لا يزال الانقسام الطائفي يعيق مدارس أيرلندا الشمالية

تم تضمين تعليم السلام في المناهج الدراسية للمعهد الوطني. تحتوي المناهج الابتدائية وما بعد الابتدائية على عناصر قانونية تساعد الطلاب على التفكير في الأيديولوجيات المجتمعية المتضاربة في مجتمعهم في سياق بناء وغير تصادمي.

بقلم جيم نيوتن

لا يزال أكثر من 40 جدارًا من جدران السلام تقسم مقاطعات بلفاست وديري وبورتاداون ، بعضها أقيم خلال الاضطرابات لإبقاء المجتمعات الكاثوليكية والبروتستانتية المتحاربة منفصلة ، وآخرون خلال الأيام الأولى لوقف إطلاق النار في أواخر التسعينيات لتثبيط اندلاع المزيد من أعمال العنف الطائفي .

الحواجز ، التي يصل ارتفاعها إلى 8 أمتار ، تقلل من فرص العدوان العرضي ، ولكنها تقلل من فرص الحوار ، ناهيك عن الاتصالات اليومية بين الأفراد.

قال عامل مجتمعي من شمال بلفاست في الأيام الأولى لوقف إطلاق النار: "أضافت [جدران السلام] شعورًا بأن المجتمعين لا يحتاجان إلى التحدث مع بعضهما البعض". "عليك أن تتذكر أن الحزب الديمقراطي الاتحادي [الموالي لبريطانيا] لا يتحدث إلى [الجمهوري] شين فين وأن هذه العقلية تتغلغل في شعبهم."

على الرغم من الكلمات الجميلة الواردة في اتفاقيات الجمعة العظيمة لعام 1998 والتي تشجع على إنشاء مدارس تدمج المجتمعين ، بعد أكثر من 20 عامًا من اتفاقية وقف إطلاق النار التي جلبت سلامًا هشًا إلى أيرلندا الشمالية (NI) ، لا يزال 90٪ على الأقل من الأطفال يذهبون إلى مدارس منفصلة على أسس دينية ، حسب البيانات الرسمية الأخيرة.

بشكل عام ، يذهب أطفال العائلات البروتستانتية إلى المدارس "التي تديرها" الدولة بينما يذهب أطفال العائلات الكاثوليكية إلى المدارس "التي تحتفظ بها" ، المدعومة أيضًا من التمويل العام.

ومع ذلك ، في الوقت نفسه ، قال أكثر من 70٪ من أولياء الأمور في NI في استطلاع أخير إنهم يرغبون في إرسال أطفالهم إلى ما يسمى بالمدارس المتكاملة - التي تتمتع باستيعاب متساو تقريبًا من كلا المجتمعين.

حتى أن هناك مشروع قانون خاص بأعضاء القطاع الخاص - "تعزيز التعليم المتكامل" - تتم مناقشته في Stormont ، البرلمان المنقول في المنطقة. ومع ذلك ، فإن تقدمه تعطل بسبب التعديلات التي قدمتها الأحزاب الرئيسية في السلطة التنفيذية لتقاسم السلطة ومصيرها غير مؤكد ، خاصة وأن الانتخابات من المقرر إجراؤها في المنطقة هذا الربيع.

يعلق بول كاسكي ، رئيس حملة صندوق التعليم المتكامل ، الذي يساعد في تمويل الشركات الناشئة في المدارس بفضل التبرعات المقدمة من الهيئات الخيرية: "هناك خطر من إمكانية تعديل مشروع القانون كثيرًا بحيث لا يستحق المضي قدمًا فيه". "يقول السياسيون إن ليس لديهم أي شيء ضد التعليم المتكامل ، لكنهم لا يتخذون أي إجراء".

عندما يتقلص كل من قطاعات المدارس الخاضعة للسيطرة والكاثوليكية ، فقد يُنظر إلى التعليم المتكامل على أنه تهديد من قبل البعض في كلا المجتمعين الدينيين.

يقول كاسكي: "تعلم الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية أن التعليم يذهب إلى قلب مجتمع أيرلندا الشمالية". "إصلاح التعليم هو قضية أخرى تجد الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية صعوبة بالغة في التعامل معها".

يتمتع المدير التنفيذي لتقاسم السلطة ، بقيادة الاتحاديين الديمقراطيين (الحزب الاتحادي الديمقراطي) وشين فين ، بسجل حافل ضعيف في تنفيذ القرارات بشأن مجموعة من الموضوعات المثيرة للجدل ، وقبل كل شيء ما يسمى بالقضايا الموروثة التي تسعى إلى تحقيق العدالة القانونية في جرائم القتل والجرائم الأخرى. ارتكبتها جميع الأطراف خلال الاضطرابات.

