种族贫富差距学习模拟

世界各地的面包将模拟作为一种互动工具,帮助人们了解种族平等,饥饿,贫困和财富之间的联系。

(转自: 世界的面包。)

什么是种族贫富差距学习模拟?

模拟是 一种交互式工具,可帮助人们了解种族平等、饥饿、贫困和财富之间的联系。 对于不了解结构性不平等的人来说,这是一个很好的第一步,对于那些想要更深入了解结构性不平等的人来说是一种支持工具,对于想要了解扩大了当今种族不平等的每项政策的可量化经济影响的专家来说,这是一个信息来源。饥饿、收入和财富存在分歧。

模拟帮助人们了解种族平等、饥饿、贫困和财富之间的联系。

在模拟中,参与者了解联邦政策如何造成结构性不平等——财产所有权和教育只是众多受影响领域中的两个——以及这些政策如何增加有色人种社区的饥饿和贫困。

该模拟引导参与者了解为什么种族平等对于结束美国的饥饿和贫困如此重要。 我们希望参与者在更加意识到结构性不平等的同时,能够支持消除和/或减少差距的政策。

由于模拟强调种族平等的重要性,它可以成为教会、组织、机构、学校和社区的有用辅助工具,这些工具已经开始研究种族问题并希望更多地了解公共政策随着时间的推移所发挥的作用,基于种族造成结构性分歧。

模拟有什么影响?

将模拟带到您的社区。

模拟如何打破障碍?

谈论或思考种族的方式有很多种。 对这个话题感到不舒服可能是参与对话的障碍。

然而,这些对话是必不可少的,特别是如果我们要结束美国的饥饿和贫困。 这是模拟要求参与者随机选择卡片的原因之一,这些卡片为他们分配可能与他们自己不同的种族身份。 这有助于打破一些障碍。

在 Bread for the Word,我们看到模拟改变了人们的心灵和思想,并激励他们致力于将种族平等视角应用于他们的工作。

准备好开始了吗? 手表 将模拟带到您的社区 并学习如何。

模拟是如何形成的,可以在哪里使用?

种族财富差距学习模拟是 Bread for the World 和 NETWORK 的共同努力。 模拟的概念和设计由 Marlysa D. Gamblin 共同创建,她是种族饥饿、收入和财富鸿沟的政策专家。 Marlysa 与 Emma Tacke 和 Catherine Guerrier 与 NETWORK 密切合作,于 2017 年 XNUMX 月在普世倡导日 (EAD) 上试行模拟。

在最初的试点之后,Bread 花了整整一年的时间在现场进行模拟试点并进行调整,以确保该工具对不同环境中的各种社区都有帮助。

该工具可用于家庭、圣经学习、教堂、大型聚会和学校,以及非营利组织、倡导组织、服务提供商、政府机构和私人实体的工作人员。

实现种族平等意味着所有人,不分种族,都有公平的机会享受平等的结果。

如果您对使用模拟感兴趣,请观看 将其带到您的社区。 该视频提供了有关模拟的更多详细信息。 我们建议使用 协调人指南. 该指南提供了在各种环境下准备和促进模拟的技巧。 我们还有一个 虚拟辅导员指南,如果您无法亲自见面。 如果您想将此工具带到您的教会或圣经学习中,请同时下载 圣经活动表 联络一位教师

想要以虚拟方式促进模拟吗? 下载这些资源:

虚拟辅导员指南 NEW

虚拟仿真 PowerPoint NEW

行动卡追踪器 NEW

想要亲自促进模拟吗? 下载这些资源:

模拟打印套件

协调人指南

策略包

圣经活动表

带有谈话要点的 PowerPoint

关于种族和饥饿的补充阅读:

在 COVID-19 及以后对饥饿做出种族公平的反应

将种族平等视角应用于反饥饿计划

实现零饥饿:种族、饥饿和贫困

通过关注受影响最严重的社区来结束美国的饥饿

大规模监禁:饥饿的主要原因

接下来我可以做什么来促进种族平等和消除种族主义?

现在您已经完成了种族财富差距学习模拟,您可以做很多事情。 首先,我们希望鼓励您参与了解如何扭转造成种族不平等的因素——种族平等。 种族平等是 过程 重点关注黑人、土著和其他有色人种的需求、领导力和权力,以及 目标 BIOC 相对于白人同行实现平等并最终取得最佳结果。 去 面包.org/racialequity 要了解有关该术语的更多信息,请阅读重要报告以了解如何将种族平等应用于消除饥饿和解决种族主义的政策,并了解可帮助您在工作中促进种族平等的重要工具!

