المستقبل هو الآن: ضرورة تربوية لتعليم السلام

بقلم توني جنكينز ، دكتوراه *
مقدمة المحررين.  في هذا اتصال كورونا، يلاحظ توني جينكينز أن COVID-19 يكشف عن حاجة ملحة لمعلمي السلام لجلب تركيز تربوي أكبر لتصور وتصميم وتخطيط وبناء المستقبل المفضل.

تم تسليم الملاحظات في 4th الحوار الإلكتروني الدولي - "تعليم السلام: بناء مستقبل عادل وسلمي" ، استضافه غاندي سمريتي ودارشان ساميتي (المركز الدولي لدراسات غاندي وبحوث السلام ، نيودلهي) في 13 أغسطس 2020.

عندما تواصلت الأستاذة Vidya Jain لاستكشاف موضوعات لهذا الحوار الإلكتروني ، انجذبنا إلى فكرة إقامة روابط بين تعليم السلام والوباء. من الواضح أنه من الأهمية بمكان بالنسبة لنا أن نأخذ في الاعتبار الدور والإمكانات التحويلية لتعليم السلام في معالجة العديد من المظالم المترابطة والعقبات الاجتماعية والسياسية والاقتصادية التي تحول دون السلام والتي تتجلى وتتفاقم من قبل COVID-19. في الوقت نفسه ، من الضروري أن ندرس تحت السطح. إن فيروس كورونا ، في معظم الحالات ، يوضح ببساطة ما كان موجودًا بالفعل. كان باحثو السلام يسلطون الضوء على مدى عقود على العنف البنيوي للنيوليبرالية الذي يترك في أعقابه الأكثر ضعفًا. كان التأثير غير المتناسب للفيروس على الفئات الضعيفة من السكان متوقعًا للأسف. الآن ، بالطبع ، يجب أن يستمر تعليم السلام في تولي عباءة البحث النقدي هذه. يجب علينا التحقيق في أنظمة القوة ووجهات النظر العالمية التي قادتنا إلى حيث نجد أنفسنا اليوم. من الناحية التربوية ، نعلم أن تسهيل تعليم السلام المهم أمر ضروري لإلقاء الضوء على أنماط وأنظمة العنف والظلم. علاوة على ذلك ، يعد تعليم السلام المهم مكونًا رئيسيًا لعملية تعلم شاملة ضرورية لتنمية الوعي النقدي - بأن تصبح "مستيقظًا" - وتحدي افتراضات رؤيتنا للعالم حول كيف تكون الأشياء وما يجب أن تكون عليه.

في المخطط الكبير للأشياء ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بتنفيذ تعليم السلام المهم ، فإننا نقوم بعمل جيد نسبيًا. لقد فوجئت بسرور لرؤية مصطلحات مثل العنف الهيكلي والعنصرية الهيكلية التي اعتمدتها مصادر وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية في تحليلها لـ COVID-19 والانتفاضات الأخيرة حول عنف الشرطة ضد السود في الولايات المتحدة. أعتقد أن الفعالية النسبية لتعليم السلام النقدي تتعزز من خلال حقيقة أن التعليم الرسمي يقوم بعمل جيد بشكل معقول في تطوير بعض القدرات المعرفية التي يقوم عليها - خاصة تعزيز التفكير التحليلي ، وبدرجة أقل ، التفكير النقدي. بعبارة أخرى ، يتم تعزيز تعليم السلام النقدي من خلال حقيقة أنه مستمد من بعض الأشكال التربوية الإيجابية التي تم التأكيد عليها في التعليم التقليدي. لا يتطلب تعليم السلام النقدي بالضرورة تعريف الطلاب بأشكال جديدة جذرية من التفكير والتعلم.

بالطبع ، هناك محاذير كبيرة لهذا التحليل الوردي. التفكير النقدي ، في هذه العقود المبكرة من القرن الحادي والعشرينst القرن ، وهي الفترة التي يصفها زميلي كيفن كيستر (2020) بأنها حقبة ما بعد الحقيقة ، تم احتواؤها بعمق. أصبحت "الحقيقة" مشوشة. بدلاً من إجراء تحقيق عميق وفحص مصادر ووجهات نظر متعددة حول قضية ما ، يبحث الكثيرون ببساطة عن مقالات رأي - أو يتم تغذيتها بمقالات بواسطة خوارزميات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - التي تؤكد تحيزهم الموجود مسبقًا في النظرة العالمية. إضافة إلى هذه المعضلة ، هناك شخصيات سياسية معينة تكذب بلا خجل كاستراتيجية مقصودة لتشكيل أجندات سياسية. إنهم يعلمون أن نشر الكذبة قبل الحقيقة يعني أنهم يتحكمون في جدول الأعمال ؛ أن إثبات الحقيقة سيكون أصعب من دحض الكذب. مع الوعي بحقبة ما بعد الحقيقة التي نعيشها ، نحتاج إلى زيادة تطوير قدرات الطلاب على التفكير النقدي - لتحدي افتراضات النظرة العالمية - لتجاوز عبارات "أعتقد" - لدعم أفكارنا بالبحث - والمشاركة أقراننا في حوار مفتوح. بينما نرغب في أن يكون لدى طلابنا قناعة في معتقداتهم ، يجب علينا أيضًا أن نساعدهم في غرس أهمية البقاء دائمًا منفتحين على التغيير من خلال التفكير في معتقداتهم وافتراضاتهم ونظرتهم للعالم وتحديها.

