كانت السنة الأولى لحكم طالبان كارثة على المرأة وإهانة للإسلام

مقدمة: "مساواة البشر"

"لقد حان الوقت لأن تحظى المرأة الأفغانية بدعم الغرب وإخوانها المسلمين ..."

في هذا البيان ، تشكل ديزي خان تحديًا للمجتمع الدولي وطالبان لتأكيد حقوق المرأة كمسلمة وكإنسان. وهي تؤكد أن تعنت طالبان ، بشأن حقوق المرأة بشكل عام وتعليم الفتيات بشكل خاص ، تفاقم إلى حد أزمة إنسانية حادة بسبب تجميد الولايات المتحدة للأصول المالية للشعب الأفغاني.

يجب أن يكون بيانها ذا أهمية خاصة لمعلمي السلام الذين يسعون لفتح نقاش حول القضايا المحيطة بمشاركة الغرب والولايات المتحدة مع طالبان. مثل غيرها من المدافعين الذين يسعون إلى تخفيف المعاناة الرهيبة والوفيات الناجمة عن الجوع ، فهي تدعم المشاركة المحدودة للتفاوض بشأن هذه الإغاثة. آخرون ، بما في ذلك الإدارة الأمريكية التي تسيطر على الأصول الأفغانية (قدمت الولايات المتحدة بعض المساعدات الإنسانية من خلال اليونيسف وهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة) ، يعارضون مثل هذه المشاركة مثل الاستسلام لنظام استبدادي غير قانوني. إن العمل من خلال الحجج التي تدعم هذه المواقف المتعارضة سيوفر معلومات مهمة حول الوضع في أفغانستان ، وممارسة التفكير الأخلاقي والاستراتيجي المطلوب لتحقيق الفعالية السياسية لمناصري السلام والعدالة ، وعملية الوصول إلى موقفهم الخاص ، ربما الثالث حول هذه القضية الحاسمة.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن اقتراحها للدعم والدعوة من قبل تحالف من المسلمين وأعضاء الشتات الأفغاني للاستفادة من التحدي لروايات طالبان غير الصحيحة ولتثقيف القاعدة الريفية حول حقوق المرأة في الإسلام هو نوع من التفكير الإبداعي الذي يأمل تعليم السلام في تربيته. . يمكن تشجيع المتعلمين على تطوير وتقييم مقترحات أخرى من هذا القبيل لاتخاذ إجراءات لمواجهة الأزمة الحالية. (بار ، 8/29/22)

كانت السنة الأولى لحكم طالبان كارثة على المرأة وإهانة للإسلام

اليوم ، لا يتمثل الحلم الأكبر لفتاة أفغانية في كيف يمكنها أن تصبح مهندسة أو طيارًا ، بل مجرد الذهاب إلى المدرسة.

بقلم ديزي خان

(تم إعادة النشر من: التل. 24 أغسطس 2022)

في آب (أغسطس) الماضي ، بعد عشرين عامًا من الحرب ، شعرت حركة طالبان بالبرأة لأنها طردت القوات الأمريكية من أفغانستان وتوجهت إلى كابول ، متوقعة استقبال الأبطال. وبدلاً من ذلك ، شهدوا مجموعات من الرجال والنساء الأفغان يفرون بطريقة فوضوية للنجاة بحياتهم. بين عشية وضحاها ، كان على طالبان التخلي عن كونهم محاربين ومحاولة تبني دورهم الجديد كبيروقراطيين.

لم تكن تجربة الحكم هذه التي استمرت لمدة عام أقل من كونها كارثية لجميع الأفغان ، وخاصة النساء والفتيات. اليوم ، لا يتمثل الحلم الأكبر لفتاة أفغانية في كيف يمكنها أن تصبح مهندسة أو طيارًا ، بل مجرد الذهاب إلى المدرسة. تخشى النساء المحترفات الحاصلات على درجة الدكتوراه والشركات من أن يصبحن غير مرئيات. مع قص أجنحتهم ، لا يمكنهم الاستكشاف أو التحليق.

احتل الجدل الدائر حول تعليم الفتيات الأفغانيات مركز الصدارة في العام الماضي ، لذلك من المفهوم لماذا امتنعت الولايات المتحدة والدول الأوروبية عن الاعتراف بطالبان كحكومة شرعية في أفغانستان ، دون أن ترى أي تقدم على الرغم من الوعود المنتظمة. لكن السؤال الأكثر أهمية هو لماذا حذت منظمة التعاون الإسلامي ودولها البالغ عددها 57 دولة ذات الأغلبية المسلمة حذوها.

