21 世纪和平教育的三个关键主题:复原力、整体主义和战争的废除

托尼詹金斯

国家和平学院学术事务副校长
国际和平教育研究所全球主任
(特色文章:106 年 2013 月第 XNUMX 期)

tj
托尼詹金斯

随着我们步入 21 世纪,和平教育领域继续发展,一如往常。 新的暴力形式——从无人机袭击到侵犯隐私——不断出现,我们适应、反思和回应新的、有时是循环利用的教育策略,我们希望这些策略可以扭转局势,为更稳定的和平奠定基础。 一直以来,当我们人类继续对新形式的暴力战争进行毫无意义的实验时,气候危机就像一团低悬的雾。 它一直存在,我们随处可见,但我们在迷雾中穿行,就好像它不存在一样。 遇到雾可以很神奇; 它软化了我们感知中一切事物的边缘。 然而,迷雾可能会引诱我们进入一种虚假的安全感,我们忘记了它也可能隐藏着巨大的危险,我们的下一步可能是我们的最后一步。  

雾是在和平教育中使用的一个方便的比喻。 它可能掩盖和限制我们周围环境的视野的方式与世界观的运作方式并不完全不同。 世界观塑造了一个人的看法、价值观、态度和行动。 世界观也是一种花哨的过滤装置; 那些不符合我们世界观的东西会在不知不觉中被丢弃。 很少有世界观可以容纳矛盾,因为它们破坏了我们与自我和周围世界的和谐。 这就是为什么暴力世界观的转变可能是和平教育最大的实践和教学挑战。 和平教育者和其他人一样容易受到世界观盲目的影响。 对我们——对每个人来说——培养强大的反思能力和实践来帮助驾驭迷雾是至关重要的。 

我认为 21 世纪和平教育的三个关键主题是:复原力、整体主义和消除战争,其中包括那些被掩盖或被忽视的主题。 这些对我来说都是模糊的问题,通过观察和扩展——我相信——对于许多从事和平教育的人来说。 这些都是大主题,并不是什么新主题,但我认为它们值得进行新的、积极的反思,因为它们有可能为和平教育领域塑造新的集体话语和方向。

弹性(和适应)  

赛德尔韧性是一种重要的态度和心态,对于任何致力于变革和转型的人来说都是必不可少的——尤其是和平教育者。 我们知道我们的目标是长期的,但很容易在日常和平凡中失去希望和注意力。 培养和保持我们的适应能力可能会减轻我们肯定会遇到的颠簸的冲击。 然而,在课堂之外,肯定需要复原力及其伴随的适应能力。 气候变化的现实令人恐惧:事情会变得更糟。 我们无法逃避这一点。 如果科学预测成立,气候变化将是 21 世纪不安全的最大原因。 甚至五角大楼的研究人员也同意这一点。 Amy Seidl,在她乐观的书中“寻找更高的立足点:气候变暖时代的适应,”认为人类和动物非常擅长适应。 她的信息很重要:我们目前应对气候变化的大部分框架都是关于预防以避免灾难。 在我们必须继续走预防的道路的同时,我们也必须准备好面对不可避免的变化。 我们将经历的变化范围可能比人类——至少在有记录的历史上——经历的任何事情都要大。 Seidl 引用的科学表明,我们很容易掌握生存和繁荣所需的积极适应能力。 然而,对我们当中的许多人来说,谈论适应类似于屈服和承认失败。 在某种程度上,这是一个世界观的困境:我们已经习惯于相信我们可以解决所有问题。 这也是心理学的一部分:对变化的恐惧也会助长抵抗。 因此,在很大程度上,准备复原力和适应是变革性和平学习的任务。 和平教育者需要找到并提供一些例子,例如 Seidl 的研究提供的例子,以展示我们当前思维方式之外的替代未来的潜力。 我们还需要让学生参与实际的日常体验,使他们能够适应不断变化的世界。

供思考和反思的问题:

  • 哪些教学形式可能与培养韧性最相关?
  • 我们可以开发哪些技能和实践来培养公民的适应能力? 
  • 有哪些实用的教育方法和策略可以挑战我们关于变革的世界观?

