我对人类生活作为核顺风器的了解

介绍

玛丽·迪克森只是数以千计的核武器受害者中的一员,其人数超出了在广岛和长崎爆炸中受伤的爆炸者。 自内华达试验场首次试验以来的几十年里,核试验的受害者遭受了死亡、有限的寿命、以及痛苦和身体残疾的生活。 婴儿出生时因测试效应而致残。

迪克森寻求对这些后果负责并为其受害者提供赔偿,这是评估核政策伦理时要考虑的因素。 和平学习者可能会研究她所倡导的立法的发起人,并就美国加入禁止所有核试验的《禁止核武器条约》而游说他们。 结束试验核武器后果的最迅速、最有效的手段就是废除核武器。 (酒吧,6 年 20 月 22 日)

我对人类生活作为核顺风器的了解

一个故意伤害自己公民的政府必须承担责任。 我们的生命比终结文明的武器更有价值。

通过玛丽迪克森

(转自: 共同的梦想。 17 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日)

随着俄罗斯入侵 乌克兰 XNUMX 月,我们难以置信地发现自己处于新冷战的边缘,具有讽刺意味的是,上一次冷战的伤亡人员已经没有时间寻求他们应得的赔偿和正义。

拜登总统最近签署了一项权宜之计法案,将《辐射暴露补偿法》再延长两年,该法案为选择在美国土地上进行大气核试验的受害者提供部分赔偿。 尽管迈出了可喜的第一步,但它未能解决成千上万的美国人,尽管他们因辐射暴露而遭受了毁灭性的伤害,但他们仍被排除在赔偿之外。 时间已经不多了,因为许多人在等待正义的过程中实际上已经死去。

我是冷战的牺牲品,是核武器试验的幸存者。 在冷战期间,我在犹他州盐湖城长大,在拉斯维加斯以西 65 英里的内华达试验场,我一再暴露在数百次爆炸中的危险水平的放射性尘埃中。

我们的政府在 100 年至 1951 年间在内华达州的地面上引爆了 1962 枚炸弹,到 828 年又在地下引爆了 1992 枚炸弹,其中许多突破了地球表面并将放射性沉降物也喷入了大气层。 喷射流的影响远远超出了测试地点,它进入了环境和毫无戒心的美国人的身体,而我们信任的政府一再向我们保证“没有危险”。

在我 30 岁生日前的那个春天,我被诊断出患有甲状腺癌。 儿童,尤其是那些像我一样受到辐射时五岁以下的儿童,风险最大。

我被切片、辐射和挖出。 我为死者埋葬和哀悼,为生者提供安慰和倡导,并为我再次生病的每一次疼痛、疼痛和肿块而担心。 我在甲状腺癌以及随后的健康并发症中幸存下来,这些并发症使我无法生育。 我的姐姐和我一起长大的其他人就没那么幸运了。 他们死于各种癌症和其他与辐射有关的疾病。 在她去世之前,我和姐姐在我们童年社区的五个街区中统计了 54 人,他们患上了癌症、自身免疫性疾病和其他折磨他们及其家人的疾病。

政府雄心勃勃的核试验计划给生活在顺风的无数毫无戒心的爱国美国人带来了悲惨的后果。 “我们是冷战的老兵,只是我们从未入伍,也没有人会在我们的棺材上竖起一面旗帜,”我的一位已故朋友喜欢说。

1990 年,美国政府最终承认了自己的责任,当时它通过了两党的辐射暴露补偿法案 (RECA),该法案向犹他州、亚利桑那州和内华达州部分农村县的一些辐射受害者支付了部分赔偿。 该法案从未走得足够远。 我们现在知道,放射性尘埃造成的伤害远远超出了这些县。 我们也知道人们仍在生病。 苦难还没有结束。

作为受影响社区团体联盟的一部分,我们与全国范围内的联合倡导者合作,通过 2021 年辐射暴露补偿法修正案,努力为 RECA 的快速扩张和延伸。这项两党法案将增加来自犹他州、内华达州、亚利桑那州、爱达荷州、蒙大拿州、科罗拉多州、新墨西哥州和关岛,以及 1971 年以后在该行业工作的铀矿工。它还将所有索赔人的赔偿金从 50,000 美元增加到 150,00 美元,并将该计划延长 19 年。

众议院法案目前有 68 个共同提案国,参议院法案有 18 个提案国,来自全国各地的共和党人和民主党人。 我们现在需要的是他们双方的同事加入他们。

当我们联系参议员和众议员要求他们支持这些法案时,我们有时会遇到有关成本的问题。 作为回报,我问,人的生命值多少钱? 在过去的 32 年中,RECA 已向 2.5 名美国人支付了 39,000 亿美元。 从这个角度来看,这个国家每年花费 50 亿美元来维持我们的核武库。 难道我们的生命不值伤害我们的武器成本的 0.5% 吗?

最重要的是纠正过去的错误。 正如内华达州众议员黛安·提图斯所说,“这些人是冷酷的战士,我们不会把我们的战士留在战场上。”

一个故意伤害自己公民的政府必须承担责任。 我们的生命比终结文明的武器更有价值。 这是一个简单的优先事项和正义问题。

玛丽迪克森 是一位屡获殊荣的作家和剧作家,来自犹他州盐湖城的美国顺风车和甲状腺癌幸存者。 迪克森是国际公认的辐射暴露个人倡导者,他们因在美国的核武器试验中遭受的伤害而遭受了伤害和日本,并将在本月于维也纳举行的 ICAN 会议上发言。

关闭
加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

加入讨论...

