新报告审视男性在女性、和平与安全方面的盟友地位

(转载自:乔治敦妇女、和平与安全研究所通讯。2 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日)

报告概述

乔治敦妇女、和平与安全研究所本周发布了一份新报告,题为“超越男性参与:男子气概、(非)暴力与建设和平”与来自印度尼西亚和菲律宾受冲突影响地区的当地研究伙伴合作,并得到了笹川和平基金会的支持,该基金会一直深入参与整个东南亚的和平建设。 

该报告由罗伯特·U·内格尔博士、约书亚·艾伦和克里斯汀·贝克加德撰写,为越来越多的研究做出了贡献,这些研究探讨了如何通过与男性和男子气概的接触来加强提高女性地位的努力。

日本外务大臣上川洋子、日本驻联合国大使石兼公博和美国驻联合国大使琳达·托马斯·格林菲尔德于 30 月 XNUMX 日在联合国总部举行年度安理会妇女问题公开辩论后协助发布了这份报告、 和平与安全。

“我们确实需要男人作为盟友,” 安布说。 托马斯-格林菲尔德。 “女性不应该总是呼吁性别失衡。” 

“我们确实需要男人作为盟友,” 安布说。 托马斯-格林菲尔德。 “女性不应该总是呼吁性别失衡。” 

此次启动活动由日本和美国常驻联合国代表团、GIWPS 和笹川和平基金会共同主办。

“需要新的想法来将这一重要的 [WPS] 举措提升到一个新的水平,并且在这个问题上加入男性的观点非常关键,”说 日本外务大臣上川洋子是日本妇女、和平与安全领域的杰出领导人。 “例如,日本的第三个国家行动计划特别提到了男性参与的必要性,并将加强对男性的宣传确定为一项需要采取的关键行动。”

Equimundo 总裁兼创始人 Gary Barker 博士也在发布会上致辞; 印度尼西亚正义与和平基金会董事会主席 Samsidar 女士; 笹川和平财团和平建设项目主任兼高级项目官员中山真帆女士。

主要发现和政策影响

该报告借鉴了当地合作伙伴及其普查员团队对印度尼西亚亚齐省和马鲁古省以及菲律宾棉兰老岛穆斯林邦萨摩洛自治区的 6,000 多名男性和女性进行的调查,确定了正在发挥作用的男性气质规范类型在三个案例中,这些规范如何与和平与暴力相关,以及它们如何塑造妇女获得权力的能力。 主要调查结果和政策影响包括:

  • 男性认为,对于在三个受冲突影响的社区生活的男性来说,具有暴力能力是最不重要的品质。 相反,他们重视保护性、以家庭为导向、强大但非暴力、宗教和经济提供者。
  • 促进妇女经济赋权的努力可能特别容易受到男性的强烈反对,因为他们重视经济提供者的作用,因此可能需要额外的保障措施。
  • 女性,尤其是作为母亲和妻子的女性,在塑造男性气质的期望方面发挥着重要作用。 
  • 暴力预防计划需要与男性和女性合作。 妻子和母亲可以成为寻求改变男性信仰和行为的计划的关键盟友。
  • 男性受访者表达了对男性气质的不同期望。
  • 参与性计划应与当地男性和男孩合作,确定他们想要的不同角色和责任,并探索这些如何支持性别平等和可持续和平。

突出我们的本地合作伙伴

该报告是 GIWPS、笹川和平基金会以及来自包括以下组织在内的专门研究人员和活动家之间为期三年的国际研究合作的结果 国际亚齐和印度洋研究中心亚洲跨性别研究与学习棉兰老岛州立大学帕斯卡亚齐;和 帕蒂穆拉大学 在马鲁古省安汶。 这是探索该地区对男性气质、暴力与和平的态度的一系列报告的一部分,当地合作伙伴即将发布出版物。

GIWPS 很荣幸邀请到来自印度尼西亚和菲律宾的合作研究人员参加我们在乔治城大学举行的专家小组讨论和研讨会。

“男性气质是复杂且不断变化的。 家庭和社区是冲突后确定男性气质和改变性别不平等的一个重要但被忽视的领域,”InteGRAL 联合创始人兼联合执行董事 Rizki Affiat 女士说道。 

了解我们的更多信息 跨国伙伴关系.

为什么要关注男性和男子气概?

