谁最受学校到监狱管道的影响?

(转自: 美国大学教育学院。 24 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日)

从学校到监狱的管道是指不成比例地将有色人种学生纳入刑事司法系统的做法和政策。 对严厉纪律措施的偏见应用和过度使用转介给执法部门导致了这个问题,使弱势学生失败并忽略了根本原因。

教育工作者如何结束从学校到监狱的管道? 第一步是考虑替代学校纪律的方法。

要了解更多信息,请查看由美国大学创建的信息图(在下面发布) 教育政策与领导力博士 程序。

零容忍政策的危险

零容忍政策源于对毒品的战争和严格的犯罪法,这些政策在 1980 年代和 1990 年代大大增加了美国的大规模监禁。 扩大此类政策以解决青少年和学校环境中的犯罪问题,导致了教育和社会正义倡导者现在所说的从学校到监狱的管道。

零容忍政策的起源

公立学校的零容忍政策起源于 1994 年的无枪学校法案 (GFSA)。 根据该法案,携带枪支上学的处罚是停学至少一个学年。 GFSA 的引入导致零容忍政策的扩大,以合并其他犯罪并增加向执法部门的报告。 自 1994 年以来,学区还采取了严格的政策,要求对较轻的罪行进行严厉惩罚,以阻止更严重的犯罪行为。

零容忍政策的影响

零容忍政策大大增加了被停学或开除的学生人数。 这导致了严重的后果。 例如,即使在一年中至少缺课 15 天的学生,高中辍学的可能性也高出 XNUMX 倍。 未能完成学业的学生更有可能经历负面结果,例如贫困、健康状况不佳或在刑事司法系统中停留的时间。 此外,已经确定学校纪律的差异导致了学习机会的差异。 还确定,与白人学生相比,黑人学生因校外停课而缺课的天数几乎是白人学生的五倍。

在此过程中,学校聘请了更多的学校资源官 (SRO),即负责学生安全和预防犯罪的执法专业人员。 SRO 安置的增加导致被捕学生人数增加,以及转介到执法和少年法庭的人数增加。

谁最受学校到监狱管道的影响?

统计数据描绘了一幅惨淡的图景:来自边缘群体的学生被卷入从学校到监狱的管道的风险最大。

青少年参与司法系统的风险因素

青少年参与司法系统有不同的风险因素等级。 个人风险因素包括反社会行为、多动症和物质滥用。 家庭风险因素包括虐待父母、社会经济地位低和青少年为人父母。 同伴风险因素包括来自同伴的欺凌、帮派成员和薄弱的社会联系。 学校和社区因素包括贫困或混乱的社区以及学习成绩不佳。

有多少学生被校外停学?

在 2.7-12 学年期间,2015 万 K-16 学生收到了一次或多次校外停学。 这个数字揭示了对黑人或非裔美国学生的不成比例的影响。 虽然这一人口统计数据仅占男女学生的 8%,但他们分别占各自性别的校外停学人数的 25% 和 14%。

相比之下,白人学生的校外停学率低于入学率。 虽然 25% 的男学生和 24% 的女学生是白人,但他们分别只占校外停学的 24% 和 8%。

在西班牙裔或拉丁裔学生中,男学生受到的校外停学远远多于女学生。 西班牙裔和拉丁裔男性和女性均占学生人数的 13%,但他们分别占校外停学的 15% 和 6%。

执法转介和逮捕会影响多少学生?

在 290,600-2015 学年期间,16 名学生被转介给执法机构或被捕。 只有 15% 的学生是黑人或非裔美国人,但这些学生占执法部门转介和逮捕的 31%。 49% 的学生是白人,但这些学生仅占执法部门推荐或逮捕的 36%。 26% 的学生是西班牙裔或拉丁裔,这些学生占执法部门转介或逮捕的 24%。

为什么有色人种学生受到的影响不成比例

由于系统性种族主义,来自边缘化社区的学生更有可能最终进入从学校到监狱的管道。 系统性种族主义也称为结构性或制度性种族主义,是指造成和/或维持种族不平等的制度和政策。

导致法院转介、停学或开除的纪律处分——所有这些都增加了辍学和进入少年司法系统的可能性——不成比例地适用于有色人种学生。 此外,黑人学生比他们的白人同龄人更有可能因同样的行为而被停学、开除或逮捕。 此外,黑人学生被停学或开除的比率几乎是白人学生的 3.5 倍。

有色人种学生如何受到影响

从学校到监狱的管道导致不成比例的有色人种学生辍学并进入刑事司法系统,这可能会产生改变生活的负面影响。

例如,未能完成高中教育的学生更有可能被监禁。 这会给他们带来犯罪记录,从而使他们更难获得住房、建立信贷、获得就业和获得公共援助的资格。 此外,被判犯有重罪的学生在就业方面面临更大的障碍,他们可能会失去投票权和获得经济援助的资格。 与毕业的同龄人相比,没有完成高中的学生的工资也较低。

恢复性正义的治愈力量

为了帮助消除从学校到监狱的管道,教育工作者应考虑用恢复性司法取代零容忍政策。

一种新方法:恢复性司法

恢复性司法旨在了解不当行为的根本原因、修复损害并建立社区意识。 这个过程分解为几种恢复性做法。 第一种做法是通过审查和监控政策和做法来解决纪律处分的差异,以确保纪律处分措施不会被不公平地应用。 第二种做法是创造一个支持性的学校环境,侧重于协议和调解而不是惩罚。 第三种做法是利用专业培训和发展来培养文化能力、扩大沟通技巧、解决文化偏见并了解教育创伤。

更好的方法

恢复性司法是学校纪律的一种替代方法,有可能揭示不当行为的根本原因并改善学生的学习成绩。 通过投资于学生的健康和福祉,教育工作者正在投资于这个国家的未来。

来源

 

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Who is Most Affected by the School to Prison Pipeline?

