ما أعرفه عن حياة الإنسان كمنزل نووي

المُقدّمة

ماري ديكسون ليست سوى واحدة من بين آلاف ضحايا الأسلحة النووية ، وعدد من أصيبوا بعد هيباكوشا في تفجيري هيروشيما وناغازاكي. على مدى العقود التي انقضت منذ الاختبارات الأولى في موقع الاختبار بولاية نيفادا ، عانى ضحايا التجارب النووية من الموت ، وأعمار محدودة ، وحياة من الألم والإعاقة الجسدية. لقد ولد الأطفال مشوهين عن طريق اختبار التأثيرات.

يسعى ديكسون إلى المساءلة عن هذه العواقب والتعويضات لضحاياهم ، وهي عوامل يجب مراعاتها عند تقييم أخلاقيات السياسة النووية. يمكن لمتعلمي السلام البحث عن رعاة التشريع الذي تدعو إليه ، والضغط عليهم فيما يتعلق بانضمام الولايات المتحدة إلى معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية التي تحظر جميع التجارب النووية. إن أسرع الوسائل وأكثرها فعالية لإنهاء عواقب تجارب الأسلحة النووية هي إلغائها. (بار ، 6/20/22)

ما أعرفه عن حياة الإنسان كمنزل نووي

يجب أن تخضع الحكومة التي تلحق الضرر بمواطنيها للمساءلة. تستحق حياتنا أكثر من أسلحة إنهاء الحضارة.

بواسطة ماري ديكسون

(تم إعادة النشر من: أحلام مشتركة. 17 يونيو 2022)

مع غزو روسيا أوكرانيا في فبراير ، وجدنا أنفسنا بشكل لا يصدق على شفا حرب باردة جديدة ، ومن المفارقات أن وقت ضحايا الحرب الباردة الأخيرة ينفد من الوقت لطلب التعويض والعدالة التي يستحقونها.

وقع الرئيس بايدن مؤخرًا على مشروع قانون مؤقت لتمديد قانون التعويض عن التعرض للإشعاع لمدة عامين آخرين ، والذي يدفع تعويضًا جزئيًا لاختيار ضحايا التجارب النووية في الغلاف الجوي على الأراضي الأمريكية. في حين أنها خطوة أولى مرحب بها ، إلا أنها فشلت في معالجة آلاف الأمريكيين الآخرين الذين تم استبعادهم من التعويض على الرغم من الأضرار المدمرة التي عانوا منها من التعرض للإشعاع. الوقت ينفد حيث يموت الكثيرون حرفيًا وهم ينتظرون العدالة.

أنا ضحية في الحرب الباردة ، أحد الناجين من تجارب الأسلحة النووية. نشأت في مدينة سالت ليك ، يوتا خلال الحرب الباردة الأولى تعرضت مرارًا وتكرارًا لمستويات خطيرة من التساقط الإشعاعي من مئات التفجيرات في موقع اختبار نيفادا على بعد 65 ميلاً فقط غرب لاس فيجاس.

فجرت حكومتنا 100 قنبلة فوق الأرض في ولاية نيفادا بين عامي 1951 و 1962 و 828 قنبلة أخرى تحت الأرض خلال عام 1992 ، اخترق العديد منها سطح الأرض وألقى بقايا إشعاعية في الغلاف الجوي أيضًا. حمل التيار النفاث التداعيات إلى ما هو أبعد من موقع الاختبار حيث شق طريقه إلى البيئة وأجساد الأمريكيين المطمئنين ، في حين أكدت لنا الحكومة التي نثق بها مرارًا وتكرارًا "لا يوجد خطر".

في الربيع قبل عيد ميلادي الثلاثين ، تم تشخيص إصابتي بسرطان الغدة الدرقية. كان الأطفال ، وخاصة أولئك الذين تقل أعمارهم عن خمس سنوات وقت التعرض للإشعاع ، كما كنت أنا ، أكثر عرضة للخطر.

لقد تم تقطيعها وإشعاعي وإخراجها. لقد دفنت الموتى وندبتهم ، وعزيت ودعت الأحياء ، وقلقت من كل ألم ، وجع وكتلة أن أصاب بالمرض مرة أخرى. لقد نجوت من سرطان الغدة الدرقية وكذلك المضاعفات الصحية اللاحقة التي جعلتني غير قادر على إنجاب الأطفال. لم تكن أختي والآخرون الذين نشأت معهم محظوظين إلى هذا الحد. لقد فقدوا حياتهم بسبب أنواع مختلفة من السرطان وأمراض أخرى مرتبطة بالإشعاع. قبل وفاتها ، أحصينا أنا وأختي 54 شخصًا في منطقة مكونة من خمسة أحياء من حي طفولتنا أصيبوا بالسرطان واضطرابات المناعة الذاتية وأمراض أخرى عصفت بهم وعائلاتهم.

