让塔利班或阿富汗人民挨饿?

(照片:阿富汗学习研究所/Creating Hope International)

“这就是阿富汗人民的所在地”

许多年前,当年轻的教育工作者抓住机会改变学校结构和课程,以便他们更能适应世界的现实和年轻人的生活时,许多教育工作者放弃了学校,寻求其他教育方式。 当我问一位对“制度”非常不满的非常敬业的老师为什么继续在公立学校任教时,他的回答直截了当,很有说服力。 他回答说:“因为那是孩子们所在的地方。” 揭示我的想法是致力于目标、关心和关心相关人员的基本因素。

熟悉 Medea Benjamin 和 Ariel Gold 在下面发布的声明中概述的罪行和条件的和平教育者将问自己一个类似的问题。 面对这些情况,为什么要与塔利班打交道? 我们在之前发布的调用之后的清晰论证中给出了答案 支付阿富汗教师和卫生工作者的工资 就像那位老师所说的那样清晰而真实,“因为阿富汗人就在那里。” 他们的生活现在——我们祈祷不要太久——处于残酷的塔利班的控制之下。 我们这些关心他们的生存,关心为国家创造更美好未来的可能性的人,也将寻求与塔利班互动的方式,使生存成为可能,同时防止进一步的虐待,并可能找到减少人权的方法我们如此痛苦地意识到侵犯行为。

和以前一样,我们敦促和平教育者接触所有相关决策者,敦促他们尽其所能防止进一步的人道主义灾难,以这样一种方式接近塔利班,以说服他们采取措施促进人民的福祉阿富汗人民。 (酒吧,10 年 19 月 2021 日)

饿死塔利班或阿富汗人民?

By  以及 

(转自: 负责任的治国理政。 18 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日)

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Starving the Taliban – or the Afghan people?

(Photo: Afghan Institute of Learning / Creating Hope International)

“That’s Where the Afghan People Are”

Many years ago, when young educators were taking great chances to change school structures and curricula so that they might be more in sync with the realities of the world and the lives of the young, many educators forsook schools to seek other ways to educate. When I asked one very committed teacher who was very disaffected from “the system” why he continued to teach in public school, his answer was straight forward and telling. He responded, “Because that’s where the kids are.” Revealing what to my mind is the essential factor of commitment to a purpose, care of and concern for the people involved.

Peace educators familiar with the crimes and conditions Medea Benjamin and Ariel Gold outline in the statement posted below will be asking themselves a similar question. In the face of these circumstances, why deal with the Taliban? The answer we are given in the well-articulated argument that follows a previously posted call to pay Afghan teachers and health workers is as clear and authentic as that spoken by that teacher, “Because that’s where the Afghan people are.” Their lives are now – we pray not for too long – under the control of a brutal Taliban. Those of us who care about their survival, about keeping alive the possibilities for a better future for the country, will also be seeking ways to interact with the Taliban that makes survival possible while preventing further abuse, and perhaps finding ways to reduce the human rights violations of which we are so painfully aware.

As before, we urge peace educators to reach out to all relevant decision-makers, urging them to do all in their power to prevent further humanitarian catastrophe, to approach the Taliban in such a way as to persuade them to take steps toward the wellbeing of the Afghan people.  (BAR, 10/19/2021)

Starving the Taliban — or the Afghan people?

By  and 

(Reposted from: Responsible Statecraft.  October 18, 2021)

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...