“引入男性和男子气概可以避免让女性承担实现性别平等的唯一义务。 我们需要动员男性创建更多性别平等的进程和机构,让所有人受益。” 

Robert U Nagel 博士,GIWPS 报告主要作者

“仅靠妇女赋权不会让我们实现实地的系统性转型。 我们需要了解男性利益相关者的看法并赢得他们的信任,让他们了解女性赋权”

Maho Nakayama,笹川和平基金会和平建设项目主任兼高级项目官员
加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

New report examines men as allies in women, peace and security

(Reposted from: The Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security Newsletter. November 2, 2023)

Overview of the Report

The Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security launched a new report this week titled “Beyond Engaging Men: Masculinities, (Non)Violence, and Peacebuilding” in collaboration with local research partners from conflict-affected regions in Indonesia and the Philippines and with support from the Sasakawa Peace Foundation, which has been deeply engaged in peacebuilding across Southeast Asia. 

The report, authored by Dr. Robert U. Nagel, Joshua Allen and Kristine Baekgaard, contributes to a growing body of research that explores how efforts to improve the status of women are strengthened by engaging with men and masculinities.

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan Yoko Kamikawa, Japan’s Ambassador to the UN Kimihiro Ishikane, and US Ambassador to the UN Linda Thomas-Greenfield helped launch the report at United Nations headquarters on October 30 on the heels of the annual Security Council Open Debate on Women, Peace and Security.

“We really need men as allies,” said Amb. Thomas-Greenfield. “Women should not always have to be the ones calling out gender imbalances.” 

“We really need men as allies,” said Amb. Thomas-Greenfield. “Women should not always have to be the ones calling out gender imbalances.” 

The launch event was co-hosted by the Permanent Missions of Japan and the United States to the United Nations, together with GIWPS and the Sasakawa Peace Foundation.

“New ideas are needed to elevate this important [WPS] initiative to the next level and adding men’s perspectives on this issue is very critical,” said Japanese Minister for Foreign Affairs Yoko Kamikawa, who has been an exceptional leader on Women, Peace and Security in Japan. “For example, Japan’s third National Action Plan specifically includes references to the need for men’s engagement and identifies strengthening of advocacy for men as a key action to take.”

The launch event also included remarks by President and Founder of Equimundo Dr. Gary Barker; Chair of the Board of Trustees for Indonesian Justice and Peace Foundation Ms. Samsidar; and Director and Senior Program Officer of Peacebuilding Program at Sasakawa Peace Foundation Ms. Maho Nakayama.

Key Findings and Policy Implications

Drawing on a survey of over 6,000 men and women in Aceh and Maluku in Indonesia and the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao in the Philippines carried out by local partners and their teams of enumerators, the report identifies the kinds of masculinity norms that are playing out in three cases, how these norms are related to peace and violence, and how they shape women’s ability to access power. Key findings and policy implications include:

  • Men consider being capable of violence the least important quality for being a man across three conflict-affected communities. Instead, they value being protective, family-oriented, strong but nonviolent, religious, and economic providers.
  • Efforts to advance women’s economic empowerment might be particularly susceptible to backlash from men because they value the role of economic provider–and consequently may require additional safeguards.
  • Women, especially in their roles as mothers and wives, play a significant part in shaping expectations of masculinity. 
  • Violence prevention programs need to work with men and women. Wives and mothers can be key allies in programs seeking to change men’s beliefs and behaviors.
  • Male respondents express a desire for different expectations of masculinity.
  • Participatory programs should engage with local men and boys to identify what different roles and responsibilities they desire and explore how these can support gender equality and sustainable peace.

Highlighting Our Local Partners

The report is the result of a three-year long international research collaboration between GIWPS, the Sasakawa Peace Foundation, and dedicated researchers and activists from organizations including the International Center for Aceh and Indian Ocean StudiesIntersectional Gender Research and Learning AsiaMindanao State UniversityPASKA Aceh; and Pattimura University in Ambon, Maluku. It is part of a series of reports exploring attitudes towards masculinities, violence, and peace in the region, with publications from local partners forthcoming.

GIWPS was honored to have partner researchers from Indonesia and the Philippines join us at Georgetown University for an expert panel discussion and workshop.

“Masculinities are complex and evolving. The household and community are an important and overlooked domain for determining masculinity and transforming gender inequalities after conflict,” said Ms. Rizki Affiat, co-founder and co-executive director of InteGRAL. 

Learn more about our transnational partnership.

Why Focus on Men and Masculinities?

“Bringing in men and masculinities avoids burdening women with the sole obligation of achieving gender equality. We need to mobilize men to create more gender-equal processes and institutions that will benefit everyone.” 

Dr. Robert U Nagel, Lead Report Author, GIWPS

“Women’s empowerment alone will not lead us to systemic transformation on the ground. We need to understand the perceptions of male stakeholders and gain their trust and make them understand women’s empowerment”

Maho Nakayama, Director and Senior Program Officer, Peacebuilding Program, Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top