狐狸和鸡舍*——对“妇女、和平与安全议程的失败”的反思

狐狸和鸡舍*

对“妇女、和平与安全议程的失败”的思考

作者:Betty A. Reardon 

Damilola Banjo 于 15 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日发布的 PassBlue 报告(发布在下方)的事实不足为奇。 联合国成员国未能履行其 UNSCR 1325 义务,与广为人知的行动计划的虚拟搁置。 很明显,失败不在于 妇女、和平与安全议程 (WPS),也不是在引起它的安理会决议中,而是在那些阻碍而不是执行的会员国之间 国家行动计划 (NAP),未能全面任命妇女参加和平谈判。 “女人在哪里?” 本次安理会的一位发言人问道。 正如我将在下面观察到的那样,妇女们在实地,直接行动以完成议程。

我自己打算与 CSO 的其他成员合作,他们的教育和说服足够数量的安理会大使导致了 通过决议, 是为了获得联合国对妇女在任何和平进程中的重要作用的承认,并承认和平对于实现妇女完全平等至关重要,只要妇女在法律、政治、社会和文化上与男人平等。 秘书长指出,父权制是 WPS 议程的一个重大障碍,这体现了妇女平等与和平之间关系的重要性。

1325 没有失败。 它产生了结果. 它已成为妇女为在自己的社区、国家和地区实现和平与安全而已经并将继续做的事情的规范框架。 失败的是政府,但我从来没有真正期望过规范能够指导实际的国家政策。 恰恰相反,我认为规范充其量会被忽视,最坏的情况是故意阻碍,就像当前对女性平等的强烈反对一样,即使在“自由民主国家”也是如此。 在越来越多的宗教原教旨主义国家中,彻底拒绝和压制多种形式的性别平等,助长了威权主义,这是 Passblue 文章中没有提到的一个重要因素。 失败的不是议程,而是那些只给它空话的国家,以至于危及妇女的安全。 (参见 Cornelia Weiss,“违背承诺:抛弃阿富汗妇女”,即将于 武装部队与社会.)

考虑到女性全面参与安全事务给现有州际安全体系(全球父权制的内部圣地)的管理者带来的极端挑战,我预计最好的结果是善意的忽视。 这似乎是一个合理的情况,允许妇女继续这样做,因为她们正在这样做并且将继续这样做,使用该决议作为公认的规范来激励其他妇女尽一切可能减少暴力并促进平等和正义在他们自己的地方和区域背景下,和平与安全或缺乏安全是人类的实际经验,而不是抽象的国家政策。

除政府间外,妇女正在全球秩序的各个层面执行议程。 即使在那里,也有多个例子表明,在少数国家或政党将妇女纳入实际和平谈判的情况下,结果对所有人来说都更令人满意,因此也更持久。 阿比盖尔·迪斯尼 (Abigail Disney) 的电影充分证明了女性作为和平缔造者的效力,例如“祈祷恶魔回到地狱,“其中女性强迫谈判者留在谈判桌前,这是系列电影的第一部,”妇女、战争与和平。” 女权主义学者的作品, 安妮·玛丽·戈茨 记录联合国内部议程的进展。 来自 Helen Caldicott、Cora Weiss 的女性(见 50 上的帖子th 12月XNUMX日纪念日th 三月) Setsuko Thurlow,比阿特丽斯·芬恩和 Ray Acheson (甚至现在正在报道《禁止核条约》)在废除核武器运动的领导人中占有重要地位。 随着女性创造 1325,女性的能量和承诺在实现 禁止核武器条约.

至于实地的实际变化,“全球本地化”和青年工作 妇女建设和平者全球网络 关注 1325 的实际实施促进了全世界妇女之间的和平行动(GNWP 的倡议已经 本站精选)。 多年来,女性一直是印巴和平论坛的重要参与者。 希腊和土耳其妇女的合作, 冲绳妇女反对军事暴力法 与被美国军事基地占领的其他国家的妇女, 女子越过DMZ,最近的 美国妇女和平与教育代表团阿富汗 要求问责,并开放和滋养沟通渠道,即使在持续的冲突中也是如此。 联合国教科文组织前总干事费德里科·马约尔呼吁俄罗斯和乌克兰妇女通过谈判达成停火与和平,这场战争对整个世界体系造成了如此毁灭性的影响,其中包含核毁灭的威胁。 上述内容远非详尽列出妇女积极有效地参与 WPS 的实施、正在进行的全球和平与人类安全斗争以及最终废除战争的一些公民社会组织代表的设想目标,这些代表1325 年开始。

