宗派分歧仍然阻碍了北爱尔兰的学校

和平教育嵌入在 NI 课程中。 小学和小学后的教学大纲都有法定元素,可以帮助学生在建设性的、非对抗性的背景下思考他们社会中相互冲突的公共意识形态。

杰姆·牛顿

40 多座和平墙仍然将贝尔法斯特、德里和波塔当地区一分为二,其中一些在麻烦事期间竖立起来,以使交战的天主教和新教社区保持隔离,另一些则是在 1990 年代后期停火初期,以阻止教派暴力的进一步爆发.

高达 8 米的障碍减少了这种随意攻击的机会,但也减少了对话的机会,更不用说个人之间的日常接触了。

“[和平墙] 增加了两个社区不需要相互交谈的感觉,”贝尔法斯特北部的一名社区工作人员在停火初期表示。 “你必须记住,[亲英] DUP 不会与 [共和党] 新芬党对话,这种心态会渗透到他们自己的人民身上。”

尽管在 1998 年耶稣受难日协议中鼓励创建融合两个社区的学校的好话,在为北爱尔兰 (NI) 带来脆弱和平的停火协议 20 多年后,至少 90% 的儿童仍然在隔离学校上学根据最近的官方数据,在宗教方面。

从广义上讲,新教家庭的孩子就读于国营的“控制”学校,而天主教家庭的孩子则上“维护”的学校,这些学校也得到公共资金的支持。

然而与此同时,超过 70% 的 NI 家长在最近的一项民意调查中表示,他们希望将孩子送到所谓的综合学校——这两个社区的入学人数大致相等。

甚至还有一项私人成员的法案——“促进综合教育”——正在该地区权力下放的议会斯托蒙特进行辩论。 然而,它的进展一直受到主要政党在权力分享行政部门提出的修正案的阻碍,其命运不确定,尤其是在该地区将于今年春天举行选举的情况下。

综合教育基金(Integrated Education Fund)的竞选负责人保罗·卡斯基(Paul Caskey)评论说:“该法案有可能被修改得如此之多,以至于不值得推进。”该基金通过慈善机构的捐款帮助资助学校初创企业。 “政客们说他们不反对综合教育,但他们没有采取任何行动。”

当受控和由天主教维持的学校部门都在萎缩时,融合教育可能会被两个信仰社区的一些人视为威胁。

“主要政党都知道,学校教育是北爱尔兰社会的核心,”卡斯基说。 “教育改革是主要政党难以应对的另一个问题。”

由民主统一党 (DUP) 和新芬党领导的权力分享执行官在执行一系列有争议主题的决定方面表现不佳,尤其是为杀戮和其他罪行寻求法律正义的所谓遗产问题乱世期间各方所犯。

从人口统计来看,综合教育并不完全适合北爱尔兰。 西部和东北海岸的大片地区分别以天主教徒和新教徒为主,无法平等地融入课堂。 在过去的 15 年中,这一因素以及学校供不应求等其他因素导致综合学校的创建速度放缓——无论是新建学校还是根据家长的普遍需求对现有学校进行改造。 在过去的两年中,COVID 大流行也没有帮助。

这种趋势,以及更有效地利用教育资源的动力——由于长期以来对新教和天主教学校的平行安排的尊重,该地区的学校系统被认为是英国四个地区中最浪费的——在过去十年左右的时间里一直处于领先地位共享教育伙伴关系的日益普及,使教师和学生能够跨越教派分歧共享设施、资源和专业知识。

共享教育成功的原因之一是它不会威胁到部门学校的身份和精神。

“共享教育成功的一个原因是它不会威胁到部门学校的身份和精神,”贝尔法斯特女王大学共享教育中心的 Rebecca Loader 博士说。 “没有它,很多联合倡议就不会发生。”

和平教育嵌入在 NI 课程中。 小学和小学后的教学大纲都有法定元素,可以帮助学生在建设性的、非对抗性的背景下思考他们社会中相互冲突的公共意识形态。

“在关键阶段 3 [11-14 年],学生必须学习的唯一法定历史时期之一是:'爱尔兰分裂的短期和长期后果',” NI 委员会的肖恩佩蒂斯说综合教育。 这涵盖了与多年冲突和导致目前脆弱和平的事件有关的大部分问题。

然而,只有少数学生在第 3 阶段之后继续历史。“挑战在于如何让 14 岁的孩子完成他们的历史教育,从而真正了解他们自己的社会,”他指出。

但所谓的公民课程是帮助学生形成世界观的主要学习领域。 在一个名为 个人发展与相互理解.

在小学后阶段,对个人价值观的关注在 本地和全球公民模块,要求学生识别多样性和包容性所带来的挑战和机遇。

但正如人们所预料的那样,公民课程的质量各不相同。 “在 1990 年代后期,人们希望公民教育会像数学或英语一样成为一门学科。 但在其专业身份和发展方面缺乏投资,”佩蒂斯说。

因此,在一些小学后,可能会有多达分数的教师参加公民课程。 “很多支持公民教育的工作都落到了非政府组织的肩上,”他补充道。

但 Caskey 认为变化现在是不可避免的:“许多人不再对传统标签感到满意; 社区的变化比政客要快得多。 我相信在过去的 3 到 4 年里,人们对社区分裂的态度发生了翻天覆地的变化。 现在有真正的势头,[今年的]选举会很有趣。”

NI 执行官希望在 2023 年之前拆除所有的和平墙。这是否能按时实现可能取决于明年 XNUMX 月的选举会出现什么样的政府。

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Sectarian divide still holds back Northern Ireland’s schools

Peace education is embedded in the NI curriculum. The primary and post-primary syllabuses have statutory elements that help students think about their society’s clashing communal ideologies in a constructive, non-confrontational context.

