يتحدث الطلاب عن أوكرانيا وأفغانستان

"الفريق أ" ، الذي يُطلق عليه هذا الاسم لأنهم من المدافعين عن أفغانستان ، والأهم من ذلك أنهم الأفضل في ما يفعلونه ، هم ثلاثة متطوعين من طلاب الدراسات العليا بجامعة كولومبيا في كلية المعلمين يعملون كمتدربين يدعمون عمل بيتي ريردون مع منظمة Advocates for Afghanistan العالمات والمهنيات. في كثير من الحالات ، تظهر هذه العلاقة الآن في انعكاس لأدوار الدعم. هؤلاء النساء الثلاث ، ستيلا هوانج ، ويي هوانغ ، وجيسيكا تيربروجن ، قد اتخذن مبادرات مختلفة كانت بيتي ، ومن خلالها ، الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام (GCPE) ، من المؤيدين. ثلاثة من مبادراتهم منشورة هنا.

الأكثر حداثة ، من حيث ما هو الأهم في هذا الوقت في أفكار شبكة GCPE ، هو بيان حول الجرائم ضد أوكرانيا، وأوجه الشبه في العواقب لتلك التي عانت منها أفغانستان بعد عقود من الحرب. إنه ينذر ببعض ما سيتم تقديمه قريبًا إلى الحملة العالمية في منشورات أخرى حول أوكرانيا. صدر هذا البيان أثناء مشاركة الفريق بشكل مكثف في الجهود المبذولة للضغط على الكونغرس نيابة عن قانون التكيف الأفغاني ، والدعوة إلى التمويل في مشروع قانون الإنفاق القادم لعام 2022 لتمكين العلماء المعرضين للخطر من قبول الدعوات إلى الجامعات الأمريكية ، من خلال دعم التمويل لعملهم في هذه الجامعات. (تهدف حملة النقل الجوي الأكاديمي الأفغاني إلى دفع تكاليف السفر إلى الجامعات التي ستظل بحاجة إلى أموال من خارج الميزانية لاستضافتها).

نُشرت هنا أيضًا رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي يرسلها الفريق إلى أعضاء الكونجرس في لجان الأمن الداخلي التي تشرف على قانون التكيف الأفغاني ولجان الاعتمادات التي تتعامل مع فاتورة الإنفاق. توضح رسائل البريد الإلكتروني هذه جوهر الرسائل التي تم تسليمها عبر الهاتف إلى مكاتب الكونغرس من قبل الفريق والمتطوعين الآخرين الملتزمين بالعمل على إقناع الوكالات ذات الصلة التابعة للحكومة الأمريكية بالوفاء بالوعود للأفغان الذين عملوا إلى جانب الأمريكيين خلال عشرين عامًا من الوجود الأمريكي. أجرى الفريق اتصالات هاتفية مستمرة مع بعض المكاتب ، وقد تلقوا أكثر من مجرد ردود على رسائل بريد إلكتروني نموذجية. كل يوم يرقون إلى مستوى اسم "فريق". (بار ، 3/1/2022).

بيان حول أوكرانيا / أفغانستان

"نحن بشر واحد"

نحن ، فريق المناصرة الأفغاني في TCCU ، تضامنًا مع شعب أوكرانيا ، نؤكد أن الأزمة الإنسانية التي تضرب شعبًا واحدة تضرب كل الناس. بينما نسعى جاهدين لمواجهة الكوارث التي عصفت بشعب أفغانستان على مدى عقود من الحرب ، فإننا نأسف على الكوارث البشرية التي عانت منها أوكرانيا الآن وندين العدوان الذي يفرضها.

باسم الإنسانية المشتركة التي نتشاركها مع جميع الناس ، نناشد القادة الوطنيين استخدام كل الوسائل المتاحة لهم لإنهاء الأعمال العدائية والتفاوض على سلام عادل وقابل للحياة. إننا نحث الأمم المتحدة على مواجهة العقبات الحالية التي تحول دون إنهاء العنف في أوكرانيا ، واتخاذ تدابير لضمان التذرع بجميع أحكام الميثاق ذات الصلة للتسويات السلمية. ندعو الجميع في المجتمع المدني العالمي ، وفاءً بمسؤولياتنا كمواطنين في العالم ، إلى دعم هذه الخطوات وغيرها نحو السلام ، والانضمام إلى الجهود المبذولة للتخفيف من الأزمات الإنسانية في أوكرانيا وأفغانستان وجميع هذه الأزمات التي يعاني منها الآن الملايين من عائلتنا البشرية. .