整体主义(整合个人和政治)

5个球体整体主义是一个与和平教育几乎所有方面都相关的主题; 从课程到教学法,整体论建立了一个生态叙事,讲述了思想、民族、文化、生活世界和宇宙之间相互依存关系的网络。 我在此寻求解决的整体论的一个方面是准备工作之间的错误二分法。 个人和政治 和平工作的各个方面。 如果我们从整体或系统的角度思考,我们就会明白两者都是必不可少的,每个都塑造和影响另一个。 他们在共生关系中并肩工作。 然而,和平建设者发展的这两个相互交织的层面的技能和能力的发展通常是孤立地进行的。 这是我们需要纠正的错误。 这场辩论通常被定义为“先有鸡还是先有蛋”的情景:“除非你自己内心平静,否则你无法与他人合作以获得和平。” 我认为这种想法是有问题的。 在你的内心“拥有”和平是不可能的,它不是你可以拥有的——它是你必须不断努力的东西。 对上述内容更恰当的表述是“除非你在为自己的内心和平而努力,否则你无法与他人合作以获得和平。” 作为我们内在发展过程的一部分,我们需要遇到自我之外的关系——反之亦然。 我最近写了一篇关于其中一些思维陷阱的文章 全面和平教育论文 (1):

观察和培养对这些陷阱的认识应该加强而不是削弱内心平静工作的重要性。 从自我开始是和平发展的合乎逻辑的切入点; 它是最容易观察和感受变革影响的领域。 然而,在追求个人和平或任何其他和平领域的学习时,人们还应该确定每个领域之间相互加强的相互关系。 孤立地进行学习会导致对整体的理解破裂(第 12 页)。

21 世纪的和平教育需要着眼于我们如何进行学习,为和平的个人和政治层面做好准备。 这尤其应该在学术和平社区中得到解决,那里的政治科学家和社会科学家之间经常存在分歧。 这些学科不是为了解决暴力而共同努力,而是孤立地工作。 跨学科对话和研究可以帮助揭示对冲突的更全面的反应。 

供思考和反思的问题:

  • 个人与政治之间的关系的性质是什么? 它们是如何塑造和相互影响的?
  • 您将如何促进整合个人和政治知识和技能的整体学习?
  • 在学术界造成分歧的问题是什么,如何克服?

废除战争

战争结束了上个月发行的 GCPE 通讯包括一个关于废除战争的专题报道。 废除战争几乎完全从和平教育课程和话语中消失,这几乎是有趣的——如果不是那么悲惨的话。 废除战争在很大程度上被忽视的不仅仅是和平教育界。 即使在旨在结束战争的联合国机构,这个话题也很少被提及。 我只能推测这种消失行为的原因。 在过去的 10 年中,从消极和平教育到积极和平教育发生了明显的转变。 这导致了许多积极的发展; 教育工作者和学生现在正在思考和想象他们想要的世界。 和平文化的概念比以往任何时候都更加具体。 然而,与此同时,许多从事和平教育的人忽视了让学习者参与批判性冲突分析过程的必要性,并忽视了积极非暴力抵抗的学习和技能发展。 用甘地的话说,上述积极的和平方面将被描述为 建设性计划; 培养和建立公正和正确关系的积极行动和过程。 另一方面是 satyagraha,建立在真相之上的积极的、非暴力的抵抗。 Satyagraha 是对权力说真话和使无形的不公正可见的必要条件。 这也是一项非常艰苦的工作,需要大量的培训和准备。 在这里,我们再次发现需要克服的错误的二分法——比如个人/政治——。 我们需要建设性的规划和愿景工作,以构建我们偏爱的未来——我们需要解决和抵制当前的不公正。 我们需要同时工作,从未来回到现在,从现在到未来。 我们两者都可以。 

