教科文组织在缅甸对教师进行和平与可持续发展教育(EPSD)培训

(转自: 联合国教科文组织。 13 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日。)

By 艾米丽·德

“和平与可持续发展教育最终不是用来学习的东西,而是用来生活的东西。”

联合国教科文组织 EPSD 培训师

在短短 14 个月内(​​即自 2022 年 174 月以来),70 名教育工作者、实习教师、课程开发人员和学校管理人员(其中超过 XNUMX% 为女性)完成了和平与可持续发展教育 (EPSD) 的能力建设培训,该培训由由联合国教科文组织仰光天线办公室提供。迄今为止,这一令人印象深刻的数字反映了教科文组织的一项重要原则:在通过教育培育一个更加可持续与和平的世界时,教师发挥着核心作用。考虑到这一点,教科文组织的 EPSD 培训旨在支持教师提高对该主题的认识,并培养缅甸 EPSD 教师和教育从业人员的能力。 

自定进度课程的五个在线模块提供了关键资源和指导,涉及 EPSD 的定义、EPSD 能力的构成、为什么以及如何将和平与可持续发展课程和课外活动整合到课程中,以及如何实施“全校”方法。培训课程还为参与者提供了与培训师及其同伴交流信息和想法的机会,并获得培训师对其作业的直接反馈。

完成课程并获得证书后,教师有机会通过联合国教科文组织 EPSD 专家的虚拟或面对面培训来丰富他们的经验并进行更深入的学习。

培训强调学校在促进良好实践和作为可持续发展学习环境方面的作用。谈到他从培训中获得的知识的潜在应用,克耶邦一所社区学校的老师评论道:

“我教育我的学生负责任的做法,例如重复使用白纸、不需要时关灯以及促进可回收和可堆肥废物的分离。我还采用包括基于项目的学习、实地研究和服务学习的方法来为他们的社区培养协作和负责任的代理人。”

由于 EPSD 促进与当地相关且适合文化的实施,它鼓励教师密切考虑当地的环境、经济和社会条件,以及社区的承诺和参与潜力。一位参加仰光现场培训的实习教师指出,

“我从这个 EPSD 研讨会中学到的一个新东西是全校方法。我了解到内容必须与当地情况相关,以便学生可以在日常生活中实践所学内容。学校不仅要为学生服务,更要为社会服务。在学校活动中,社会可以参与一些部分。社会本身也必须是学生的学校,这样他们就可以轻松学习如何节约雨水、如何回收物品等等。我非常感谢这门课程的老师将教学计划如何影响学生的生活和国家的生活联系起来。”

伊洛瓦底省一所修道院学校的校长也作证说,她将如何在学校应用 EPSD,并表示: 

“我将为学校行政人员和教师组织与EPSD相关的培训,并鼓励在学校的日常教学和相关实践中实践EPSD的四大支柱——环境、社会、经济和文化。”

改变一个人的思维和行为方式是迈向可持续世界之旅不可或缺的一部分,而教师在灌输实现这一目标所需的能力方面发挥着至关重要的作用。教科文组织仍然致力于支持当地教师和教育工作者加强现有能力,并不断加强他们的专业 EPSD 发展。 EPSD培训帮助教师向学生传授实现可持续发展所需的知识、技能和价值观,并激励年轻学习者采取实际行动,从而帮助教师在可持续发展方面打下坚实的基础,以应对世界的不断变化。日常生活中的“变革推动者”。 

要访问 EPSD 资源和在线课程,请访问 联合国教科文组织缅甸教师平台.

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

UNESCO trains teachers in Education for Peace and Sustainable Development (EPSD) in Myanmar

(Reposted from: UNESCO. November 13, 2023.)

By Emily De

“Education for Peace and Sustainable Development ultimately is not something to be learned, but something to live with.”

UNESCO EPSD Trainer

In just 14 months—or since September 2022—174 educators, student teachers, curriculum developers, and school administrators (over 70% of them women) have completed capacity-building training in Education for Peace and Sustainable Development (EPSD), which was hosted by the UNESCO Antenna Office in Yangon. That impressive number, to date, reflects a key UNESCO principle: in fostering a more sustainable and peaceful world through education, teachers play a central role. With this in mind, UNESCO’s EPSD training aims to support teachers in raising their awareness of the subject, and in building the competencies of teachers and educational practitioners in EPSD in Myanmar. 

The five online modules of the self-paced course provide key resources and guidance on what defines EPSD, what constitutes EPSD competencies, why and how to integrate peace and sustainability lessons and extracurricular activities in curricula, and how to implement a ‘whole school’ approach. The training sessions also provided participants with opportunities to exchange information and ideas with both the trainer and their fellow learners, and to receive direct feedback from the trainer on their assignments.

Upon completing the course and receiving their certificate, teachers were given the opportunity to enrich their experience and engage in even deeper learning through either virtual or in-person training by a UNESCO EPSD specialist.

The training emphasizes the role of schools in promoting good practices and in serving as learning environments for sustainability. Speaking of the potential application of the knowledge he gained from his training, a teacher from a community school from Kayah State commented,

“I educate my students on responsible practices such as reusing blank sheets, turning off lights when not needed, and fostering the separation of recyclable and compostable waste., I also employ approaches which encompasses project-based learning, field studies, and service learning to train them collaborative and responsible agent for their community.”

As EPSD fosters implementation which is locally relevant and culturally appropriate, it encourages teachers to take into close consideration their local environmental, economic, and societal conditions, as well as the potential for commitment and participation of their community. A student teacher who joined the in-person training in Yangon noted,

“A new thing that I have learned from this EPSD workshop is the Whole School Approach. I learned that the content must be relevant to the local context so that students can practice what they learn in daily life. School must not be only for students, but also for their society. In school activities, society can participate in some parts. Society itself must also be a school for students so they can learn easily how to save the rainwater, how to recycle things, and so forth. I really appreciate the teacher of this course for linking how teaching plans can affect students’ lives, and the life of the nation.”

A principal from a monastic school from Ayeyarwady Division also testified how she will apply EPSD in her school, stating, 

“I will organize EPSD-related training for school administration and teachers and will encourage the practice of the four pillars of EPSD—environment, society, economics, and culture—in our daily teaching and related practices in schools.”

Transforming the way one thinks and acts is an integral part of the journey towards a sustainable world, and teachers play a vital role in inculcating the competencies needed to get there. UNESCO remains committed to supporting local teachers and educators in their building on their existing capacities, and the continual enhancing of their professional EPSD development. EPSD training has facilitated teachers’ obtaining a solid foundation in sustainability to deal with the world’s constant changes by helping teachers impart to their students the knowledge, skills, and values they need to achieve sustainability, and to inspire young learners to take action, as real ‘change agents’, in their daily lives. 

For access to EPSD resources and online courses, visit the UNESCO Myanmar Teacher Platform.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top