كان لبرنامج الحكومة الطموح للتجارب النووية عواقب مأساوية لعدد لا يحصى من الأمريكيين الوطنيين المطمئنين الذين يعيشون في اتجاه الريح. كان أحد أصدقائي مغرمًا بالقول: "نحن من قدامى المحاربين في الحرب الباردة ، ولم نقم بالتجنيد مطلقًا ولن يرفع أحد علمًا فوق توابيتنا".

أقرت حكومة الولايات المتحدة أخيرًا بمسؤوليتها في عام 1990 عندما أقرت قانون التعويض عن التعرض للإشعاع من الحزبين (RECA) ، والذي دفع تعويضات جزئية لبعض ضحايا التداعيات في مقاطعات ريفية مختارة في يوتا وأريزونا ونيفادا. مشروع القانون لم يذهب بعيدا بما فيه الكفاية. نحن نعلم الآن أن الضرر الناجم عن التداعيات يمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من هذه المقاطعات. نعلم أيضًا أن الناس ما زالوا يمرضون. المعاناة لم تنتهي.

كجزء من ائتلاف من مجموعات المجتمع المتأثرة التي تعمل مع دعاة الحلفاء على الصعيد الوطني ، عملنا بجد من أجل التوسع السريع والتمديد لـ RECA من خلال تعديلات قانون تعويض التعرض للإشعاع لعام 2021. سيضيف مشروع القانون هذا من الحزبين إلى أسفل من جميع أنحاء ولاية يوتا ، نيفادا ، أريزونا وأيداهو ومونتانا وكولورادو ونيو مكسيكو وغوام ، بالإضافة إلى عمال مناجم اليورانيوم الذين عملوا في الصناعة بعد عام 1971. كما سيزيد التعويض من 50,000 دولار إلى 150,00 دولار لجميع المطالبين ويمدد البرنامج لمدة 19 عامًا.

يضم مشروع قانون مجلس النواب حاليًا 68 راعًا ، مشروع قانون مجلس الشيوخ رقم 18 ، الجمهوريون والديمقراطيون من جميع أنحاء البلاد. ما نحتاجه الآن هو زملائهم في كلا الحزبين للانضمام إليهم.

بينما نتواصل مع أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ والنواب نطلب منهم دعم مشاريع القوانين ، نواجه أحيانًا أسئلة حول التكلفة. في المقابل ، أسأل ما هي قيمة الحياة البشرية؟ على مدار الـ 32 عامًا الماضية ، دفعت RECA 2.5 مليار دولار إلى 39,000 أمريكي. لوضع ذلك في منظور ، ينفق هذا البلد كل عام 50 مليار دولار فقط للحفاظ على ترسانتنا النووية. أليست حياتنا تساوي 0.5٪ من تكلفة السلاح الذي أضر بنا؟

المهم هو تصحيح أخطاء الماضي. وكما قالت النائبة ديان تيتوس من نيفادا ، "هؤلاء الناس هم محاربون باردون ونحن لا نترك محاربينا في الميدان."

يجب أن تخضع الحكومة التي تلحق الضرر بمواطنيها للمساءلة. تستحق حياتنا أكثر من أسلحة إنهاء الحضارة. إنها مسألة أولويات وعدالة بسيطة.

ماري ديكسون هو كاتب وكاتب مسرحي حائز على جوائز ، وناجي من سرطان الغدة الدرقية من سالت ليك سيتي ، يوتا. ديكسون هي مدافعة معترف بها دوليًا للأفراد المعرضين للإشعاع الذين عانوا بسبب الأضرار التي تعرضوا لها من تجارب الأسلحة النووية في الولايات المتحدة. وقد كتبت وتحدثت على نطاق واسع حول الخسائر البشرية لتجارب الأسلحة النووية في المؤتمرات والندوات والمنتديات في الولايات المتحدة واليابان وستتحدث في مؤتمر ICAN في فيينا هذا الشهر.

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

What I Know About Human Life as a Nuclear Downwinder

Introduction

Mary Dickson is but one of thousands of victims of nuclear weapons, numbers beyond the Hibakusha injured in the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.  Over the decades since the first tests at the Nevada test site, victims of nuclear testing have suffered death, limited life spans, and lives of pain and physical disability. Babies have been born maimed by testing effects.

