尼日利亚迈出引入和平教育课程的第一步

(转自: 联合国教科文组织。 15 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

来自尼日利亚各地的教育官员于 26 年 27 月 2023 日至 XNUMX 日在联邦教育部的领导下在拉各斯举行会议,讨论制定第一个国家和平教育课程,重点关注解决暴力历史问题。 它旨在揭示该国丰富、多样和复杂的历史,并为学生提供防止暴行和和平共处所需的知识和价值观。 尼日利亚正在推出该项目,作为教科文组织的一部分 国际大屠杀和种族灭绝教育计划,与美国大屠杀纪念馆共同实施。

研究大屠杀的历史可以增进对种族灭绝的驱动因素、过程和后果、偏见和仇恨言论的危险以及历史事件的人性层面的理解。 事实证明,它是参与有关未解决的国家创伤的艰难对话的有用切入点。 

拉各斯会议的与会者强调了此类课程在全国范围内的重要性。 他们讨论了如何借鉴国际专业知识和实践 关于暴力过去的教导 通知其起草。 研究大屠杀的历史可以增进对种族灭绝的驱动因素、过程和后果、偏见和仇恨言论的危险以及历史事件的人性层面的理解。 事实证明,它是参与有关未解决的国家创伤的艰难对话的有用切入点。 

作为会议的成果,尼日利亚联合国教科文组织国家委员会秘书长、联邦教育部主任、尼日利亚教育研究与发展委员会(NERDC)执行秘书、国家教育学院委员会执行秘书( NCCE)和尼日利亚选定的六个地缘政治区(联邦地区)的教育委员商定了一项行动计划,其中包括课程开发、实施和传播的后续步骤。 

开发内容以了解过去

他们现在将努力定义塑造该课程的必要内容元素。 随着项目的进展,该团队希望未来的课程能够成为该地区其他国家寻求解决其困难历史的典范,同时建设一个更加和平和包容的世界。  

“根据尼日利亚教育部门代表在会议上富有成效的讨论结果,大家一致认为,以大屠杀教育内容为基础,可能有利于加强尼日利亚的和平教育课程。 然而,根据尼日利亚当地情况调整此类教材对于培养主人翁意识并确保新课程的轻松实施至关重要。”尼日利亚联合国教科文组织国家委员会秘书长拉特夫·奥拉贡朱博士说道。 

这项合作由尼日利亚联邦教育部、尼日利亚联合国教科文组织全国委员会和尼日利亚教育研究与发展委员会牵头,得到了联合国教科文组织巴黎和阿布贾团队的技术支持,以及重要的 IPHGE 合作伙伴的支持:美国大屠杀纪念博物馆(USHMM)。 2023 年初,尼日利亚团队在 为期一周的大屠杀和种族灭绝教育研讨会 由位于华盛顿特区的 USHMM 提供  

为了支持和激励整个非洲大陆类似举措的发展,教科文组织最近发布了 关于通过非洲教育加强预防种族灭绝的政策简报。 它概述了决策者在将教育内容纳入建设和平和预防种族灭绝工作时应考虑的事项的建议。 尼日利亚队将与他们并肩使用 教科文组织和联合国非洲教师专门指南。 这些资源将为教育工作者提供知识、教学原则和具体教学法,以设计有关复杂历史的课程并引导相关的课堂讨论。 

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Nigeria making first steps to introduce a peace education curriculum

(Reposted from: UNESCO. November 15, 2023)

Education officials from all over Nigeria met in Lagos on 26-27 October 2023 under the leadership of the Federal Ministry of Education to discuss the development of the first national peace education curriculum with a focus on addressing violent pasts. It aims to unpack the country’s rich, diverse and complicated history and provide students with the knowledge and values needed to prevent atrocities and live together in peace. Nigeria is rolling out this project as part of UNESCO’s International Program on Holocaust and Genocide Education, implemented with the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Studying the history of the Holocaust can enhance understanding of the drivers, processes and consequences of genocide, the danger of prejudice and hate speech, and the human dimensions of historical events. It has also proven to be a helpful entry point for engaging in difficult conversations about unaddressed national trauma. 

The Lagos meeting participants underscored the nationwide importance of such a curriculum. They discussed how they could draw from international expertise and practices of teaching about violent pasts to inform its drafting. Studying the history of the Holocaust can enhance understanding of the drivers, processes and consequences of genocide, the danger of prejudice and hate speech, and the human dimensions of historical events. It has also proven to be a helpful entry point for engaging in difficult conversations about unaddressed national trauma. 

As an outcome of the gathering, the Secretary General of the Nigeria National Commission for UNESCO, Director from the Federal Ministry of Education, Executive Secretary of Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC), Executive secretary of the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) and Commissioners of Education from selected six geopolitical zones (federal regions) of Nigeria agreed on an action plan with the next steps for the curriculum development, implementation and dissemination. 

Developing content to learn about the past

They will now work to define the necessary content elements shaping this curriculum. As the project progresses, the team hopes for the future curriculum to serve as a model for other countries in the region seeking to address their difficult histories while building a more peaceful and inclusive world.  

“Based on the results of productive discussions Nigerian Education Sector representatives had at the meeting, there’s a shared agreement that building on the content of Holocaust education could be beneficial for enhancing Nigeria’s Peace Education Curriculum. However, adapting such educational materials to the Nigerian local context is essential for fostering a sense of ownership and ensuring easy implementation of this new curriculum,” said Dr. Lateef Olagunju, Secretary General, National Commission for UNESCO, Nigeria. 

This collaborative effort, led by the Nigerian Federal Ministry of Education, the Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO, and the Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council, received technical support from UNESCO teams in Paris and Abuja, as well as support from the key IPHGE partner – the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM). Earlier in 2023, the Nigerian team honed their project plan at a week-long workshop on Holocaust and genocide education offered by USHMM in Washington, D.C.  

To support and inspire the development of similar initiatives across the continent, UNESCO has recently published a policy brief on strengthening genocide prevention through education in Africa. It outlines recommendations for policy-makers on what to consider when including an education component to peacebuilding and genocide prevention efforts. The Nigerian team will use them alongside UNESCO and the United Nations specialized guide for African teachers. These resources will equip educators with knowledge, teaching principles and concrete pedagogies to design lessons about complex histories and navigate related classroom discussions. 

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top