ما الذي يعمل على منع العنف ضد الأطفال في أفغانستان؟ نتائج تدخل مدرسي لتعليم السلام في أفغانستان

ما الذي يعمل على منع العنف ضد الأطفال في أفغانستان؟ نتائج تقييم متسلسل زمني متقطع لتعليم السلام القائم على المدرسة والتدخلات الاجتماعية لتغيير الأعراف المجتمعية في أفغانستان.

بقلم جوليان كوربوز ، وحيد صديق ، عثمان هيمات ، إسنات د.شيروا ، وراشيل جيوكس
بلوس ون 14 (8)

[icon name = ”share” class = ”” unprefixed_class = ””] الوصول إلى المقالة الكاملة عبر PLoS ONE

ملخص

خلفيّة

على خلفية أكثر من أربعة عقود من الحرب والصراع وانعدام الأمن ، من المسلم به أن أفغانستان تعاني من العنف المستشري وأن الأطفال يتعرضون لأشكال متعددة من العنف ، بما في ذلك على مستوى الأسرة والمدرسة. تعرض هذه الورقة نتائج تقييم تعليم السلام في المدرسة والتدخل المجتمعي لتغيير الأعراف والممارسات الاجتماعية الضارة المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي واستخدام العنف في حل النزاعات ، والتي تم تنفيذها في أفغانستان بهدف الحد من العنف ضد و بين الاطفال.

طرق

يتألف التقييم من تصميم سلسلة زمنية مقطعية متقطعة مع ثلاث نقاط لجمع البيانات على مدى 12 شهرًا. تم جمع البيانات من الطلاب في 11 مدرسة ثانوية (سبع مدارس للبنات وأربع مدارس للبنين) في مقاطعة جوزجان بأفغانستان ، مع ما مجموعه 361 فتى و 373 فتاة تم أخذ عينات منهم في نهاية المطاف. تمت مقابلة جميع الأطفال مع استبيان تم تطويره للدراسة. تضمنت النتائج الرئيسية تجربة الأطفال مع عنف الأقران (كل من ارتكاب وإيذاء) في المدرسة ، والعقاب البدني في كل من المنزل والمدرسة ، وملاحظة العنف الأسري. وشملت النتائج الأخرى مواقف الأطفال المتكافئة بين الجنسين ، والمواقف تجاه معاقبة الأطفال ، والاكتئاب والأداء المدرسي.

النتائج

بين نقاط التقييم الأساسية والنهائية ، كان هناك انخفاض كبير في أشكال مختلفة من العنف على مستوى المدرسة ، بما في ذلك تجربة كل من الأولاد والبنات في الشهر الماضي من الإيذاء لعنف الأقران ، وارتكاب عنف الأقران ، والعقاب البدني من قبل المعلمين. كما كان هناك انخفاض كبير في تجربة الأولاد والبنات للعقاب البدني في المنزل ومراقبة العنف الأسري ، مع ملاحظة تأثير قوي بشكل خاص بين الفتيات. كان لدى كل من الأولاد والبنات مواقف أكثر إنصافًا بين الجنسين وأقل بكثير من المواقف الداعمة للعنف فيما يتعلق بعقوبة الأطفال ، وأعراض الاكتئاب أقل بشكل ملحوظ. كما كان حضور الفتيات في المدارس أعلى بكثير في نهاية المطاف.

مناقشة

على حد علمنا ، هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها تقييم برنامج تعليم السلام في أفغانستان ، مع أو بدون تدخل مجتمعي لتغيير الأعراف والممارسات الاجتماعية الضارة المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي واستخدام العنف لحل النزاعات. يشير التقييم إلى أن التدخل قد أدى إلى الحد من أشكال مختلفة من العنف ، بما في ذلك عنف الأطفال من الأقران ، والعقاب البدني للأطفال في كل من المدرسة والمنزل ، وفي تقارير الأطفال عن العنف المنزلي ضد المرأة على مستوى الأسرة.

تنويه

Corboz J، Siddiq W، Hemat O، Chirwa ED، Jewkes R (2019) ما الذي يعمل على منع العنف ضد الأطفال في أفغانستان؟ نتائج تقييم متسلسل زمني متقطع لتعليم السلام القائم على المدرسة والأعراف الاجتماعية للمجتمع يغير التدخل في أفغانستان. بلوس واحد 14 (8): e0220614. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0220614

[icon name = ”share” class = ”” unprefixed_class = ””] الوصول إلى المقالة الكاملة عبر PLoS ONE

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

What works to prevent violence against children in Afghanistan? Findings of a school-based peace education intervention in Afghanistan

What works to prevent violence against children in Afghanistan? Findings of an interrupted time series evaluation of a school-based peace education and community social norms change intervention in Afghanistan.

By Julienne Corboz, Wahid Siddiq, Osman Hemat, Esnat D. Chirwa, & Rachel Jewkes
PLoS ONE 14(8)

[icon name=”share” class=”” unprefixed_class=””] Access the full article via PLoS ONE

Abstract

Background

Against a backdrop of more than four decades of war, conflict and insecurity, Afghanistan is recognised as suffering from endemic violence and children are exposed to multiple forms of violence, including at the family and school levels. This paper presents the results of an evaluation of school-based peace education and a community-based intervention to change harmful social norms and practices related to gender and the use of violence in conflict resolution, implemented in Afghanistan with the aim of reducing violence against and between children.

Methods

The evaluation consisted of a cross-sectional, interrupted time series design with three data collection points over 12 months. Data was collected from students in 11 secondary schools (seven girls’ and four boys’ schools) in Jawzjan province of Afghanistan, with a total of 361 boys and 373 girls sampled at endline. All children were interviewed with a questionnaire developed for the study. Key outcomes included children’s experience of peer violence (both perpetration and victimization) at school, corporal punishment both at home and at school, and observation of family violence. Other outcomes included children’s gender equitable attitudes, attitudes towards child punishment, depression and school performance.

Results

Between baseline and endline evaluation points, there were significant reductions in various forms of violence at the school level, including both boys’ and girls’ past month experience of peer violence victimization, peer violence perpetration, and corporal punishment by teachers. There were also significant reductions in boys’ and girls’ experience of corporal punishment at home and observation of family violence, with a particularly strong effect observed among girls. Both boys and girls had significantly more equitable gender attitudes and significantly less violence-supportive attitudes in relation to children’s punishment, and significantly fewer symptoms of depression. Girls’ school attendance was also significantly higher at endline.

Discussion

To our knowledge this is the first time that a peace education program has been evaluated in Afghanistan, with or without a community intervention to change harmful social norms and practices related to gender and the use of violence for conflict resolution. The evaluation suggests that the intervention may have led to a reduction in various forms of violence, including children’s peer violence, corporal punishment of children both at school and at home, and in children’s reports of domestic violence against women at the household level.

Citation

Corboz J, Siddiq W, Hemat O, Chirwa ED, Jewkes R (2019) What works to prevent violence against children in Afghanistan? Findings of an interrupted time series evaluation of a school-based peace education and community social norms change intervention in Afghanistan. PLoS ONE 14(8): e0220614. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0220614

[icon name=”share” class=”” unprefixed_class=””] Access the full article via PLoS ONE

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...