与联合国有关的 WPS 议程评估中很少考虑妇女和平行动的另一个领域是学术活动家,他们制作了理论文献、行动研究和实地建设和平行动。 在 Asha Hans 和 Swarna Rajagopolan 中可以找到一个国家的这种经验, 和平的开放:联合国安理会第 1325 号决议与印度的安全 (Sage,新德里。2016)。 在没有印度国家行动计划的情况下,这些印度学者活动家关注尼泊尔和其他亚洲国家的计划细节。 但缺乏计划并没有阻止他们采取行动,正如 Hans-Rajagopolan 卷中所报道的那样。 几年前,在一次此类活动家的会议上,我提议民间社会组织设计和颁布人民行动计划 (PPA)。 计划有助于明确目标、制定实施策略以及协调和排序为实现共同目标而努力的行动。 如果他们认真对待,他们可能会成为 NAP。 然而,由于情况并非如此,我仍然认为,在 WPS 上进行更多有意识和系统的多方民间社会合作可以有效地执行 UNSCR 1325 的所有规定。PPA 可以使妇女和平与安全议程更接近于滋养民间社会决议的根源。

妇女不依赖国家在促进和平与安全方面取得实际和有效的成果。 他们需要的是已故的露丝·金斯伯格(Ruth Ginsberg)在美国最高法院提出的论点,即(男性政治权力结构)“让[他们]的脚离开我们的脖子。” 如果各国真的对实现可持续和平感兴趣,它们都会站起来并采取措施,例如建立全国妇女委员会来监督资金充足的国家行动方案的实施,并至少提供他们所看到的军火库支出的一小部分作为应对其权力挑战的保险。 部分武器资金可用于促进妇女实际和潜在的建设和平力量。 军费开支的微小变化,不惜一切代价的讨价还价,可能表明即使是狐狸也有诚意。 *

酒吧,6/22/22

* 全面披露:当被问及几年前对国家行动计划的潜在有效性发表评论时,我认为在我看来,这似乎是让狐狸守卫鸡舍。 作为一名和平教育者,我相信狐狸可以学会这样做。

外交官说,妇女、和平与安全议程没有产生结果

(转自: PassBlue,15 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日)

尽管有 100 个国家制定了执行全球妇女、和平与安全议程的国家计划,但妇女在世界各地的冲突调解和其他建立和平的努力中仍然基本缺席。 该议程在 2000 年通过的安全理事会决议中得到巩固,旨在确保妇女平等参与和平谈判和其他相关步骤。 但自二十多年前获得联合国成员国授权以来,该议程远未实现这一目标。

联合国妇女署执行主任西马巴豪斯, 强调 妇女在和平谈判和调解过程中缺乏参与 安全理事会公开辩论 关于区域组织在执行所谓的 WPS 议程中的作用,15 月 12 日举行。Bahous 说,有 2015 个区域组织也通过了议程上的“行动计划”,而 XNUMX 年为 XNUMX 个。但这并没有加起来到成功。

理事会会议由阿尔巴尼亚外交部长奥尔塔·沙卡主持。 除了安理会 15 位成员、巴胡斯和联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯上午的讲话外,来自安理会的女性代表 阿拉伯国家联盟中, 非洲联盟中, 欧洲 和 组织安全与合作在欧洲 发言,每个人都提出了他们所在地区对这个问题的个人反应,有些人注意到了一些小收获。

“随着所有这些制度性的进步,几乎每次有政治谈判、和平谈判时,我们仍然要问,'妇女在哪里?'”巴豪斯说。 作为 XNUMX 月份的理事会轮值主席, 阿尔巴尼亚正在提高焦点 据报道,在俄罗斯入侵期间,乌克兰妇女被人贩子掠夺,俄罗斯军队被指控强奸乌克兰妇女。

阿尔巴尼亚族人非常了解战争中性暴力的创伤。 在 1990 年代后期科索沃发生冲突的一年中,数千名妇女在塞尔维亚为保住该领土而进行的战斗中遭到强奸。 科索沃现在被 97 个联合国成员国承认为主权国家。

分辨率1325 2000 年,即科索沃战争结束一年后,就妇女、和平与安全问题达成一致,其核心目的之一是认识到暴力如何具体影响妇女和女孩。 通过该决议,联合国成员国承诺将妇女纳入所有建设和平进程。