滚动到顶部

What I Know About Human Life as a Nuclear Downwinder

Introduction

Mary Dickson is but one of thousands of victims of nuclear weapons, numbers beyond the Hibakusha injured in the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.  Over the decades since the first tests at the Nevada test site, victims of nuclear testing have suffered death, limited life spans, and lives of pain and physical disability. Babies have been born maimed by testing effects.

Dickson seeks accountability for these consequences and reparations for their victims, factors to consider in assessing the ethics of nuclear policy. Peace learners might research the sponsors of the legislation she advocates, and lobby them with regard to the US acceding to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons which bans all nuclear tests. The most expeditious and effective means to end the consequence of testing nuclear weapons is to abolish them.  (BAR, 6/20/22)

What I Know About Human Life as a Nuclear Downwinder

A government that knowingly harms its own citizens must be held accountable. Our lives are worth more than civilization-ending weapons.

By Mary Dickson

(Reposted from: Common Dreams. June 17, 2022)

With Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February, we unbelievably find ourselves on the brink of a new Cold War, ironically as casualties of the last Cold War are running out of time to seek the compensation and justice they deserve.

President Biden recently signed into law a stopgap bill to extend for another two years the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act, which pays partial restitution to select victims of atmospheric nuclear testing on American soil.  While a welcome first step, it fails to address thousands more Americans who have been excluded from compensation despite the devastating harms they have suffered from radiation exposure. Time is running out as many are literally dying as they wait for justice.

I am a casualty of the Cold War, a survivor of nuclear weapons testing. Growing up in Salt Lake City, Utah during the Cold War I was repeatedly exposed to dangerous levels of radioactive fallout from hundreds of detonations at the Nevada Test Site just 65 miles west of Las Vegas.

Our government detonated 100 bombs above ground in Nevada between 1951 and 1962 and 828 more bombs underground through 1992, many of which broke through the earth’s surface and spewed radioactive fallout into the atmosphere as well. The jet stream carried fallout far beyond the test site where it made its way into the environment and the bodies of unsuspecting Americans, while a government we trusted repeatedly assured us “there is no danger.”

In the spring before my 30th birthday, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. Children, especially those under the age of five at the time of radiation exposure, as I was, were most at risk.

I have been sliced, radiated and scooped out. I have buried and mourned the dead, comforted and advocated for the living, and worried with each pain, ache and lump that I am getting sick again. I survived thyroid cancer as well as subsequent health complications that left me unable to have children. My sister and others I grew up with were not so fortunate. They lost their lives to various cancers and other radiation-related illnesses.  Before she died, my sister and I counted 54 people in a five-block area of our childhood neighborhood who developed cancer, autoimmune disorders, and other diseases that ravaged them and their families.

The government’s ambitious program of nuclear testing had tragic consequences for countless unsuspecting, patriotic Americans living downwind. “We are veterans of the Cold War, only we never enlisted and no one will fold a flag over our coffins,” a late friend of mine was fond of saying.

The U.S. government finally acknowledged its responsibility in 1990 when it passed the bipartisan Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (RECA), which paid partial restitution to some fallout victims in select rural counties of Utah, Arizona and Nevada. The bill never went far enough. We now know that the harm wreaked by fallout extends far beyond these counties.  We also know that people are still getting sick. The suffering has not ended.

As part of a coalition of impacted community groups working with allied advocates nationwide, we have worked hard for the speedy expansion and extension of RECA through the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act Amendments of 2021. This bipartisan bill would add downwinders from all of Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Colorado, New Mexico and Guam, as well as uranium miners who worked in the industry beyond 1971. It also would increase compensation from $50,000 to $150,00 for all claimants and extend the program for 19 years.

The House bill currently has 68 co-sponsors, the Senate bill 18, Republicans and Democrats from across the country. What we now need are their colleagues in both parties to join them.

As we reach out to Senators and Representatives asking them to support the bills, we are sometimes confronted with questions about cost. What, I ask in return, is a human life worth? Over the last 32 years, RECA has paid out $2.5 billion to 39,000 Americans. To put that into perspective, each year this country spends $50 billion just to maintain our nuclear arsenal.  Are our lives not worth 0.5% of the cost of weapons that harmed us?

What is paramount is rectifying the mistakes of the past. As Rep. Diane Titus of Nevada said, “These people are Cold Warriors and we do not leave our warriors on the field.”

A government that knowingly harms its own citizens must be held accountable. Our lives are worth more than civilization-ending weapons. It’s a simple matter of priorities and justice.

Mary Dickson is an award-winning writer and playwright, an American downwinder, and thyroid cancer survivor from Salt Lake City, Utah. Dickson is an internationally recognized advocate for radiation-exposed individuals who have suffered due to harms they endured from nuclear weapons testing in the U.S.  She has written and spoken widely about the human toll of nuclear weapons testing at conferences, symposia, and forums in the U.S. and Japan and will speak at the ICAN conference in Vienna this month.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top