من هم الأكثر تضررا من المدرسة إلى سجن خط الأنابيب؟

(تم إعادة النشر من: كلية التربية بالجامعة الأمريكية. 24 فبراير 2021)

يشير خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن إلى الممارسات والسياسات التي تضع الطلاب الملونين بشكل غير متناسب في نظام العدالة الجنائية. يساهم التطبيق المتحيز للإجراءات التأديبية القاسية والإفراط في استخدام الإحالات إلى سلطات إنفاذ القانون في المشكلة ، ويضع الطلاب المعرضين للخطر للفشل ويتجاهل الأسباب الكامنة وراء ذلك.

كيف يمكن للمعلمين إنهاء خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن؟ الخطوة الأولى هي النظر في نهج بديل للانضباط المدرسي.

لمعرفة المزيد ، تحقق من مخطط المعلومات البياني (المنشور أدناه) الذي أنشأته الجامعة الأمريكية دكتوراه في سياسة التعليم والقيادة برنامج.

مخاطر سياسات عدم التسامح المطلق

تنبع سياسات عدم التسامح المطلق من الحرب على المخدرات وقوانين الجريمة الصارمة التي زادت بشكل كبير من الحبس الجماعي في الولايات المتحدة خلال الثمانينيات والتسعينيات. أدى توسع مثل هذه السياسات لمعالجة الجريمة بين الأحداث والبيئات المدرسية إلى ما يسميه دعاة التعليم والعدالة الاجتماعية الآن خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن.

أصل سياسات عدم التسامح

نشأت سياسات عدم التسامح في المدارس العامة مع قانون المدارس الخالية من الأسلحة لعام 1994 (GFSA). بموجب هذا القانون ، فإن عقوبة إحضار سلاح ناري إلى المدرسة معلقة لمدة عام دراسي واحد على الأقل. أدى تقديم GFSA إلى توسيع سياسات عدم التسامح المطلق لتلفيق الجرائم الأخرى وزيادة الإبلاغ إلى سلطات إنفاذ القانون. منذ عام 1994 ، تبنت الإدارات التعليمية أيضًا سياسات صارمة تفرض عقوبات قاسية على الجرائم الأقل خطورة في محاولة لتثبيط الجرائم الأكثر خطورة.

آثار سياسات عدم التسامح

أدت سياسات عدم التسامح المطلق إلى زيادة كبيرة في عدد الطلاب الموقوفين أو المطرودين. وقد أدى ذلك إلى تداعيات خطيرة. على سبيل المثال ، الطلاب الذين يتغيبون عن المدرسة لمدة 15 يومًا على الأقل في عام واحد هم أكثر عرضة بسبع مرات للتسرب من المدرسة الثانوية. من المرجح أن يواجه الطلاب الذين يفشلون في إكمال تعليمهم نتائج سلبية مثل الفقر أو سوء الحالة الصحية أو قضاء الوقت في نظام العدالة الجنائية. علاوة على ذلك ، تم تحديد أن التفاوتات في الانضباط المدرسي تساهم في التفاوت في فرص التعلم. كما تم تحديد أن الطلاب السود يفوتون ما يقرب من خمسة أضعاف عدد أيام التدريس نتيجة للتعليق خارج المدرسة مقارنة بالطلاب البيض.

على طول الطريق ، وظفت المدارس المزيد من مسؤولي الموارد المدرسية (SROs) ، والمتخصصين في إنفاذ القانون المسؤولين عن سلامة الطلاب ومنع الجريمة. أدى التنسيب المتزايد لمنظمات SROs إلى زيادة عدد الطلاب الموقوفين ، فضلاً عن عدد الإحالات إلى محاكم إنفاذ القانون ومحاكم الأحداث.

من هم الأكثر تضررا من خط الأنابيب من مدرسة إلى سجن؟

ترسم الإحصاءات صورة قاتمة: الطلاب من الفئات المهمشة هم الخطر الأكبر في الانجرار إلى خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن.

