教科文组织召集教师培训师倡导和平教育并防止教师教育中的暴力极端主义

学校可以成为所在社区建设和平的中心,而教育在和平和复原力建设中的作用仍然非常重要,因为它发挥着变革性的作用。

(转自: 联合国教科文组织。 22 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日)

乌干达教育和体育部 (MoES) 正在联合国教科文组织非洲国际能力建设研究所 (IICBA) 的支持下实施和平教育和预防暴力极端主义项目,该项目名为“青年赋权以促进和平与韧性建设和预防暴力”非洲国家的极端主义通过教师发展”。 该项目得到了日本政府的支持,旨在支持将和平教育融入教师教育,培训教师和教师教育工作者,培养年轻人成为和平的推动者,并为学校营造安全的学习环境。

为此,29 年 2022 月 40 日在坎帕拉为利益相关者组织了为期一天的研讨会,旨在分享乌干达选定的教师培训机构在和平教育和预防暴力极端主义方面的经验,吸引了 XNUMX 多名参与者。 该研讨会旨在;

  • 在选定的教师培训机构传播关于和平教育和预防暴力极端主义的研究的基线结果
  • 讨论市政大学和市政中央关于将和平教育纳入主流和预防暴力极端主义的拟议工作计划,以及
  • 分享教师教育和平教育与预防暴力极端主义经验

这一倡议与乌干达所在的非洲之角地区因各种因素造成的持续和暴力冲突而深受其害的背景相关,这些因素导致财产和生命遭受巨大痛苦和破坏。 其中一些冲突源于资源冲突、种族认同刻板印象、边缘化、排斥和暴力极端主义行为,其中许多表现在当今时代仍然显而易见并存在。 因此,UNESCO IICBA 制定的关于建设和平的变革性教学法指南(一种创新的教学方法,使学习者能够批判性地审视他们的态度和信仰)为这一干预提供了依据。

教师职业是可以改变所有其他职业的职业,因此你有额外的责任扮演和平的代理人和年轻一代的榜样。

讲习班的首席嘉宾、教育部 TETD 助理专员 Annet Kajura 女士建议教师培训师成为榜样和和平使者。 她透露, “教师职业是可以改变所有其他职业的职业,因此你有额外的责任作为和平的代理人和年轻一代的榜样。”

国家项目协调员 Charles Draecabo 先生在对教师教育者的讲话中强调,需要整合报告中记录的有希望的做法,并用它来模拟项目内容,促进学习者心中的和平。 Draecabo 先生补充说,“没有和平,你想做的任何努力都将是徒劳的。”

(照片:©UNESCO/Vincent Ogal)

IICBA 教育能力发展高级项目协调员 Victoria Kisaakye 女士在她的讲话中强调,该研究所专注于通过在促进和平的环境中进行有效教学来提高学习者的质量。 她表示,“学校可以成为所在社区的和平建设中心,教育在和平和复原力建设中的作用仍然非常重要,因为它发挥着变革性的作用。” 她与 Eyerusalem Azmeraw 女士一起分享了 IICBA 开发的几份培训材料,并为想要参加在线课程的教师教育工作者介绍了一个和平教育虚拟校园。

研讨会建议有必要扩大对所有教师培训机构和大学的预防暴力培训,并开发一个针对教师教育工作者的个人福祉和心理社会支持的模块,以应对影响他们生活的挑战。 另一个要求是教科文组织支持更多以青年为基础的大学生培训,以防止已经猖獗的大学暴力事件。

关闭
加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

加入讨论...

滚动到顶部

UNESCO Rallies Teacher Trainers to champion Peace Education and Prevent Violent Extremism in Teacher Education

Schools can be hubs for peace building in the communities where they are situated and the role of education in peace and resilience building remains very critical because it plays a transformative role.

(Reposted from: UNESCO.  August 22, 2022)

The Ministry of Education and Sports (MoES) in Uganda is implementing the Peace Education and Prevention of Violent Extremism project with support from UNESCO’s International Institute for Capacity Building in Africa (IICBA) titled, “Youth Empowerment for Peace and Resilience Building and Prevention of Violent Extremism in African Countries through Teacher Development”. This project has been supported by the Government of Japan to support the infusion of peace education in teacher education, train teachers and teacher educators to nurture young people to become agents of peace and to make schools safe learning environments.

In pursuance of the above, a one-day workshop was organized for stakeholder engagement in Kampala on July 29, 2022, intended to share experiences on peace education and prevention of violent extremism in selected teacher training institutions in Uganda, drawing over 40 participants. The workshop was intended to;

  • disseminate the baseline results of a study on peace education and prevention of violent extremism in selected teacher training institutions
  • discuss the proposed workplan on mainstreaming peace education and prevention of violent extremism by Muni University and Muni NTC, and
  • share experiences of peace education and prevention of violent extremism in teacher education

This initiative is relevant in the context that the Horn of Africa region where Uganda lies suffers much from ongoing and violent conflicts caused by a variety of factors that has resulted in immense suffering and destructions to both properties and lives. Some of these conflicts have stemmed from skirmish over resources, ethnic-identify stereotyping, marginalization, exclusion and acts of violent extremism, with many of these manifestations still evident and present in this day and age. The guide on transformative pedagogy for peace building (an innovative pedagogical approach that empowers learners to critically examine their attitude and beliefs) developed by UNESCO IICBA therefore provides an anchor for this intervention.

The teaching profession is one which can transform all other professions and you therefore have an extra responsibility to play as agents of peace and role models to younger generation.

The Chief Guest at the workshop Ms. Annet Kajura, the Assistant Commissioner TETD at MoES advised the teacher trainers to be role models and messengers of peace. She revealed that, “the teaching profession is one which can transform all other professions and you therefore have an extra responsibility to play as agents of peace and role models to younger generation.”

Mr. Charles Draecabo the National Projects Coordinator in his address to the teacher educators emphasized the need to integrate the promising practices documented in the report and use it to model program content that promote peace in the minds of learners. Mr. Draecabo added, “without peace, any efforts that you would like to do, will be in futility.”

(Photo: ©UNESCO/Vincent Ogal)

Ms Victoria Kisaakye, the Senior Programmes Coordinator for Capacity Development for Education at IICBA in her remarks highlighted that the Institute focuses on improving the quality of learners through effective teaching in an environment that fosters peace. She stated that, “schools can be hubs for peace building in the communities where they are situated and the role of education in peace and resilience building remains very critical because it plays a transformative role.” She together with Ms Eyerusalem Azmeraw, shared several training materials developed by IICBA and introduced a virtual campus on peace education for teacher educators that want to undertake an online course.

The workshop recommended the need to scale up the training on the prevention of violence to all the teacher training institutions and universities as well as developing a module targeting teacher educators’ personal wellbeing and Psychosocial support where they are facing challenges that are impacting on their lives. The other request will be for UNESCO to support more youth-based training for university students to prevent violence in the colleges that has become rampant.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top