关于联合国教科文组织《和平教育建议》您需要了解的内容

(转自: 联合国教科文组织。 24 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

该建议的内容是什么?

 关于和平、人权和可持续发展教育的建议 是一份不具约束力的指导文件,重点关注 21 世纪如何发展教学和学习st 面对当代威胁和挑战,实现持久和平,重申人权并促进可持续发展。 

它承认,学校内外各种形式和维度的教育塑造了我们如何看待世界和对待他人,它可以而且应该成为建设持久和平的途径。 该建议在逻辑上将不同的主题领域和问题联系起来,从数字技术和气候变化到性别问题和基本自由。 它表明所有这些领域都需要积极的转变,因为教育贯穿所有这些领域,既受到所有这些因素的影响,又影响着它们。 为了实现这些雄心壮志,本文概述了教育方法到底需要改变什么以及如何改变。 

新的 采用 文本更新“1974” 大约 50 年前的建议 美国 会员国将教育定位为和平与国际理解的关键驱动力。 过去两年,联合国教科文组织 一直在修改 这个有远见的工具。

该建议书有何独特之处?

  • 它概述了 14 项指导原则、具体学习成果和优先行动领域 全面重塑教育体系的各个方面,从法律和政策到课程开发、教学实践、学习环境和评估。 例如,它强调,除了批判性的读写能力和计算能力之外,学习者还应该获得同理心、批判性思维、跨文化理解和环境管理等能力。
  • 它涵盖了以下方面的教育活动 所有环境、所有层面、以及整个生命,将之前未考虑过的区域之间的点连接起来。 例如,学习者的身心健康与其接受和获得教育的能力之间的关系、气候变化对教育系统的影响以及在课堂外获得的知识。 
  • 它适用于 所有教育利益相关者 – 从政策制定者和教师到非正式教育工作者和传统传承者 – 作为转变政策、实践和方法的基准,以培养具有同理心和包容性的学习者。 例如,使用此文件,教师可以了解如何调整他们的课程计划以整合特定的主题和活动,或者当地社区领导人可以倡导政策和课程的具体变化。 

《建议》有哪些亮点?

  • 对和平的新认识

21世纪的和平不仅仅是没有暴力和冲突。 这也是一个积极、参与性和动态的过程,培养我们重视人类尊严并照顾自己、彼此和我们共同的地球的能力。 

  • 可持续发展教育 

教育系统需要有效提高对气候驱动危机的抵御能力并应对其影响。 培养知识 个人需要了解气候变化的根本原因、其影响以及适应和缓解而不对地球造成进一步损害的方法,以便做出明智的决定并努力创建一个更加可持续的社会。

  • 全球公民教育

新文本指出,促进哲学、原则和组成部分 全球公民教育 对于培养重视人的尊严、合作和对话的学习者至关重要。 这可能包括教授和学习过去和当前事件和冲突的影响,探索国家和社会之间的经济、社会和政治联系,以及培养对文化和意见多样性的同理心和尊重。

  • 性别平等与教育

在所有无法阅读的成年人中,妇女仍然占近三分之二,女孩往往无法充分享有参与、完成教育并从中受益的权利。 推广 性别平等 承认其对于实现全民受教育权的重要性是该建议书的指导原则之一,反映了教科文组织的全球优先事项。

  • 数字时代的教育

在信息丰富、多样且易于获取的时代, 媒体和信息素养,数字技能是教育者和学习者驾驭世界所需的工具。 该建议强调了错误信息和仇恨言论的挑战,以及新技术为教学带来的机遇。 它强调了批判性思维、同理心以及对数字安全、隐私和道德在线互动关键原则的理解的重要性。

为什么该建议书如此及时地得到通过?

人权和国际理解面临新的挑战和威胁,需要新的教育方法。 法律格局也发生了变化:过去 50 年来,国际社会制定了一套强有力的协议和框架来促进和平和防止暴力。 新的研究和数据也丰富了有效政策的制定及其影响的监测。

新建议的灵感来自于“教育的未来”报告强调需要对教学、学习和创新制定更具相关性和前瞻性的愿景。 它使教育与时俱进,考虑到世界已经发生了怎样的变化,并将在未来几十年继续发展。 

我们如何知道该建议的真正影响?

目前文本的前身“1974”建议书已在世界各地引发了广泛的倡议。 这些举措包括在课程和教师培训中引入新的课程内容、利用新的教学方法(例如以学习者为中心和参与式方法)、创建新机构以及开发交流项目。

会员国将向教科文组织提交关于实施新建议的报告 执行董事会 – 其管理机构,每四年一次。 随后将对该报告进行分析、转交大会并与其他专门机构分享。 它表明了他们对国际团结的承诺,并有助于监测他们实现可持续发展目标 4 的进展情况, 目标4.7.

你下一步怎么做?