عوامل الخطر لمشاركة الأحداث في نظام العدالة

هناك مستويات مختلفة من عوامل الخطر فيما يتعلق بمشاركة الأحداث في نظام العدالة. تشمل عوامل الخطر الفردية السلوك المعادي للمجتمع ، وفرط النشاط ، وإساءة استخدام المواد. تشمل عوامل الخطر الأسرية الوالدين المسيئين ، والوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي المنخفض ، والأبوة في سن المراهقة. تشمل عوامل خطر الأقران التنمر من الأقران ، وعضوية العصابات ، والعلاقات الاجتماعية الضعيفة. تشمل عوامل المدرسة والمجتمع المجتمعات الفقيرة أو غير المنظمة والأداء الأكاديمي الضعيف.

كم عدد الطلاب الذين يتلقون تعليقًا خارج المدرسة؟

تلقى 2.7 مليون طالب من رياض الأطفال وحتى الصف الثاني عشر تعليقًا واحدًا أو أكثر من خارج المدرسة خلال العام الدراسي 12-2015. كشف هذا الرقم عن تأثير غير متناسب على الطلاب السود أو الطلاب الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي. في حين أن هذه التركيبة السكانية تشكل 16٪ فقط من الطلاب والطالبات على حد سواء ، إلا أنهم مثلوا 8٪ و 25٪ من حالات فصل الجنسين خارج المدرسة.

وبالمقارنة ، تلقى الطلاب البيض تعليقًا عن الدراسة خارج المدرسة بمعدل أقل من تسجيلهم. بينما كان 25٪ من الطلاب الذكور و 24٪ من الطلاب من البيض ، فإنهم يمثلون فقط 24٪ و 8٪ من حالات التوقف عن الدراسة خارج المدرسة ، على التوالي.

من بين الطلاب من أصل لاتيني أو لاتيني ، تلقى الطلاب الذكور نسبة تعليق خارج المدرسة أكثر بكثير من الطالبات. شكل كل من Hispanc و Latinx الذكور والإناث 13 ٪ من الطلاب ، لكنهم مثلوا 15 ٪ و 6 ٪ من حالات التوقف عن الدراسة خارج المدرسة ، على التوالي.

كم عدد الطلاب الذين تؤثر عمليات الإحالة والاعتقالات التي تنفذها جهات إنفاذ القانون؟

تمت إحالة 290,600 طالب إلى وكالات إنفاذ القانون أو تم القبض عليهم خلال العام الدراسي 2015-16. كان 15٪ فقط من الطلاب من السود أو الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي ، لكن هؤلاء الطلاب يمثلون 31٪ من عمليات الإحالة والاعتقالات من قبل سلطات إنفاذ القانون. كان 49٪ من الطلاب من البيض ، لكن هؤلاء الطلاب يمثلون 36٪ فقط من الإحالات أو الاعتقالات من قبل سلطات إنفاذ القانون. كان 26٪ من الطلاب من أصل لاتيني أو لاتيني ، وكان هؤلاء الطلاب يمثلون 24٪ من الإحالات أو الاعتقالات من قبل سلطات إنفاذ القانون.

لماذا يتأثر الطلاب الملونون بشكل غير متناسب

من المرجح أن ينتهي المطاف بالطلاب من المجتمعات المهمشة في خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن بسبب العنصرية المنهجية. تشير العنصرية النظامية ، المعروفة أيضًا باسم العنصرية الهيكلية أو المؤسسية ، إلى الأنظمة والسياسات التي تخلق و / أو تحافظ على عدم المساواة العرقية.

يتم تطبيق الإجراءات التأديبية التي تؤدي إلى إحالات من المحكمة أو تعليق أو طرد - وكلها تزيد من احتمالية التسرب والدخول إلى نظام قضاء الأحداث - بشكل غير متناسب على الطلاب الملونين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، الطلاب السود أكثر عرضة من أقرانهم البيض للتعليق أو الطرد أو الاعتقال لنفس النوع من السلوك. علاوة على ذلك ، يتم تعليق الطلاب السود أو طردهم بمعدل يزيد بحوالي 3.5 مرة عن معدل الطلاب البيض.