شاهد المسلمون في جميع أنحاء العالم على شاشات التلفزيون عندما سار مقاتلو طالبان إلى القصر الرئاسي. استخدمت مجموعة مراسيمهم تأطير "الإسلام أو الشريعة الإسلامية أو الشريعة". كانت تصريحاتهم الأولية حول النساء موجهة إلى الغرب: ستتم حماية حقوق المرأة إذا كانت ضمن إطار إسلامي ، وتعليم الفتيات حق إسلامي.

مع مرور الأشهر ، أصبح من الواضح أن كل إعلان كان شعارًا بلا مضمون. الصورة المؤلمة فيما يتعلق بالمرأة هي أحد أهم أسباب عدم اعتراف منظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي والدول الأعضاء فيها بطالبان. أصدرت منظمة التعاون الإسلامي أ بيان معربة عن خيبة أملها إزاء القرار غير المتوقع بالإبقاء على الحظر السابق على مدارس الفتيات.

مع كل وعد كاذب ، ازداد عجز ثقة طالبان. من خلال عدم الالتزام بكلمتهم كما يوعز القرآن 2.117 ، "الصالحين هم الذين ... يحافظون على تعهداتهم" ، فإن أوراق اعتماد الطالبان قد تلطخت.

في آذار (مارس) ، كنت جزءًا من وفد المرأة الأمريكية للسلام والتعليم الذي ذهب إلى أفغانستان للقاء وزارة التعليم حول إعادة فتح المدارس الثانوية العامة للفتيات. لقد شهدنا انقسامات بين طالبان. قال من قابلناهم ، "إذا حصلنا على الضوء الأخضر ، فسنفتح المدارس في صباح اليوم التالي." لكن للأسف ، يبدو أن الفصيل الأقوى ، الذي يرى تعليم الفتيات على أنه غير مجدٍ ، قد انتصر - في الوقت الحالي. يعتقد هذا الفصيل أنه يجب تعليم الفتاة حتى الصف السادس. وظيفتها الأساسية هي أن تصبح أما. من خلال إلغاء التعليم الثانوي ، ستختفي الدراسات المتقدمة للنساء بمرور الوقت ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الفرص المتاحة للنساء المهنيات.

يبدو أن هذا هو ما يريده البعض في طالبان. إنهم يعتبرون التعليم العلماني إهانة لطريقة حياتهم الريفية وتهديدًا "للعادات الأفغانية" الريفية. مرة أخرى ، هذه العادات غير موجودة في القرآن أو تعاليم النبي محمد. إنها ناتجة عن رداءة التعليم الديني والجهل بحقوق المرأة في الإسلام ، وهو ما أكده الشيخ أحمد الطيب إمام الجامع الأزهر في مصر في سقسقة.

يأمر الإسلام الرجال والنساء باكتساب المعرفة العالمية ، المقدسة والعلمانية ، حتى يكونوا مسؤولين ويبلغوا النضج الروحي. تُمنح المرأة حرية الاختيار في اختيار المهن التي تناسب قدراتها على أفضل وجه ، سواء في مجال الدين أو في أي مجال آخر من المجالات الدنيوية مثل القانون أو الطب أو الهندسة.

لذلك ، فإن تعليم الفتيات يشكل مصدر قلق كبير للمسلمين في جميع أنحاء العالم. قال النبي محمد: اطلبوا العلم من المهد إلى اللحد. لم تكن النساء المسلمات القدامى في وقت مبكر محصورات خلف قضبان حديدية أو اعتبارهن كائنات لا قيمة لها وأرواحًا محرومة. قاموا ببناء مؤسسات تعليمية رائعة وعملوا في أدوار قيادية مثل مرسلي الأحاديث ومعلمي الدين والمرشدين الأخلاقيين والقادة السياسيين.

اليوم ، يجب تحدي المسلمين الذين يحرمون النساء والفتيات من التعليم. إنه انتهاك صارخ للتعاليم الإسلامية ، لأن نقص التعليم يحد من تحقيق الذات وأي مساهمة يمكن أن تقدمها المرأة للإنسانية.

اليوم ، يجب تحدي المسلمين الذين يحرمون النساء والفتيات من التعليم. إنه انتهاك صارخ للتعاليم الإسلامية ، لأن نقص التعليم يحد من تحقيق الذات وأي مساهمة يمكن أن تقدمها المرأة للإنسانية.

