ماذا يمكن أن يعلمنا الإسلام عن تدخل المتفرج

حراس من مين ستريت باترول ينزلون إلى الشوارع لحماية المجتمع في فلاشينغ ، نيويورك. (الصورة: إنستغرام / مين ستريت باترول)

(تمت إعادة النشر من شن اللاعنف ، 21 مايو 2021)

بواسطة: آدم عرمان

خلال شهر صيام المسلمين في رمضان (الذي يفهمه المسلمون على أنه أفضل شهر للتأمل فيه وإحداث تغيير إيجابي) ، لفت انتباهي الارتفاع الحاد في جرائم الكراهية تجاه الآسيويين. كما لوحظ من قبل نيويورك تايمز في أوائل أبريل ، تم الإبلاغ عن أكثر من 110 حالة من جرائم الكراهية الصارخة ضد الآسيويين في الولايات المتحدة منذ مارس 2020 ، والتي تراوحت بين الاعتداءات الجسدية واللفظية إلى أعمال التخريب. بصفتي مسلمًا وآسيويًا ، أراقب هذه الاتجاهات العالمية بينما أحاول في الوقت نفسه استعادة المصطلحات المختلسة من ثقافتي الدينية كوسيلة لمواجهة تفشي الإسلاموفوبيا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تنبثق الكراهية المعادية لآسيا وكراهية الإسلام من سياسات الآخر ونزع الصفة الإنسانية ، والتي تُبنى عليها سيادة البيض وأنظمة القمع الأخرى وتنتشر. مع وضع هذا السياق في الاعتبار ، هناك دروس من تقاليدي الدينية لفهم دور الفرد بشكل أفضل في مواجهة الكراهية وبناء السلام.

قد يكون ما يفعله الآخرون في نهاية المطاف خارج نطاق سيطرتنا ، ومع ذلك فإن الطريقة التي نختار بها الاستجابة هي أمر جيد جدًا في حدود قدرتنا.

"الجهاد" كلمة طنانة في اللغة الإنجليزية الإعلام الغربي، التي تم اختلاسها وإزالتها من سياقها وإزالتها من جوهر دعوتها. إلى جانب نوع من الحرب المقدسة ، يمكن فهم الجهاد على أنه فعل (إعادة) حل النزاعات بدون عنف. يُترجم مصطلح الجهاد مباشرة إلى "النضال" أو "الكفاح" ، وهو ممارسة يومية للمساءلة الذاتية والتحسين ، فضلاً عن عدم الانخراط في حياة الرذيلة. وهو الأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر. أخلاقيات ما هو جيد أو سيئ مطروحة للنقاش - على الرغم من أن معظمنا يوافق على أنه لا يوجد شيء جيد أو يأتي فقط من العنصرية. السعي وراء الأمر بالمعروف والنهي عن المنكر هو علاقة الجهاد بـ "تدخل المتفرج".

تدخّل المتفرج هو دعوة إلى اتخاذ إجراء للجميع ليكونوا مسؤولين ومدروسين ، وأن يتدخلوا ويخففوا من تصعيد الموقف عندما يحدث ظلم - أو أشكال مختلفة من المضايقة و / أو العنف. هناك بعض المحاذير. من الجيد دائمًا أن تسأل عما إذا كان الشخص الذي يتعرض للمضايقة يحتاج إلى مساعدتك ، وإذا كنت قلقًا بشأن سلامتك أثناء التدخل ، فحاول طلب الدعم من الآخرين القريبين منك.

Hollaback!، وهي منصة عالمية لإنهاء التحرش بجميع أشكاله ، وقد طورت خمس طرق شعبية للتدخل يسمونها 5Ds. عليهم تشتيت الانتباه والتفويض والتوثيق والتأخير والتوجيه. تشتيت الانتباه هو جذب انتباه الجاني بعيدًا عن هدفه. يمكن القيام بذلك بعدة طرق ، مثل التظاهر بالضياع ومطالبة الهدف بالاتجاهات ، أو التظاهر بمعرفة الهدف ، أو الغناء بصوت عالٍ بشكل عشوائي ، أو حتى الوقوف بين الجاني والهدف في فعل استراتيجي خفي " حظر "، لكسر الاتصال المرئي بينهما.

التفويض هو طلب المساعدة من الأشخاص في مناصب السلطة (مثل المعلمين ، وحراس الأمن ، وموظفي العبور أو مشرفي المتاجر) وغيرهم من المارة في السؤال عما إذا كانوا على استعداد لتقديم يد المساعدة في التدخل معًا.

التوثيق هو تسجيل الحادث بالفيديو ، فقط عندما يكون هناك بالفعل آخرون يحاولون التدخل (إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فاستخدم أحد 4Ds الأخرى). تأكد من الاحتفاظ بمسافة آمنة ، واذكر وقت وتاريخ ومكان التسجيل. بمجرد أن يتم تخفيف حدة الموقف ، اسأل الشخص المستهدف عما يود فعله بالمقطع.