هناك عقبة رئيسية أخرى يجب معالجتها وهي أن تعليم السلام المهم يبحث في الهياكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية والأسس التي يسعى التعليم الرسمي إلى إدامتها وإعادة إنتاجها - المؤسسات التي تحكمها السياسات التي وضعتها النخب الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في المقام الأول. حرص العديد من المسؤولين الحكوميين على إعادة الأمور "إلى طبيعتها" بأسرع ما يمكن. في الواقع ، يعاني الكثير من الناس - وخاصة أولئك الذين كانوا عرضة للخطر في البداية - تحت وطأة إكراه ولايات الصحة العامة الحاسمة. إن الخسائر الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والصحية العقلية للوباء مذهلة. ولكن هل "العودة إلى طبيعتها" ستحدث أي فرق لأولئك الذين كانوا يعانون بالفعل في ظل ظروف "طبيعية" سابقة؟

السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه - والذي أعتقد أننا لم نتناوله بعد بشكل مناسب تربويًا - هو ما يجب أن يكون "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد" ، أو كيف يجب أن يبدو العالم الذي نرغب في العودة إليه عندما ينحسر الوباء؟

هذا هو موضوع بارز من "اتصالات كورونا، "سلسلة من المقالات التي كنت أقوم بتحريرها من أجل الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام والتي تطرح سؤالاً حول كيفية إنشاء"عادي جديد. " مرة أخرى في مايو ، قمنا بنشر بيان لحالة طبيعية جديدة,  حملة روج لها مجلس أمريكا اللاتينية لأبحاث السلام (CLAIP) ، والتي ساعدتنا على التركيز على هذه العدسة المهمة لتعليم السلام. لاحظت CLAIP أن "الفيروس لا يقتل (بنفس القدر) مثل الحالة الطبيعية الضارة التي نسعى جاهدين للعودة إليها." أو بشكل أكثر صراحة ، "الفيروس هو أحد أعراض الحالة الطبيعية المريضة التي عشناها".

أفضل بيان لحالة طبيعية جديدة يقدم أكثر من مجرد نقد: إنه يطرح أيضًا رؤية أخلاقية وعادلة لحالة طبيعية جديدة علينا أن نسعى لتحقيقها. والأهم من ذلك ، أنه يسلط الضوء على بعض الأفكار التي قد تكون ضرورية لتعلم طريقنا إلى الحرية والهروب من الفكر المستعمر والنظرة العالمية للرضوخ للعنف البنيوي الذي شكلته الحالة الطبيعية السابقة.

أنا أنظر إلى بيان لحالة طبيعية جديدة كإطار تعليمي محتمل مناسب لتعزيز رؤية عالمية لتعليم السلام والمواطنة العالمية. تساعدنا بعض الاستفسارات التي يقدمها في التفكير في إطار أخلاقي لمستوى المعيشة الذي يجب أن نتطلع إليه ، ومن يجب أن يستمتع به ، وكيف يمكننا تحقيقه.

شيء واحد الملصق يوضح بجلاء أن تعليم السلام يحتاج إلى زيادة التركيز على المستقبل - وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، لتصور وتصميم وتخطيط وبناء المستقبل المفضل. الغالبية العظمى من تعلمنا تؤكد على الماضي. إنه يتطلع إلى الوراء ، وليس استشرافًا للمستقبل. نحن ندرس بشكل نقدي ما يمكن قياسه وتجريبيًا ، وما يمكننا رؤيته وما كان وما كان - ولكن لا نولي اهتمامًا كبيرًا لما يمكن وما ينبغي أن يكون.

يحتاج تعليم السلام إلى التركيز بشكل أكبر على المستقبل - وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، لتصور المستقبل المفضل وتصميمه وتخطيطه وبناءه.

في عالم تتمتع فيه الواقعية السياسية بقبضة قوية على عهود المجتمع ، يتم رفض التفكير الطوباوي باعتباره خيالًا. ومع ذلك ، لعبت الرؤى اليوتوبية دائمًا دورًا مهمًا في تعزيز التغيير الاجتماعي والسياسي. تحدثت إليز بولدينج ، باحثة السلام والمعلمة البارزة ، عن كيفية قيام الصورة الطوباوية بوظيفتين: 1) تهكم وانتقاد المجتمع كما هو ؛ و 2) لوصف طريقة مرغوبة أكثر لتنظيم الشؤون الإنسانية (بولدينج ، 2000).

