开放牛津剑桥博士培训合作伙伴关系为和平与反核行动主义研究提供全额博士学位

(照片来自:Open-Oxford-Cambridge)

(转自: 开放-牛津-剑桥)

督导组: 吕克-安德烈·布鲁内博士 (历史,开放大学)和 Daniel Payne(伦敦政治经济学院图书馆政治与国际关系策展人)

与大英政治科学与经济图书馆(伦敦政治经济学院图书馆)合作,邀请申请者在开放大学获得开放牛津剑桥 AHRC DTP 资助的合作博士奖。

LSE 图书馆拥有许多关于 XNUMX 世纪和平行动主义和反核行动主义主题的重要档案。 其中包括核裁军运动 (CND)、欧洲核裁军 (END)、和解奖学金 (FOR) 的档案,以及与格林汉姆妇女和平营相关的材料。 这些馆藏采用多种材料,例如官方出版物,个人通信,闭门会议记录以及照片,海报和歌曲歌词。

自 1945 年以来,成功的申请者将有望利用伦敦政治经济学院图书馆的馆藏以及其他档案资源,讨论与和平和/或反核活动相关的主题。 自 1945 年以来,任何地区或国家和任何时期都欢迎申请,前提是研究项目利用了伦敦政治经济学院图书馆的馆藏。 可能的研究主题包括:

  • 和平行动主义的国际和/或跨国层面
  • 和平行动主义与决策之间的关系(以及两者之间的影响)
  • 妇女在和平行动中的作用
  • BAME和平活动家的贡献
  • 和平行动的形式(包括地方、区域、国家和跨国/国际)
  • 和平活动家使用、创造或改编的叙述、愿景和符号
  • 反对核能与核武器的关系

与 LSE 图书馆合作,成功申请者将接受图书馆馆长关于档案处理、档案研究和访问 LSE 图书馆相关档案的一对一培训。 她/他还将有机会领导使用伦敦政治经济学院图书馆和平档案馆策划与她/他的研究相关的主题的公共展览,并接受图书馆馆长提供的策展过程的全面培训。 展览将在线和/或实体展览,在伦敦政治经济学院图书馆举办。 还将有机会与图书馆的活动团队合作,组织与展览相关的一系列活动和公众参与活动,例如组织公共活动和与外部团体合作。 成功的申请人还将有机会发表公开演讲或组织与她/他的研究相关的研讨会。 此外,申请人将被邀请与图书馆的参与团队合作,在她/他的研究的同时开发在线和/或体育教育资源,以帮助这项研究覆盖更广泛的公众、外部社区团体和和平活动家等受众。 与 LSE 合作活动的确切性质将取决于所选项目以及与成功候选人的讨论。

成功的申请者将由来自开放大学 (OU) 的两名学者和伦敦政治经济学院图书馆的一名联合主管共同监督。 申请人将受益于 OU 提供的广泛研究培训活动计划和大学提供的非常成功的共同监督模式,并将被邀请加入大学的 XNUMX 世纪战争与和平研究小组。 虽然申请人将完成历史博士学位,但她/他的学术背景可以来自任何相关学科,包括但不限于政治学、国际关系、社会学、文学和宗教研究。 根据申请人选择的主题,第二名 OU 主管可能来自另一个相关学科,以全力支持跨学科项目。

该项目的首席主管将是 吕克-安德烈·布鲁内博士, 开放大学二十世纪欧洲历史讲师,其研究专长是冷战最后十年整个北约的和平与反核行动。

LSE 图书馆主管将是 丹尼尔·佩恩,政治和国际关系策展人,包括与和平激进主义相关的藏品。 可以在此处找到有关这些集合的更多信息: https://www.lse.ac.uk/library/collection-highlights/peace-and-internationalism

我们邀请来自所有背景和种族的候选人申请。 历史或相关学科的硕士学位是首选,但不是必需的。 鼓励潜在的申请人联系Luc-AndréBrunet([电子邮件保护]) 在提交申请之前提出问题和任何指导。

关闭

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!

3条评论

  1. 一个伟大的倡议,一次又一次的祝福。 甘地和平使命将很高兴支持您的运动,并与大家携手将您的信息传播到-
    - neelakanta Radhakrishnan 教授。
    主席
    甘地和平使命
    [电子邮件保护] COM

  2. 我们都会同意,我们的家应该成为我们所追求的价值观的托儿所。
    正如甘地所指出的“成为你想在世界上看到的变化”
    正是我们忘记记住并选择忽略的恰恰是不幸的。 任何强调和平的运动也应该尝试整合这一方面。
    如果我们寻求的是质变,那么自上而下的方法应该让位于“自下而上”的观点。 让我们记住在这种情况下甘地强调的“海洋圈”的价值。

加入讨论...

