联合国敦促宣布全球和平教育日

(转自: 深度新闻。 21 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日)

Anwarul K. Chowdhury 大使

以下是前副秘书长兼联合国高级代表、全球和平文化运动 (GMCoP) 创始人 Anwarul K. Chowdhury 大使的就职主旨演讲全文, 在由团结基金会和和平教育网络虚拟组织的第一届年度和平教育日会议上。

纽约 (IDN) — 我感谢 Unity 基金会主席兼创始人、首届年度和平教育日会议和和平教育网络主席比尔·麦卡锡组织这次会议,其出色的目标是让联合国宣布国际和平教育日。 我相信如果它被称为全球和平教育日会更好。

我很荣幸被邀请作为首任主旨发言人在会议上发言,主题非常接近我的内心和我的个性。

正如我在许多场合说过的那样,我的生活经历教会我将和平与平等视为我们生存的基本组成部分。 那些释放出人类进步所需要的积极的善力量。

和平是人类生存不可或缺的一部分——在我们所做的一切、我们所说的一切以及我们所拥有的每一个想法中,都有一个和平的地方。 我们不应将和平孤立为单独或遥远的事物。 重要的是要认识到,缺乏和平会剥夺我们改善自己、准备自己、增强自己以个人和集体面对生活挑战所需的机会。

二十五年来,我一直专注于推进和平文化,旨在让和平和非暴力成为我们自己、我们自己的个性的一部分——我们作为人类存在的一部分。 这将使我们有能力更有效地为带来内在和外在的和平做出贡献。

这是我在全球范围内为所有年龄段倡导的自我变革维度的核心,特别强调妇女、青年和儿童。 在不断增加的军国主义和军事化正在摧毁我们的星球和我们的人民的情况下,这种认识现在变得更加重要。

国际和平大会于 1989 年在科特迪瓦/科特迪瓦亚穆苏克罗举行,由教科文组织组织,由我亲爱的朋友费德里科市长萨拉戈萨明智而充满活力的领导会议还作为主旨发言人。 这是一次具有里程碑意义的聚会,旨在推动和宣传旨在促进价值观和行为改变的和平文化概念。

13 年 1999 月 22 日,也就是 XNUMX 年前的上周,联合国通过了《和平文化宣言和行动纲领》,这是一份跨越国界、文化、社会和国家的具有纪念意义的文件。

我很荣幸能够主持为期九个月的谈判,最终导致联合国大会通过了这一具有历史意义的准则制定文件。 该文件声称,和平文化所固有的是一套价值观、行为方式和生活方式。

联合国文件中阐明的基本信息的一个重要方面有效地断言“和平文化是个人、集体和机构转型的过程……”“转型”在这里具有关键意义。

和平文化的本质是其包容性和全球团结的信息。

最基本的是要记住,和平文化需要改变我们的内心,改变我们的思维方式。 它可以通过简单的生活方式、改变我们自己的行为、改变我们彼此的关系、改变我们与人类一体性的联系方式来内化。 和平文化的本质是其包容性和全球团结的信息。

联合国 2030 年可持续发展议程在其可持续发展目标 (SDG) 4.7 中包括促进和平与非暴力文化以及全球公民作为促进可持续发展所需的知识和技能的一部分。发展。

它还呼吁国际社会确保所有学习者到 2030 年都能获得这些。 以此为重点,2019 年联合国高级别论坛纪念联合国和平文化 20 周年的主题是“文化和平——赋予人类权力和改变人类”,旨在为未来二十年制定具有前瞻性和启发性的议程。

在我对 2008 年出版物的介绍中 “和平教育:通往和平文化的途径”, 我写道:“正如玛丽亚·蒙台梭利 (Maria Montessori) 所表达的那样,那些想要暴力生活方式的人,要为年轻人做好准备; 但那些想要和平的人却忽视了他们年幼的孩子和青少年,这样就无法组织他们实现和平。”

在联合国儿童基金会,和平教育被非常简洁地定义为“促进实现行为改变所需的知识、技能、态度和价值观的过程,使儿童、青年和成人能够预防公开和结构性的冲突和暴力; 和平解决冲突; 并创造有利于和平的条件,无论是在人际、群体间、国家还是国际层面”。

世界各地、所有社会和国家都需要接受和平教育,将其作为创造和平文化的基本要素。

世界各地、所有社会和国家都需要接受和平教育,将其作为创造和平文化的基本要素。 它应该接受完全不同的教育——“一种不美化战争,但教育和平、非暴力和国际合作的教育。” 他们需要技能和知识来为他们个人以及他们所属的世界创造和培养和平。

了解世界并了解其多样性对我们来说从未如此重要。 教育儿童和年轻人寻找非攻击性的方式相互联系的任务是最重要的。

所有教育机构都需要提供机会,让学生不仅可以过上充实的生活,而且可以成为负责任、有意识和有生产力的世界公民。 为此,教育工作者需要引入全面和赋权的课程,在每个年轻人的心中培养和平文化。