بيتي ريردون (2009) يبرز قيمة التصوير اليوتوبيا في سياق مماثل:

"اليوتوبيا هي فكرة حامل ، تشكلت في العقل كاحتمال يمكننا السعي نحوه ، وفي الكفاح نتعلم كيف ندرك المفهوم ، لجعله حقيقيًا. بدون تصور ، لا يمكن أن تصبح الحياة الجديدة ، في المجتمع البشري كما في البشر ، حقيقة واقعة. اليوتوبيا مفهوم ، الفكرة الخلقية التي يمكن أن تنبت منها الحياة الجديدة في نظام اجتماعي جديد إلى هدف سياسي قابل للحياة ، ولدت في عملية السياسة والتعلم التي يمكن أن تنضج إلى نظام اجتماعي متحول ؛ ربما أصبح ما نسميه الثقافة سلامًا ، واقعًا عالميًا جديدًا. في غياب المفهوم الجرثومي ، هناك فرصة ضئيلة لتطور عالم أفضل من إمكانية إلى حقيقة ".

اسمحوا لي أن أكرر هذا السطر الأخير حيث أعتقد أنه يجسد جزءًا كبيرًا من التحدي الذي ينتظرنا:

"في غياب المفهوم الجرثومي ، هناك فرصة ضئيلة لتطور عالم أفضل من إمكانية إلى حقيقة ".

لذلك مع الوقت القليل المتبقي لي ، أريد حقًا الغوص في الفرص والتحديات الخاصة بكيفية قيام تعليم السلام بتحريكنا من الناحية التربوية في هذا الاتجاه المستقبلي.

لنبدأ بتفكيك معضلة نفسية. الصور التي نحملها عادة عن المستقبل متجذرة في تجربتنا الحالية للعالم وفي تفسيراتنا للماضي. بعبارة أخرى ، فإن تصورنا لما يخبئه المستقبل غالبًا ما يكون إسقاطًا خطيًا ، نبوءة تحقق ذاتها. أي تشاؤم نشعر به في اللحظة الحالية ، والذي يضرب بجذوره في تجارب تاريخية حقيقية للغاية ، يقودنا إلى توقع مستقبل "محتمل" ، وهو استمرار أساسي لمسارات الماضي.

يتم التقاط هذا التفكير وترسيخه في خيالنا من خلال هيمنة الروايات والوسائط البائسة التي تستهدف الشباب. الآن لا تفهموني خطأ ، أحب رواية أو فيلمًا بائسًا جيدًا ، فهي تقدم تحذيرًا لما سيحدث إذا لم نغير المسار. ومع ذلك ، فإن الإعلام البائس لا يساعدنا في تحويل تفكيرنا حول المستقبل من "المحتمل" (ما هو مبني على الأرجح على مسارنا الحالي) - إلى "المفضل" ، المستقبل العادل الذي نرغب فيه حقًا. عندما أقود ورش عمل مستقبلية مع الطلاب - أو البالغين - فإن فخ التفكير هذا يقدم نفسه على أنه عقبة رئيسية. عندما طُلب من الطلاب التفكير في تمرين طُلب فيه من الطلاب التفكير في عالم مستقبلي مفضل ووصفه ، كان الرد الشائع هو "إنه صعب حقًا!" أو "لم أستطع التوقف عن التفكير فيما أعتقد أنه سيحدث" أو ببساطة "لا أشعر بالواقعية" للتعبير عن صورة مثالية للمستقبل.

من المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نفهم أن البشر يبنون الواقع في أذهانهم قبل أن يتصرفوا بناءً عليه خارجيًا ، وبالتالي فإن طريقة تفكيرنا في المستقبل تشكل أيضًا الإجراءات التي نتخذها في الوقت الحاضر. لذا ، إذا كانت لدينا وجهات نظر سلبية عن المستقبل ، فمن غير المرجح أن نغير مسارنا الحالي. من ناحية أخرى ، إذا كانت لدينا صور إيجابية للمستقبل المفضل ، فمن المرجح أن نتخذ إجراءات إيجابية في الوقت الحاضر.

هذا شيء فحصه المؤرخ الهولندي والمستقبلي فريد بولاك (كما ترجمه وأشار إليه بولدينج ، 2000). اكتشف ، عبر التاريخ ، أن المجتمعات التي تحمل صورًا إيجابية للمستقبل تم تمكينها لاتخاذ إجراءات اجتماعية ، وتلك المجتمعات التي تفتقر إلى الصور الإيجابية سقطت في الانحلال الاجتماعي.

يكمن جزء من التحدي في أن تعليمنا لا يؤهل المتعلمين بشكل كافٍ في أساليب وأنماط التفكير في المستقبل. يتطلب التفكير في مستقبل مفضل وبنائه الخيال والإبداع واللعب. بالطبع لا ينبغي أن يكون مفاجئًا أن العديد من مفكرينا الطوباويين الأكثر نبوة قد تدربوا على الفنون الإبداعية. أي مناهج أو مادة مدرسية قد تتبنى مثل هذه الأشكال من التفكير - الفنون والموسيقى والعلوم الإنسانية - كانت في حجر الأساس لإصلاحات التعليم النيوليبرالي منذ عقود. لا تعتبر هذه المناهج ضرورية لمشاركة الطلاب في النظام الاقتصادي الحالي. ربما قيل للكثير منا هنا في مرحلة ما من حياتنا: "لا يمكنك الحصول على وظيفة بهذه الدرجة."