八年后,理事会通过 分辨率1820,解决使用性暴力作为战争工具的特殊问题。 除了这两项决议外,还通过了其他七项决议,以保证妇女在各自国家或地区的和平建设努力中发挥平等作用。 阿尔巴尼亚代表团在一份声明中表示,它决心追究性虐待罪犯的责任,以深化 WPS 议程。

声明说:“将性暴力用作战争和恐怖手段仍然是世界各地冲突的常见因素。” “在 20 世纪的最后十年,我们所在的巴尔干地区亲眼目睹了性暴力被用作战争武器,以及冲突后社会在应对创伤方面面临的挑战。”

北约成员国阿尔巴尼亚在 XNUMX 月还誓言将重点放在妇女、和平与安全上,以加强国际集体应对措施,确保追究肇事者的责任,以保护强奸幸存者的权利。 这包括使用制裁和临时司法机制——如法庭——来追捕施虐者。 如果在过去的二十年中不存在,那么兑现承诺是很棘手的。

由于无法直接起诉成员国,联合国一直致力于提高非政府组织和一系列司法机构整理和起诉与冲突有关的性暴力的能力。 作为联合国的领导人,古特雷斯负责这项工作。 每年,他都会向安理会提交一份报告,说明联合国在解决战争中的暴行方面所做的努力。 古特雷斯认为,他的报告和其他人在这方面的工作正面临来自世界权力掮客的抵制。 在 15 月 XNUMX 日的辩论中,他与 Bahous 相呼应,认为世界在冲突调解中实现平等代表权的决心似乎是徒劳的。

“妇女的平等是一个权力问题,”他说。 “今天的政治僵局和根深蒂固的冲突只是持久的权力不平衡和父权制如何继续让我们失望的最新例子。”

古特雷斯指出,乌克兰已向联合国人权事务高级专员办事处提交了 124 起针对妇女和女孩的性虐待案件。 他将阿富汗、刚果民主共和国、苏丹、缅甸和马里列为男性做出的决定对妇女和女孩造成创伤和排斥的其他地方。

“而且我们知道,对于每一个报告这些可怕罪行的女性来说,可能会有更多的女性保持沉默或未被记录,”他补充说。 “女性难民正在发挥领导作用,并支持东道国的应对措施。 在乌克兰,选择不撤离的妇女处于医疗保健和社会支持的最前沿。 乌克兰妇女充分参与所有调解工作非常重要。”

在他的 2022报告 关于与冲突有关的性暴力,古特雷斯表示,一些国家没有加强国家机构调查不安全地区性暴力事件的能力。

古特雷斯在他的 2021 年和 2022 年报告中说:“在脆弱和受冲突影响的国家,军事支出超过了对与流行病相关的医疗保健的投资。”

他在报告中提到的两个脆弱国家位于非洲萨赫勒地区的干旱地区。 在过去的两年里,马里和布基纳法索都驱逐了平民民主政府。 (马里两次发动了两次军事政变;此外,几内亚在 2021 年发生了政变。)

比内塔迪奥普非洲联盟妇女、和平与安全问题特使在辩论中表示,这些国家的妇女受到政变和不断恶化的暴力和动荡的双重伤害。

“萨赫勒地区的妇女说她们受到双重影响,不仅是政变,还有恐怖分子的袭击,”她说。

然而,在这一天的辩论中,许多其他国家也参加了辩论,许多发言者表示,直接受到暴力影响的妇女被排除在解决她们所遭受的虐待之外。

格里豪斯巴肯挪威文化和性别平等部国务秘书,建议区域团体通过 WPS 议程推动正义的一种方式是“减少障碍”并保护女性人权捍卫者“免受报复”。

另一方面,俄罗斯驻联合国大使瓦西里·内本齐亚(Vassily Nebenzia)以不太具有建设性的语调开始了他的讲话,  安理会辩论的主题“看起来相当模糊,但在很大程度上可以预测乌克兰的局势”。 他深入研究了他的国家在乌克兰的袭击合理化,然后说:“我们的西方同事没有机会成功利用乌克兰的性暴力这个话题,据称是俄罗斯军队犯下的。 你所拥有的只是虚假和谎言,而不是一个事实或证据。”

无论在 Nebenzia 看来,这场辩论多么“模糊”,联合国妇女署的 Bahous 都重复了这个紧迫的问题。

“作为区域组织,当你召集谈判时,确保你不必问自己,'女性在哪里?'”她说。

*达米洛拉班卓琴 是PassBlue的记者。 她拥有哥伦比亚大学新闻研究生院的理学硕士学位和尼日利亚伊巴丹大学的传播和语言艺术学士学位。 她曾担任 NPR 位于北卡罗来纳州夏洛特的 WAFE 电台的制作人; 为 BBC 担任调查记者; 并担任撒哈拉记者媒体的特约调查记者。

 

关闭
加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

加入讨论...

