuclear weapons, and by commentary and analysis examining scenarios in which nuclear weapons might be used in the Ukraine conflict, and evaluating the consequent military implications.

These developments are normalising the idea of using nuclear weapons and eroding the decades-old taboo against their use. It is therefore vital that the international community consistently and categorically condemn any and all threats to use nuclear weapons. Consistent and unequivocal condemnation from governments and civil society can stigmatise and delegitimize nuclear threats, help restore and strengthen the norm against the use of nuclear weapons, and reinforce disarmament and non-proliferation efforts.

Delegitimization is effective

Condemnation of threats is not just empty rhetoric: delegitimization works. It has been shown to influence the behaviour of nuclear-armed states. Like nearly all states, nuclear-armed states attach significant value to maintaining legitimacy in the eyes of the wider international community. Loss of legitimacy can mean loss of international political support, making pursuit of national interests more difficult, and in serious cases leading to isolation, ostracism, sanctions and significant economic consequences – which in turn might lead to domestic instability and unrest.

So when pursuing their national aims – however selfishly, cynically or aggressively – nuclear-armed states all make serious efforts to justify their actions under international law and portray them as normal, accepted practice that follows established precedents. For example, all five of the NPT nuclear-weapon states claim to be complying fully with the disarmament obligations of the treaty, and with international humanitarian law. Russia was at pains to use provisions of the UN Charter to justify its invasion of Ukraine. Even non-binding resolutions of the UN General Assembly are treated very seriously: both Russia and the United States have expended enormous energy on gathering votes for recent resolutions on the conflict in Ukraine.

This means that they are sensitive to criticism that could result in a loss of legitimacy and international support. For example, Russia has reacted to widespread criticism of its nuclear threats in connection with the Ukraine conflict both by walking back the threats (clarifying that any use of nuclear weapons would be in accordance with Russia’s stated nuclear doctrine) and by attempting to justify its actions as being in line with accepted international practices – including, bizarrely, by citing the US nuclear bombing of Hiroshima as a “precedent”. Russia also responded strongly and at length to the declaration adopted by the first meeting of states parties to the TPNW which unequivocally condemned “any and all nuclear threats”, even though the declaration did not name Russia or specify any particular threat.

And not only did international criticism of Russia’s most recent nuclear threats prompt the Russian government to clarify its position and stress that it has not changed its nuclear doctrine, responses from Western nuclear-armed states – such as the US describing nuclear threats as “irresponsible” and the Secretary-General of NATO stating that “Any use of nuclear weapons is absolutely unacceptable, it will totally change the nature of the conflict” – have amplified and generalised the delegitimization effect.

It is worth noting that much of the nuclear-armed states’ opposition to the TPNW – both before its negotiation and afterwards – has been explicitly (and correctly!) based on the fear that the treaty would have the effect of delegitimizing nuclear weapons and nuclear deterrence. The United States warned its NATO allies in 2016 not to support the negotiation of a ban treaty because the treaty would aim to “delegitimize the concept of nuclear deterrence upon which many U.S. allies and partners depend”. A NATO statement issued as the TPNW was about to enter into force said that NATO members “reject any attempt to delegitimise nuclear deterrence”

Delegitimization also works through non-governmental channels. There is a long record of pressure from consumers and civil society affecting the behaviour of corporations, and many of these approaches also apply to nuclear weapons. As public stigma against nuclear weapons grows, corporate involvement in nuclear weapons becomes more commercially risky. ICAN has already made substantial progress in persuading banks, pension funds and other financial institutions to divest from corporations involved in producing and maintaining nuclear weapons. The entry into force of the TPNW, rendering nuclear weapons illegal under international law – like biological and chemical weapons, antipersonnel landmines and cluster munitions – has added significant leverage to this effort.

Delegitimization in practice

The key elements for successfully delegitimizing threats to use nuclear weapons are:

  1. Focusing on what would actually happen if the threat were to be carried out
    • Any use of nuclear weapons would have wide-ranging and catastrophic humanitarian consequences [especially in densely populated regions].
    • These consequences mean that threats to use nuclear weapons cannot and must not be discussed purely in terms of geopolitics and military strategy and tactics.
    • Even so-called “tactical” nuclear weapons, of the kind that some speculate Russia might use in the Ukraine conflict, typically have explosive yields in the range of 10 to 100 kilotons. In comparison, the atomic bomb that destroyed Hiroshima in 1945, killing 140,000 people, had a yield of just 15 kilotons.
    • A single nuclear detonation would likely kill hundreds of thousands of civilians and injure many more; radioactive fallout could contaminate large areas across multiple countries.
    • There can be no effective humanitarian response following the use of a nuclear weapon. Medical and emergency response capacities would be immediately overwhelmed, exacerbating the already massive number of casualties.
    • Widespread panic would trigger mass movements of people and severe economic disruption.
    • Multiple detonations would of course be much worse.
  2. Emphasising that nuclear threats affect all states, not just the target(s) of the threat
    • Given the wide-ranging and catastrophic impact of any use of nuclear weapons, a nuclear threat against one country is a threat against all countries.
    • This is not just about Russia and Ukraine. Nuclear threats are not just a matter for the adversaries concerned, or for nearby countries. Like climate change and pandemic disease, the terrible risks posed by nuclear weapons constitute a global problem and require a global response.
    • It is therefore in the interest of all states – and the responsibility of all states – to confront and condemn threats to use nuclear weapons and to take action to reinforce the norm against their use.
  3. Invoking international law and highlighting commitments made by the state issuing the threat
    • Any threat to use nuclear weapons is a violation of international law, including the Charter of the United Nations. The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons also explicitly prohibits threats to use nuclear weapons.
    • Any use of nuclear weapons would almost certainly violate international humanitarian law.
    • Russia’s threats to use nuclear weapons in Ukraine are incompatible with its stated nuclear doctrine, its commitments under the Budapest Memorandum, its statement in January 2022 with the other NPT nuclear-weapon states that “a nuclear war cannot be won and must never be fought”, and commitments agreed by review conferences of the Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty.
  4. Clearly and categorically condemning any and all threats to use nuclear weapons
    • Any and all threats to use nuclear weapons are unacceptable, whether they are implicit or explicit and regardless of the circumstances.
    • All nuclear threats are irresponsible, regardless of which country makes them and why. There are no “responsible” nuclear threats.
    • At their first meeting in June, the states parties to the TPNW unequivocally condemned “any and all nuclear threats, whether they be explicit or implicit and irrespective of the circumstances”. Other states should issue similar condemnations.
close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top