يتطلب الانفتاح على التفكير في المستقبل المفضل ، على الأقل مؤقتًا ، أن نبتعد عن التفكير العقلاني ونتبنى طرقنا البديهية والعاطفية في التفكير والمعرفة والوجود. هناك الكثير من الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها القيام بذلك.

شددت إليز بولدينج (1988) على اللعب الذهني والتصوير كأدوات لإطلاق الخيال. فيما يتعلق باللعب الذهني ، تستشهد هويزينجا التي أشارت إلى أن "اللعب يتيح لنا معرفة أننا أكثر من مجرد كائنات عقلانية ، لأننا نلعب ونعلم أيضًا أننا نلعب - ونختار اللعب ، مع العلم أنه غير عقلاني" (ص 103) ). يلعب البالغون ، ولكن بطرق طقسية للغاية. لقد فقدنا حرية اللعب المتأصلة في الشباب. لذا فإن استعادة اللعب عند البالغين أمر ضروري لاستعادة خيالنا الاجتماعي.

التصوير هو أداة أخرى لإطلاق العنان للخيال. لنقتبس من زميلي ماري لي موريسون (2012):

"كلنا صورة. نحمل في أعماقنا الانطباعات والشظايا والصور والمشاهد والأصوات والروائح والمشاعر والمعتقدات. في بعض الأحيان تمثل هذه أحداثًا حقيقية أو متخيلة من ماضينا. في بعض الأحيان قد يمثلون آمالنا وأحلامنا للمستقبل. أحيانًا تأتي هذه الصور إلينا في الأحلام أثناء نومنا. أحيانًا في أحلام اليقظة. أحيانًا تكون هذه الصور مخيفة. أحيانا لا."

هناك العديد من الطرق المختلفة للتصوير ، بما في ذلك الخيال العائم الحر (شكل من أشكال اللعب) ، وأحلام اليقظة الهروب ، وإعادة العمل الواعي لأحلام النوم ، وفي التعليم المستقبلي ، نستخدم الكثير من التصوير المركّز للمستقبل الشخصي والاجتماعي (بولدينج ، 1988). يعتمد هذا الشكل الأخير على جميع الأشكال الأخرى بطريقة مركزة ومتعمدة. هذا هو الأساس لنموذج ورش العمل المستقبلية المفضلة التي طورها وارن زيجلر وفريد ​​بولاك وإليز بولدينج والتي تطورت في النهاية إلى ورشة عمل نظمتها إليز بانتظام في الثمانينيات حول "تصوير عالم خالٍ من الأسلحة النووية".

قد يشعر العديد من معلمي السلام ، وخاصة أولئك الذين يعملون في التعليم العالي ، بعدم الارتياح في استخدام بعض هذه المنهجيات الإبداعية والمرحة في تعليمهم. من المفهوم أن هذا هو الحال. لقد تم تلقين معظمنا فكرة أن هذه ليست الطريقة التي يحدث بها التعلم في التعليم العالي. نقوم أيضًا بالتدريس في المؤسسات الأكاديمية التي تتحقق من نطاق محدود من طرق المعرفة والوجود. قد ينظر زملاؤنا إلينا باستخفاف ، أو ، كما هو الحال غالبًا بالنسبة لي ، يقابلنا زملاؤنا بنظرات محيرة أثناء سيرهم في الصفوف الدراسية ويشاهدون الطلاب ينخرطون في مسرح الأنشطة المضطهدة ، ويضحكون ، وينحتون أجسادهم في استعارات القهر ، أو ممارسة الألعاب. في حين أن قبول زملائنا الأكاديميين قد يكون أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لأمننا الوظيفي داخل الأوساط الأكاديمية ، يجب ألا نسمح له بالوقوف في طريق إجراء تعلم هادف وذو معنى يزود الطلاب بالمعرفة والمهارات والإبداع لتصميم مستقبل أكثر سلامًا.

في حين أن اللعب والتصوير ضروريان لإطلاق العنان للخيال ، نحتاج أيضًا إلى تحديد مواقع هذه الطرق للمعرفة والوجود ضمن إطار تربوي أكثر شمولاً للتغيير الاجتماعي. قبل بضع سنوات ، أوضحت بيتي ريردون (2013) ثلاثة أنماط من البحث التأملي مناسبة لمنهجيات تعليم المشاركة السياسية. يمكن لهذه الأنماط الثلاثة - النقدية / التحليلية ، والأخلاقية / الأخلاقية ، والتأمل / الاجترار - أن تعمل معًا كسقالة لممارسة التعلم التي يمكن تطبيقها على التعلم الرسمي وغير الرسمي من أجل السلام والتغيير الاجتماعي.