滚动到顶部

Of Foxes and Chicken Coops* – Reflections on the “Failure of the Women, Peace and Security Agenda”

Women, Peace and Security: Security Council Open Debate 2019.  Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, Executive Director of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), briefs the Security Council meeting on Women and peace and security. The theme of the meeting was to aim towards the successful implementation of the women, peace and security agenda: moving from commitments to accomplishments in preparation for the commemoration of the twentieth anniversary of Security Council resolution 1325 (2000). (Photo: UN Women via Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Of Foxes and Chicken Coops*

Reflections on the “Failure of the Women, Peace and Security Agenda”

By Betty A. Reardon 

The facts of Damilola Banjo’s June 15, 2022 PassBlue report (posted below) were hardly surprising. UN member states have failed to fulfill their UNSCR 1325 obligations, with the virtual shelving of much-heralded plans of action. It is clear that the failure lies not in the Women, Peace and Security Agenda (WPS), nor in the Security Council resolution which gave rise to it, but rather among the member states that have stonewalled rather than implemented National Action Plans (NAPs), failing across the board to appoint women to peace negotiations. “Where are the women?” a speaker at this Security Council asked. As I will observe below, the women are on the ground, working in direct actions to fulfill the agenda.

My own intention in collaborating with other members of the CSOs, whose education and persuasion of a sufficient number of ambassadors on the Security Council led to the adoption of the resolution, was to obtain the UN’s recognition of women’s essential role in any peace process and an acknowledgement that peace is essential to the realization of women’s full equality, and that lasting peace will not be achieved so long as women are not legally, politically, socially and culturally equal to men. The significance of the relationship between women’s equality and peace is observed in Secretary General’s observation that patriarchy is a significant obstacle to the WPS Agenda.

1325 has not failed. It has produced results. It has become the normative framework for what women have and continue to do to achieve peace and security in their own communities, countries and regions. It is the governments that have failed, but I never really expected the norm to guide actual state policy. Quite the opposite, I expected that at best the norm would be ignored, and, at worst, intentionally impeded, as has been the case with current backlash against women’s equality, even in “liberal democracies.” Outright rejection and repression of multiple forms of gender equality have occurred in a growing number of states in the grips of religious fundamentalisms, fueling authoritarianism, a significant factor not noted in the Passblue piece. It is not the agenda that has failed, but rather the states who have given it nothing but lip service, to the point of endangering the security of women. (See Cornelia Weiss, “Failing the Promise: Abandoning the Women of Afghanistan” forthcoming in Armed Forces and Society.)

Reflecting on the extreme challenge that women’s full participation in security matters presents to the managers of the existing interstate security system, the inner sanctum of global patriarchy, the best I expected was benign neglect. Such seemed a reasonable situation, permitting women to get on with it, as they were doing and have continued to do so, using the resolution as a recognized norm to inspire other women to do what was possible to reduce violence and promote equality and justice in their own local and regional contexts, those in which peace and security or the lack thereof are actual human experiences, not abstract state policies.

Women are carrying out the agenda at every level of the global order except the intergovernmental. Even there, there are multiple examples that indicate that on the few occasions when states or political parties included women in actual peace negotiations, the outcomes were more satisfying to all and therefore more lasting. Women’s effectiveness as peacemakers has been well documented by the films of Abigail Disney, such as “Pray the Devil Back to Hell,” in which women force negotiators to stay at the table, the first of a series of films, “Women, War and Peace.” The work of feminist scholar, Anne Marie Goetz documents developments on the agenda within the UN itself. Women from Helen Caldicott, Cora Weiss (see post on the 50th Anniversary of the June 12th March) Setsuko Thurlow, Beatrice Finn and Ray Acheson (even now reporting on the nuclear ban treaty) were prominent among the leaders of the movement to abolish nuclear weapons. As women brought 1325 into being, women’s energies and commitments were prominent in achieving the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

As to actual change on the ground, the “glocalization” and youth work of the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders focusing on the actual implementation of 1325 facilitates peace action among women the world over (GNWP’s initiatives have been featured on this site). For years women have been significant participants in the India-Pakistan Peace Forum. Collaborations of Greek and Turkish women, of Okinawa Women Act against Military Violence with women from other nations occupied by US military bases, Women Cross the DMZ, and more recently the American Women’s Peace and Education Delegation to Afghanistan have demanded accountability, and have opened and nourished channels of communication, even in on-going conflicts. Federico Mayor, former Director General of UNESCO has called for Russian and Ukrainian women to negotiate a cease fire and peace in that war that has so destructively impacted the entire world system, containing within it the threat of nuclear devastation. The foregoing is far from an exhaustive list of women’s active and effective involvement in the implementation of the WPS, the on-going global struggle for peace and human security and the ultimate abolition of war that was the envisioned goal of some of the CSO representatives who initiated 1325.