Dickson seeks accountability for these consequences and reparations for their victims, factors to consider in assessing the ethics of nuclear policy. Peace learners might research the sponsors of the legislation she advocates, and lobby them with regard to the US acceding to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons which bans all nuclear tests. The most expeditious and effective means to end the consequence of testing nuclear weapons is to abolish them.  (BAR, 6/20/22)

What I Know About Human Life as a Nuclear Downwinder

A government that knowingly harms its own citizens must be held accountable. Our lives are worth more than civilization-ending weapons.

By Mary Dickson

(Reposted from: Common Dreams. June 17, 2022)

With Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February, we unbelievably find ourselves on the brink of a new Cold War, ironically as casualties of the last Cold War are running out of time to seek the compensation and justice they deserve.

President Biden recently signed into law a stopgap bill to extend for another two years the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act, which pays partial restitution to select victims of atmospheric nuclear testing on American soil.  While a welcome first step, it fails to address thousands more Americans who have been excluded from compensation despite the devastating harms they have suffered from radiation exposure. Time is running out as many are literally dying as they wait for justice.

I am a casualty of the Cold War, a survivor of nuclear weapons testing. Growing up in Salt Lake City, Utah during the Cold War I was repeatedly exposed to dangerous levels of radioactive fallout from hundreds of detonations at the Nevada Test Site just 65 miles west of Las Vegas.

Our government detonated 100 bombs above ground in Nevada between 1951 and 1962 and 828 more bombs underground through 1992, many of which broke through the earth’s surface and spewed radioactive fallout into the atmosphere as well. The jet stream carried fallout far beyond the test site where it made its way into the environment and the bodies of unsuspecting Americans, while a government we trusted repeatedly assured us “there is no danger.”

In the spring before my 30th birthday, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. Children, especially those under the age of five at the time of radiation exposure, as I was, were most at risk.

I have been sliced, radiated and scooped out. I have buried and mourned the dead, comforted and advocated for the living, and worried with each pain, ache and lump that I am getting sick again. I survived thyroid cancer as well as subsequent health complications that left me unable to have children. My sister and others I grew up with were not so fortunate. They lost their lives to various cancers and other radiation-related illnesses.  Before she died, my sister and I counted 54 people in a five-block area of our childhood neighborhood who developed cancer, autoimmune disorders, and other diseases that ravaged them and their families.

The government’s ambitious program of nuclear testing had tragic consequences for countless unsuspecting, patriotic Americans living downwind. “We are veterans of the Cold War, only we never enlisted and no one will fold a flag over our coffins,” a late friend of mine was fond of saying.

The U.S. government finally acknowledged its responsibility in 1990 when it passed the bipartisan Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (RECA), which paid partial restitution to some fallout victims in select rural counties of Utah, Arizona and Nevada. The bill never went far enough. We now know that the harm wreaked by fallout extends far beyond these counties.  We also know that people are still getting sick. The suffering has not ended.

As part of a coalition of impacted community groups working with allied advocates nationwide, we have worked hard for the speedy expansion and extension of RECA through the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act Amendments of 2021. This bipartisan bill would add downwinders from all of Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Colorado, New Mexico and Guam, as well as uranium miners who worked in the industry beyond 1971. It also would increase compensation from $50,000 to $150,00 for all claimants and extend the program for 19 years.

The House bill currently has 68 co-sponsors, the Senate bill 18, Republicans and Democrats from across the country. What we now need are their colleagues in both parties to join them.

As we reach out to Senators and Representatives asking them to support the bills, we are sometimes confronted with questions about cost. What, I ask in return, is a human life worth? Over the last 32 years, RECA has paid out $2.5 billion to 39,000 Americans. To put that into perspective, each year this country spends $50 billion just to maintain our nuclear arsenal.  Are our lives not worth 0.5% of the cost of weapons that harmed us?

What is paramount is rectifying the mistakes of the past. As Rep. Diane Titus of Nevada said, “These people are Cold Warriors and we do not leave our warriors on the field.”

A government that knowingly harms its own citizens must be held accountable. Our lives are worth more than civilization-ending weapons. It’s a simple matter of priorities and justice.

Mary Dickson is an award-winning writer and playwright, an American downwinder, and thyroid cancer survivor from Salt Lake City, Utah. Dickson is an internationally recognized advocate for radiation-exposed individuals who have suffered due to harms they endured from nuclear weapons testing in the U.S.  She has written and spoken widely about the human toll of nuclear weapons testing at conferences, symposia, and forums in the U.S. and Japan and will speak at the ICAN conference in Vienna this month.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top