من الناحية الديموغرافية ، لا يعد التعليم المتكامل مناسبًا تمامًا لأيرلندا الشمالية. توجد مناطق شاسعة في الغرب وعلى طول الساحل الشمالي الشرقي يسكنها بأغلبية ساحقة من الكاثوليك والبروتستانت على التوالي ، وحيث لا يكون الاندماج في الفصل على قدم المساواة أمرًا عمليًا. وقد أدى هذا وغيره من العوامل مثل المدارس التي لا تحظى بقبول كبير في السنوات الخمس عشرة الماضية إلى تباطؤ في إنشاء مدارس متكاملة - إما بناء جديد أو تحول المدارس الحالية حسب الطلب الشعبي من أولياء الأمور. خلال العامين الماضيين ، لم يساعد جائحة COVID أيضًا.

هذا الاتجاه ، والدافع لاستخدام الموارد التعليمية بشكل أكثر كفاءة - يُنظر إلى النظام المدرسي في المنطقة على أنه الأكثر إهدارًا من بين مناطق المملكة المتحدة الأربعة بسبب الاحترام الطويل للترتيبات الموازية للمدارس البروتستانتية والكاثوليكية - في العقد الماضي أو نحو ذلك إلى زيادة شعبية شراكات التعليم المشتركة التي تسمح للمعلمين والتلاميذ بمشاركة المرافق والموارد والخبرات عبر الانقسام الطائفي.

أحد أسباب نجاح التعليم المشترك هو أنه لا يهدد هوية وروح المدارس القطاعية.

تقول الدكتورة ريبيكا لودر من مركز جامعة كوينز للتعليم المشترك في بلفاست: "أحد أسباب نجاح التعليم المشترك هو أنه لا يهدد هوية وروح المدارس القطاعية". "لولاها ما كانت لتحدث الكثير من المبادرات المشتركة."

تم تضمين تعليم السلام في المناهج الدراسية للمعهد الوطني. تحتوي المناهج الابتدائية وما بعد الابتدائية على عناصر قانونية تساعد الطلاب على التفكير في الأيديولوجيات المجتمعية المتضاربة في مجتمعهم في سياق بناء وغير تصادمي.

يقول شون بيتيس من NI Council for التعليم المتكامل. يغطي هذا معظم القضايا المتعلقة بسنوات الصراع والأحداث التي أدت إلى السلام الهش الحالي.

ومع ذلك ، فإن أقلية فقط من الطلاب يواصلون التاريخ إلى ما بعد المرحلة الثالثة. ويشير إلى أن "التحدي يكمن في كيفية جعل الأطفال في سن الرابعة عشرة ينهون تعليمهم التاريخ ليحصلوا على فهم جيد حقًا لمجتمعهم".

لكن ما يسمى بفصول المواطنة هي المجال الرئيسي للتعلم الذي يساعد الطلاب على تكوين وجهات نظرهم العالمية. يتم تعليم الأطفال من سن السادسة لتنمية الاحترام للآخرين واستكشاف أوجه التشابه والاختلاف في المجتمع ، في وحدة منهج تسمى التنمية الشخصية والتفاهم المتبادل.

في مستوى ما بعد الابتدائي ، يتم تناول التركيز على القيم الشخصية في وحدة المواطنة المحلية والعالمية، حيث يُطلب من الطلاب تحديد التحديات والفرص التي يوفرها التنوع والشمول.

ولكن كما قد يتوقع المرء ، تختلف فصول المواطنة من حيث الجودة. "في أواخر التسعينيات ، كانت هناك آمال في أن يظهر تعليم المواطنة كموضوع مثل الرياضيات أو اللغة الإنجليزية. لكن كان هناك نقص في الاستثمار في هويتها المهنية وتطورها ، "كما يقول بيتيس.

نتيجةً لذلك ، يمكن أن يصل عدد المعلمين الذين يتلقون دروسًا في المواطنة في بعض المدارس ما بعد الابتدائية إلى درجات. ويضيف: "إن الكثير من العمل الداعم لتدريس المواطنة قد وقع على عاتق المنظمات غير الحكومية".

لكن كاسكي يعتقد أن التغيير أمر حتمي الآن: "لم يعد الكثير من الناس سعداء بالتسميات التقليدية ؛ المجتمع يتغير بشكل أسرع بكثير من السياسيين. أعتقد أن هناك تحولًا زلزاليًا في مواقف الناس تجاه الانقسامات المجتمعية في السنوات الثلاث أو الأربع الماضية. هناك زخم حقيقي الآن وستكون انتخابات [هذا العام] مثيرة للاهتمام ".

تأمل السلطة التنفيذية في NI إزالة جميع جدران السلام الخاصة بها بحلول عام 2023. سواء حدث ذلك في الوقت المحدد قد يعتمد على نوع الحكومة التي ستنشأ من انتخابات مايو المقبل.

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

Sectarian divide still holds back Northern Ireland’s schools

Peace education is embedded in the NI curriculum. The primary and post-primary syllabuses have statutory elements that help students think about their society’s clashing communal ideologies in a constructive, non-confrontational context.

By Jem Newton

More than 40 peace walls still bisect districts of Belfast, Derry and Portadown, some erected during the Troubles to keep warring Catholic and Protestant communities apart, others during the early days of the ceasefire in the late 1990s to discourage further flare-ups of sectarian violence.