By Jem Newton

More than 40 peace walls still bisect districts of Belfast, Derry and Portadown, some erected during the Troubles to keep warring Catholic and Protestant communities apart, others during the early days of the ceasefire in the late 1990s to discourage further flare-ups of sectarian violence.

The barriers, up to 8 metres high, reduce such opportunities for casual aggression, but equally opportunities for dialogue, not to mention everyday contacts between individuals.

“[The peace walls] have added to a feeling that the two communities don’t need to talk to each other,” said a community worker from north Belfast in the early days of the ceasefire. “You have to remember that the [pro-British] DUP doesn’t talk to [Republican] Sinn Fein and that mentality filters down to their own people.”

Despite fine words in the 1998 Good Friday accords encouraging the creation of schools integrating the two communities, more than 20 years on from the ceasefire agreement that brought a fragile peace to Northern Ireland (NI), at least 90% of children still attend schools segregated on religious lines, according to recent official data.

Broadly speaking, children of Protestant families attend state-run ‘controlled’ schools while children of Catholic families go to ‘maintained’ schools, also supported by public funding.

Yet at the same time, over 70% of NI parents said in a recent poll they would like to send their children to so-called integrated schools – which have a roughly equal intake from both communities.

There is even a private members’ bill – “promoting integrated education” – being debated in Stormont, the region’s devolved parliament. Its progress, however, has been held up by amendments tabled by the main parties in the power-sharing executive and its fate is uncertain, especially as elections are due in the region this spring.

“There’s a risk that the bill could be amended so much that it’s not worth taking forward,” comments Paul Caskey, head of campaign of the Integrated Education Fund, which helps finance school startups thanks to donations from philanthropic bodies. “Politicians say they have nothing against integrated education, but they don’t take any action.”

When both controlled and Catholic-maintained school sectors are shrinking, integrated education may be perceived as a threat by some in both faith communities.

“The main political parties know that schooling goes to the very heart of Northern Ireland society,” says Caskey. “Education reform is yet another issue that the main political parties find it too difficult to deal with.”

The power-sharing executive, led by the Democratic Unionists (DUP) and Sinn Fein, has a poor track record of implementing decisions on a range of controversial subjects, above all the so-called legacy issues seeking legal justice for the killings and other crimes committed by all sides during the Troubles.

Demographically, integrated education is not an exact fit for Northern Ireland. There are large areas in the west and along the northeast coast that are overwhelmingly populated by Catholics and Protestants respectively, and where classroom integration on an equal basis is not practical. This and other factors such as undersubscribed schools have led in the past 15 years to a slowdown in the creation of integrated schools – either newbuild or the transformation of existing schools by popular parental demand. During the past two years, the COVID pandemic has not helped either.

This trend, and a drive to use educational resources more efficiently – the region’s school system is seen as the most wasteful of the four UK region because of the longstanding respect for parallel arrangements for Protestant and Catholic schools – have led in the last decade or so to the increased popularity of shared education partnerships allowing teachers and pupils to share facilities, resources and expertise across the sectarian divide.

One of the reasons shared education has been successful is that it doesn’t threaten the identity and ethos of sectoral schools.

“One of the reasons shared education has been successful is that it doesn’t threaten the identity and ethos of sectoral schools,” says Dr Rebecca Loader of Queen’s University’s Centre for Shared Education in Belfast. “Without it a lot of joint initiatives would not have happened.”

Peace education is embedded in the NI curriculum. The primary and post-primary syllabuses have statutory elements that help students think about their society’s clashing communal ideologies in a constructive, non-confrontational context.

“At Key Stage 3 [11-14 years], one of the only statutory periods of history that students have to study is: ‘Short and long-term consequences of the partition in Ireland’,” says Sean Pettis of the NI Council for Integrated Education. This covers most of the issues relating to the years of conflict and the events leading up to the present fragile peace.

Yet only a minority of students continue history beyond stage 3. “The challenge is how to get 14-year-olds concluding their history education to have a really good understanding of their own society,” he points out.

But so-called citizenship classes are the main area of learning that help students form their worldviews. Children are taught from the age of six to develop respect for others and explore community similarities and differences, in a curriculum module called Personal Development and Mutual Understanding.

At post-primary level, the focus on personal values is addressed in the Local and Global Citizenship module, where students are asked to identify the challenges and opportunities that diversity and inclusion present.

But as one might expect, citizenship classes vary in quality. “In the late 1990s, there were hopes that citizenship education would emerge as a subject like maths or English. But there has been a lack of investment in its professional identity and development,” says Pettis.

As a result, there can be up to a score of teachers taking citizenship classes in some post-primary schools.  “A lot of the work supporting citizenship teaching has fallen to NGOs,” he adds.

But Caskey believes change is now inevitable: “Many people are no longer happy with the traditional labels; the community is changing a lot faster than politicians. I believe there’s been a seismic shift in people’s attitudes to community divisions in the past 3-4 years. There’s a real momentum now and [this year’s] elections will be interesting.”

The NI executive hopes to remove all its peace walls by 2023. Whether that happens on time may depend on what kind of government emerges from next May’s elections.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top