公民和平教育:东欧视角

(转自: 真理报,5 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日.)

作者:尤里·谢利亚任科

20-21世纪的东欧饱受政治暴力和武装冲突之苦。 现在是学习如何和平共处并追求幸福的时候了。

在东方伙伴关系国家和俄罗斯,培养青年参与成年政治生活的传统方法过去是,现在仍然是所谓的军事爱国教育。 在苏联,理想的公民被视为忠诚的应征者,毫无疑问地服从指挥官。

在这种范式中,军事纪律是平民生活的典范,将异见人士排除在政治领域之外。 当然,任何出于良心拒服兵役的人,例如“非暴力使徒”列夫·托尔斯泰的追随者和民间新教徒,在反对“教派”和“世界主义”的运动中都受到镇压。

后苏联国家继承了这种范式,并且仍然倾向于培养相当听话的士兵而不是负责任的选民。 欧洲良心拒服兵役局 (EBCO) 的年度报告显示,该地区的应征者很少或根本没有机会得到法律承认他们谴责战争和拒绝杀人。

据德国之声报道,2017 年在柏林举行的国际会议上,专家们讨论了后苏联军事爱国教育的风险,这会促进俄罗斯的威权主义和乌克兰的极右翼政策。 专家建议,两国都需要现代民主的公民教育。

早在 2015 年,德国联邦外交部和联邦公民教育局就支持东欧公民教育网络 (EENCE),这是一个旨在发展东欧地区公民教育的组织和专家网络,包括亚美尼亚、阿塞拜疆、白俄罗斯、格鲁吉亚、摩尔多瓦、俄罗斯和乌克兰。 该网络的参与者签署了一份备忘录,表达了对民主、和平和可持续发展理念的大胆承诺。

通过和平文化的公民教育来预防战争的想法可以追溯到约翰杜威和玛丽亚蒙台梭利的作品。 联合国教科文组织《组织法》中出色地表述了这一点,联合国大会通过的 2016 年《和平权利宣言》也重申了这一点:“战争始于人必须建立和平。”

世界范围内为和平教育的道德冲动是如此强大,以至于即使是爱国教育的标准也无法阻止苏联和后苏联国家一些热心的和平教育者教导下一代人都是兄弟姐妹,应该和平相处.

如果不学习非暴力的基础知识,东欧人民可能会在共产主义帝国解体、下一次政治和社会经济冲突期间流下更多的血。 相反,乌克兰和白俄罗斯放弃了核武器,俄罗斯销毁了 2 件中程核武器。 此外,除阿塞拜疆以外的所有东欧国家都为一些出于良心拒服兵役的人引入了替代性文职服务,这在实践中很难获得且具有惩罚性,但与苏联完全不承认出于良心拒服兵役者的权利相比,这仍然是一个进步。

我们在东欧的和平教育方面取得了一些进展,我们有权庆祝成就,我们地区每年都有成百上千条关于学校和大学庆祝 21 月 XNUMX 日国际和平日的新闻。 然而,我们可以而且应该做得更多。

通常,和平教育并未明确包含在学校课程中,但其要素可以在正规教育的某些课程中实施,例如社会科学和人文基础知识。 以世界历史为例:如果不提及 19-20 世纪的和平运动和联合国在地球上建立和平的使命,我怎么能教它呢? HG Wells 在《历史大纲》中写道:“历史感是全人类的共同冒险,对于内部和平和国家之间的和平同样必要。”

Caroline Brooks 和 Basma Hajir 是 2020 年报告“正规学校的和平教育:为什么重要以及如何做到?”的作者,他们解释说,和平教育旨在通过解决他们的问题,使学生具备预防和解决冲突的能力。根本原因,不诉诸暴力,通过对话和谈判,使年轻人成为负责任的公民,对差异持开放态度并尊重其他文化。 和平教育还包括全球公民、社会和环境正义的主题和问题。

在教室、夏令营和其他任何合适的空间,讨论人权或可持续发展目标,培训同伴调解和其他文明社会生活的软技能,我们教育下一代欧洲公民和欧洲人民的和平地球,全人类的母星。 和平教育提供的不仅仅是希望,事实上,它提供了一个愿景,即我们的孩子和我们孩子的孩子可以防止今天的恐惧和痛苦,利用和发展我们对创造性和民主和平的最佳知识和实践,成为真正幸福的人。

尤里·谢利亚任科 是乌克兰和平主义运动的执行秘书,欧洲良心反对局董事会成员,世界战争之后董事会成员。 他于2021年获得KROK大学调解与冲突管理硕士学位,2016年获得法学硕士学位,2004年获得基辅塔拉斯舍甫琴科国立大学数学学士学位。 除了参与和平运动之外,他还是一名记者、博主、人权捍卫者和法律学者,发表了数十篇学术出版物,以及法律理论和历史讲师。

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Peace education for citizenship: a perspective for Eastern Europe

(Reposted from: Pravdoshukach, September 5, 2021.)