يمكن للولايات المتحدة أن تلعب دورًا حيويًا ، بدءًا من إطلاق شرائح من 9.5 مليار دولار من الأصول الأفغانية المجمدة. يمكن تخصيص بعض الأموال لرواتب المعلمين وإعادة فتح المدارس. عندما كنت في كابول ، قال أحد موظفي طالبان ، "كيف يُفترض بنا أن نقوم بكل هذا العمل (المدارس التي تفصل بين الجنسين وتدفع رواتب المعلمين] بينما جمدت الولايات المتحدة كل أموالنا؟"

ثانيًا ، يمكن للولايات المتحدة الاستفادة من قوتها الناعمة التي تتمحور حول تدابير بناء الثقة الدبلوماسية. بناء تحالف من المحاورين المسلمين - فريق عمل دولي من الأفغان في الشتات الذين لديهم روابط مباشرة وتوق إلى العودة ، وأعضاء منظمة التعاون الإسلامي ، ومجموعات النساء المسلمات. يجب أن يكون هدفهم هو الاستفادة من قوة الدين لمكافحة هذا المرض الاجتماعي المتأصل ، وتحدي ورفض روايات طالبان الخاطئة ، وأخيراً توعية القاعدة الريفية حول حقوق المرأة في الإسلام ، وهو اقتراح تؤيده وزارة التربية والتعليم.

دفع البحث عن المعرفة النساء المسلمات إلى إحراز تقدم ملحوظ في جميع مجالات المعرفة ، بما في ذلك التعليم والرياضيات وعلم الفلك. لقد حان الوقت لأن تحظى المرأة الأفغانية بدعم الغرب وإخوانها المسلمين ، حتى لا تظل راضية عن حدود العادات الفاسدة والقمع والظلم ، بل تقف على قدم المساواة مع البشر.

ديزي خان، دكتوراه ، هو مؤسس مبادرة المرأة الإسلامية في الروحانيات والمساواة (وايز) ، أكبر شبكة عالمية للنساء المسلمات الملتزمات ببناء السلام والمساواة بين الجنسين والكرامة الإنسانية. كانت سابقًا المديرة التنفيذية للجمعية الأمريكية لتقدم المسلمين. مذكراتها ، "ولد مع أجنحة"، تصور رحلتها الروحية كامرأة مسلمة حديثة وطريق ملتف إلى القيادة. تابعها على تويتر تضمين التغريدة.

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

The Taliban’s first year of governing was a disaster for women and an affront to Islam

Introduction: “Equal footing as human beings”

“It is time for Afghan Women to be supported by the West and fellow Muslims…”

In this statement, Daisy Khan poses a challenge to the world community and to the Taliban to assure women their rights as Muslims and as human beings. She makes the case that the intransigence of the Taliban, on women’s rights in general and the education of girls in particular, is exacerbated to the point of a severe humanitarian crisis by the US freezing of the financial assets of the Afghan people.

Her statement should be of special interest to peace educators seeking to open discussion of the issues surrounding engagement of the West and the US with the Taliban. Like other advocates seeking to relieve the dire suffering and deaths from hunger, she supports limited engagement to negotiate that relief. Others, including the US administration that controls the Afghan assets (The US has provided some humanitarian aid through UNICEF and UN Women), oppose such engagement as capitulation to an illegal, authoritarian regime. Working through the arguments which support these opposing positions will provide both important learning about the situation in Afghanistan, the practice of the ethical and strategic reasoning required for the political efficacy of advocates of peace and justice, and a process of coming to their own position, perhaps a third one on this crucial issue.

Further, her proposal for support and advocacy by a coalition of Muslims and members of the Afghan diaspora to leverage the challenge to the Taliban’s incorrect narratives and to educate the rural base about women’s rights in Islam is the kind of inventive thinking peace education hopes to cultivate.  Learners might be encouraged to develop and evaluate other such proposals for actions to confront the present crisis.  (BAR, 8/29/22)

The Taliban’s first year of governing was a disaster for women and an affront to Islam

Today, the biggest dream for an Afghan girl is not how she can become an engineer or a pilot but of simply going to school.

By Daisy Khan

(Reposted from: The Hill.  August 24, 2022)

Last August, after 20 years of war, the Taliban felt vindicated as they drove U.S. troops out of Afghanistan and marched into Kabul, expecting a hero’s welcome. Instead, they witnessed droves of Afghan men and women chaotically fleeing for their lives. Overnight, the Taliban had to give up being warriors and try to embrace their new role as bureaucrats.