انعكاس نقدي / تحليلي هو نهج مرادف عمومًا لتعليم السلام النقدي الذي وصفته سابقًا. إنه يدعم تطوير الوعي النقدي الضروري لتعطيل افتراضات النظرة العالمية الأساسية للتغيير الشخصي والفعالية السياسية.  التفكير الأخلاقي والأخلاقي يدعو إلى النظر في مجموعة من الاستجابات لمعضلة اجتماعية أثيرت أثناء التفكير النقدي / التحليلي. وهي تدعو المتعلم إلى التفكير في استجابة أخلاقية / أخلاقية مناسبة.   تأملي / اجترار يوفر التفكير توجهاً للمستقبل ، ويدعو المتعلم إلى تصور مستقبل مفضل متجذر في عالمهم الأخلاقي / الأخلاقي.

لقد قمت بتكييف هذه الأنماط من الاستفسار التأملي كإطار تربوي في كل من تدريسي الرسمي وغير الرسمي (جينكينز ، 2019). تسلسلي مشابه ، لكن مع بعض الأبعاد المضافة. أبدأ بالتفكير النقدي / التحليلي لدعم المتعلمين في الاستفسار عن العالم كما هو. أنتقل بعد ذلك إلى التفكير الأخلاقي ، ودعوة الطلاب لتقييم ما إذا كان العالم كما هو موجودًا يتماشى مع القيم التي يحملونها وتوجهاتهم الأخلاقية والمعنوية. هذه فرصة عظيمة لجلب الأطر الأخلاقية القائمة. أنا أشجع بشدة على استخدام بيان لحالة طبيعية جديدة بسبب ملاءمتها للحظة. للمهتمين ، قامت الحملة العالمية بالفعل بتطوير ونشر بعض الاستفسارات لاستخدامها (راجع: "مراجعة أصول التدريس لدينا في السير على الطريق إلى حالة طبيعية جديدة"). يمكنك أيضًا التفكير في استخدام أطر معيارية أخرى مثل ميثاق الأرض والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان وإعلان وبرنامج عمل الأمم المتحدة بشأن ثقافة السلام التي ترسي مجموعة من "القيم والمواقف والتقاليد وأنماط السلوك" وأساليب الحياة "التي يمكن أن تكون عمليًا بمثابة أساس لنظام عالمي سلمي. بافتراض أن الطلاب يجدون العالم الحالي غير متوافق مع هذه الأطر وقيمهم الخاصة ، فمن هناك أجلب فرصًا للتفكير التأملي والتأمل ، والذي أيسره عادةً من خلال العمليات الإبداعية التي تعزز تصور ما هو مفضل وما يمكن أن يكون. وأخيرًا ، لدعم تمكين الطلاب من اتخاذ إجراءات بشأن هذه الرؤى ، أشجعهم أيضًا على تصميم مقترحات مستقبلية ، والمشاركة في تقييم الأقران ، ووضع خطط لوضع استراتيجيات تربوية وسياسية لتحقيق الرؤية.

أملي وعزمي على مشاركة بعض الأفكار العملية والتربوية من تجربتي الشخصية ، هو تحفيز بعض التفكير في الأمل والوعد بتعليم السلام كأداة لبناء مستقبل عادل وسلمي. ما يقلقني هو أن تعليم السلام ، بدون توجه مستقبلي ، يظل أكثر بقليل من نشاط في الفكر النقدي العقلاني. بصفتنا معلمين سلام ، نواجه عددًا من التحديات التربوية الحقيقية جدًا في التعليم من أجل إنشاء ثقافات السلام. إن وجود فهم نقدي لعالمنا لا يعني الكثير إذا لم نجد أيضًا طرقًا لرعاية القناعات الداخلية التي تشكل الأسس لأشكال العمل السياسي الخارجي اللاعنفي الضرورية لبناء وبناء مستقبل أكثر تفضيلًا.

نظرًا لأن العام الدراسي الجديد على وشك أن يبدأ ، على الأقل بالنسبة لنا في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، فإنني أشجع المعلمين على التفكير في دمج بعض هذه الاستفسارات الأساسية للتفكير والتصور والتخطيط وإنشاء "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد" لما بعد COVID - 19 عالم في مناهجهم.

أود أن أختتم باقتباس من صديقي ومرشدتي بيتي ريردون (1988) ، الذي يذكرنا بأنه "إذا أردنا التثقيف من أجل السلام ، يحتاج كل من المعلمين والطلاب إلى بعض الأفكار عن العالم المتحول الذي نتعلم من أجله . " لتعليم السلام ، من الضروري أن المستقبل هو الآن.

شكرا.

عن المؤلف

دكتور توني جينكينز لديه أكثر من 19 عامًا من الخبرة في توجيه وتصميم بناء السلام والبرامج التعليمية الدولية والمشاريع والقيادة في التنمية الدولية لدراسات السلام وتعليم السلام. يعمل توني حاليًا محاضرًا في برنامج دراسات العدل والسلام في جامعة جورجتاون. منذ عام 2001 شغل منصب المدير العام للمعهد الدولي لتعليم السلام (IIPE) ومنذ عام 2007 كمنسق للحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام (GCPE). تركز أبحاث توني التطبيقية على دراسة آثار وفعالية طرق تعليم السلام وطرق التدريس في رعاية التغيير والتحول الشخصي والاجتماعي والسياسي. كما أنه مهتم بالتصميم والتطوير التعليمي الرسمي وغير الرسمي مع اهتمام خاص بتدريب المعلمين ، والنهج البديلة للأمن العالمي ، وتصميم النظم ، ونزع السلاح ، والنوع الاجتماعي.