By Yurii Sheliazhenko

Eastern Europe in the 20-21 centuries suffered a lot from political violence and armed conflicts. It is time to learn how to live together in peace and in pursuit of happiness.

Traditional approach to prepare youth for participation in adult political life in the countries of Eastern Partnership and Russia was, and still is, a so-called military patriotic upbringing. In Soviet Union, ideal citizen was seen as loyal conscript obeying commanders without questions.

In this paradigm, military discipline was a model for civilian life excluding dissent from political sphere. Of course, any sorts of conscientious objectors to military service, such as followers of the “apostle of nonviolence” Leo Tolstoy and folk Protestants, were repressed during campaigns against “sects” and “cosmopolitism.”

Post-soviet nations inherited this paradigm and still tend to upbring rather obedient soldiers than responsible voters. Annual reports of the European Bureau for Conscientious Objection (EBCO) show that conscripts in the region have little or no opportunity to legal recognition of their denouncement of war and refusal to kill.

As inform Deutsche Welle, in 2017 at the international conference in Berlin experts discussed risks of post-soviet military patriotic upbringing, which promotes authoritarianism in Russia and far-right policies in Ukraine. Experts suggested that both countries need a modern democratic education for citizenship.

Even earlier, in 2015, the Federal Foreign Office of Germany and the Federal Agency for Civic Education supported the Eastern European Network for Citizenship Education (EENCE), a network of organizations and experts aiming at development of citizenship education in the region of Eastern Europe, including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, and Ukraine. Participants of the network sign a memorandum, which expresses a bold commitment to the ideas of democracy, peace, and sustainable development.

The idea of preventing war by a civic education for peace culture can be traced to the works of John Dewey and Maria Montessori. It was excellently said in UNESCO Constitution and repeated in the 2016 Declaration on the Right to Peace adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations: “since wars begin in the minds of human beings, it is in the minds of human beings that the defence of peace must be constructed.”

Worldwide moral impulse to educate for peace was so powerful that even standards of patriotic upbringing were unable to prevent some enthusiast peace educators in the Soviet Union and post-soviet countries to teach the next generation that all people are brothers and sisters and should live in peace.

Without learning the basics of nonviolence, Eastern European peoples probably could shed much more blood during dissolution of the communist empire, next political and socio-economic conflicts. Instead, Ukraine and Belarus abandoned nuclear weapons, and Russia destroyed 2 692 of the intermediate-range nuclear weapons. Also, all Eastern European countries except Azerbaijan introduced alternative civilian service for some conscientious objectors to military service, which in practice is hardly accessible and punitive in nature but still is progress comparing with Soviet total non-recognition of the conscientious objectors’ rights.

We make some progress with peace education in Eastern Europe, we have a right to celebrate achievements, and there are tens and hundreds of news in our region every year about celebrations of the International Day of Peace 21 September in schools and universities. However, we can and should do more.

Usually, peace education is not explicitly included in school curricula, but its elements can be implemented in some courses of formal education, like the basics of social sciences and humanities. Take, for example, world history: how can I teach it without mentioning peace movements in 19-20 centuries and the mission of the United Nations to establish peace on Earth? H.G. Wells wrote in “The Outline of History”: “A sense of history as the common adventure of all mankind is as necessary for peace within as it is for peace between the nations.”

Caroline Brooks and Basma Hajir, authors of the 2020 report “Peace education in formal schools: why is it important and how can it be done?”, explain that peace education seeks to equip students with the capacity to prevent and resolve conflicts by tackling their root causes, without recourse to violence, through dialogue and negotiation, and enable young people to become responsible citizens who are open to differences and respectful of other cultures. Peace education encompasses also topics and issues of global citizenship, social and environmental justice.

In the classrooms, in summer camps, and in every other suitable spaces, discussing human rights or sustainable development goals, training peer mediation and other soft skills of civilized social life, we educate for peace next generation of the citizens of Europe and the people of Earth, mother planet of all humans. Peace education gives more than hope, indeed, it gives a vision that our children and children of our children can prevent fears and pains of today using and developing tomorrow the best of our knowledge and practices of creative and democratic peace to be truly happy people.

Yurii Sheliazhenko is executive secretary of the Ukrainian Pacifist Movement, member of the Board of European Bureau for Conscientious Objection, member of the Board of World BEYOND War. He obtained a Master of Mediation and Conflict Management degree in 2021 and a Master of Laws degree in 2016 at KROK University, and a Bachelor of Mathematics degree in 2004 at Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. Apart from participation in the peace movement, he is a journalist, blogger, human rights defender and legal scholar, author of tens of academic publications, and lecturer on legal theory and history.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...