废除战争的问题也超出了我们教学中的这些二分法。 战争的性质发生了变化,在许多方面变得更加阴险。 平民——尤其是女性——现在是战争的受害者和死亡人数的大多数。 暴力现在是通过远程控制进行的。 现在战争是永久性的,在民族国家和非国家政党和思想之间进行。 我们需要仔细审查 Betty Reardon 在上个月的时事通讯中如此尖锐地提出的那些论点 将战争和制造战争的人定罪 和 Dale Snauwaert 维护和平的人权; 否则,我们可能会迷失通往和平的道路,无法看到“结束这场被“战争迷雾”所笼罩的灾难的机会。 太多人已经相信,几乎没有什么可以改变的。 上个月,即 6 月 XNUMX 日,在 联合国战祸问题高级别小组,其中一位小组成员回应了一项关于改革安全理事会的提议,称这是不可能的。 这种想法植根于一种认为战争不可避免的世界观。 我们必须利用我们拥有的每一个机会挑战并寻求改变这种世界观。 “如果你愿意,战争就结束了”在一定程度上是正确的。 我们需要知道并相信这是可能的,我们需要为未来做好准备,我们需要准备参与挑战它所必需的积极的非暴力抵抗。 

供思考和反思的问题:

  • 您认为废除战争的教学下降的原因是什么? 
  • 您如何将关于废除战争的教学融入您当前的实践中?
  • 您将如何促进世界观转变的学习? 哪种哲学教学形式最相关?

参考文献:
(1) 托尼·詹金斯 (Tony Jenkins) (2013):变革势在必行:国家和平学院作为综合和平教育的新兴框架,和平教育杂志,DOI:10.108017400201.2013.790251

关于作者。 托尼詹金斯 是国家和平学院学术事务副校长,还担任国际和平教育研究所和全球和平教育运动的全球协调员。 在加入 NPA 之前,Tony 曾担任哥伦比亚大学师范学院和平教育中心的联合主任长达 10 年。 托尼曾在世界各地支持和平教育工作者的“学习社区”的发展,以通过教育和公民的积极参与来解决和改变当地的暴力表现形式。 Tony 目前的工作和研究兴趣集中在检查和平教育方法和教学法在促进个人、社会和政治变革和转型方面的影响和有效性。 托尼的专业领域包括和平教育、和平教学、性别与和平以及裁军教育方面的教师培训。 

关闭

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Three Critical Themes for 21st Century Peace Education: Resilience, Holism, and the Abolition of War

Tony Jenkins

Vice President for Academic Affairs, National Peace Academy
Global Director, International Institute on Peace Education
(Featured Article: Issue #106 July 2013)

tj
Tony Jenkins

As we step further and further into the 21st century, the field of peace education continues to evolve, much as it always has.  New forms of violence – from drone strikes to invasions of privacy – continuously emerge and we adapt, reflect and respond with new and sometimes recycled educational strategies that we hope may turn back the tide and lay foundations for a more stable peace. All the while, as we humans continue our senseless experimentation with new forms of violent warfare, the climate crisis has settled in like a low hanging fog.  It’s ever present, we see it everywhere we look, but we move through the fog as if it weren’t there.  Encountering fog can be magical; it softens the edges of everything within our perception.  Yet the fog may lure us into a false sense of security, and we forget that it may also conceal great danger, and our next steps could be our last.  

Fog is a convenient metaphor to use in peace education.  The way it may mask and limit vision of our surroundings is not all that dissimilar to the way a worldview operates.  Worldview shapes one’s perceptions, values, attitudes and actions.  A worldview also operates as a fancy filtration device; those things that don’t fit within our worldview can be unconsciously discarded. There are few worldviews that accommodate contradictions as they destabilize the perceived harmony we have with our self and the world around us. This is why the transformation of violent worldviews may be the greatest practical and pedagogical challenge of peace education. Peace educators are as susceptible to worldview blindness as anyone else.  It is critical for us – for everyone – to develop strong, reflective capacities and practices to help to navigate the fog. 