(Reposted from: American University School of Education.  February 24, 2021)

The school-to-prison pipeline refers to practices and policies that disproportionately place students of color into the criminal justice system. The biased application of harsh disciplinary measures and overuse of referrals to law enforcement contribute to the problem, setting up vulnerable students for failure and ignoring the underlying causes.

How can educators end the school-to-prison pipeline? The first step is considering an alternative approach to school discipline.

To learn more, check out the infographic (posted below) created by American University’s Doctorate in Education Policy & Leadership program.

The Dangers of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies stem from the war on drugs and strict crime laws that greatly increased mass incarceration in the United States during the 1980s and 1990s. The expansion of such policies to address crime among juveniles and school environments led to what education and social justice advocates now call the school-to-prison pipeline.

The Origin of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies in public schools originated with the 1994 Gun-Free Schools Act (GFSA). Under this act, the punishment for bringing a firearm to school is suspension for at least one academic year. The GFSA’s introduction led to the expansion of zero-tolerance policies to concoimpass other offenses and increased reporting to law enforcement. Since 1994, school districts have also adopted strict policies that mandate harsh punishment for less serious offenses in an effort to discourage more serious crimes.

The Effects of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies have dramatically increased the number of students who are suspended or expelled. This has led to serious ramifications. For example, students who miss at least 15 days of school in even a single year are seven times more likely to drop out of high school. Students who fail to complete their education are more likely to experience negative outcomes such as poverty, poor health, or time in the criminal justice system. Furthermore, it’s been determined that disparities in school discipline contribute to disparities in the learning opportunities. It’s also been determined that Black students miss almost five times as many days of instruction as a result of out-of-school suspensions compared with white students.

Along the way, schools have hired more school resource officers (SROs), law enforcement professionals who are responsible for student safety and crime prevention. The increased placement of SROs has led to increases in the number of students arrested, as well as the number of referrals to law enforcement and juvenile courts.

Who Is Most Affected by The School-to-Prison Pipeline?

The statistics paint a bleak picture: students from marginalized groups are the greatest risk of being drawn into the school-to-prison pipeline.

Risk Factors for Juvenile Involvement in the Justice System

There are different risk factor tiers concerning juvenile involvement in the justice system. Individual risk factors include antisocial behavior, hyperactivity, and substance misuse. Family risk factors include abusive parents, low socioeconomic status, and teen parenthood. Peer risk factors include bullying from peers, gang membership, and weak social ties. School and community factors include impoverished or disorganized communities and poor academic performance.

How Many Students Receive Out-of-School Suspensions?

2.7 million K-12 students received one or more out-of-school suspensions during the 2015-16 school year. This number revealed a disproportionate impact on Black or African American students. While this demographic made up just 8% of both the male and female students, they represented 25% and 14% of their respective gender’s out-of-school suspensions.

In comparison, white students received out-of-school suspensions at a rate lower than their enrollment. While 25% of the male student population and 24% of the female student population were white, they only represented 24% and 8% of out-of-school suspensions, respectively.

Among Hispanic or Latinx students, male students received far more out-of-school suspension than female students. Hispanc and Latinx males and females both made up 13% of the student population, but they represented 15% and 6% of out-of-school suspensions, respectively.

How Many Students Do Law Enforcement Referrals and Arrests Impact?

290,600 students were referred to law enforcement agencies or arrested during the 2015-16 school year. Only 15% of students were Black or African American, but these students represented 31% of law enforcement referrals and arrests. 49% of students were white, but these students represented just 36% of law enforcement referrals or arrests. 26% of students were Hispanic or Latinx, and these students represented 24% of law enforcement referrals or arrests.

Why Students of Color are Disproportionately Affected

Students from marginalized communities are more likely to end up in the school-to-prison pipeline because of systemic racism. Also known as structural or institutional racism, systemic racism refers to systems and policies that create and/or maintain racial inequalities.

Disciplinary actions that result in court referrals, suspensions, or expulsions – all of which increase the likelihood of dropping out and entering the juvenile justice system – are disproportionately applied to students of color. Additionally, Black students are more likely than their white peers to be suspended, expelled, or arrested for the same kind of conduct. Furthermore, Black students are suspended or expelled at a rate almost 3.5 times greater than that of white students.

How Students of Color Are Affected

The school-to-prison pipeline causes a disproportionate number of students of color to drop out of school and enter the criminal justice system, which can have life-changing negative effects.

For instance, students who fail to complete high school are more likely to be imprisoned. This gives them a criminal record, which can then make it more difficult to attain housing, build credit, gain employment, and qualify for public assistance. Additionally, students who are convicted of a felony offense face even greater obstacles in finding employment, and they may lose their voting rights and eligibility for financial aid. Students who do not complete high school also go on to earn lower wages compared to peers that graduate.

The Healing Power of Restorative Justice

To help eliminate the school-to-prison pipeline, educators should consider replacing zero-tolerance policies with restorative justice.

A New Approach: Restorative Justice

Restorative justice seeks to understand the underlying causes of misbehavior, repair damage, and build a sense of community. This process breaks down into several restorative practices. The first practice is to address the disciplinary practice disparities by reviewing and monitoring policies and practices to ensure that disciplinary measures are not applied unfairly. The second practice is to create a supportive school environment that focuses on agreement and mediation instead of punishment. The third practice is to utilize professional training and development to develop cultural competence, expand communication skills, address cultural bias, and learn about educational trauma.

A Better Approach

Restorative justice is an alternative approach to school discipline that has the potential to uncover the underlying causes of misbehavior and improve student outcomes. By investing in students’ health and well-being, educators are investing in this country’s future.

Sources

 

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...