كيف يتأثر طلاب اللون

يتسبب خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن في تسرب عدد غير متناسب من الطلاب الملونين من المدرسة ودخولهم في نظام العدالة الجنائية ، مما قد يكون له آثار سلبية مغيرة للحياة.

على سبيل المثال ، الطلاب الذين يفشلون في إكمال المدرسة الثانوية هم أكثر عرضة للسجن. وهذا يمنحهم سجلاً إجرامياً ، مما قد يزيد من صعوبة الحصول على الإسكان ، وبناء الائتمان ، والحصول على عمل ، والتأهل للحصول على المساعدة العامة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يواجه الطلاب المدانون بجرائم جنائية عقبات أكبر في العثور على عمل ، وقد يفقدون حقوقهم في التصويت وأهليتهم للحصول على مساعدات مالية. الطلاب الذين لا يكملون المرحلة الثانوية يكسبون أيضًا أجورًا أقل مقارنة بأقرانهم الذين يتخرجون.

قوة الشفاء من العدالة التصالحية

للمساعدة في القضاء على خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن ، يجب على المعلمين التفكير في استبدال سياسات عدم التسامح المطلق بالعدالة التصالحية.

نهج جديد: العدالة التصالحية

تسعى العدالة التصالحية إلى فهم الأسباب الكامنة وراء سوء السلوك وإصلاح الضرر وبناء الإحساس بالانتماء للمجتمع. تنقسم هذه العملية إلى عدة ممارسات تصالحية. الممارسة الأولى هي معالجة تباينات الممارسات التأديبية من خلال مراجعة ورصد السياسات والممارسات لضمان عدم تطبيق الإجراءات التأديبية بشكل غير عادل. الممارسة الثانية هي خلق بيئة مدرسية داعمة تركز على الاتفاق والوساطة بدلاً من العقاب. الممارسة الثالثة هي استخدام التدريب والتطوير المهني لتطوير الكفاءة الثقافية ، وتوسيع مهارات الاتصال ، ومعالجة التحيز الثقافي ، والتعرف على الصدمات التعليمية.

نهج أفضل

العدالة التصالحية هي نهج بديل للانضباط المدرسي لديه القدرة على الكشف عن الأسباب الكامنة وراء سوء السلوك وتحسين نتائج الطلاب. من خلال الاستثمار في صحة الطلاب ورفاههم ، يستثمر المعلمون في مستقبل هذا البلد.

مصادر

 

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

Who is Most Affected by the School to Prison Pipeline?

(Reposted from: American University School of Education.  February 24, 2021)

The school-to-prison pipeline refers to practices and policies that disproportionately place students of color into the criminal justice system. The biased application of harsh disciplinary measures and overuse of referrals to law enforcement contribute to the problem, setting up vulnerable students for failure and ignoring the underlying causes.

How can educators end the school-to-prison pipeline? The first step is considering an alternative approach to school discipline.

To learn more, check out the infographic (posted below) created by American University’s Doctorate in Education Policy & Leadership program.

The Dangers of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies stem from the war on drugs and strict crime laws that greatly increased mass incarceration in the United States during the 1980s and 1990s. The expansion of such policies to address crime among juveniles and school environments led to what education and social justice advocates now call the school-to-prison pipeline.

The Origin of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies in public schools originated with the 1994 Gun-Free Schools Act (GFSA). Under this act, the punishment for bringing a firearm to school is suspension for at least one academic year. The GFSA’s introduction led to the expansion of zero-tolerance policies to concoimpass other offenses and increased reporting to law enforcement. Since 1994, school districts have also adopted strict policies that mandate harsh punishment for less serious offenses in an effort to discourage more serious crimes.

The Effects of Zero-Tolerance Policies

Zero-tolerance policies have dramatically increased the number of students who are suspended or expelled. This has led to serious ramifications. For example, students who miss at least 15 days of school in even a single year are seven times more likely to drop out of high school. Students who fail to complete their education are more likely to experience negative outcomes such as poverty, poor health, or time in the criminal justice system. Furthermore, it’s been determined that disparities in school discipline contribute to disparities in the learning opportunities. It’s also been determined that Black students miss almost five times as many days of instruction as a result of out-of-school suspensions compared with white students.