Another realm of women’s peace action seldom considered in UN-related assessments of the WPS agenda is that of scholar-activists who produced a theoretical literature, action research, and peace building actions on the ground. One country’s experience of such is to be found in Asha Hans and Swarna Rajagopolan, Openings for Peace: UNSCR 1325 and Security in India (Sage, New Delhi. 2016). In the absence of an Indian National Plan of action, these Indian scholar-activists paid attention to the details of plans of Nepal and other Asian countries. But the absence of a plan did not deter them from action as reported in the Hans-Rajagopolan volume. It was to a conference of such activists some years ago that I proposed that civil society organizations design and promulgate Peoples’ Plans of Action (PPAs). Plans are useful to articulate goals, develop implementation strategies and coordinate and sequence actions among those working toward a common goal. Were they seriously attended to they could be such for NAPs. However, since that is not the case, I continue to believe that more intentional and systematic multiparty civil society collaboration on WPS could be effective in the implementation of all the provisions of UNSCR 1325.  PPAs could bring the Women Peace and Security Agenda closer to the nourishment of the civil society roots of the resolution.

Women are not dependent on states to achieve actual and effective results in advancing peace and security. What they need is what the late Ruth Ginsberg argued before the US Supreme Court, that (the male political power structure) “take [their] feet off our necks.”  Were states truly interested in achieving sustainable peace, they would both lift their feet and take steps such as establishing national commissions of women to oversee the implementation of adequately funded NAPs, and providing at least a small part of what they expend on the arsenals they see as insurance against challenges to their power. A portion of weapons funding could be transferred to catalyze women’s actual and potential peace-building power. That small shift in military spending, a bargain at any price, might indicate that even the fox is capable of good faith.*

BAR, 6/22/22

* Full disclosure: When asked some years back to comment on the potential effectiveness of National Plans of Action, I opined that it seemed to me to be setting the fox to guard the chicken coop. As a peace educator, I like to believe that the fox could learn to do just that.

The Women, Peace and Security Agenda Is Not Yielding Results, Diplomats Say

(Reposted from: PassBlue, June 15, 2022)

Despite 100 countries enacting national plans to carry out the global women, peace and security agenda, women remain largely absent from conflict mediation and other peacemaking endeavors across the world. The agenda, cemented in a Security Council resolution approved in 2000, is supposed to ensure the equal participation of women in peace talks and other related steps. But the agenda has fallen far short of achieving that goal since it was authorized by UN member countries more than two decades ago.

Sima Bahous, the executive director of UN Women, emphasized the lack of participation by women in peace negotiations and mediation during a Security Council open debate on the role of regional organizations in carrying out the so-called WPS agenda, held on June 15. Bahous said that 12 regional groups have also adopted “action plans” on the agenda, up from five in 2015. Yet that does not add up to success.

The Council meeting was chaired by Albania’s foreign affairs minister, Olta Xhacka. Besides speeches delivered in the morning by the 15 Council members, Bahous and UN Secretary-General António Guterres, women representatives from the League of Arab States, the African Union, the European Union and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe spoke, each bringing their region’s individual response to the problem, with some noting small gains.

“With all these institutional progress, almost every time there are political negotiations, peace talks, we still have to ask, ‘Where are the women?’” Bahous said. As rotating president of the Council for June, Albania is raising the focus as Ukrainian women are reportedly being preyed on by human traffickers amid Russia’s invasion and Russian troops are being accused of raping Ukrainian women.

Ethnic Albanians understand the trauma of sexual violence in war all too well. In a year of conflict in Kosovo in the late 1990s, thousands of women were raped in Serbia’s battle to hold on to the territory. Kosovo is now recognized as a sovereign country by 97 UN member states.

Resolution 1325 on women, peace and security was agreed on in 2000, a year after the war ended in Kosovo, and one of its core purposes is to recognize how violence affects women and girls specifically. With that resolution, UN member states committed to including women in all peace-building processes.

