ما ندين به لأسر أفغانستان الآن

"إفعل الصواب"

كلوي براير وروث ميسينجر ، اللذان يتمتعان بخبرة كبيرة في المجتمع المدني الدولي والإلمام بأفغانستان ، يدعوان الولايات المتحدة إلى اتخاذ خطوة عادلة وفعالة نحو الوفاء بالتزامات الولايات المتحدة تجاه الشعب الأفغاني ، وإلغاء تجميد الأموال التي تنتمي بحق. هم.

في هذه الحالة ، قد يؤدي القيام بالشيء الصحيح ليس فقط إلى التخفيف من الأزمة الإنسانية المروعة التي تعاني منها البلاد ، ولكن يفتح الاحتمالات للمشاركة البناءة مع طالبان. بدون مثل هذه المشاركة ، هناك أمل ضئيل في رفع نير القمع الثقيل الذي فرضه النظام على النساء ، أو التغلب على مجموعة واسعة من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

يتم تشجيع معلمي السلام على جعل الطلاب يقرؤون مقالة الرأي هذه كأساس لاستكشاف الأسباب والعواقب المحتملة لفك التجميد ، وللتكهن بكيفية فتح حوار للتواصل مع طالبان بدون مظهر فعلي أو مظهر للتسامح مع الإنسان الجسيم. انتهاكات الحقوق. كيف يمكن بناء حوار يراه الطرفان لصالحهما ، مما يجعل بداية التغيير ممكنة؟ (بار ، 8/20/22)

ما ندين به لأسر أفغانستان الآن

بقلم كلوي براير وروث ميسينجر

(تم إعادة النشر من: نيويورك ديلي نيوز. 19 أغسطس 2022)

إن الأدوات التي تحتاجها أفغانستان ليست قطعًا من المعدات العسكرية وإنما استثمارات اقتصادية ودبلوماسية وإنسانية. تأتي هذه الأدوات بسعر يصل إلى الملايين وليس بالتريليونات. وستكون آثارها عبر الأجيال - بالنسبة لنا ولأفغانستان.

بعد مرور عام على مغادرة الجيش الأمريكي لأفغانستان ، رحل جنودنا وموظفو السفارة والمترجمون الأفغان لفترة طويلة. لكن السؤال يبقى ، هل انتهى دور أمريكا في أفغانستان؟

بصفتنا من سكان نيويورك والنساء الأمريكيات من ديانات متنوعة مع التزام طويل الأمد برفاهية المرأة في أفغانستان ، ذهبنا هذا الربيع إلى كابول لنكتشف بأنفسنا. كأول وفود من المجتمع المدني من النساء من الولايات المتحدة ، قدمنا ​​مساعدات نقدية ، والتقينا مع قادة حكوميين ودينيين ، وزارنا المدارس وملاجئ العنف المنزلي والمنظمات غير الحكومية.

لقد رأينا ما يعرفه الكثير من الناس بالفعل: أزمة حقوق الإنسان للفتيات والنساء الأفغانيات والحادة يواجه الجوع ما يقرب من نصف الأمة تعيق الآفاق طويلة الأجل للاستقرار والسلام وتزيل 20 عامًا من التقدم في الصحة والتعليم.

إن أزمة حقوق الإنسان للفتيات والنساء الأفغانيات والجوع الحاد الذي يواجهه ما يقرب من نصف الأمة يقوضان الآفاق طويلة الأجل لتحقيق الاستقرار والسلام ويقوضان 20 عامًا من التقدم في الصحة والتعليم.

تخبرنا تقاليدنا الدينية والشعور بالمسؤولية المدنية أن عمل بلدنا لم يكتمل. كما أنها تمنحنا الأمل والخيال لتصور طريق جديد للمضي قدمًا. عندما احتاج البريطانيون إلى المساعدة في محاربة هتلر ، حث ونستون تشرشل الرئيس فرانكلين روزفلت: "أعطونا الأدوات ، وسننهي المهمة".