The barriers, up to 8 metres high, reduce such opportunities for casual aggression, but equally opportunities for dialogue, not to mention everyday contacts between individuals.

“[The peace walls] have added to a feeling that the two communities don’t need to talk to each other,” said a community worker from north Belfast in the early days of the ceasefire. “You have to remember that the [pro-British] DUP doesn’t talk to [Republican] Sinn Fein and that mentality filters down to their own people.”

Despite fine words in the 1998 Good Friday accords encouraging the creation of schools integrating the two communities, more than 20 years on from the ceasefire agreement that brought a fragile peace to Northern Ireland (NI), at least 90% of children still attend schools segregated on religious lines, according to recent official data.

Broadly speaking, children of Protestant families attend state-run ‘controlled’ schools while children of Catholic families go to ‘maintained’ schools, also supported by public funding.

Yet at the same time, over 70% of NI parents said in a recent poll they would like to send their children to so-called integrated schools – which have a roughly equal intake from both communities.

There is even a private members’ bill – “promoting integrated education” – being debated in Stormont, the region’s devolved parliament. Its progress, however, has been held up by amendments tabled by the main parties in the power-sharing executive and its fate is uncertain, especially as elections are due in the region this spring.

“There’s a risk that the bill could be amended so much that it’s not worth taking forward,” comments Paul Caskey, head of campaign of the Integrated Education Fund, which helps finance school startups thanks to donations from philanthropic bodies. “Politicians say they have nothing against integrated education, but they don’t take any action.”

When both controlled and Catholic-maintained school sectors are shrinking, integrated education may be perceived as a threat by some in both faith communities.

“The main political parties know that schooling goes to the very heart of Northern Ireland society,” says Caskey. “Education reform is yet another issue that the main political parties find it too difficult to deal with.”

The power-sharing executive, led by the Democratic Unionists (DUP) and Sinn Fein, has a poor track record of implementing decisions on a range of controversial subjects, above all the so-called legacy issues seeking legal justice for the killings and other crimes committed by all sides during the Troubles.

Demographically, integrated education is not an exact fit for Northern Ireland. There are large areas in the west and along the northeast coast that are overwhelmingly populated by Catholics and Protestants respectively, and where classroom integration on an equal basis is not practical. This and other factors such as undersubscribed schools have led in the past 15 years to a slowdown in the creation of integrated schools – either newbuild or the transformation of existing schools by popular parental demand. During the past two years, the COVID pandemic has not helped either.

This trend, and a drive to use educational resources more efficiently – the region’s school system is seen as the most wasteful of the four UK region because of the longstanding respect for parallel arrangements for Protestant and Catholic schools – have led in the last decade or so to the increased popularity of shared education partnerships allowing teachers and pupils to share facilities, resources and expertise across the sectarian divide.

One of the reasons shared education has been successful is that it doesn’t threaten the identity and ethos of sectoral schools.

“One of the reasons shared education has been successful is that it doesn’t threaten the identity and ethos of sectoral schools,” says Dr Rebecca Loader of Queen’s University’s Centre for Shared Education in Belfast. “Without it a lot of joint initiatives would not have happened.”

Peace education is embedded in the NI curriculum. The primary and post-primary syllabuses have statutory elements that help students think about their society’s clashing communal ideologies in a constructive, non-confrontational context.

“At Key Stage 3 [11-14 years], one of the only statutory periods of history that students have to study is: ‘Short and long-term consequences of the partition in Ireland’,” says Sean Pettis of the NI Council for Integrated Education. This covers most of the issues relating to the years of conflict and the events leading up to the present fragile peace.

Yet only a minority of students continue history beyond stage 3. “The challenge is how to get 14-year-olds concluding their history education to have a really good understanding of their own society,” he points out.

But so-called citizenship classes are the main area of learning that help students form their worldviews. Children are taught from the age of six to develop respect for others and explore community similarities and differences, in a curriculum module called Personal Development and Mutual Understanding.

At post-primary level, the focus on personal values is addressed in the Local and Global Citizenship module, where students are asked to identify the challenges and opportunities that diversity and inclusion present.

But as one might expect, citizenship classes vary in quality. “In the late 1990s, there were hopes that citizenship education would emerge as a subject like maths or English. But there has been a lack of investment in its professional identity and development,” says Pettis.

As a result, there can be up to a score of teachers taking citizenship classes in some post-primary schools.  “A lot of the work supporting citizenship teaching has fallen to NGOs,” he adds.

But Caskey believes change is now inevitable: “Many people are no longer happy with the traditional labels; the community is changing a lot faster than politicians. I believe there’s been a seismic shift in people’s attitudes to community divisions in the past 3-4 years. There’s a real momentum now and [this year’s] elections will be interesting.”

The NI executive hopes to remove all its peace walls by 2023. Whether that happens on time may depend on what kind of government emerges from next May’s elections.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top