Eight years later, the Council adopted Resolution 1820, addressing the particular problem of using sexual violence as a tool of warfare. Besides these two resolutions, seven others have been adopted to guarantee women’s equal roles in peace-building efforts in their countries or regions. The Albanian mission said in a statement that it was determined to hold sexual abuse offenders accountable to deepen the WPS agenda.

“The use of sexual violence as a tactic of war and terror continues to be a common element in conflicts around the world,” the statement said. “During the last decade of the 20th century our region, the Balkans, has witnessed firsthand sexual violence being used as a weapon of war, as well as the challenges faced by post-conflict societies in dealing with the trauma.”

Albania, a NATO member, also vowed in its focus on women, peace and security in June to strengthen the collective international response to protect the rights of rape survivors by ensuring perpetrators are held to account. That includes using sanctions and ad hoc justice mechanisms — like tribunals — to go after abusers. Actioning the pledge has been tricky if nonexistent in the last two decades.

Unable to prosecute member states directly, the UN has been aiming to enhance the ability of nongovernmental organizations and a range of judicial institutions to collate and prosecute conflict-related sexual violence. As the leader of the UN, Guterres is in charge of this work. Annually, he presents a report to the Council on the UN’s efforts at tackling atrocities committed in wars. Guterres contends that his reports and the work of others in this regard are facing pushback from the world’s power brokers. Speaking at the June 15 debate, he echoed Bahous on the seeming futility of the world’s resolve to equalize representation in conflict mediation.

“Women’s equality is a question of power,” he said. “Today’s political deadlocks and entrenched conflicts are just the latest examples of how enduring power imbalances and patriarchy are continuing to fail us.”

Guterres noted that 124 cases of sexual abuse committed against women and girls in Ukraine have been submitted to the office of the UN high commissioner for human rights. He listed Afghanistan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan, Myanmar and Mali as other places where decisions made by men have traumatized and excluded women and girls.

“And we know that for every woman who reports these horrific crimes, there are likely to be many more who remain silent, or unrecorded,” he added. “Women refugees are taking on leadership roles and supporting the response in host countries. Inside Ukraine, women who chose not to evacuate are at the forefront of healthcare and social support. It is important that Ukrainian women participate fully in all mediation efforts.”

In his 2022 report on conflict-related sexual violence, Guterres said that some countries were not strengthening the capacity of national institutions to investigate incidents of sexual violence in insecure areas.

“Military spending outpaced investment in pandemic-related health care in fragile and conflict-affected countries,” Guterres said in his 2021 and 2022 reports.

Two of the fragile countries to which he referred in his reports are located in the arid lands of the Sahel region in Africa. In the last two years, Mali and Burkina Faso have both ejected civilian, democratic governments. (Mali has carried out two military coups twice; in addition, Guinea underwent a coup in 2021.)

Bineta Diop, the special envoy to the African Union on women, peace and security, said at the debate that women in these countries have been doubly hurt by the coups and the worsening violence and upheaval.

“The women in the Sahel say they are doubly affected, not just by the coups but by terrorists’ attacks,” she said.

Yet many speakers at the daylong debate, which also featured dozens of other countries participating, said that women who are directly affected by violence are excluded from resolving the abuse they have endured.

Gry Haugsbakken, state secretary in Norway’s ministry of culture and gender equality, suggested that one way that regional groups could push justice through the WPS agenda would be to “reduce barriers” and protect women human-rights defenders “against reprisals.”

On the other hand, Russia’s ambassador to the UN, Vassily Nebenzia, began his remarks on a not-so-constructive note, saying the topic of the Council debate “appears rather vague, but to a large extent, it can be projected on the situation in Ukraine.” He delved into rationalizing his country’s attacks in Ukraine, and then said: “Our Western colleagues have no chance to succeed at exploiting the topic of sexual violence in Ukraine, allegedly committed by Russian troops. All you have is fakes and lies, and not a single fact or piece of evidence.”

However “vague” the debate appeared to Nebenzia, Bahous of UN Women repeated the burning question.

“As regional organizations, when you convene negotiations, ensure that you do not have to ask yourself, ‘Where are the women?’” she said.

*Damilola Banjo is a staff reporter for PassBlue. She has a master’s of science degree from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and a B.A. in communications and language arts from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. She has worked as a producer for NPR’s WAFE station in Charlotte, N.C.; for the BBC as an investigative journalist; and as a staff investigative reporter for Sahara Reporters Media.

 

close

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...