教科文组织通过关于教育在促进和平方面的跨领域作用的具有里程碑意义的指导

(转自: 联合国教科文组织。 21 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

20年2023月194日,教科文组织14个成员国在教科文组织大会上通过了《关于教育促进和平、人权和可持续发展的建议书》。 这是唯一的全球标准制定工具,通过 XNUMX 项指导原则阐述了如何利用教育实现持久和平并促进人类发展。

 推荐 它的独特之处在于将教育的各个方面结合在一起,并将不同的主题领域联系起来,从数字技术和气候变化到性别问题和基本自由。 新通过的案文更新了“1974” 大约 50 年前的建议 美国 会员国将教育定位为和平与国际理解的关键驱动力。 过去两年,联合国教科文组织 一直在修改 这个有远见的工具可以确保它 回应 应对当今最大的挑战和未来的冲击。

教科文组织总干事表示:“今天,当危机使我们的社会两极分化时,当多极世界秩序继续成为暴力冲突的场所时,教育比以往任何时候都必须成为抵御世界分裂的防御堡垒和持久和平的基础。”奥黛丽·阿祖莱将军。 “正是这一信念继续推动着教科文组织的行动。”

该建议书将帮助建设更加和平、公正、平等、公平、包容、民主、健康和可持续的社会,成为所有教育利益攸关方实现以下目标的工具: 可持续发展目标.

人类与和平教育的愿景

该建议书承认,和平不仅可以通过国际谈判来建立,而且可以在学校的长凳上、校园和运动场上、通过艺术和科学教育以及在一生中建立。 学校内外的各种形式和维度的教育塑造了我们如何看待世界和对待他人,它可以而且应该成为建设持久和平的途径。 为了实现这些雄心,新文本概述了教育方法到底需要改变什么以及如何改变。 它定义了 14 条指导原则,这些原则将影响未来几十年教育系统的转型。

修订后的文本是 今年夏天早些时候会员国达成的广泛共识,是教委讨论的第一个议题。 联合国教科文组织194个会员国一致同意建议联合国教科文组织大会第四十二届会议通过。 近四十个国家发言表达了对更新后建议书的坚定支持。 他们还赞扬了包容性和参与性 修订过程,这在各国之间创造了信任的气氛,并使它们最终能够以协商一致方式通过该文本。

“我们的世界现在比以往任何时候都更需要和平的信息。 教育可以培养人与人之间的联系。 在当前背景下,我们不能错过这个机会,在教科文组织这里大声明确地表明,会员国就教育服务人类与和平的愿景达成一致。 在各国代表团的奉献和辛勤工作下,我们成功地将文本形成了一份文件……每个会员国都可以称之为自己的文件。”肯尼亚常驻联合国教科文组织代表、负责该问题的主席团主席查尔斯·博西尔教授说。 1974 年建议书的修订版。

虽然会员国将负责其在国家层面的应用,但教科文组织将支持其实施进程并定期报告其努力。

修订后的建议书有何独特之处?

  • 它大力强调人权和基本自由,并整合了被视为 对我们这个时代实现持久和平至关重要,例如可持续发展、气候变化、尊重多样性、性别平等以及媒体和信息素养。

  • 它概述了 14 项指导原则、具体学习成果和优先行动领域 全面重塑教育体系的各个方面,从法律和政策到课程开发、教学实践、学习环境和评估。 例如,它强调,除了批判性的读写能力和计算能力之外,学习者还应该获得同理心、批判性思维、跨文化理解和环境管理等能力。

  • 它涵盖了以下方面的教育活动 所有环境、所有层面、以及整个生命,将之前未考虑过的区域之间的点连接起来。 例如,学习者的身心健康与其接受和获得教育的能力之间的关系、气候变化对教育系统的影响以及在课堂外获得的知识。

  • 它可以由 所有教育利益相关者 – 从政策制定者和教师到非正式教育工作者和传统传承者 – 作为转变政策、实践和方法的基准,以培养具有同理心和包容性的学习者。 例如,使用此文件,教师可以了解如何调整他们的课程计划以整合特定的主题和活动,或者当地社区领导人可以倡导政策和课程的具体变化。

  • It 让教育与时俱进,考虑世界已经如何变化并将在未来几十年继续发展。 例如,它考虑到了在线仇恨言论日益增长等当代现象,并概述了可以通过教育来培养学习者的适应能力。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

UNESCO adopts landmark guidance on education’s cross-cutting role in promoting peace

(Reposted from: UNESCO.  November 21, 2023)

On 20 November 2023, the 194 UNESCO Member States adopted the Recommendation on Education for Peace, Human Rights and Sustainable Development at UNESCO’s General Conference. This is the only global standard-setting instrument that lays out how education should be used to bring about lasting peace and foster human development through 14 guiding principles.

