为和平铺平道路:喀麦隆的变革之旅

(转自: 预防武装冲突全球伙伴关系。 8 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

作者:约翰娜·希尔伯特 – GPPAC

“我无话可说,”当我们开车离开位于喀麦隆西南地区喀麦隆山脚下的布埃亚小镇时,拉瓦尔说道。 这句话从拉瓦尔嘴里说出来令人惊讶,因为他是我认识的最直言不讳、最外向、最有趣的人。 拉瓦尔说这话的时候,乔盖特已经闭上了眼睛,错过了即使在阴天也展现在我们面前的三角洲的壮丽景色。 拉瓦尔立即跟着她。

难怪他们很累。 2023 年 XNUMX 月我们在喀麦隆度过的过去五天非常紧张。 我们,即 GPPAC 成员 Lawal,来自 和平基金会的基石 在尼日利亚,我和来自 GPPAC 全球秘书处的同事 Amanda 受到 Geogette 和她的团队的邀请 喀麦隆WAA 与他们一起前往布埃亚,在那里他们组织了为期两天的代际对话。 对话是他们的一部分 喀麦隆青年和平之声 (称为 VOYCE)项目旨在防止年轻人激进化,并支持该国西北部和西南部受英语危机打击最严重的地区那些必须去激进化的人。 

当我们离开城市时,我们会看到在田野里吃草的奶牛、茂密的雨林和路上出售新鲜香蕉、菠萝、木薯和椰树的当地小贩。 当我们在军事检查站停下来出示证件时,拉瓦尔和乔盖特再次醒来。 在我们返回雅温得的途中,这种情况还会发生四次。

乔吉特打破了沉默:“拉瓦尔,我们真的很喜欢你在这里的经历。 我们认为应该经常进行这种访问,以了解彼此、了解我们取得的进展并交流经验。” 拉瓦尔立即点头,热情回应:“明年你一定要来尼日利亚! 我真的希望我们能够复制这一经验,并将喀麦隆同事带到我的国家。” 为什么,我问。 

“你学到了很多东西”,他解释道。 “不仅是关于建设和平的方法,而且见证了 WAA 作为一个组织的日常运作方式,都让我惊叹不已。 看到财务、行政、项目、通讯和后勤部门后,我了解了应该如何设立 CSO,以及我们在尼日利亚的组织需要什么样的结构。”

“……我亲眼目睹人们,尤其是年轻人,在冲突中没有放弃。 他们实际上为恢复和平做了很多事情。”

拉瓦尔补充道:“对我来说,这是一次美妙的经历。 我从远方听说了很多有关喀麦隆冲突的事情。 但在这里,我听到了直接受害者的声音。 听到他们已经采取了各种干预措施来支持和平进程,例如提供小额赠款、举办对话以及建立青年和平智库,这确实让我大开眼界。 我亲眼目睹人们,尤其是年轻人,在冲突中没有放弃。 他们实际上为恢复和平做了很多事情。”

和平智囊团由喀麦隆 WAA 培训的年轻和平捍卫者领导,接受有关冲突解决方法的培训。 智库为来自不同背景、拥有不同经历、观点和兴趣的年轻人提供了一个相互支持解决冲突、促进和平的空间。

拉瓦尔的评论让我们反思 2022 年启动的 VOYCE 项目如何为喀麦隆培训了 XNUMX 名年轻的和平卫士。 在现有的四个青年和平智库的基础上,又进一步建立了九个社区青年和平智库。 和平智囊团由喀麦隆 WAA 培训的年轻和平捍卫者领导,接受有关冲突解决方法的培训。 智库为来自不同背景、拥有不同经历、观点和兴趣的年轻人提供了一个相互支持解决冲突、促进和平的空间。

“我发现整个项目非常有趣。 这很诱人。 如果我们能够学习 WAA 的经验并在尼日利亚复制这一经验,看看它已经在喀麦隆产生的影响,特别是因为我们的国家经历了同样的冲突动态,那就太好了,”他说。 乔盖特体现了建立令人瞠目结舌的和平和包容社会的决心、韧性和同情心,她立即对这个想法充满热情。 “如果有一个平台让尼日利亚和喀麦隆的年轻人可以谈论他们国家的不同冲突局势并分享他们的应对方式,那就太好了。 他们可以交换不同的方法和途径。 这也会让他们感觉自己并不孤单,还有其他像他们一样认真对待建设和平的人。”

我们静静地坐了几秒钟,让所有的想法都集中起来。突然,我们的司机欧内斯特(Ernest)通过绕过道路上的坑洼展示了瞬间的汽车技巧。 我们都感受到了转向。 拉瓦尔笑道:“在路上旅行……啊……如果我们不这样做,我们就无法真正体验喀麦隆。” 每个人都加入他的笑声。 距离到达雅温得还有五个小时。 还有五个小时,我们可以根据我们在布埃亚学到的所有知识来梦想建设和平的伟大想法。