رد: قانون تعديل أفغانستان

عزيزي الممثل (الاسم)

نحن الموقعون أدناه مجموعة دولية من طلاب الدراسات العليا المهتمين بالوضع الحالي للشعب الأفغاني واللاجئين الأفغان الموجودين الآن في الولايات المتحدة. نتواصل معك بصفتك عضوًا في لجنة الأمن الداخلي بمجلس النواب الأمريكي.

نحن مسجلون في Teachers College Columbia University ، سعياً وراء الحصول على درجات علمية متقدمة ، وإعدادنا للمهن ذات المشاركة المباشرة النشطة في الوفاء بمسؤوليات المواطنة العالمية التي نشترك فيها ، سواء كنا من مدينة نيويورك أو أجزاء أخرى من الولايات المتحدة أو بلدان أخرى . أولئك الذين ليسوا مواطنين أمريكيين يدركون تمامًا أن حياتنا تتأثر بشدة بالسياسة الأمريكية. لقد اخترنا United Stares لعمل الخريجين لدينا ، نظرًا لجودة التعليم التي نتلقاها في بيئة سياسية تعزز الاستفسار المفتوح والتعلم الضروري لبناء عالم يكون فيه احترام حقوق الإنسان الذي نعيشه هنا هو الشيء المشترك لجميع شعوب العالم.

وفي هذا السياق نحثكم على إيلاء الاعتبار الكامل لرعاية وعرض وإقرار قانون التكيف الأفغاني الذي نعتبره أداة نحو الوفاء بحقوق الإنسان للاجئين الأفغان الآن في مخيمات الولايات المتحدة. يحمل معظمهم تأشيرات HP ، صالحة لمدة عامين فقط ، مما يحد بشدة من العقود الآجلة التي حصلوا عليها في الخدمات والدعم الذي قدموه خلال 20 عامًا من العمليات الأمريكية في أفغانستان. نطلب جهودكم لتشريع AAA ، مما يجعل من الممكن سعيهم للحصول على الإقامة الدائمة وربما الجنسية الأمريكية التي يطمح إليها الكثيرون.

يرجى العمل من أجل تسهيل لجنة الأمن الداخلي للعملية التي ستؤدي إلى إقرار قانون التكيف الأفغاني ، والوفاء بالالتزامات تجاه اللاجئين الذين أظهروا قيمًا مماثلة لتلك التي تحفز طلبنا.

مع التقدير لخدمتكم لهذا البلد والمجتمع العالمي من خلال تمرير هذا الفعل والوفاء بالوعود المقطوعة.

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

تعدد الطلاب الموقعين

إعادة: تمويل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية لجلب العلماء والطلاب الأفغان المعرضين للخطر إلى الجامعات الأمريكية

عزيزي النائب أو عضو مجلس الشيوخ (الاسم)

نحن الموقعون أدناه مجموعة دولية من طلاب الدراسات العليا المهتمين بالوضع الحالي للشعب الأفغاني. على هذا النحو لدينا قلق خاص مع أقراننا الأفغان ، والعديد منهم في خطر شديد منذ انسحاب الولايات المتحدة / الناتو من بلادهم. الأمريكيون والطلاب الدوليون على حد سواء ، نعتقد أن الولايات المتحدة تتحمل مسؤولية تسهيل إخراجهم من وضعهم الحالي الذي يهدد حياتهم. يقودنا التاريخ الطويل من المساعدة التعليمية لهذه الأمة لأفغانستان ، والذي يمتد لعقود إلى ما بعد الأزمة الحالية ، والكثير منها مقدم من جامعتنا ، إلى التواصل معك بصفتك عضوًا في لجنة المخصصات بمجلس النواب الأمريكي / مجلس الشيوخ. نحن نحثك على النظر في هذه المسؤوليات والسوابق الحالية التي تم تحديدها في العقود الماضية ، وأنت تضع إطارًا لمشروع قانون الإنفاق لعام 2022.