التأخير هو تسجيل الوصول مع الشخص المستهدف عند وقوع الحادث ، والتعاطف معه بشأن ما حدث ، والسؤال عما يمكن فعله لدعمه. من المهم إخبارهم بأنهم ليسوا وحدهم.

التوجيه هو التحدث ضد الجاني ، في كثير من الأحيان فقط عند تقييم مستويات الأمان في الموقف. دعهم يعرفون أن ما يفعلونه غير عادل / خاطئ وترك الهدف وشأنه ، ووضع حدود ثابتة بطريقة قصيرة وموجزة. بعد ذلك ، حول التركيز إلى الهدف لترى كيف يفعلون واسأل عن أفضل السبل لإظهار رعايتك ودعمك.

بشكل أساسي ، تدخل المتفرج هو عملية إدخال الذات في حادثة تحرش من خلال دعم وتهدئة الشخص (الأشخاص) المستهدفين ، مع إبقاء المتحرش / الجاني بعيدًا.

ممتاز مثال من التدخل الناجح حالة ريموند هينج ، وهو رجل سنغافوري يبلغ من العمر 21 عامًا والذي تعرض للاعتداء في المملكة المتحدة في أبريل. أحد مستخدمي YouTube البريطانيين المعروفين فقط باسم شيرون، تصادف أنهم كانوا يغامرون في جميع أنحاء المنطقة أثناء البث المباشر. لاحظ الحادث وتدخل دون تردد. اندفع شيروين إلى جانب هينج وصرخ مرارًا وتكرارًا ، "اتركه وشأنه!" ثم شرع في منع المعتدي من الحصول على هينج. تسببت تصرفات شيرون في هروب المعتدي من مكان الحادث ، وتم الاتصال بالشرطة بعد فترة وجيزة. من المحتمل أن يتم إنقاذ حياة هينج ، حيث أن المعتدي قد سحب سكينًا عليه في البداية. ال تسجيل من الحادثة انتشرت على موقع يوتيوب وألهمت الكثيرين ليكونوا أكثر استباقية ، إذا وجدوا أنفسهم في موقف مشابه.

لقد حفزني التعلم عن تدخل المتفرجين وكان له صدى عميق لديّ ، ولا سيما ذكّرني بالحديث النبوي أو التعاليم النبوية في الإسلام: "من يرى شرًا ، فليغيره بيده ؛ وان كان لا يقدر فليكن بلسانه. وإذا لم يكن قادرًا على فعل ذلك ، فعندئذ بقلبه - وهذا هو أضعف إيمان ". تشير "اليد" في هذا الحديث إلى اتخاذ إجراءات لتغيير جسديًا أو إلغاء الظلم (بالحكمة النبوية في التعامل مع المواقف باللاعنف) ؛ "اللسان" يعني استخدام صوتك لدعوة الظلم. ويشير "القلب" إلى نيتك ، وقد ينطوي على أخذ الحدث (حتى لو كنت مجرد متفرج غير متدخّل يشهده) كتذكير بعدم نشر مثل هذا الظلم أكثر ، والتعلم منه ، والسعي ليكون أفضل.

التميز ، أو "إحسان" هو القيام بكل الثلاثة في وئام. عند الوقوف في وجه الظلم أو النية أو "النية" هو عنصر مهم آخر ، حيث يجب أن يكون التركيز على أولئك الذين يتعرضون للظلم / المظلومين ، بدلاً من السعي وراء المجد أو البطولة. ويذكره حديث آخر: "أجر العمل يتوقف على النية فيحصل كل إنسان على أجره على ما قصده".

قد يكون ما يفعله الآخرون في نهاية المطاف خارج نطاق سيطرتنا ، ومع ذلك فإن الطريقة التي نختار بها الاستجابة هي أمر جيد جدًا في حدود قدرتنا. لا يوجد تعارض أو انفصال بين الممارسات الدينية والحياة اليومية. إن فعل الجهاد ، أو الجهاد ، موجود في الحياة اليومية: في الذهاب إلى العمل ، وتعزيز دراستنا ، وتكوين أسرة صحية ، وحتى في تدخل المتفرج. في كل هذه الأنشطة ، يمكننا أن نسعى جاهدين لتحسين نوعية الحياة لأنفسنا وللآخرين من حولنا. كما تشير هذه التعاليم ، على عكس الصور المشوهة في وسائل الإعلام الغربية ، فإن تقاليدي الدينية لديها الكثير من الحكمة لتقديمها فيما يتعلق بكيفية مواجهة الكراهية وبناء السلام.

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

What Islam can teach us about bystander intervention

Patrollers from Main Street Patrol take the streets to protect the community in Flushing, New York. (Photo: Instagram/Main Street Patrol)

(Reposted from Waging Nonviolence, May 21, 2021)

By: Adam Arman

During the Muslim fasting month of Ramadan (understood by Muslims as the best month to contemplate, and enact positive change), my attention was drawn to the sharp uptick in hate crimes towards Asians. As noted by the New York Times in early April, there have been more than 110 reported cases of blatant anti-Asian hate crimes in the United States since March 2020, which ranged from physical and verbal assaults to acts of vandalism. As both Muslim and Asian, I monitor these global trends while simultaneously trying to reclaim misappropriated terms from my faith culture as a means of countering rampant Islamophobia across the globe.