事实上,这应该更恰当地称为 “全球公民教育”。 如果没有引导通往和平文化之路的善意、持续和系统的和平教育,就无法实现这种学习。

如果我们的思想可以比作一台计算机,那么教育提供了一种软件,通过它可以“重新启动”我们的优先事项和行动,远离暴力,走向和平文化。 全球和平教育运动 继续以有意义的方式实现这一目标,必须得到我们的持续支持。

如果我们的思想可以比作一台计算机,那么教育提供了一种软件,通过它可以“重新启动”我们的优先事项和行动,远离暴力,走向和平文化。 全球和平教育运动继续以有意义的方式为实现这一目标做出贡献,必须得到我们的持续支持。

为此,我相信幼儿期为我们提供了一个独特的机会,可以播下从战争文化向和平文化过渡的种子。 儿童早年经历的事件、儿童接受的教育以及儿童沉浸其中的社区活动和社会文化心态,都对价值观、态度、传统、行为方式和生活方式产生了影响开发。

我们需要利用这个机会之窗向每个人灌输从早年开始成为和平与非暴力代理人所需的基本知识。

将个人的角色与更广泛的全球目标联系起来,马丁·路德·金博士肯定地说:“一个人只有在能够超越个人主义关注的狭隘范围,进入全人类更广泛关注的范围时,才算开始生活。” 联合国和平文化行动纲领特别关注个人自我转变的这一方面。

在这方面,我要重申,妇女尤其可以在我们充满暴力的社会中促进和平文化方面发挥重要作用,从而带来持久和平与和解。 女性平等使我们的星球安全可靠。 我坚信,除非女性在与男性平等的层面上参与推进和平文化,否则可持续和平将继续与我们擦肩而过。

我们要时刻牢记,没有和平就不可能发展,没有发展就不可能实现和平,但没有妇女,和平与发展都不可想象。

和平工作是一个持续的过程,我深信和平文化绝对是实现联合国二十一世纪宗旨和目标的最重要工具。

最后,让我最诚挚地敦促大家,我们需要鼓励年轻人做自己,建立自己的品格,他们自己的个性,其中包含对多样性的理解、宽容和尊重,并与其他人团结一致。 .

我们需要向年轻人传达这一点。 这是我们成年人所能做到的最低限度。 我们应该尽一切努力赋予他们真正意义上的权力,而这种权力将伴随他们终生。 这就是和平文化的意义。 这不是暂时的,比如解决一个地区或社区之间的冲突,而不改变人们并赋予人们维持和平的能力。

让我们 - 是的,我们所有人 - 为了人类的利益,为了我们星球的可持续发展,为了让我们的世界变得更宜居,拥抱和平文化。 

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

UN Urged to Declare a Global Peace Education Day

(Reposted from: InDepthNews.  September 21, 2021)

By Ambassador Anwarul K. Chowdhury

Following is the text of Inaugural Keynote Address by Ambassador Anwarul K. Chowdhury, former Under-Secretary-General and High Representative of the United Nations and Founder of The Global Movement for The Culture of Peace (GMCoP), at the First Annual Peace Education Day Conference organized virtually by The Unity Foundation and Peace Education Network.

NEW YORK (IDN) — I thank Bill McCarthy, President and Founder of the Unity Foundation and Chair of this first annual Peace Education Day Conference and the Peace Education Network for organizing the conference with the excellent objective of getting the UN to declare an International Peace Education Day. I believe it would be better if it is called the Global Peace Education Day.

I am honored to be invited to speak at the conference as the inaugural keynote speaker on a subject which is very close to my heart and my persona.

As I have stated on many occasions, my life’s experience has taught me to value peace and equality as the essential components of our existence. Those unleash the positive forces of good that are so needed for human progress.

Peace is integral to human existence—in everything we do, in everything we say and in every thought we have, there is a place for peace. We should not isolate peace as something separate or distant. It is important to realize that the absence of peace takes away the opportunities that we need to better ourselves, to prepare ourselves, to empower ourselves to face the challenges of our lives, individually and collectively.

For two decades and half, my focus has been on advancing the culture of peace which aims at making peace and non-violence a part of our own self, our own personality—a part of our existence as a human being. And this will empower ourselves to contribute more effectively to bring inner as well as outer peace.

This is the core of the self-transformational dimension of my advocacy around the globe and for all ages, with special emphasis on women, youth and children. This realization has now become more pertinent in the midst of the ever-increasing militarism and militarization that is destroying both our planet and our people.

The International Congress on Peace in the Minds of Men was held in Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire/Ivory Coast in 1989 organized by UNESCO under the wise and dynamic leadership of my dear friend Federico Mayor Zaragoza, then UNESCO Director-General who is joining this conference also as a keynote speaker. It was a landmark gathering to give a boost and a profile to the concept of the culture of peace aimed at promoting a change of values and behaviors.

On 13 September 1999, 22 years ago last week, the United Nations adopted the Declaration and Programme of Action on the Culture of Peace, a monumental document that transcends boundaries, cultures, societies and nations.

