致安东尼·布林肯的公开信呼吁为面临风险的阿富汗学者提供公平有效的签证程序

介绍

自去年 XNUMX 月载有美国公民和阿富汗盟友的飞机最后一次离开喀布尔以来,多个团体和美国公民个人继续努力撤离所有处于危险中的盟友。 一些人获得了美国大学的学者和学生的实习机会。 然而,许多学者仍在等待他们接受这些任命所需的美国签证。

这里发布的这封信是美国学者向国务卿发出的呼吁,呼吁采取行动消除阻碍有效和公平签证程序的障碍。 它今天与迄今为止的签名者名单一起发送。 预计会有更多人支持将在不久的将来再次发出的呼吁。 副本正在发送给相关的政府和教育机构。 请读者通过各自的网络分发这封信。 美国人被要求将其发送给他们的参议员和众议员,要求他们也采取行动消除签证障碍,阻止高危学者来到邀请他们的美国大学。 (酒吧,6 年 21 月 22 日)

公开信

尊敬的安东尼·布林肯
美国国务卿

21年2022月XNUMX日

回复:为处于危险中的阿富汗学者和学生提供签证

尊敬的秘书先生,

我们,以下签名的美国学者,赞扬并祝贺国务院和国土安全部批准了《阿富汗调整法案》,以便在我们在阿富汗的 XNUMX 年里为美国的阿富汗支持者提供庇护。 这是朝着更公正的阿富汗盟友政策迈出的重要一步。

这封信旨在敦促朝着对阿富汗人采取公正政策的方向采取进一步措施,这也符合美国的更大利益。 作为学者和学者,我们深感担忧的是,面临风险的阿富汗学者几乎无法获得 J1 和 F1 签证。

我们对这些阿富汗学者,尤其是女性的生活和福祉深表关切。 他们都处于危险之中,许多人受到死亡威胁。 此外,在他们可以练习和进一步发展他们的专业能力的情况下,未能将他们带到安全的地方是他们未来的严重障碍。 美国获得了这些阿富汗学者及其同胞的帮助,因此有责任确保他们的尊严和福祉. 这些学者和许多人权捍卫者的生活与他们国家的未来密不可分。 他们代表了阿富汗积极改变的最大希望,因为他们在签证过程中面临目前的情况,这似乎是无法实现的。

学者的 J1 签证和学生的 F1 签证的费用是 160 美元不可退还,这对大多数申请人来说是一个相当大的挑战,而对于那些有家人的人来说,他们需要支付相同的费用。 这笔费用会因其他附加费用而增加,例如前往领事馆入口处的短暂强制性巴士车程。 由于采用了推定移民标准,这些 J1 和 F1 申请中相对较少被批准——即使邀请大学提供了全额资助的津贴和奖学金。 这些签证的延误和拒绝很常见。

签署这封信的一些美国学者正在努力将面临风险的学者带到美国大学,试图为旅行和签证程序提供便利。 其他代表邀请阿富汗学者和学生到他们的校园进行研究、教学和攻读研究生和本科学位的大学。 我们所有人都对延误和否认感到沮丧,并且常常不相信,这有时似乎是武断的。 申请人资格良好,无意留在美国,已安排在其他国家继续接受专业培训。

美国的完整性、我们对人权的全面承诺以及我们对阿富汗人民和国际社会的责任要求我们立即采取行动纠正这种功能失调和不公正的延误和拒绝 J1 和 F1 签证的情况。

这封信张贴在全球和平教育运动网站上。 副本发送给拜登总统、白宫性别事务办公室、阿富汗女学者和专业人士倡导者、国会选定成员、国务院 CARE、美国高校协会、国家教育协会、美国大学校长协会、国际教育研究所、和平与正义研究协会、撤离我们的盟友、其他相关公民社会组织。

国务卿先生,我们请求您亲自干预,以纠正这种可耻的情况。

Sincerely,

贝蒂·A·雷顿
国际和平教育研究所名誉创始主任,哥伦比亚大学师范学院退休和平教育创始人

大卫赖利
教师工会主席
正义之家创始人兼董事
尼亚加拉大学

马塞拉·约翰娜·德普罗
国际学者和学生服务高级总监
旧金山大学

托尼詹金斯
全球和平教育运动协调员
乔治城大学正义与和平研究讲师

斯蒂芬·马克斯
Francois Xavier Bagnoud 健康与人权教授
哈佛大学

戴尔·斯诺沃特
和平研究与教育教授
托莱多大学

乔治·肯特
名誉教授(政治学)
夏威夷大学

艾菲·科克伦
英语系荣誉退休教授
纽约市立大学约翰杰刑事司法学院

吉尔·施特劳斯
助理教授
纽约市立大学曼哈顿社区学院自治市镇

凯瑟琳·莫德罗夫斯基
教授兼院长
金达尔文理学院
IP 金达尔全球大学

玛丽亚·汉扎诺波利斯
教育学教授
瓦瑟学院

达蒙林奇博士
美国明尼苏达大学

拉塞尔·摩西
高级讲师,哲学
美国德州大学

约翰·J·卡内特
名誉教授
代顿大学

卡蒂亚·塞西莉亚·康福蒂尼
副教授,和平与正义研究计划
韦尔斯利学院

罗纳德·帕格努科博士
圣本尼迪克特/圣学院约翰斯大学

芭芭拉维恩
学院成员
美国大学,华盛顿特区

Jeremy A. Rinken 博士
和平与冲突研究系副教授
北卡罗来纳大学格林斯伯勒分校

劳拉芬利博士
社会学和犯罪学教授
巴里大学

乔纳森·W·读者
贝克社会学教授
德鲁大学

费丽莎·蒂贝茨
哥伦比亚大学教师学院
乌得勒支大学

约翰麦克杜格尔
社会学名誉教授
和平与冲突研究所创始联合主任
马萨诸塞州洛厄尔大学

背书人名单正在处理中。 机构仅供识别。

关闭
加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

加入讨论...