既然会员国已经通过了《和平、人权和可持续发展教育建议》,教科文组织将支持各国将这些想法转化为地方、国家和国际各级的行动。 

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

What you need to know about UNESCO’s Recommendation on Education for Peace

(Reposted from: UNESCO. November 24, 2023)

What is the Recommendation about?

The Recommendation on Education for Peace, Human Rights and Sustainable Development is a non-binding guidance document that focuses on how teaching and learning should evolve in the 21st century to bring about lasting peace, reaffirm human rights and promote sustainable development in the face of contemporary threats and challenges. 

It acknowledges that education in all its forms and dimensions, in and out of schools, shapes how we see the world and treat others, and it can, and should, be a pathway to constructing lasting peace. The Recommendation logically links different thematic areas and issues, from digital technologies and climate change to gender issues and fundamental freedoms. It indicates that positive transformations are needed in all these domains because education cuts across all of them, being both impacted by all these factors and influencing them. To realize these ambitions, this text outlines what exactly needs to change in approaches to education and how. 

The newly adopted text updates the “1974” Recommendation that almost 50 years ago united Member States in positioning education as a key driver of peace and international understanding. For the past two years, UNESCO has been revising this visionary tool.

What is unique about the Recommendation?

  • It outlines 14 guiding principles, concrete learning outcomes and priority action areas for holistically reshaping all aspects of education systems, from laws and policies to curricula development, teaching practices, learning environments and assessment. For example, it highlights that beyond critical literacy and numeracy skills, learners should acquire competencies like empathy, critical thinking, intercultural understanding and environmental stewardship.
  • It covers educational activities in all settings and at all levels, and throughout life, connecting the dots between areas that have not been previously considered together. For example, the nexus between learners’ physical and mental health and their ability to access and attain education, the impact of climate change on the education system, as well as knowledge gained outside the classroom. 
  • It applies to all education stakeholders – from policy-makers and teachers to informal educators and tradition-bearers – as a baseline to transform their policies, practices and approaches to build empathetic and inclusive learners. For example, using this document, teachers can see how to adapt their lesson plans to integrate specific topics and activities, or local community leaders can advocate for specific changes in policies and curricula. 

What are the highlights of the Recommendation?

  • New understanding of peace

Peace in the 21st century is not just the absence of violence and conflicts. It is also a positive, participatory, and dynamic process that nurtures our ability to value human dignity and take care of ourselves, each other, and the planet we share. 

  • Education for sustainable development 

Education systems need to effectively improve their resilience to climate-driven crises and deal with their repercussions. Fostering knowledge about the root causes of climate change, its impact, and ways to adapt and mitigate while not causing further damage to the planet is needed for individuals to make informed decisions and work towards creating a more sustainable society.

  • Global citizenship education

The new text states that promoting the philosophy, principles, and components of global citizenship education is essential to preparing learners that value human dignity, cooperation and dialogue. This may encompass teaching and learning about the impact of past and current events and conflicts, exploring economic, social, and political linkages between countries and societies, and nurturing empathy and respect for the diversity of cultures and opinions.

  • Gender equality and education

Women still account for almost two-thirds of all adults unable to read, and girls often cannot fully enjoy their right to participate in, complete, and benefit from education. Promoting gender equality and acknowledging its importance for realizing the right to education for all is one of the Recommendation’s guiding principles, reflecting UNESCO’s global priority.

  • Education in the digital era

In an age where information is abundant, diverse, and easily accessible, media and information literacy, and digital skills are tools educators and learners need to navigate the world. The Recommendation underscores the challenges of misinformation and hate speech, as well as the opportunities of new technologies for teaching and learning. It highlights the importance of critical thinking, empathy, and understanding of key principles of digital security, privacy, and ethical online interactions.

Why is the adoption of the Recommendation so timely?

There are new challenges and threats to human rights and international understanding that require new approaches to education. The legal landscape has transformed, too: over the past 50 years, the international community has developed a robust set of agreements and frameworks to promote peace and prevent violence. New research and data have also enriched the development of effective policies and monitoring of their impact.

The new Recommendation is inspired by the “Futures of Education” report that highlighted the need for a more relevant and forward-looking vision for teaching, learning, and innovating. It brings education with the times, considering how the world has changed and will continue to evolve in the decades to come. 

How will we know the real impact of the Recommendation?

The “1974” Recommendation, predecessor of the current text, has been found to have triggered a wide range of initiatives all over the world. These initiatives include introducing new course content into curricula and teacher training, utilizing new teaching methods such as learner-centered and participatory approaches, creating new institutions, and developing exchange programs.

Member States will submit reports on implementing the new Recommendation to the UNESCO Executive Board – its governing body, every four years. This report will then be analyzed, transmitted to the General Conference, and shared with other specialized agencies. It demonstrates their commitment to international solidarity and helps monitor their progress towards Sustainable Development Goal 4, target 4.7.

What is the next step?

Now that Member States have adopted the Recommendation on Education for Peace, Human Rights and Sustainable Development, UNESCO will support countries in translating these ideas into action at the local, national, and international levels. 

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top