إن الأدوات التي تحتاجها أفغانستان ليست قطعًا من المعدات العسكرية وإنما استثمارات اقتصادية ودبلوماسية وإنسانية. تأتي هذه الأدوات بسعر يصل إلى الملايين وليس بالتريليونات. وستكون آثارها عبر الأجيال - بالنسبة لنا ولأفغانستان.

منذ ما يقرب من عام ، جمدت إدارة بايدن أكثر من 7 مليارات دولار من أموال البنك المركزي الأفغاني المحتفظ بها في الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، لعدم رغبتها في أن تقع الأموال في أيدي طالبان. الآن ، الإدارة لديها وبحسب ما ورد قررت أنها لن تفرج عن أي من الأموال وعلقت المفاوضات مع طالبان بعد أن قتلت غارة أمريكية بطائرة مسيرة زعيم القاعدة أيمن الظواهري في كابول.

وبدلاً من إلحاق الضرر بطالبان ، فإن هذا القرار سيعاقب بشكل غير متناسب شعب أفغانستان. فقدت الشركات الصغيرة الأموال. لقد فقد الأفغان مدخراتهم. لا تستطيع الحكومة دفع رواتب المعلمين والعاملين الصحيين. الملايين يكافحون من أجل شراء الطعام.

في إحدى المراحل خلال أسبوع عمل بعثتنا في كابول ، التقينا بامرأة وعائلتها في أحد مواقع توزيع الأغذية التابعة لبرنامج الأغذية العالمي. تحدثت إلينا من خلال مترجم. كان زوجها يعمل باليومية وكان يكافح لإعالة أسرتهم المكونة من ثمانية أفراد.

سألنا: هل ذهب أي من أطفالها إلى المدرسة في ظل حكومة طالبان؟ لا ، ردت من خلال مترجم. السبب لا يتعلق بسياسات الحكومة التقييدية الجديدة بشأن تعليم الفتيات. بدلاً من ذلك ، لم تستطع تسجيلهم لأنها لا تستطيع تحمل تكلفة قلم الرصاص والمفكرة اللازمين للتعلم.

سألنا: هل ذهب أي من أطفالها إلى المدرسة في ظل حكومة طالبان؟ لا ، ردت من خلال مترجم. السبب لا يتعلق بسياسات الحكومة التقييدية الجديدة بشأن تعليم الفتيات. بدلاً من ذلك ، لم تستطع تسجيلهم لأنها لا تستطيع تحمل تكلفة قلم الرصاص والمفكرة اللازمين للتعلم.

طوابير طويلة من أجل الخبز خارج المخابز ، وتبيع العائلات ممتلكاتها في الأسواق المنبثقة في كابول ، والأسوأ من ذلك كله ، زيادة عدد الفتيات الصغيرات باعت في الزواج القسري حتى تتمكن أسرهم من تناول الطعام: كانت هذه كلها نتائج الاقتصاد الهش أهلك بالعقوبات وأموال البنك المركزي المجمدة.

يجب على الرئيس أن يعكس قراره وأن يتفاوض بشأن آلية مسؤولة للإفراج عن أموال البنك المركزي الأفغاني. وفقا لواحد على الأقل مقترح، يمكننا الإفراج عن الأموال على دفعات كل شهر. سيخبرنا الإشراف الأساسي بسرعة كبيرة إذا كان التمويل سيذهب إلى المكان الصحيح. وإذا لم يكن كذلك ، فإننا نتوقف ونعيد تجميده.

في زيارتنا ، حضرنا أيضًا افتتاح غرفة التجارة النسائية الأفغانية. وكان يجلس بجانب مسؤول طالبان الذي ترأس الجلسة مسؤول صيني. كان للصينيين ، مثل الأوروبيين ، وجود دبلوماسي في أفغانستان. نحن بحاجة إلى أعضاء أذكياء من الخدمة الخارجية الأمريكية على الأرض يطبقون استخباراتهم على التحدي الحقيقي للغاية المتمثل في كيفية الحفاظ على النفوذ دون الاعتراف رسميًا بطالبان. الانخراط هو السبيل الوحيد إلى الأمام.