على وجه التحديد ، نحثك على توفير تخصيص من الأموال للوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية لتمكين الوكالة من دعم هؤلاء العلماء والطلاب في قبول الدعوات إلى الجامعات الأمريكية. علاوة على ذلك ، نحث على إلغاء تعليق تمويل برنامج فولبرايت الطويل الأمد والناجح للغاية لأفغانستان.

الموقعون على هذه الرسالة مسجلون في جامعة المعلمين في جامعة كولومبيا ، ويسعون للحصول على درجات علمية متقدمة ، ويجهزوننا لمهن المشاركة النشطة والمباشرة في الوفاء بمسؤوليات المواطنة العالمية التي نشترك فيها ، سواء كنا من مدينة نيويورك ، أو أجزاء أخرى من الولايات المتحدة أو دول أخرى. أولئك الذين ليسوا مواطنين أمريكيين يدركون تمامًا أن حياتنا تتأثر بشدة بالسياسة الأمريكية. لقد اخترنا الولايات المتحدة لعمل الخريجين لدينا ، نظرًا لجودة التعليم التي نتلقاها في بيئة سياسية تعزز البحث المفتوح والتعلم الضروري لبناء عالم يكون فيه احترام حقوق الإنسان الذي نعيشه هنا هو الشيء المشترك لجميع شعوب العالم.

نأمل أن تتاح الفرصة للعلماء والطلاب الأفغان المعرضين للخطر. وبناءً على ذلك ، فإننا ندعو إلى إقرار قانون إنفاق لعام 2022 يمكّنهم من قبول الدعوات التي يتلقونها لإجراء البحوث والتدريس وإنهاء الدرجات العلمية في جامعات الولايات المتحدة.

مع تقديرك لخدمتك لهذا البلد وأفغانستان والمجتمع العالمي في إتاحة إمكانية إضافة هؤلاء العلماء المعرضين للخطر إلى مجموعة الفاعلين المنتجين في جهود التعليم الأساسية لإعادة بناء مجتمع أفغاني عادل ومستدام ، كمساهمة في مستقبل أفضل لعالمنا المشترك.

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

تعدد الطلاب الموقعين

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Students Speak on Ukraine and Afghanistan

“The A Team,” so called because they are Advocates for Afghanistan, and even more to the point, are the best at what they do, are three Teachers College Columbia University graduate student volunteers serving as interns supporting Betty Reardon’s work with Advocates for Afghan Women Scholars and Professionals. In many cases this relationship is now manifest in a reversal of support roles.  These three women, Stella Hwang, Ye Huang, and Jessica Terbrueggen, have taken various initiatives in which Betty, and through her, the Global Campaign for Peace Education (GCPE), are the supporters. Three of their initiatives are posted here.

Most current, in terms of what is uppermost at this time in the thoughts of the GCPE network, is their statement on the crimes against Ukraine, and the similarities of the consequences to those suffered by Afghanistan after decades of war. It presages some of what will soon be brought to the Global Campaign in other postings on Ukraine.  This statement was issued while the team was intensely involved in efforts to lobby Congress on behalf of the Afghan Adjustment Act, and to call for funding in the upcoming 2022 spending bill to enable at-risk scholars to accept invitations to US universities, by funding support for their work at these universities. (The Afghan Academic Airlift campaign is to pay travel to the universities who will still need extra-budgetary funds to host them.)

Here posted, as well, are the email messages the team is sending to Congress members on the Homeland Security Committees overseeing the Afghan Adjustment Act and to the Appropriations Committees dealing with the spending bill.   These emails state the core of the messages delivered by phone to Congressional offices by the team and other volunteers committed to work to convince the relevant agencies of the US government to fulfill promises to Afghans who worked beside Americans through twenty years of the US presence. The team has made ongoing phone contacts with some offices, and they have received more than form letter replies to their emails.  Every day they live up to the name of “A team.”  (BAR, 3/1/2022)

Statement on Ukraine/Afghanistan

“We Are One Humanity”

We, the TCCU Afghan Advocacy Team, in solidarity with the people of the Ukraine, assert that a humanitarian crisis striking one people strikes all people. As we strive to contend with the disasters that decades of war have visited on the people of Afghanistan, we lament the human disasters now suffered in Ukraine and denounce the aggression that imposes them.