The Recommendation is unique in bringing together all dimensions of education and linking different thematic areas, from digital technologies and climate change to gender issues and fundamental freedoms.  The newly adopted text updates the “1974” Recommendation that almost 50 years ago united Member States in positioning education as a key driver of peace and international understanding. For the past two years, UNESCO has been revising this visionary tool to ensure it responds to today’s greatest challenges and future shocks.

“Today, when crises polarize our societies, when the multipolar world order continues to be the scene of violent conflicts, education must more than ever remain a defensive bulwark against the fractures of the world and a foundation for lasting peace,” said UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay. “It is this same conviction that continues to drive UNESCO’s action.”

Helping to build more peaceful, just, equal, equitable, inclusive, democratic, healthy, and sustainable societies, the Recommendation will become a tool for all education stakeholders to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals.

A vision of education for humanity and peace

The Recommendation acknowledges that peace is built not only through international negotiations, but also on school benches, in school yards and sports fields, through arts and science education, and throughout life. Education in all its forms and dimensions, in and out of schools, shapes how we see the world and treat others, and it can, and should, be a pathway to constructing lasting peace. To realize these ambitions, the new text outlines what exactly needs to change in approaches to education and how. It defines 14 guiding principles which should shape the transformation of education systems in the decades to come.

The revised text, a product of the broad consensus reached by Member States earlier this summer, was the first item discussed at the Education Commission. 194 UNESCO Member States unanimously agreed to recommend it for adoption by the 42nd session of the UNESCO General Conference. Close to forty countries took the floor to express their unwavering support for the updated Recommendation. They also praised the inclusive and participatory revision process, which created a climate of trust between countries and allowed them to finally adopt the text by consensus.

“Our world needs a message of peace now more than ever. Education can nurture connections between people. In our current context, we cannot miss this opportunity to state loud and clear that – here at UNESCO – Member States agree on a vision of education serving humanity and peace. With the dedication and hard work of country delegations, we managed to shape the text into a document…that every Member State can call its own,” said Prof. Charles Bosire, permanent delegate of Kenya to UNESCO and Chair of the Bureau in charge of the Revision of the 1974 Recommendation.

While Member States will be responsible for its application at the national level, UNESCO will support their implementation processes and undertake regular reporting on their efforts.

What is unique about the revised Recommendation?

  • It strongly emphasizes human rights and fundamental freedoms and integrates issues deemed central to achieving lasting peace in our era, such as sustainable development, climate change, respect for diversity, gender equality, and media and information literacy.

  • It outlines 14 guiding principles, concrete learning outcomes and priority action areas for holistically reshaping all aspects of education systems, from laws and policies to curricula development, teaching practices, learning environments and assessment. For example, it highlights that beyond critical literacy and numeracy skills, learners should acquire competencies like empathy, critical thinking, intercultural understanding and environmental stewardship.

  • It covers educational activities in all settings and at all levels, and throughout life, connecting the dots between areas that have not been previously considered together. For example, the nexus between learners’ physical and mental health and their ability to access and attain education, the impact of climate change on the education system, as well as knowledge gained outside the classroom.

  • It can be used by all education stakeholders – from policy-makers and teachers to informal educators and tradition-bearers – as a baseline to transform their policies, practices and approaches to build empathetic and inclusive learners. For example, using this document, teachers can see how to adapt their lesson plans to integrate specific topics and activities, or local community leaders can advocate for specific changes in policies and curricula.

  • It brings education with the times, considering how the world has changed and will continue to evolve in the decades to come. For example, it takes into account contemporary phenomena like growing online hate speech and outlines what can be done through education to foster learners’ resilience.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top