من بين أمور أخرى ، يمكن للدبلوماسيين ممارسة المزيد من الضغط على دول منظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي للاعتماد بشكل أكبر على دولة شقيقة ذات أغلبية مسلمة لتعليم الفتيات. أفغانستان هي الدولة الوحيدة ذات الأغلبية المسلمة التي لديها سياسة عدم السماح للفتيات في سن الدراسة الثانوية بالذهاب إلى المدرسة.

أخيرًا ، نحن بحاجة إلى تقديم المزيد من المساعدات الإنسانية. مؤتمر التعهدات الذي عقدته الأمم المتحدة في آذار / مارس انخفض بمقدار ملياري دولار عن المساعدة الإنسانية العاجلة التي تحتاجها أفغانستان. كلفتنا الحرب حوالي 2 مليون دولار في اليوم لمدة عقدين. يمكننا المساعدة في سد الفجوة البالغة 300 مليار دولار.

إن استخدام كل هذه الأدوات يخدم قدامى المحاربين لدينا الذين يعرضون حياتهم للخطر. إنه يخدم مصالحنا الأمنية طويلة المدى من خلال جعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة على داعش والقاعدة أو المنظمات الإرهابية الأخرى للعثور على ملاذ وإعادة تجميع صفوفهم.

وهي تخدم جيلًا من النساء والفتيات الأفغانيات اللاتي ذهبن إلى المدرسة وترشحن للمناصب على مدى عقدين من الزمن. طالما أن عملهم لم ينته ، كذلك عملنا.

براير ، كاهن إسبسكوبال ، هو مدير مركز الأديان بنيويورك. ذهبت لأول مرة إلى أفغانستان في عام 2003 في محاولة بين الأديان لإعادة بناء مسجد تعرض للقصف. ميسينجر هو الرئيس السابق للخدمة العالمية اليهودية الأمريكية (AJWS). وهي عضو سابق في مجلس مدينة نيويورك ورئيسة مانهاتن.

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

What we owe Afghanistan’s families now

“Do the Right Thing”

Chloe Breyer and Ruth Messinger, both with considerable experience in international civil society and familiarity with Afghanistan, call for the United States to take a just and efficacious step toward fulfilling the United States’ obligations to the Afghan people, unfreezing the funds that rightly belong to them.

In this case, doing the right thing could make possible not only some relief from the horrendous humanitarian crisis the country is suffering, but open possibilities for constructive engagement with the Taliban. Without such engagement, there is little hope for lifting the heavy yoke of oppression the regime has imposed upon women, or overcoming a broad range of human rights abuses.

Peace educators are encouraged to have students read this op-ed as a basis to explore the reasons for and potential consequences of unfreezing, and to speculate on how to open a dialogue of engagement with the Taliban without actual or the appearance of toleration for gross human rights violations. How might a dialogue be constructed that both sides would see to their advantage, making possible the beginning of change?  (BAR, 8/20/22)

What we owe Afghanistan’s families now

By Chloe Breyer and Ruth Messinger

(Reposted from: New York Daily News.  August 19, 2022)

The tools Afghanistan needs are not pieces of military equipment but economic, diplomatic and humanitarian investment. These tools come with a price tag in the millions, not trillions. And their effects will be generational — for us and for Afghanistan.

A year after the U.S. military left Afghanistan, our troops, embassy staff and Afghan interpreters are long gone. But the question remains, is America’s role in Afghanistan over?

As New Yorkers and American women of diverse faiths with long-term commitment to the well-being of women in Afghanistan, we went this spring to Kabul to find out for ourselves. As the first all-women civil society delegations from the U.S., we brought aid in cash, met with government and religious leaders, and visited schools, domestic violence shelters and NGOs.