为期3年的VOYCE项目由欧盟资助,由喀麦隆WAA和创伤中心实施,并得到GPPAC的支持。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Paving the way for peace: A transformative journey through Cameroon

(Reposted from: Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict. June 8, 2023)

By Johanna Hilbert – GPPAC

“I am short of words,” says Lawal as we start driving out of Buea, a town located at the foot of Mount Cameroon in the country’s Southwest Region. This is surprising coming out of Lawal’s mouth as he is the most outspoken, outgoing, and entertaining person I know. While Lawal says this, Geogette has already closed her eyes, missing out on the spectacular view of the delta that unfolds before us even on this cloudy day. Lawal immediately follows her.

It is no wonder that they are tired. The past five days we spent in Cameroon in May 2023 have been intense. We, that is, GPPAC member Lawal from Building Blocks for Peace Foundation in Nigeria, my colleague Amanda and I from the GPPAC Global Secretariat, were invited by Geogette and her team at WAA Cameroon to join them to Buea, where they organised a two-day intergenerational dialogue. The dialogue is part of their Voices of Youth in Cameroon for Peace (known as VOYCE) project that aims to prevent the radicalisation of youth and supports those who have to de-radicalise in the Northwest and Southwest of the country, which are most hit by the Anglophone crisis. 

As we leave the city behind us, we pass cows grazing on the fields, lush rainforest and local sellers on the roads offering fresh bananas, pineapples, cassava and cocoyams. Lawal and Geogette wake up again when we are stopped at a military checkpoint to present our papers. On our journey back to Yaoundé, this will happen four more times.

It is Geogette who breaks the silence: “Lawal, we really like the experience of having you here. We think that this kind of visit should be done more often just to get to know each other, understand how far we have come and exchange experiences.” Lawal immediately nods and enthusiastically responds, “You need to come to Nigeria next year! I really hope that we can replicate this experience and bring Cameroonian colleagues to my country.” Why, I ask. 

“You learn so much”, he explains. “Not only about peacebuilding approaches but also witnessing how WAA, as an organisation, is run on a day-to-day basis, was just wow for me. Seeing the finance, admin, programme, communications, and logistics division gives me an idea of how a CSO should be set up and what structures we need to have in our organisation back in Nigeria.”

“…I witnessed that people, especially young people, are not giving up in the midst of conflict. They are actually doing so much to restore peace.”

Lawal adds, “For me, it has been a wonderful experience. I have heard a lot about the Cameroonian conflict from afar. But here, I heard from people who are direct victims of it. Hearing what they are already doing to support the peace process with various interventions such as offering microgrants, hosting dialogues, and setting up Youth Think Tanks for Peace was really an eye-opener to me. I witnessed that people, especially young people, are not giving up in the midst of conflict. They are actually doing so much to restore peace.”

The Think Tanks for Peace are led by young peace champions trained by WAA Cameroon on conflict resolution methods. The Think Tanks offer a space for young people from different backgrounds with different experiences, opinions, and interests to support one another to resolve conflict and promote peace.

Lawal’s comment lets us reflect on how the VOYCE project, launched in 2022, has already trained one hundred young champions for peace in Cameroon. It has further established nine more community-based Youth Think Tanks for Peace on top of the already existing four ones. The Think Tanks for Peace are led by young peace champions trained by WAA Cameroon on conflict resolution methods. The Think Tanks offer a space for young people from different backgrounds with different experiences, opinions, and interests to support one another to resolve conflict and promote peace.

“I find the entire project extremely interesting. It is enticing. It would be great if we can learn from WAA’s experience and replicate this in Nigeria, seeing the impact it already has in Cameroon, especially since our country experiences the same conflict dynamics,” he says. Geogette, who embodies such determination, resilience, and compassion to build peaceful and inclusive societies that make your jaw drop, is immediately enthusiastic about this idea. “It would be nice to have a platform where Nigerian and Cameroonian youth could talk about different conflict situations in their country and share how they respond. They could exchange different methods and approaches. This would also give them a feeling that they are not alone and that there are others just like them who take peacebuilding seriously.”

We sit in silence for a few seconds letting all our thoughts sink in. Suddenly, Ernest, our driver, displays instantaneous automotive finesse by manoeuvring around a pothole that lines the road. We all feel the swerve. Lawal chuckles, “Travelling on the road…ahhh… if we would not do it, we would not truly experience Cameroon.” Everyone joins his laughter. We still have five more hours to go until we reach Yaoundé. Five more hours to dream of big peacebuilding ideas based on all the things we have learned in Buea.

The 3-year VOYCE project is funded by the European Union and implemented by WAA Cameroon and the Trauma Center, with the support of GPPAC.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top