تزايد الدعم لـ "المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون"

(تم إعادة النشر من: النشرة الإخبارية العالمية NoFirstUse)

22,000 مؤيد جديد من اليابان

المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون، إعلان الضمير العام (DPC) الذي أطلقه NoFirstUse عالمي في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، تلقى دفعة من 22,000 مؤيد إضافي من اليابان متابعيك إطلاق النداء باللغة اليابانية في يوليو شنومكس.

ترحب DPC بالبيان الذي أدلى به قادة مجموعة العشرين في اجتماعهم إعلان قمة بالي الذي - التي 'التهديد بالأسلحة النووية أو استخدامها غير مقبول" و "يدعو الأمم المتحدة، من خلال قرارات مجلس الأمن والجمعية العامة، إلى تكريس عدم جواز التهديد باستخدام الأسلحة النووية أو استخدامها باعتبارها إملاءات للقانون الدولي، ومطالبة جميع الدول الأعضاء بالامتثال الكامل، من خلال ضمان سياساتها الأمنية. وممارسات تستبعد بدء حرب نووية، بما في ذلك أي استخدام أولي للأسلحة النووية.

يدعو إعلان الضمير العام الأمم المتحدة إلى تكريس عدم جواز التهديد باستخدام الأسلحة النووية أو استخدامها باعتبارها إملاءات للقانون الدولي.

"إننا نشهد زيادة في مخاطر نشوب حرب نووية ناجمة عن الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا، وبرنامج الأسلحة النووية لكوريا الشمالية، والصراعات بين الدول المسلحة نووياً والدول المتحالفة معها في بحر الصين الجنوبي وغيرها من بؤر التوتر النووي."، ويقول يوسوكي واتانابي، عضو اللجنة التوجيهية العالمية لـ NoFirstUse ومدير الأبحاث في Peace Depot (اليابان) الذي أطلق النداء باللغة اليابانية.

"إن متابعة الأمم المتحدة لتوحيد بيان قمة بالي بشأن عدم جواز التهديد بالأسلحة النووية واستخدامها أمر حيوي لضمان عدم اندلاع حرب نووية نتيجة تصعيد الأزمة أو سوء التقدير أو وقوع حادث ،يقول السيد واتانابي.

إعلان الحظر النووي المقدم إلى اللجنة التحضيرية لمعاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي

المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون وكان تم تقديمه إلى الجلسة العامة للجنة التحضيرية لمعاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي في فيينا في 2 أغسطس، بواسطة جون هالام، عضو اللجنة التوجيهية العالمية لـ NoFirstUse ومدير منظمة الأشخاص من أجل نزع السلاح النووي (أستراليا)،

"بيان مجموعة العشرين يشير إلى انفراج في ترسيخ ممارسة عامة ضد استخدام الأسلحة النووية والارتقاء بهذا إلى مستوى مقبول الآن ، على الورق على الأقل ، من قبل الدول الحائزة للأسلحة النووية ،قال السيد هالام. "من الأهمية بمكان إعادة تأكيد هذا الاختراق في أكبر عدد ممكن من المنتديات - هنا في اللجنة التحضيرية لمعاهدة عدم الانتشار لعام 2023 ، وفي اللجنة الأولى للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة ، وفي اجتماعات مجموعة العشرين التالية ، مثل الاجتماع القادم في دلهي."

في تقديم المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون إلى اللجنة التحضيرية لمعاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية، سلط السيد هالام الضوء أيضا على ورقة العمل التي NoFirstUse عالمي المقدمة إلى مؤتمر استعراض معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية لعام 2022 ، عدم البدء باستخدام الأسلحة النووية: استكشاف النُهج الأحادية والثنائية والمتعددة الأطراف وآثارها على الأمن والحد من المخاطر ونزع السلاح، والذي يوفر مناهج عملية للمضي قدمًا في مثل هذه السياسات.

إن تبني سياسات عدم الاستخدام الأول - وهي دعوة رئيسية في إعلان المحرمات النووية - تم تناوله وتطويره بشكل أكبر في اللجنة التحضيرية لمعاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي من قبل الصين وتحالف الأجندة الجديدة ومجموعة أخرى ذات تفكير مماثل مكونة من 11 دولة (النمسا، تشيلي، كولومبيا، كوستاريكا، الإكوادور، كيريباتي، ليختنشتاين، مالطا، المكسيك، سان مارينو وتايلاند). يرى وتدعو الدول الأطراف في معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية إلى وضع سياسات عدم الاستخدام الأول.

إعلان المحرمات النووية إلى دول البريكس ومجموعة العشرين والجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة

المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون وقد تم تقديمها إلى زعماء البرازيل وروسيا والهند والصين وجنوب أفريقيا قبل انعقاد المؤتمر قمة بريكس والذي سيقام في جنوب أفريقيا في الفترة من 22 إلى 24 أغسطس.