We saw what many people already know: The human rights crisis for Afghan girls and women and the acute hunger facing almost half the nation are crippling the long-term prospects for stability and peace and unwinding 20 years of progress in health and education.

The human rights crisis for Afghan girls and women and the acute hunger facing almost half the nation are crippling the long-term prospects for stability and peace and unwinding 20 years of progress in health and education.

Our respective faith traditions and sense of civic responsibility tells us that our country’s work is unfinished. They also give us the hope and imagination to envision a new way forward. When the British needed help fighting Hitler, Winston Churchill exhorted President Franklin Roosevelt: “Give us the tools, and we’ll finish the job.”

The tools Afghanistan needs are not pieces of military equipment but economic, diplomatic and humanitarian investment. These tools come with a price tag in the millions, not trillions. And their effects will be generational — for us and for Afghanistan.

For almost a year, the Biden administration has frozen more than $7 billion of Afghan Central Bank Funds held in the Federal Reserve, not wanting the funds to fall into the hands of the Taliban. Now, the administration has reportedly decided that it will not release any of the funds and has suspended negotiations with the Taliban after a U.S. drone strike killed Al Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri in Kabul.

Rather than hurting the Taliban, this decision will disproportionately punish the people of Afghanistan. Small businesses have lost funds. Individual Afghans have lost their savings. The government can’t pay the salaries of teachers and health workers. Millions are struggling to afford food.

At one point during our delegation’s week in Kabul, we met a woman and her family at a World Food Program food distribution site. She spoke to us through an interpreter. Her husband was a day laborer and he struggled to support their family of eight.

Did any of her children go to school under the Taliban government, we asked? No, she replied through an interpreter. The reason did not have to do with the government’s new restrictive policies about girls’ education. Rather, she couldn’t enroll them because she couldn’t afford the pencil and notebook required for learning.

Did any of her children go to school under the Taliban government, we asked? No, she replied through an interpreter. The reason did not have to do with the government’s new restrictive policies about girls’ education. Rather, she couldn’t enroll them because she couldn’t afford the pencil and notebook required for learning.

Days-long lines for bread outside bakeries, families selling their possessions in pop-up bazaars in Kabul, and worst of all, an increasing number of young girls sold into forced marriages so their families could eat: These were all the results of the fragile economy decimated by sanctions and frozen Central Bank funds.

The president must reverse his decision and negotiate a responsible mechanism to release the Afghans’ central bank money. According to at least one proposal, we can release the funds in tranches each month. Basic oversight will tell us quite quickly if the funding is going to the correct place. And if it isn’t, then we stop and refreeze it.

In our visit, we also attended the opening of the Afghan Women’s Chamber of Commerce. Sitting next to the Taliban official who presided was a Chinese official. The Chinese, like the Europeans, had a diplomatic presence in Afghanistan. We need smart members of the U.S. foreign service on the ground applying their intelligence to the very real challenge of how to maintain influence without officially recognizing the Taliban. Engagement is the only path forward.

Among other things, diplomats could put more pressure on the Organization of Islamic Conference Countries to lean harder on a fellow Muslim-majority state to educate girls. Afghanistan is the only Muslim-majority country that has a policy of not allowing high school-aged girls to go to school.

Finally, we need to give more humanitarian aid. The UN’s pledging conference in March fell $2 billion short of the urgent humanitarian assistance Afghanistan needs. The war cost us approximately $300 million a day for two decades. We can help close the $2 billion gap.

Employing all these tools serves our veterans who put their lives on the line. It serves our own long-term security interests by making it more difficult for ISIS and Al Qaeda or other terrorist organizations to find haven and regroup.

And it serves a generation of Afghan women and girls who went to school and ran for office over two decades. As long as their work is unfinished, so is ours.

Breyer, an Espiscopal priest, is director of The Interfaith Center of New York. She first went to Afghanistan in 2003 for an interfaith effort to rebuild a bombed mosque. Messinger is the former president of American Jewish World Service (AJWS). She is a former New York City Council member and Manhattan borough president.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top