I perceive three critical themes for 21st century peace education: resilience, holism and the abolition of war, among those obscured or ignored. These have been befogged issues for me, and by observation and extension – I believe –for many in peace education.  These are big themes, and hardly new ones, but I would argue they warrant new and vigorous reflection as they have the potential to shape a new collective discourse and direction for the field of peace education.

Resilience (and Adaptation)  

seidlResilience is an important attitude and state of mind that’s essential to anyone working for change and transformation – especially peace educators.  We know our goals are long-term, but it’s easy to lose hope and focus in the day-to-day and the mundane.  Nurturing and maintaining our capacities of resilience may ease the shock of the bumps in the road that we will surely encounter.  Outside of the classroom, however, is where resilience, and its accompanying capacity of adaptation, will surely be needed.  The realities of climate change are frightening:  things are going to get much worse. We can’t escape that.   If scientific predictions hold true, climate change will be the greatest cause of insecurity in the 21st century.   Even the researchers at the Pentagon agree with this one.  Amy Seidl, in her optimistic book “Finding Higher Ground: Adaptation in the Age of Warming,” argues that humans and animals are brilliantly good at adapting.  Her message is important: much of the current framing of our fight against climate change is about prevention to avoid catastrophe.  While we must continue on the path of prevention, we also must prepare to face inevitable changes.  The scope of the changes we will experience may be greater than anything humankind – at least in recorded history – has experienced.   Seidl cites science that says the positive adaptations required to survive and thrive are easily within our grasp.  Yet, for many amongst us to talk of adaption is akin to giving in and admitting defeat.  In someway it is a worldview dilemma: we’ve grown accustomed to believing we can solve all of our problems.  It is also part psychology: the fear of change also fosters resistance.   To a great degree, therefore, preparation for resilience and adaptation is a task of transformative peace learning.  Peace educators need to find and provide examples, such as those provided by Seidl’s research, that show the potentiality of alternative futures that fall outside of our current ways of thinking.  We also need to engage students in practical, everyday experiences that capacitate them to adapt to a changing world.

Questions for consideration and reflection:

  • What pedagogical forms might be most relevant for nurturing resilience?
  • What skills and practices can we develop towards capacitating citizens for adaption? 
  • What are some practical educational approaches and strategies for challenging our worldview about change?

Holism (Integrating the Personal and the Political)

5spheresHolism is a theme that finds relevance in nearly all aspects of peace education; from curricula to pedagogy, holism establishes an ecological narrative of a web of interdependent relationships between ideas, peoples, cultures, the living world and the cosmos.  One aspect of holism that I seek to address here is the false dichotomy between preparation for the personal and the political dimensions of peace work.    If we think in holistic or systemic terms, we come to grasp that both are essential, each shaping and influencing the other.   They work side-by-side in a symbiotic relationship.  However, the development of the skills and capacities of these two intertwined dimensions of peacebuilder development are typically pursued in isolation.  This is an error we need to correct.  The debate is often framed as a “chicken or egg” scenario:  “you can’t work with others for peace unless you have peace within your self.”  I believe this thinking to be problematic.  It’s not possible to “have” peace within your self, it’s not something you can possess – it’s something one must constantly work at.  A more appropriate rephrasing of the above would be to say “you can’t work with others for peace unless you are working on peace within your self.”  We need to encounter relationships outside our self as part of the process of our inner development — and vice-versa.   I recently wrote about some of these traps of thinking in an essay on comprehensive peace education (1):

Observing and developing awareness of these traps should strengthen, rather than diminish the significance of inner peace work. Starting with self is a logical entry point to peace development; it is the sphere in which the impacts of transformations can be most readily observed and felt. However, when pursuing learning for personal peace, or any other sphere of peace for that matter, one should also identify the mutually reinforcing interrelationships between and amongst each of the spheres. Learning conducted in isolation leads to a fractured understanding of the whole (p. 12).

Peace education in the 21st century needs to look at how we conduct learning in preparation for the personal and political dimensions of peace.  This should especially be addressed in the academic peace community, where rifts often exist between the political and social scientists.  Rather than working collegially towards holistic solutions to violence, the disciplines work in isolation.  Transdisciplinary dialogue and research could help reveal more holistic responses to conflict. 