المراجع والموارد

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

The Future is Now: A Pedagogical Imperative for Peace Education

By Tony Jenkins, PhD*
Editors’ Introduction.  In this Corona Connection, Tony Jenkins observes that COVID-19 reveals an urgent need for peace educators to bring greater pedagogical emphasis to envisioning, designing, planning and building preferred futures.

Remarks delivered at the 4th International E-Dialogue – “Peace Education: Building a Just and Peaceful Future,” hosted by Gandhi Smriti & Darshan Samiti (International Centre of Gandhian Studies and Peace Research, New Delhi) on August 13, 2020.

When Prof. Vidya Jain reached out to explore topics for this e-dialogue we were drawn to the idea of making connections between peace education and the pandemic.  It is obviously vital for us to consider the role and transformative potential of peace education in addressing the many interrelated injustices, and social, political and economic obstacles to peace manifested and exacerbated by COVID-19.   At the same time, it’s imperative that we peer below the surface.  The coronavirus, in most instances, is simply making visible that which already existed.  Peace researchers have been illuminating for decades the structural violence of neoliberalism which leaves the most vulnerable in its wake.  The disproportionate impact the virus has had on vulnerable populations was sadly predictable.  Now, of course, peace education must continue to take up this mantle of critical inquiry.  We must probe into systems of power and the worldviews that led us to where we find ourselves today.  Pedagogically, we know that facilitating critical peace education is essential to illuminating patterns and systems of violence and injustice.  Furthermore, critical peace education is a key component of a holistic learning process necessary for cultivating a critical consciousness – of becoming “woke” – and challenging our worldview assumptions about how things are and ought to be.

In the grand scheme of things, when it comes to implementing critical peace education we are doing relatively well.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised to see terminology such as structural violence and structural racism adopted by mainstream media sources in their analysis of COVID-19 and the recent uprisings around police violence against black people in the United States.   I think critical peace education’s relative efficacy is enhanced by the fact that formal schooling does reasonably well in developing some of the cognitive abilities upon which it is based – especially the promotion of analytic thinking, and to a slightly less extent, critical thinking.  In other words, critical peace education is enhanced by the fact that it draws from some of the positive pedagogical forms emphasized in traditional schooling.  Critical peace education does not necessarily require introducing students to a radically new forms of thinking and learning.

Of course, there are major caveats to this rosy analysis.  Critical thinking, in these still early decades of the 21st century, a period which my colleague Kevin Kester (2020) describes as a post-truth era, has been deeply co-opted.   “Truth” has become muddled.  Rather than conducting deep inquiry and examining multiple sources and perspectives on an issue, many simply seek out opinion pieces – or are fed articles by social media algorithms – that affirm their preexisting worldview bias.  Further adding to this dilemma are certain political figures who unabashedly lie as an intentional strategy for shaping political agendas.  They know that getting the lie out ahead of the truth means that they control the agenda; that establishing the truth will be more difficult than debunking the lie. With awareness of the post-truth era we are living in, we need to further develop students’ capacities for critical thinking – to challenge worldview assumptions – to go beyond “I believe” statements – to back up our ideas with research – and to engage our peers in open dialogue.  While we wish for our students to have conviction in their beliefs, we must also help instill in them the importance of always remaining open to change by reflecting upon and challenging their worldview beliefs and assumptions.

Another major hurdle to address is that critical peace education probes the very social, economic and political structures and foundations that formalized schooling seeks to sustain and reproduce – foundations which are governed by policies established primarily by economic and social elites.  Many government officials have been keen to return things “back to normal” as swiftly as possible.  Indeed, many people – especially those who were vulnerable to begin with – are suffering under the duress of crucial public health mandates. The economic, social, and mental health tolls of the pandemic are staggering. But will “returning back to normal” make any difference to those who were already suffering under previous “normal” conditions?

A question that arises – and one that I think we have not yet adequately addressed pedagogically – is what should be the “new normal,” or what should the world we wish to return to look like when the pandemic subsides?

This is a prominent theme of “Corona Connections,” a series of articles I’ve been editing for the Global Campaign for Peace Education that asks the question of how we might establish the “new normal.” Back in May, we posted the Manifesto for a New Normality,  a campaign promoted by the Latin American Council for Peace Research (CLAIP), which helped us to bring into focus this important lens for peace education. CLAIP noted that “the virus does not kill (as much) as the perverse normality to which we strive to return.” Or more bluntly, the “virus is a symptom of the sick normality in which we lived.”

The Manifesto for a New Normality offers more than just a critique: it also puts forward an ethical and just vision of a new normality for us to strive toward. Most important, it illuminates some of the thinking that may be necessary for learning our way to freedom and to escape the colonized thought and worldview of acquiescence to structural violence shaped by the preceding normality.