Along the way, schools have hired more school resource officers (SROs), law enforcement professionals who are responsible for student safety and crime prevention. The increased placement of SROs has led to increases in the number of students arrested, as well as the number of referrals to law enforcement and juvenile courts.

Who Is Most Affected by The School-to-Prison Pipeline?

The statistics paint a bleak picture: students from marginalized groups are the greatest risk of being drawn into the school-to-prison pipeline.

Risk Factors for Juvenile Involvement in the Justice System

There are different risk factor tiers concerning juvenile involvement in the justice system. Individual risk factors include antisocial behavior, hyperactivity, and substance misuse. Family risk factors include abusive parents, low socioeconomic status, and teen parenthood. Peer risk factors include bullying from peers, gang membership, and weak social ties. School and community factors include impoverished or disorganized communities and poor academic performance.

How Many Students Receive Out-of-School Suspensions?

2.7 million K-12 students received one or more out-of-school suspensions during the 2015-16 school year. This number revealed a disproportionate impact on Black or African American students. While this demographic made up just 8% of both the male and female students, they represented 25% and 14% of their respective gender’s out-of-school suspensions.

In comparison, white students received out-of-school suspensions at a rate lower than their enrollment. While 25% of the male student population and 24% of the female student population were white, they only represented 24% and 8% of out-of-school suspensions, respectively.

Among Hispanic or Latinx students, male students received far more out-of-school suspension than female students. Hispanc and Latinx males and females both made up 13% of the student population, but they represented 15% and 6% of out-of-school suspensions, respectively.

How Many Students Do Law Enforcement Referrals and Arrests Impact?

290,600 students were referred to law enforcement agencies or arrested during the 2015-16 school year. Only 15% of students were Black or African American, but these students represented 31% of law enforcement referrals and arrests. 49% of students were white, but these students represented just 36% of law enforcement referrals or arrests. 26% of students were Hispanic or Latinx, and these students represented 24% of law enforcement referrals or arrests.

Why Students of Color are Disproportionately Affected

Students from marginalized communities are more likely to end up in the school-to-prison pipeline because of systemic racism. Also known as structural or institutional racism, systemic racism refers to systems and policies that create and/or maintain racial inequalities.

Disciplinary actions that result in court referrals, suspensions, or expulsions – all of which increase the likelihood of dropping out and entering the juvenile justice system – are disproportionately applied to students of color. Additionally, Black students are more likely than their white peers to be suspended, expelled, or arrested for the same kind of conduct. Furthermore, Black students are suspended or expelled at a rate almost 3.5 times greater than that of white students.

How Students of Color Are Affected

The school-to-prison pipeline causes a disproportionate number of students of color to drop out of school and enter the criminal justice system, which can have life-changing negative effects.

For instance, students who fail to complete high school are more likely to be imprisoned. This gives them a criminal record, which can then make it more difficult to attain housing, build credit, gain employment, and qualify for public assistance. Additionally, students who are convicted of a felony offense face even greater obstacles in finding employment, and they may lose their voting rights and eligibility for financial aid. Students who do not complete high school also go on to earn lower wages compared to peers that graduate.

The Healing Power of Restorative Justice

To help eliminate the school-to-prison pipeline, educators should consider replacing zero-tolerance policies with restorative justice.

A New Approach: Restorative Justice

Restorative justice seeks to understand the underlying causes of misbehavior, repair damage, and build a sense of community. This process breaks down into several restorative practices. The first practice is to address the disciplinary practice disparities by reviewing and monitoring policies and practices to ensure that disciplinary measures are not applied unfairly. The second practice is to create a supportive school environment that focuses on agreement and mediation instead of punishment. The third practice is to utilize professional training and development to develop cultural competence, expand communication skills, address cultural bias, and learn about educational trauma.

A Better Approach

Restorative justice is an alternative approach to school discipline that has the potential to uncover the underlying causes of misbehavior and improve student outcomes. By investing in students’ health and well-being, educators are investing in this country’s future.

Sources

 

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...