滚动到顶部

Open letter to Anthony Blinken calling for a fair and efficient visa process for at-risk Afghan academics

Introduction

Since the final departure of planes carrying US citizens and Afghan allies from Kabul last August, multiple groups and individual American citizens have continued the struggle to evacuate all at-risk allies left behind. Some obtained placements for scholars and students at US universities. However, many scholars still await the US visas required for them to take up these appointments.

The letter posted here is an appeal from American academics to the Secretary of State to take action to remove the obstacles that stand in the way of an efficient and equitable visa process. It is being sent today with the list of signers to date. More are expected to endorse the appeal which will be sent again in the near future. Copies are being sent to relevant governmental and education agencies. Readers are requested to circulate the letter through their respective networks. Americans are requested to send it to their Senators and Representatives, asking that they also take action toward removing the visa obstacles preventing at-risk scholars from coming to the US universities that have invited them.  (BAR, 6/21/22)

Open Letter

The Honorable Anthony Blinken
United States Secretary of State

July 21, 2022

Re: Visas for at-risk Afghan scholars and students

Dear Mr. Secretary,

We, the undersigned American academics, commend and congratulate the Department of State and the Department of Homeland Security for their endorsement of the Afghan Adjustment Act to facilitate asylum for Afghan supporters of the United States during our twenty years in Afghanistan. It is a significant step toward more just policies toward our Afghan allies.

This letter is intended to urge further steps in the direction of just policies towards Afghans, which also serve the greater interests of the United States. As academics and scholars, we are deeply concerned that J1 and F1 visas for at-risk Afghan academics are virtually impossible to access.

We are deeply concerned about the lives and well-being of these Afghan academics, especially women. They are all at risk and many are threatened with death.  Further, the failure to bring them to safety in situations where they can practice and further develop their professional capacities is a serious obstacle to their futures. The US enlisted the help of these Afghan academics and their fellow citizens and thus has responsibility for ensuring their dignity and wellbeing. The lives of these academics and many human rights defenders are inextricably linked to the future of their country. They represent the best hope of positive change in Afghanistan that seems unattainable as they face the present circumstances in the visa process.

The cost of J1 visas for academics and F1s for students is a nonrefundable fee of $160, a considerable challenge to most applicants, with further expense for those with family, each of whom pays the same fee. This outlay is increased by other added fees such as brief mandatory bus rides to the consulate entrance. Comparatively few of these J1 and F1 applications have been approved, due to the application of the presumptive immigrant standard – even when a fully funded stipend and scholarship is provided by the inviting university. Delays and denials of these visas are common.

A number of the American academics signing this letter are working to bring at-risk scholars to American universities, attempting to facilitate travel and the visa process. Others represent universities that have invited Afghan academics and students to their campuses to conduct research, to teach and to pursue graduate and undergraduate degrees. All of us have been dismayed and often incredulous at the delays and denials, which sometimes appear to be arbitrary.  The applicants are well qualified, and have no intentions of remaining in the United States, having made arrangements to continue their professional training in other countries.

The integrity of the United States, our claim of full commitment to human rights, and our responsibility to the Afghan people and the world community demand that we take immediate action to remedy this situation of dysfunctional and unjust delay and denial of J1 and F1 visas.

This letter is posted on the Global Campaign for Peace Education site. Copies are sent to President Biden, White House Office of Gender Affairs, Advocates for Afghan Women Scholars and Professionals, Selected members of Congress, CARE at the State Department, American Association of Colleges and Universities, National Education Association, American Association of University Presidents, Institute of International Education, Peace and Justice Studies Association, Evacuate Our Allies, other relevant CSOs.

Mr. Secretary, we request your personal intervention to rectify this shameful situation.

Sincerely,

Betty A. Reardon
Founding Director Emeritus, International Institute on Peace Education, retired founder of peace education at Teachers College Columbia University

David Reilly
President of Faculty Union
Founder and Director of Justice House
Niagara University

Marcella Johanna Deproto
Senior Director, International Scholar and Student Services
University of San Francisco

Tony Jenkins
Coordinator, Global Campaign for Peace Education
Lecturer, Justice & Peace Studies, Georgetown University

Stephan Marks
Francois Xavier Bagnoud Professor of Health and Human Rights
Harvard University

Dale Snauwaert
Professor of Peace Studies and Education
University of Toledo

George Kent
Professor Emeritus (Political Science)
University of Hawaii

Effie P. Cochran
Professor Emerita, Department of English
John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

Jill Strauss
Assistant Professor
Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY

Kathleen Modrowski
Professor and Dean
Jindal School of Liberal Arts and Humanities
I.P. Jindal Global University

Maria Hanzanopolis
Professor of Education
Vassar College

Damon Lynch, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota

Russell Moses
Senior Lecturer, Philosophy
University of Texas

John J. Kanet
Professor Emeritus
University of Dayton

Catia Cecilia Confortini
Associate Professor, Peace and Justice Studies Program
Wellesley College

Dr. Ronald Pagnucco
College of St. Benedict/St. Johns University

Barbara Wien
Member of the Faculty
American University, Washington DC

Jeremy A. Rinken, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Peace and Conflict Studies
University of North Carolina Greensboro

Laura Finley, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology and Criminology
Barry University

Jonathan W. Reader
Baker Professor of Sociology
Drew University

Felisa Tibbets
Teachers College Columbia University
University of Utrecht

John MacDougall
Professor of Sociology Emeritus
Founding Co-Director, Peace and Conflict Studies Institute
University of Massachusetts Lowell

List of endorsers is in process. Institutions provided for identification only.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top