I view the Manifesto for a New Normality as a potential learning framework suitable to nurturing a cosmopolitan vision of peace and global citizenship education. Some of the inquiries it presents help us to consider an ethical framework for the standard of living we should aspire to, who should enjoy it, and how might we achieve it.

One thing the Manifesto makes abundantly clear is that peace education needs to bring greater emphasis to the future – more specifically, to envisioning, designing, planning and building preferred futures.  The vast majority of our learning emphasizes the past.  It is backward-looking, rather than forward-looking.  We critically examine the measurable and empirical, what we can see, what is and has been – but give little attention to what can and should be.

Peace education needs to bring greater emphasis to the future – more specifically, to envisioning, designing, planning and building preferred futures.

In a world in which political realism has a firmly solid grip on the reigns of society, utopian thinking is dismissed as fantasy.  However, utopian visions have always played an important role in fostering social and political change.  Elise Boulding, prominent peace researcher and educator spoke of how the utopian image serves two functions: 1) to satirize and critique society as it is; and 2) to describe a more desirable way of organizing human affairs (Boulding, 2000).

Betty Reardon (2009) brings up the value of utopian imaging in a similar vein:

“Utopia is a pregnant idea, formed in the mind as a possibility toward which we might strive, and in the striving learn how to realize the concept, to make it real. Without conception, new life, in human society as in human beings, cannot be become reality. Utopia is a concept, the germinal idea from which new life in a new social order can germinate into a viable political goal, born into a process of politics and learning that could mature into a transformed social order; perhaps what we have come to call a culture a peace, a new world reality. Absent the germinal concept, there is little chance for a better world to evolve from a possibility to a reality.”

Let me repeat that last line as I think it captures a big part of the challenge ahead for us:

Absent the germinal concept, there is little chance for a better world to evolve from a possibility to a reality.”

So with the little time I have remaining, I really want to dive into the opportunities and challenges for how peace education can pedagogically move us in this future direction.

Let’s start with unpacking a psychological dilemma.   The images we typically hold of the future are rooted in our present experience of the world and in our interpretations of the past.  In other words, our perception of what the future holds is often a linear projection, a self-fulfilling prophecy.  Any pessimism we hold in the present moment, which is rooted in very real historical experiences, leads us to projecting “probable” futures, which are basic continuations of past trajectories.

This thinking is captured and cemented in our imaginations through the predominance of dystopian novels and media aimed at young adults.  Now don’t get me wrong, l love a good dystopian novel or movie, it offers a warning of what is to come if we don’t change course.  However, dystopian media don’t aid us in shifting our thinking about the future from the “probable” (what is likely based on our current path) – to the “preferred,” the just future that we truly desire.  When I lead futures workshops with students – or adults – this thinking trap presents itself as a major obstacle.  When asked to reflect upon an exercise in which students were asked to think about and describe a preferred future world, a common response is that “it’s really hard!” or “I just couldn’t stop thinking about what I think is going to happen” or it simply “feels unrealistic” to articulate a more utopian image of the future.

It’s important for us to understand that human beings construct reality in their minds before they act on it externally, thus how we think about the future also shapes the actions we take in the present.  So, if we hold negative views of the future, we are very unlikely to change our present course.  On the other hand, if we hold positive images of preferred futures, we are more likely to take positive actions in the present.

This is something that Dutch historian and futurist Fred Polak examined (as translated and referenced by Boulding, 2000).  He discovered, that throughout history, societies that held positive images of the future were empowered to take social action, and those societies that lacked positive images fell into social decay.

Part of the challenge is that our education does not adequately capacitate learners in methods and modes of thinking about the future. To think about and to construct preferred futures requires imagination, creativity, and play.  So of course it should come as little surprise that many of our most prophetic utopian thinkers have been trained in creative arts.   Any curricula or school subject that might embrace such forms of thinking – arts, music, humanities – has been on the chopping block of neoliberal education reforms for decades.  Such curricula are not deemed essential to students’ participation in the current economic order. Probably many of us here have been told at some point in our lives: “You can’t get a job with that degree.”

To open ourselves up to thinking about preferred futures requires, at least temporarily, that we step away from rational thought and embrace our intuitive and affective ways of thinking, knowing and being.  There’s a lot of ways that we can do this.

Elise Boulding (1988) emphasized mental play and imaging as tools for releasing the imagination.  In regards to mental play, she cites Huizinga who noted that “play lets us know that we are more than rational beings, because we play and also know that we play – and choose to play, knowing that it is irrational” (p. 103).  Adults play, but in very ritualized ways.  We’ve lost the freedom of play that is inherent in youth.  So the recovery of play in adults is essential for our recovery of the social imagination.

Imaging is yet another tool to unleash the imagination. To quote my colleague Mary Lee Morrison (2012):

“We all image. Deep within us we carry impressions, fragments, pictures, sights, sounds, smells, feelings and beliefs. Sometimes these represent real or imagined events from our past. Sometimes they might represent our hopes and dreams for the future. Sometimes these images come to us in dreams while we sleep. Sometimes in daydreams. Sometimes these images are scary. Sometimes not.”

