#暴力

暴力(直接的、结构性的)

挥之不去的殖民地是和平教育的障碍:特立尼达的学校暴力

根据在特立尼达的研究,Hakim Mohandas Amani Williams 认为,“学校”暴力被简化为“青年”暴力,关于学校暴力本身及其驱动因素/“原因”的主要讨论具有限制性和个性化自然。 因此,源自此类话语的主要干预措施相应地狭窄,因此未能揭示学校中青少年暴力所嵌入的结构性暴力。 威廉将这种话语暴力视为挥之不去的殖民主义,这是对特立尼达学校可持续和平教育的封锁。

挥之不去的殖民地是和平教育的障碍:特立尼达的学校暴力 阅读更多»

巴勒斯坦和平教师被宣布为世界前十名之一

在伯利恒 Deheishe 难民营长大的小学班主任 Hanan Al-Hroub 入围了由 Varkey 基金会组织的 10 年全球教师奖 2016 万美元提名的前 XNUMX 名国际教师。 这位鼓舞人心的老师经常遭受暴力行为。 在她的孩子们在放学回家的路上目睹的枪击事件给他们留下了深刻的创伤后,她开始接受小学教育。 该地区有这么多问题儿童,巴勒斯坦的教室可能是紧张的环境。 Hanan 信奉“拒绝暴力”的口号,并使用她自己开发的专业方法,在她的书“我们玩耍和学习”中有详细说明。

巴勒斯坦和平教师被宣布为世界前十名之一 阅读更多»

预先决定暴力

Elizabeth 和 Lionel Traubman(2015 年)认为,预先决定暴力,从国内开始,然后在全球范围内蔓延,是我们这个时代最迫切的需要。 在这个原子、生物和化学武器普遍存在的时代,即使是少数人也能造成很大伤害,这是我们最大的希望。 无论是体罚还是全面战争,我们这个时代令人震惊的悖论是拒绝暴力和尊重我们的对手——而不是羞辱、伤害或排斥——是获得最佳结果的回应。

预先决定暴力 阅读更多»

滚动到顶部

#violence

violence (direct, structural)

The bishops of Tierra Caliente and Chiapas: Violence and insecurity are destroying the Mexican people

The Archbishop of Morelia explained that through the Michoacán Council for the Search of Peace and Reconciliation, “We carry out educational models… to generate a culture of dialogue, reconciliation, mediation in the resolution of conflicts and the construction of peace.”

The bishops of Tierra Caliente and Chiapas: Violence and insecurity are destroying the Mexican people Read More »

Peace education: understanding violence and exploring alternatives

“The underlying emphasis in peace education is on understanding violence, and exploring alternatives to violence. It is vital to remember that violence is not restricted to physical harm but also includes psychological harm, emotional abuse, discrimination, exclusion, denial of opportunities, exploitation, criminalization of identities, etc. Violence is part of our everyday reality.” – Chintan Girish Modi

Peace education: understanding violence and exploring alternatives Read More »

Lingering Colonialities as Blockades to Peace Education: School Violence in Trinidad

Based on research in Trinidad, Hakim Mohandas Amani Williams argues that ‘school’ violence is reduced to ‘youth’ violence, and that the predominating discourse about what constitutes school violence itself, and its drivers/‘causes’, takes on a limiting and individualizing nature. As a result, the principal interventions that emanate from such a discourse are correspondingly narrow and therefore fail to reveal the structural violence in which youth violence in schools is embedded. William’s posits this discursive violence as a lingering coloniality, which is a blockade to sustainable peace education in Trinidad’s schools.

Lingering Colonialities as Blockades to Peace Education: School Violence in Trinidad Read More »

Palestinian Peace Teacher Announced One of Top Ten in the World

Hanan Al-Hroub, a primary class teacher who grew up in Deheishe refugee camp, Bethlehem, has been shortlisted to the top 10 international teachers nominated for the one million dollar 2016 Global Teacher Prize, organised by the Varkey Foundation. The inspirational teacher was regularly exposed to acts of violence. She went into primary education after her children were left deeply traumatized by a shooting incident they witnessed on their way home from school. With so many troubled children in the region, Palestinian classrooms can be tense environments. Hanan embraces the slogan ‘No to Violence’ and uses a specialist approach she developed herself, detailed in her book, ‘We Play and Learn’.

Palestinian Peace Teacher Announced One of Top Ten in the World Read More »

Pre-deciding About Violence

Elizabeth and Lionel Traubman (2015) argue that pre-deciding about violence, beginning at home and then rippling out globally, is the most urgent need of our time. It is our best hope in this era of widespread atomic, biological, and chemical weapons when even a few people can do a lot of harm. Whether with physical punishment or all-out war, the stunning paradox of our time is that rejecting violence and dignifying our adversary – not humiliating, harming, or excluding – is the response that gets the best results.

Pre-deciding About Violence Read More »

Scroll to Top