Open-Oxford-Cambridge Doctoral Training Partnership offering a fully funded doctoral award for peace and anti-nuclear activism research

(Photo via: Open-Oxford-Cambridge)

(Reposted from: Open-Oxford-Cambridge)

Supervisory team: Dr Luc-André Brunet (History, The Open University) and Daniel Payne (Curator for Politics and International Relations, LSE Library)

Applications are invited for an Open-Oxford-Cambridge AHRC DTP-funded Collaborative Doctoral Award at The Open University, in partnership with The British Library of Political Science and Economics (LSE Library).

LSE Library holds a number of significant archives on the topic of twentieth-century peace activism and anti-nuclear activism. These include the archives of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (CND), European Nuclear Disarmament (END), the Fellowship of Reconciliation (FOR), and material relating to the Greenham Common Women’s Peace Camp. These collections feature a wide range of material, such as official publications, personal correspondence, minutes of closed meetings, as well as photographs, posters, and song lyrics.

The successful applicant would be expected to make use of LSE Library’s collections, along with other archival sources, on a topic related to peace and/or anti-nuclear activism since 1945. Applications are welcome on any region or country and any period since 1945, provided the research project makes use of LSE Library collections. Possible themes of research could include:

  • international and/or transnational dimensions of peace activism
  • the relationship between peace activism and policymaking (and the influence of one on the other)
  • the role of women in peace activism
  • the contribution of BAME peace activists
  • forms of peace activism (including local, regional, national, and transnational/international)
  • narratives, visions, and symbols used, created, or adapted by peace activists
  • the relationship between opposition to nuclear energy and nuclear weapons

Working with LSE Library, the successful applicant will receive one-on-one training from the library curator on archives handling, archival research, and accessing the relevant archives at LSE Library. S/He would also have the opportunity to lead on curating a public exhibition using the LSE Library peace archives, on a topic related to her/his research, with full training on the curation process provided by the Library curator. The exhibition would be online and/or a physical one, hosted at LSE Library. There would also be an opportunity to organise a series of events and public engagement activities related to the exhibition in collaboration with the Library’s event teams, for example organising public events and working with external groups. The successful applicant would also have the opportunity to deliver a public talk or organise a workshop related to her/his research. In addition, the applicant would be invited to work with the Library’s engagement team to develop online and/or physical educational resources alongside her/his research, to help this research reach audiences such as the broader public, external community groups, and peace activists. The precise nature of collaborative activities with the LSE will depend on the project selected and in discussion with the successful candidate.

The successful applicant would be co-supervised by two academics from the Open University (OU) and one co-supervisor at LSE Library. The applicant would benefit from the extensive programme of research training events provided by the OU and the highly successful model of co-supervision offered by the university, and would be invited to join the university’s Research Group on War and Peace in the Twentieth Century. While the applicant would complete a PhD in History, her/his academic background could come from any related discipline, including but not limited to political science, international relations, sociology, literature, and religious studies. Depending on the topic chosen by the applicant, the second OU supervisor may be drawn from another relevant discipline to fully support an interdisciplinary project.

The lead supervisor for the project will be Dr Luc-André Brunet, Lecturer in Twentieth-Century European History at the Open University, whose research expertise is peace and anti-nuclear activism across NATO in the final decade of the Cold War.

The LSE Library supervisor will be Daniel Payne, Curator for Politics and International Relations including the collections related to peace activism. More information on these collections can be found here: https://www.lse.ac.uk/library/collection-highlights/peace-and-internationalism

We invite applications from candidates from all backgrounds and ethnicities. A Master’s degree in History or a related discipline is preferred but not essential. Potential applicants are encouraged to contact Luc-André Brunet ([email protected]) with questions and for any guidance before submitting their application.

3 Comments

  1. A great initiative, best wishes again and again. The Gandhi Peace Mission will be glad to extend its support to your movemrnt and join hands with you all in spreading your message across-
    -Professor neelakanta Radhakrishnan.
    Chairman
    Gandhi Peace Mission
    [email protected] com

  2. We all will agree that our homes should become nursaries of values we seek.
    As Gandhi pointed out ‘be the change you want to see in the world’
    It is precisely and unfortunately what we forget to remember and chose to ignore. Any campaign to highlight peace should try to integrate this aspect also.
    The top -to- bottom approach should give place to the ‘bottom-up’ perspectives if what we seek is qualitative change. Let us remember in this context the value of ‘ Oceanic circle’ Gandhi highlighted.

  3. Let’s try to remove thoughts of violence From the coming generations psychologically and politically

Join the discussion...