新书“叛徒”将 Dubsmash 和 TikTok 定位为与文化相关的教学法

《叛徒:从 Dubsmash 到 TikTok 的数字舞蹈文化》封面
《叛徒:从 Dubsmash 到 TikTok 的数字舞蹈文化》封面

这本书认为,Dubsmash 和 TikTok 等社交媒体平台是塑造当代青年身份的基本空间。

教育家 Trevor Boffone 出版了新书《叛徒:从 Dubsmash 到 TikTok 的数字舞蹈文化》(牛津大学出版社,2021 年)。 在他使用 Dubsmash 和 TikTok 与德克萨斯州休斯顿贝莱尔高中的学生建立联系的基础上,“叛徒”介绍了社交媒体舞蹈应用程序的世界,同时强调了如何将这些平台用作一种文化响应形式教学。

《叛徒》对 Dubsmash、TikTok 和嘻哈音乐和舞蹈在美国青年身份形成中所扮演的角色进行了质询。 Boffone 将他的教室作为一个空间,探索嘻哈文化——主要是音乐和舞蹈——如何被用来构建和表现身份,并保持不断增长的城市青年亚文化。 青少年通过使用表现策略来强化他们的文化和个人身份,这些策略强化了数字时代社区和社交媒体相互关联的概念。 这本书认为,Dubsmash 和 TikTok 等社交媒体平台是塑造当代青年身份的基本空间。

Boffone 在整本书中都融入了他的教学经验,明确地在后面的章节中,为通过舞蹈建立反种族主义社区提供了蓝图。 随着 Dubsmash 和 TikTok 等应用在美国学生中越来越受欢迎,它们作为文化响应式教学工具的用途也有所增加。 Boffone 的工作证明了这一现象。

感兴趣的读者可以从牛津大学出版社购买“叛徒:从 Dubsmash 到 TikTok 的数字舞蹈文化”的副本. 这本书平装本售价 29.99 美元,电子书售价 19.99 美元。 折扣代码 AAFLYG6 可享受 30% 的折扣。

关闭

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

New book “Renegades” positions Dubsmash and TikTok as culturally relevant pedagogy

Cover of "Renegades: Digital Dance Cultures from Dubsmash to TikTok"
Cover of “Renegades: Digital Dance Cultures from Dubsmash to TikTok”

The book argues that social media platforms such as Dubsmash and TikTok serve as a fundamental space to fashion contemporary youth identity.

Educator Trevor Boffone has published a new book, “Renegades: Digital Dance Cultures from Dubsmash to TikTok” (Oxford University Press, 2021). Building on his work using Dubsmash and TikTok to connect with his students at Bellaire High School in Houston, Texas, “Renegades” offers an introduction to the world of social media dance apps while highlighting how these platforms can be used as a form of culturally responsive teaching.

“Renegades” interrogates the roles that Dubsmash, TikTok, and hip hop music and dance play in youth identity formation in the United States. Boffone uses his classroom as a space to explore how hip hop culture–principally music and dance–is used to construct and perform identity and maintain a growing urban youth subculture. Teenagers privilege their cultural and individual identities through the use of performance strategies that reinforce notions of community and social media interconnectedness in the digital age. The book argues that social media platforms such as Dubsmash and TikTok serve as a fundamental space to fashion contemporary youth identity.

Boffone weaves in his teaching experience throughout the book, explicitly in later chapters, offering a blueprint for anti-racist community building through dance. As apps like Dubsmash and TikTok have grown in popularity with students in the United States, their uses as tools for culturally responsive teaching have also increased. Boffone’s work is a testament to this phenomenon.

Interested readers can purchase copies of “Renegades: Digital Dance Cultures from Dubsmash to TikTok” from Oxford University Press. The book is priced at $29.99 for paperback and $19.99 for ebook. Discount code AAFLYG6 is good for 30% off.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...