Anti-Asian hate and Islamophobia emerge from the politics of othering and dehumanization, upon which white supremacy and other systems of oppression are built and proliferate. With this context in mind, there are lessons from my religious tradition to better understand an individual’s role in countering hate and building peace.

What others ultimately do may be out of our control, yet how we choose to respond is very well within our capacity.

“Jihad” is an overused buzzword in Western media, that has been misappropriated, decontextualized and removed from the essence of its calling. Beyond some sort of holy war, jihad can be understood as the act of (re)solving conflicts without violence. The term jihad directly translates to “struggle,” or “striving,” which is a daily practice of self-accountability and improvement, as well as not engaging in a life of vice. It is to enjoin in what is good and forbid what is bad. The ethics of what is good or bad are up for debate — though most of us would agree that nothing good or just comes out of racism. The pursuit of enjoining the good and forbidding the bad is how jihad relates to “bystander intervention.”

Bystander intervention is a call-to-action for everyone to be responsible and thoughtful, and to intervene and de-escalate a situation when an injustice — or various forms of harassment and/or violence — is happening. There are a few caveats. It is always good to ask if the person being harassed needs your assistance and, if concerned about your own safety while intervening, try requesting support from others close by.

Hollaback!, a global platform to end harassment in all its forms,has developed five popular methods of intervening that they call the 5Ds. They are to distract, delegate, document, delay and direct. To distract is to pull away the attention of the perpetrator from their target. This can be done in a variety of ways, such as pretending to be lost and asking the target for directions, pretending to know the target, randomly singing aloud, or even standing in between the perpetrator and the target in an act of subtle strategic “blocking,” to break the visual contact between them.

To delegate is to seek help from people in positions of authority (like teachers, security guards, transit employees or store supervisors) and other bystanders in asking if they are willing to lend a hand in intervening together.

To document is to video record the incident taking place, only when there are already others who are trying to intervene (if not, use one of the other 4Ds). Be sure to keep a safe distance, and mention the time, date and location of the recording. Once the situation has de-escalated, ask the target what they would like to do with the clip.

To delay is to check-in with the targeted person upon an incident, and empathize with them for what has happened, and ask what can be done to support them. It is important to let them know that they are not alone.

To direct is to speak up against the perpetrator, often only upon assessing the safety levels of the situation. Let them know what they are doing is unjust/wrong and to leave the target alone, setting a firm boundary in a short and succinct manner. Then, shift focus onto the target to see how they are doing and ask how best to show your care and support.

Essentially, bystander intervention is the act of inserting oneself into a harassment incident by supporting and comforting the targeted person(s), while keeping the harasser/perpetrator at bay.

An excellent example of a successful intervention is the case of Raymond Hing, a 21-year-old Singaporean man who was assaulted in the U.K. in April. A British YouTuber only known as Sherwin, happened to have been venturing around the area while live-streaming. He took notice of the unfolding incident and intervened without hesitation. Sherwin rushed to Hing’s side and shouted repeatedly, “Leave him alone!” then proceeded to block the aggressor from getting a hold of Hing. Sherwin’s actions caused the assailant to flee the scene, and the police were contacted shortly after. Hing’s life was potentially saved, since the aggressor had initially pulled out a knife on him. The recording of the incident went viral on YouTube and has inspired many to be more proactive, should they find themselves in a similar situation.

Learning about bystander intervention had motivated and resonated with me deeply, particularly reminding me of a hadith, or prophetic teaching in Islam: “Whosoever of you sees an evil, let him change it with his hand; and if he is not able to do so, then with his tongue; and if he is not able to do so, then with his heart — and that is the weakest of faith.” The “hand” in this hadith refers to taking action to physically change or undo an injustice (with the prophetic wisdom of approaching situations with nonviolence); the “tongue” would mean using your voice to call out an injustice; and “heart” refers to your intention, and would involve taking the occurrence (even if you are only a non-intervening bystander witnessing it) as a reminder to not propagate such an injustice further, learning from it, and striving to be better.

Excellence, or “ehsan” is to do all three in harmony. When standing up against an injustice, intention, or “niyyah,” is another important element, as the centering should be toward those that are being wronged/oppressed, rather than seeking glory or heroism. This is reminded through another hadith: “The reward of deeds depends upon the intentions and every person will get the reward according to what he has intended.”

What others ultimately do may be out of our control, yet how we choose to respond is very well within our capacity. There is no conflict or disconnect between faith practices and daily life. The act of jihad, or striving, exists in the everyday: in going to work, furthering our studies, creating a healthy family, and even in bystander intervention. In all these activities, we can strive to improve the quality of life for ourselves and others around us. As these teachings suggests, contrary to misrepresented depictions in Western media, my religious tradition has much wisdom to offer regarding how to counter hate and build peace.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...