It was an honor for me to Chair the nine-month long negotiations that led to the adoption of this historic norm-setting document by the United Nations General Assembly. That document asserts that inherent in the culture of peace is a set of values, modes of behaviour and ways of life.

A significant aspect of the essential message as articulated in the UN documents effectively asserts that the “culture of peace is a process of individual, collective and institutional transformation …” ‘Transformation’ is of the key relevance here.

The essence of the culture of peace is its message of inclusiveness and of global solidarity.

It is basic to remember that the culture of peace requires a change of our hearts, change of our mindset. It can be internalized through simple ways of living, changing of our own behavior, changing how we relate to each other, changing how we connect with the oneness of humanity. The essence of the culture of peace is its message of inclusiveness and of global solidarity.

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development of the United Nations in its sustainable development goal (SDGs) number 4.7 includes, among others, promotion of culture of peace and non-violence as well as global citizenship as part of the knowledge and skills needed to promote sustainable development.

It also calls on the international community to ensure that all learners acquire those by the year 2030. Keeping that in focus, the theme of the UN High Level Forum in 2019 observing the 20th anniversary of the culture of peace at the UN was “The Culture of Peace—Empowering and Transforming the Humanity” aiming at a forward-looking and inspiring agenda for the next twenty years.

In my introduction to the 2008 publication “Peace Education: A Pathway to a Culture of Peace”, I wrote, “As Maria Montessori had articulated so appropriately, those who want a violent way of living, prepare young people for that; but those, who want peace have neglected their young children and adolescents and that way are unable to organize them for peace.”

In UNICEF, peace education is very succinctly defined as “the process of promoting the knowledge, skills, attitudes and values needed to bring about behavior change that will enable children, youth and adults to prevent conflict and violence, both overt and structural; to resolve conflict peacefully; and to create the conditions conducive to peace, whether at an interpersonal, intergroup, national or international levels”.

Peace education needs to be accepted in all parts of the world, in all societies and countries as an essential element in creating the culture of peace.

Peace education needs to be accepted in all parts of the world, in all societies and countries as an essential element in creating the culture of peace. It deserves a radically different education—“one that does not glorify war but educates for peace, non-violence and international cooperation.” They need the skills and knowledge to create and nurture peace for their individual selves as well as for the world they belong to.

Never has it been more important for us to learn about the world and understand its diversity.  The task of educating children and young people to find non-aggressive means to relate with one another is of primary importance.

All educational institutions need to offer opportunities that prepare the students not only to live fulfilling lives but also to be responsible, conscious and productive citizens of the world. For that, educators need to introduce holistic and empowering curricula that cultivate a culture of peace in each and every young mind.

Indeed, this should be more appropriately called “education for global citizenship”. Such learning cannot be achieved without well-intentioned, sustained, and systematic peace education that leads the way to the culture of peace.

If our minds could be likened to a computer, then education provides the software with which to “reboot” our priorities and actions away from violence, towards the culture of peace. The Global Campaign for Peace Education has continued to contribute in a meaningful way towards this objective and must receive our continuous support.

If our minds could be likened to a computer, then education provides the software with which to “reboot” our priorities and actions away from violence, towards the culture of peace. The Global Campaign for Peace Education has continued to contribute in a meaningful way towards this objective and must receive our continuous support.

For this, I believe that early childhood affords a unique opportunity for us to sow the seeds of transition from the culture of war to the culture of peace. The events that a child experiences early in life, the education that this child receives, and the community activities and socio-cultural mindset in which a child is immersed all contribute to how values, attitudes, traditions, modes of behavior, and ways of life develop.

We need to use this window of opportunity to instill the rudiments that each individual needs to become agents of peace and non-violence from an early life.

Connecting the role of individuals to broader global objectives, Dr. Martin Luther King Junior affirmed that “An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.” The UN Programme of Action on the Culture of Peace pays special attention to this aspect of an individual’s self-transformation.

In this context, I would reiterate that women in particular have a major role to play in promoting the culture of peace in our violence-ridden societies, thereby bringing in lasting peace and reconciliation. Women’s equality makes our planet safe and secure. It is my strong belief that unless women are engaged in advancing the culture of peace at equal levels with men, sustainable peace would continue to elude us.

We should always remember that without peace, development is impossible, and without development, peace is not achievable, but without women, neither peace nor development is conceivable.

The work for peace is a continuous process and I am convinced that culture of peace is absolutely the most essential vehicle for realizing the goals and objectives of the United Nations in the twenty-first century.

Let me conclude by urging all of you most earnestly that we need to encourage the young people to be themselves, to build their own character, their own personality, which is embedded with understanding, tolerance and respect for diversity and in solidarity with rest of humanity.

We need to convey that to the young people. This is the minimum we can do as adults. We should do everything to empower them in the real sense, and such empowerment is going to stay with them for life. That is the significance of the Culture of Peace. It is not something temporary like resolving a conflict in one area or between communities without transforming and empowering people to sustain peace.

Let usyes, all of usembrace the culture of peace for the good of humanity, for the sustainability of our planet and for making our world a better place to live. 

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...