ورافق الإعلان أ خطاب الترحيب بحقائق أن الصين والهند قد أعلنتا بالفعل من جانب واحد سياسات عدم الاستخدام الأول وأن الصين وروسيا لديهما اتفاقية متبادلة لعدم الاستخدام الأول، ودعوة قادة البريكس "عدم تفويت الفرصة في كيب تاون في أغسطس لإعادة التأكيد صراحة على موقف بالي والإشارة إلى الطريق نحو تبني أوسع لسياسات عدم الاستخدام الأول ، كما دعا الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة في هيروشيما." (انظر NoFirstUse Global والرئيس بوتين وقمة البريكس).

المحرمات النووية من القاعدة إلى القانون كما سيتم تقديمها إلى زعماء مجموعة العشرين قبل انعقاد الاجتماع قمة G20 سيعقد في دلهي في الفترة من 9 إلى 10 سبتمبر 2023. وسيتم تقديمه إلى الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في نيويورك خلال أسبوع نزع السلاح (24-30 أكتوبر).

انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Support grows for “Nuclear Taboo from Norm to Law”

(Reposted from: NoFirstUse Global newsletter)

22,000 new endorsers from Japan

Nuclear Taboo from Norm to Law, a Declaration of Public Conscience (DPC) launched by NoFirstUse Global earlier this year, has received a boost of 22,000 additional endorsers from Japan following launch of the appeal in Japanese on July 21.

The DPC welcomes the statement made by the G20 Leaders in their Bali Summit Declaration that ‘the threat or use of nuclear weapons is inadmissible’ and ‘calls on the United Nations, through decisions of its Security Council and General Assembly, to enshrine the inadmissibility of the threat or use of nuclear weapons as a Dictate of International Law, and to require all member states to comply fully, by ensuring their security policies and practices rule-out the initiation of nuclear war, including any first-use of nuclear weapons.’

The Declaration of Public Conscience calls on the United Nations…to enshrine the inadmissibility of the threat or use of nuclear weapons as a Dictate of International Law.

“We are seeing increased risks of nuclear war arising from the Russian invasion of Ukraine, North Korean nuclear weapons program, conflicts between nuclear-armed and allied States in the South China Sea and other nuclear flash-points,” says Yosuke Watanabe, NoFirstUse Global Steering Committee Member and Research Director for Peace Depot (Japan) which launched the appeal in Japanese.

Follow-up by the United Nations to consolidate the Bali Summit statement on the inadmissibility of nuclear weapons threat and use is vital to ensure that a nuclear war is not initiated by crisis escalation, miscalculation or accident,” says Mr Watanabe.

Nuclear Taboo declaration presented to the NPT Prep Com

Nuclear Taboo from Norm to Law was presented to a plenary meeting of the NPT Prep Com in Vienna on August 2, by John Hallam, NoFirstUse Global Steering Committee Member and Director of People for Nuclear Disarmament (Australia),

“The G20 statement indicates a breakthrough in consolidating a general practice against nuclear weapons use and elevating this to a norm now accepted, at least on paper, by the nuclear weapon states,” said Mr Hallam. “It is vital that this breakthrough be reaffirmed in as many forums as possible – here at the 2023 NPT Preparatory Committee, at the UNGA First Committee, and at succeeding G20 meetings, such as the upcoming one in Delhi.”

In presenting Nuclear Taboo From Norm to Law to the NPT Prep Com, Mr Hallam also highlighted the working paper which NoFirstUse Global submitted to the 2022 NPT Review Conference, No-First Use of Nuclear Weapons: An Exploration of Unilateral, Bilateral and Plurilateral Approaches and their Security, Risk-reduction and Disarmament Implications, which provides practical approaches for taking forward such policies.

Adoption of no-first-use policies – a key call in the Nuclear Taboo declaration – was picked up and advanced further in the NPT Prep Com by China, the New Agenda Coalition and another like-minded group of 11 countries (Austria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Kiribati, Liechtenstein, Malta, Mexico, San Marino and Thailand). See NPT States parties call for No-First-Use policies.

Nuclear Taboo declaration to BRICS, G20 and UNGA

Nuclear Taboo from Norm to Law has been submitted to the leaders of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa in advance of the BRICS Summit which will take place in South Africa, August 22-24.

The Declaration was accompanied by a letter welcoming the facts that China and India already have unilaterally declared no-first-use policies and that China and Russia have a mutual no-first-use agreement, and calling on BRICS leaders “not to miss the opportunity in Cape Town in August to explicitly reaffirm the Bali stance and point the way to the wider adoption of no-first-use policies, as called for in Hiroshima by the UN Secretary General.” (See NoFirstUse Global, President Putin and the BRICS Summit).

Nuclear Taboo from Norm to Law will also be submitted to the G20 leaders in advance of the G20 Summit taking place in Delhi September 9-10, 2023. And it will be presented to the UN General Assembly in New York during Disarmament Week (Oct 24-30).

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top