There are many different methods of imaging, including free floating fantasy (a form of play), escapist daydreaming, conscious reworking of sleeping dreams, and in futures education we use a lot of focused imaging of personal and social futures (Boulding, 1988).   This latter form draws on all the others in a focused and intentional way.  This is the basis of a model of preferred future workshops developed by Warren Zeigler, Fred Polak and Elise Boulding that eventually evolved into a workshop that Elise regularly conducted in the 1980s on “Imaging a World without Nuclear Weapons.”

Many peace educators, particularly those working in higher education, may feel uncomfortable in utilizing some of these creative, playful methodologies in their teaching.  It’s understandable that this is the case.  Most of us have been indoctrinated to believe that’s not how learning happens in higher education.  We also teach in academic institutions that validate a limited scope of ways of knowing and being.  Our peers might look down on us, or, as is often the case for me, we are met with bewildered gazes by our colleagues as they walk past our classroom and see students engaging in theatre of the oppressed activities, laughing, sculpting their bodies into metaphors of oppression, or playing games.  While acceptance by our academic peers may be critical to our job security within academia, we should not let it stand in the way of conducting meaningful and meaning-making learning that equips students with the knowledge, skills and creativity to design a more peaceful future.

While play and imaging are critical to unleashing the imagination, we also need to situate these ways of knowing and being within a more comprehensive pedagogical framework for social change.  A few years ago, Betty Reardon (2013) articulated three modes of reflective inquiry suitable to a pedagogy of political engagement. These 3 modes – critical/analytic, moral/ethical, and contemplative/ruminative – can work together as a scaffolding for a learning praxis that can be applied to formal and non-formal learning for peace and social change.

Critical/analytic reflection is an approach generally synonymous with the critical peace education I described earlier. It supports the development of a critical consciousness that is necessary for disrupting worldview assumptions essential to personal change and political efficacy.  Moral and ethical reflection invites consideration of a range of responses to a social dilemma raised during critical/analytic reflection.  It invites the learner to consider an appropriate ethical/moral response.   Contemplative/ruminative reflection provides a futures orientation, inviting the learner to envision a preferred future rooted in their ethical/moral universe.

I’ve adapted these modes of reflective inquiry as a pedagogical framework in both my formal and non-formal teaching (Jenkins, 2019).  My sequence is similar, but with some added dimensions.  I start with critical/analytic reflection to support learners in inquiring into the world as it is.  I then move to ethical reflection, inviting students to assess if the world as it exists is aligned with the values they hold and their moral and ethical orientations.  This is a great opportunity to bring in existing ethical frameworks.  I highly encourage the use of the Manifesto for a New Normality because of its pertinence to the moment.  For those interested, the Global Campaign already developed and published some inquiries for its use (see: “Reviewing our Pedagogy in Walking the Path to a New Normality”).  You might also consider using other normative frameworks such as the Earth Charter, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the United Nations Declaration and Programme of Action on a Culture of Peace that establishes a set of “values, attitudes, traditions and modes of behaviors and ways of life” that could practically serve as the foundation of a peaceful world order. Assuming students find the present world misaligned with these frameworks and their own values, from there I bring in opportunities for contemplative and ruminative reflection, which I typically facilitate through creative processes that foster envisioning of what is preferred, and what could be.  And finally, to support the empowerment of students to take action on these visions, I also encourage them to design future proposals, engage in peer evaluation, and establish plans for putting forth pedagogical and political strategies for bringing the vision to reality.

My hope and intention in sharing some practical, pedagogical insights from my personal experience, is to stimulate some reflection on the hope and promise of peace education as a tool for building a just and peaceful future. My concern is that peace education, without a futures orientation, remains little more than an activity in critical, rational thought.  As peace educators, we are presented with a number of very real pedagogical challenges in educating for the establishment of cultures of peace. Having a critical understanding of our world means little if we don’t also find ways to pedagogically nurture the internal convictions that are the foundations for forms of nonviolent external political action that are necessary to build and construct a more preferred future.

As the new school year is about to begin, at least for those of us in the northern hemisphere, I encourage educators to consider integrating some of these essential inquiries for thinking about, envisioning, planning and establishing the “new normal” of a post COVID-19 world into their curricula.

I’d like to conclude with a quote from my friend and mentor Betty Reardon (1988), who reminds us that “if we are to educate for peace, both teachers and students need to have some notion of the transformed world we are educating for.”  For peace education, it’s imperative that the future is now.

Thank you.

About the Author

Tony Jenkins PhD has 19+ years of experience directing and designing peacebuilding and international educational programs and projects and leadership in the international development of peace studies and peace education.  Tony is currently a Lecturer in the Program on Justice and Peace Studies at Georgetown University.  Since 2001 he has served as the Managing Director of the International Institute on Peace Education (IIPE) and since 2007 as the Coordinator of the Global Campaign for Peace Education (GCPE).  Tony’s applied research is focused on examining the impacts and effectiveness of peace education methods and pedagogies in nurturing personal, social and political change and transformation. He is also interested in formal and non-formal educational design and development with special interest in teacher training, alternative approaches to global security, systems design, disarmament, and gender.

References & Resources

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...