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Racial wealth gap learning simulation

Bread for the World provides a simulation as an interactive tool that helps people understand the connections among racial equity, hunger, poverty, and wealth.

(Reposted from: Bread for the World.)

What is the Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation?

The simulation is an interactive tool that helps people understand the connections among racial equity, hunger, poverty, and wealth. It is a good first step for people unaware of structural inequality, a support tool for those who want a deeper understanding of structural inequality, and a source of information for experts who want to know the quantifiable economic impact of each policy that has widened today’s racial hunger, income, and wealth divides.

The simulation helps people understand the connections among racial equity, hunger, poverty, and wealth.

In the simulation, participants learn how federal policies created structural inequalities—property ownership and education are just two among many areas affected—and how these policies increase hunger and poverty in communities of color.

The simulation guides participants to an understanding of why racial equity is so important to ending hunger and poverty in the United States. Our hope is that participants, in becoming more aware of structural inequality, can support policies that undo and/or reduce disparities.

Since the simulation emphasizes the importance of racial equity, it can be a helpful companion tool for churches, organizations, agencies, schools, and communities that have begun working on race and want to learn more about the role that public policy has had, over time, in creating structural divides based on race.

What is the simulation’s impact?

Bring the simulation to your community.

How does the simulation break down barriers?

There are many ways of talking or thinking about race. Feeling uncomfortable with the topic can be a barrier to engaging in conversation.

Yet these conversations are essential, especially if we are going to end U.S. hunger and poverty. This is one reason the simulation calls for participants to randomly select cards that assign them a racial identity that may be different from their own. This helps break down some of the barriers.

At Bread for the Word, we have seen the simulation change people’s hearts and minds and inspire them to become committed to applying a racial equity lens to their work.

Ready to get started? Watch Bringing the Simulation to Your Community and learn how.

How did the simulation come to be and where can it be used?

The Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation was a joint effort from Bread for the World and NETWORK. The concept and design of the simulation was co-created by Marlysa D. Gamblin, a policy expert on the racial hunger, income, and wealth divide. Marlysa worked closely with Emma Tacke and Catherine Guerrier with NETWORK to pilot the simulation at Ecumenical Advocacy Days (EAD) in April 2017.

After the initial pilot, Bread dedicated a full year to piloting the simulation in the field and making adjustments to ensure the tool is helpful to a wide variety of communities in different settings.

This tool can be used at home, Bible study, churches, larger gatherings, and schools, and among staff at nonprofits, advocacy organizations, service providers, government agencies, and private entities.

Achieving racial equity means that all people, regardless of race, have fair opportunities to enjoy equal outcomes.

If you are interested in using the simulation, watch Bringing This to Your Community. The video gives further details about the simulation. We recommend using the Facilitator’s Guide. The guide offers tips on preparing for and facilitating the simulation in various settings. We also have a Virtual Facilitator’s Guide, if you’re unable to meet in person. If you want to bring this tool to your church or Bible study, please also download the Biblical Activity Sheet below.

Want to facilitate the simulation virtually? Download these resources:

Virtual Facilitator’s Guide NEW

Virtual Simulation PowerPoint NEW

Action Card Tracker NEW

Want to facilitate the simulation in person? Download these resources:

Simulation Print Kit

Facilitator’s Guide

Policy Packet

Biblical Activity Sheet

PowerPoint with talking points

Additional reading on race and hunger:

Racially Equitable Responses to Hunger During COVID-19 and Beyond

Applying a Racial Equity Lens to Anti-Hunger Programs

Getting to Zero Hunger: Race, Hunger, and Poverty

Ending U.S. Hunger by Focusing on Communities Most Affected

Mass Incarceration: A Major Cause to Hunger

What can I do next to promote racial equity and dismantle racism?

Now that you have completed the Racial Wealth Gap Learning Simulation, there are many things that you can do. First and foremost, we want to encourage you to engage in the work of understand how to reverse what has created racial inequities–racial equity. Racial equity is a process that focuses on centering the needs, leadership and power of Black, Indigenous and Other People of Color, as well as a goal of achieving equal, and ultimately optimal, outcomes for BIPOC relative to their white counterparts. Go to bread.org/racialequity to learn more about this term, read key reports to understand how racial equity can be applied to policy to end hunger and address racism, and learn about important tools to help you promote racial equity in your work!

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...