In the name of the common humanity we share with all people, we beseech national leaders to use every means open to them to end the hostilities and to negotiate a just and viable peace. We urge the United Nations to face down current obstacles to ending the violence in Ukraine, taking measures to assure that all relevant charter provisions for peaceful settlements are invoked. We call upon all in global civil society, in fulfillment of our responsibilities as world citizens to support these and other steps toward peace, joining in efforts to relieve the humanitarian crises of Ukraine and Afghanistan and all such crises now endured by millions of our human family.

RE: AFGHAN ADJUSTMENT ACT

Dear Representative  (Name)

We the undersigned are an international group of graduate students, concerned about the present situation of the Afghan people and Afghan refugees now in the US. We reach out to you in your capacity as a member of the US House of Representatives Committee on Homeland Security.

We are enrolled at Teachers College Columbia University, pursuing advanced degrees, preparing us for professions of active direct involvement in fulfilling the responsibilities of global citizenship that we hold in common, be we from New York City, other parts of the United States or other countries. Those who are not US citizens are keenly aware that our lives are profoundly affected by US policy. We chose the United Stares for our graduate work, because of the quality of education we would receive in a political environment that fosters open inquiry and the learning necessary to build a world in which the respect for human rights we experience here will be the common lot of all the world’s peoples.

It is in this context that we urge you to give full consideration to the sponsorship, presentation and passage of the Afghan Adjustment Act that we see as an instrument toward fulfilling the human rights of Afghan Refugees now in US camps. Most hold HP visas, valid only for two years, severely limiting the futures they earned in the services and support they had provided during the 20 years of US operations in Afghanistan. We request your efforts to legislate AAA, making possible their pursuit of permanent residency and possibly the US citizenship to which many aspire.

Please work to toward the Homeland Security Committee’s facilitation of the process that will lead to the passage of the Afghan Adjustment Act, and the fulfillment of obligations to refugees who demonstrated values similar to those that motivate our request.

With appreciation of your service to this country and to world society through passage of this act and fulfillment of promises made.

Sincerely,

Multiple student signers

Re: Funding to USAID to bring at-risk Afghan scholars and students to American Universities

Dear Representative or Senator (Name)

We, the undersigned, are an international group of graduate students, concerned about the present situation of the Afghan people. As such we have a special concern with our Afghan peers, many at extreme risk since the US/NATO withdrawal from their country. Americans and international students alike, we believe that the United States bears a responsibility to facilitate bringing them out of their present life-threatening situation. This nation’s long history of educational assistance to Afghanistan, going back decades beyond the present crisis, much of it provided by our own university, leads us to reach out to you in your capacity as a member of the Appropriations Committee of the US House of Representatives/ Senate. We urge you to consider these present responsibilities and precedents set in past decades, as you frame the 2022 spending bill.

Specifically, we urge you to provide an allocation of funds to the US Agency for International Development to enable the agency to support these scholars and students in accepting invitations to US universities. Further, we urge that the suspension of funding to the long-standing, highly successful Fulbright program for Afghanistan be rescinded.

The signers of this letter are enrolled at Teachers College Columbia University, pursuing advanced degrees, preparing us for professions of active, direct involvement in fulfilling the responsibilities of global citizenship that we hold in common, be we from New York City, other parts of the United States or other countries. Those who are not US citizens are keenly aware that our lives are profoundly affected by US policy. We chose the United States for our graduate work, because of the quality of education we would receive in a political environment that fosters open inquiry and the learning necessary to build a world in which the respect for human rights we experience here will be the common lot of all the world’s peoples.

It is our hope that at-risk Afghan scholars and students will have the same opportunity. Accordingly, we call for the passage of a 2022 spending bill that makes it possible for them to accept the invitations they are receiving to conduct research, teach and finish degrees in US universities.

With appreciation of your service to this country, to Afghanistan and to world society in making possible the addition of these at-risk scholars to the pool of productive actors in the education efforts essential to rebuilding a just and sustainable Afghan society, as a contribution to a better future for our shared world.

Sincerely,

Multiple student signers

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top