This year-long experiment of governing has been nothing short of calamitous for all Afghans, especially women and girls. Today, the biggest dream for an Afghan girl is not how she can become an engineer or a pilot but of simply going to school. Professional women with doctorates and businesses fear becoming invisible. With their wings clipped, they can neither explore nor soar.

The debate surrounding Afghan girls’ schooling has taken center stage this past year, so it is understandable why the U.S. and European nations, seeing no progress despite regular promises, have refrained from recognizing the Taliban as a legitimate government in Afghanistan. But the more important question is why the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and its 57 Muslim majority member states have followed suit.

Muslims worldwide watched on TV when the Taliban marched into the presidential palace. Their litany of decrees used “Islam, Islamic or Shariah law” framing. Their initial pronouncements on women were geared to appeal to the West: Women’s rights would be protected if they were within an Islamic framework, and girls’ education is an Islamic right.

As months inched by, it became clear that every announcement was a slogan with no substance. The distressing picture regarding women is one of the foremost reasons the OIC and its member states have not recognized the Taliban. The OIC issued a statement expressing its disappointment over the unexpected decision to maintain an earlier ban on girls’ schools.

With every false promise, the Taliban’s trust deficit intensified. By not keeping their word as the Quran 2.117 instructs, “Righteous are those who … keep the pledges they make,” the credentials of the Taliban are tarnished.

In March, I was part of an American Women Peace and Education Delegation that went to Afghanistan to meet with the Ministry of Education about reopening girls’ public high schools. We witnessed fissures among the Taliban. The ones we met said, “If we get the green light, we will open the schools next morning.” But alas, the more powerful faction, which views girls’ education as futile, seems to have won over — for now. This faction believes a girl should be educated up to the sixth grade. Her primary function is to become a mother. By eliminating high school education, advanced studies for women will disappear over time, along with opportunities for professional women.

Apparently this is how some in the Taliban want it. They consider secular education an affront to their rural way of life and a threat to their rural “Afghan custom.” Again, these customs are not found in the Quran or Prophet Muhammad’s teachings. They result from poor-quality religious education and ignorance of women’s rights in Islam, which Sheikh Ahmed al-Tayeb, Grand Imam of Egypt’s Al-Azhar mosque, affirmed in a tweet.

Islam commands men and women to acquire universal knowledge, sacred and secular, so they can be accountable and attain spiritual maturity. Women are granted the freedom to make choices in the selection of professions that best suit their capabilities, whether in the field of religion or in any other worldly fields such as law, medicine or engineering.

Therefore, girls’ education is of immense concern for Muslims worldwide. Prophet Muhammad said, “Seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave.” Early exemplary Muslim women were never shut behind iron bars or considered worthless creatures and deprived souls. They built impressive educational institutions and served in leadership roles as hadith transmitters, religious teachers, moral guides and political leaders.

Today, Muslims who deny education to women and girls must be challenged. It is a blatant breach of Islamic teachings, because lack of education limits self-actualization and any potential contribution women can make to humanity.

Today, Muslims who deny education to women and girls must be challenged. It is a blatant breach of Islamic teachings, because lack of education limits self-actualization and any potential contribution women can make to humanity.

The U.S. can play a vital role, starting with releasing tranches of the $9.5 billion of Afghanistan’s frozen assets. Some funds can be earmarked for teacher salaries and school reopenings. When I was in Kabul, a Taliban functionary said, “How are we supposed to do all this work [gender-segregate schools and pay teachers] when the U.S. has frozen all our money?”

Secondly, the U.S. can leverage its soft power centered around diplomatic confidence-building measures. Build a coalition of Muslim interlocutors — an international task force of Afghans in the diaspora who have direct links and a longing to return, members of the OIC, and Muslim women’s groups. Their aim must be to leverage the power of faith to combat this deep-seated social ill, challenge and reject the Taliban’s incorrect narratives, and finally educate the rural base on women’s rights in Islam, a suggestion the Ministry of Education endorses.

The quest for knowledge has propelled Muslim women to make remarkable advancements in all fields of knowledge, including education, mathematics and astronomy. It is time for Afghan women to be supported by the West and by fellow Muslims, so they no longer remain satisfied with the limits of corrupt custom, oppression and injustice but stand on equal footing as human beings.

Daisy Khan, Ph.D., is the founder of Women’s Islamic Initiative in Spirituality and Equality (WISE), the largest global network of Muslim women committed to peacebuilding, gender equality and human dignity. She formerly was executive director of the American Society for Muslim Advancement. Her memoir, “Born with Wings,” depicts her spiritual journey as a modern Muslim woman and circuitous path to leadership. Follow her on Twitter @DaisyKhan.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top