Questions for consideration and reflection:

  • What is the nature of the relationship between the personal and the political?  How do they shape and influence each other?
  • How would you facilitate holistic learning that integrates knowledge and skills of the personal and the political?
  • What are the issues that create divisions within the academic community and how might they be overcome?

The Abolition of War

war-is-overLast month’s issue of the GCPE newsletter included a special feature on the abolition of war.  It would almost be funny – if not so tragic – that the abolition of war has almost completely vanished from peace education curricula and discourse.  It’s not just in peace education circles that the abolition of war is largely ignored.  Even at the UN, an institution designed to end war, the topic is seldom raised.  I can only speculate as to the reasons for this vanishing act.  Over the past 10 years there has been a distinct and observable shift from education for negative peace to education for positive peace.  This has led to many positive developments; educators and students are now thinking about and imaging the world they desire.  The concept of a culture of peace is more tangible that it has ever been.  However, in the meantime many in peace education have ignored the need to engage learners in processes of critical conflict analysis and have neglected learning and skills development for active nonviolent resistance.   In Gandhian terms, the aforementioned positive peace dimensions would be described as constructive programme; positive action and processes through which just and right relationships are nurtured and built.  On the other hand is Satyagraha, active, nonviolent resistance built upon truth.  Satyagraha is necessary for speaking truth to power, and making invisible injustices visible.  It is also very hard work that takes significant training and preparation.  Here again we find a false dichotomy – like the personal/political – that needs to be overcome.  We need the constructive programming and the visioning work upon which our preferred futures can be built – and we need to address and resist injustice in the present.  We need to simultaneously work from the future back to the present and the present to the future. We can do both. 

The issue of the abolition of war also extends beyond these dichotomies in our teaching.  The nature of war has changed and in many ways has become more insidious.  Civilians – and women in particular – are now the majority of wars’ victims and fatalities.    Violence is now perpetrated by remote control.  Wars are now perpetual, waged between nation states and non-state parties and ideas.  We need to carefully examine those arguments so poignantly made in last month’s newsletter by Betty Reardon on Criminalizing War and Those who Make It and Dale Snauwaert on Upholding a Human Right to Peace; else we risk losing our way toward peace, failing to perceive opportunities to “end the scourge” that are continually obscured by “the fog of war.”  Too many already believe that little can be changed.  Last month, on June 6, at the United Nations High Level Panel on the Scourge of War, one of the panelists responded to a proposal about reforming the Security Council by saying it was impossible.  Such thinking is rooted in a worldview that says war is inevitable.  We must challenge and seek to transform this worldview with every opportunity we have.  “War is over if you want it [to be]” is partly true.  We need to know and believe that it’s possible, we need to prepare for the future, and we need to prepare to engage in the active nonviolent resistance that is necessary to challenge it. 

Questions for consideration and reflection:

  • What do you think are the reasons for the decline in teaching about the abolition of war? 
  • How might you integrate teaching about the abolition of war into your current practice?
  • How would you facilitate learning for worldview transformation?  What pedagogical form of philosophy would be most relevant?

References:
(1) Tony Jenkins (2013): The transformative imperative: the National Peace Academy as an emergent framework for comprehensive peace education, Journal of Peace Education, DOI:10.108017400201.2013.790251

About the Author. Tony Jenkins is the Vice President for Academic Affairs of the National Peace Academy and also serves as the Global Coordinator for the International Institute on Peace Education and the Global Campaign for Peace Education.  Prior to joining the NPA, Tony was the Co-Director of the Peace Education Center at Teachers College, Columbia University for 10 years.  Tony has worked around the world supporting the development of “learning communities” of peace educators to address and transform local manifestations of violence through education and active citizen participation. Tony’s current work and research interests focus on examining the impacts and effectiveness of peace education methods and pedagogies in nurturing personal, social, and political change and transformation.  Tony’s areas of expertise include teacher training in peace education, peace pedagogy, gender and peace, and disarmament education. 

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top