新书:回收的冲突后正义

“本书是构建和平知识和通过追求正义发起和平行动不可或缺的资源。” – 贝蒂 A. 里尔登

冲突后恢复正义:伊拉克问题世界法庭的民主化正义

作者:Janet C. Gerson 和 Dale T. Snauwaert

剑桥学者出版社出版,2021 年

本书通过对伊拉克问题世界法庭 (WTI) 的探索,为我们将冲突后司法理解为全球伦理和正义的基本要素做出了重要贡献。 2003 年的伊拉克战争激起了全世界的抗议,并引发了关于战争非法性和非法性的辩论。 作为回应,WTI 由反战与和平活动家、国际法专家以及声称全球公民有权调查和记录官方当局、政府和联合国的战争责任以及他们的权利的普通人组织。违反全球公共意愿。 WTI 的民主化、实验性形式构成了回​​收冲突后正义,这是冲突后和正义研究领域内的一个新概念。 本书为所有寻求将协商民主作为振兴和平与公正世界秩序的伦理规范的可行基础的人提供了理论和实践指南。

通过剑桥学者出版社购买这本书

作者简介

Janet C. Gerson,EdD,是国际和平教育研究所的教育主任,并曾担任哥伦比亚大学和平教育中心的联合主任。 她获得了 2018 年人类尊严和屈辱研究终身成就奖和 2014 年和平与正义研究协会全球正义公共审议奖:伊拉克世界法庭。 她为人类尊严:实践、话语和转变(2020 年)贡献了章节; 探索 Betty A. Reardon 对和平教育的看法 (2019); 冲突解决手册(2000 年、2006 年); 和学习废除战争:和平文化教学(2001 年)。

Dale T. Snauwaert 博士是美国托莱多大学教育与和平研究哲学教授,和平教育基础研究生证书课程主任和和平研究本科辅修课程主任。 他是 In Factis Pax: Online Journal of Peace Education and Social Justice 的创始编辑,并获得了哥伦比亚和平教育的富布赖特专家资助。 他的著作涉及民主理论、正义理论、战争与和平伦理、和平研究的规范基础和和平教育哲学等主题。 他最近的出版物包括: Betty A. Reardon:和平与人权教育的先驱; Betty A. Reardon:性别与和平的关键文本; 以及超越普遍主义和相对主义的人权教育:全球正义的关系诠释(与 Fuad Al-Daraweesh 合作)等。

前言

作者:Betty A. Reardon

Mort,“没有什么比精心设计的理论更实用的了。”

贝蒂,“确实,没有什么比定义明确的概念更实用的理论了。”

回顾这本书时,我想起了几年前与已故冲突研究领域享誉全球的先驱莫顿·多伊奇 (Morton Deutsch) 的上述交流,这本书在理论上和概念上都是开创性的著作。 Janet Gerson 和 Dale Snauwaert 提供了整个和平知识、研究、教育和行动领域,对我们如何思考和采取作为和平基础的正义的必要性做出了创新和宝贵的贡献。 这一基础在《世界人权宣言》和许多其他规范性声明中明确阐述,尽管遭到挫败和动摇,但仍然是挑战构成和平问题的多种暴力形式的道德基础。

回收正义:伊拉克问题世界法庭的民主化正义 体现了为最有希望的当代和平行动提供信息的三个基本要素; 正义、法律和民间社会。 它将当代国际公民社会的倡议置于现代政治哲学不可或缺的正义理论框架内。 它评估对法律在实现可持续和平与民主方面的效用的看法和态度。 最重要的是,它提供了“冲突后正义”的创新概念。 现在,当公共政策制定中很少或没有优先考虑正义,而民主被视为傻瓜的梦想时,本书提供了一个有据可查的案例研究,表明追求正义并非徒劳,民主也不是愚蠢的梦想. 它向我们表明,法律和司法程序,即使存在来源、解释和执行方面的所有问题,仍然是建立公正世界秩序的有用工具。

正义是民主的概念核心,及其两个基本和不可或缺的催化剂,即法律和公民责任,是众多努力减少并最终消除暴力作为政治策略的合法性的民众运动的核心。 从美国民权运动等国家例子到实现安理会关于妇女和平与安全的第 1325 号决议和禁止核武器条约的国际动员,克服不公正的动力为大多数有组织的非政府公民行动注入了活力. 来自世界所有地区的公民,合作:避免核武器的最终生态灭绝暴力; 防止和结束武装冲突的破坏; 阻止对气候变化所固有的生物圈的破坏; 并且为了克服剥夺数百万人类家庭人的平等和尊严的各种系统的侵犯人权行为,他们致力于寻求正义。 Gerson 和 Snauwaert 在叙述和评估国际民间社会与伊拉克世界法庭 (WTI) 将要解决的多个问题和难题的斗争中表示荣幸。 这一过程在全球层面生动地体现了公民责任,参与者声称自己是积极的公民,而不是国际政治秩序的被动主体。 该法庭是国际民间社会的几项杰出成就之一,标志着本世纪进入了第三个十年,成为在藐视法律和日益增多的镇压暴力的刺激下日益增强的威权主义之一。 然而,这也是前所未有的公民行动之一,旨在通过公民社会的力量恢复民主。

此类行动趋势之一,即本案所处的历史框架是人民法庭,当国家和州际司法机构没有希望公正解决冲突或赔偿公民因违反普遍持有规范,从压制人到并包括破坏人类安全。 从 1966 年在斯德哥尔摩召开罗素-萨特国际法庭,揭露越南战争的非法性和不道德行为,并要求追究那些在这场徒劳而代价高昂的武装冲突过程中犯下的多项战争罪行的责任人,到WTI,民间社会组织要求负责人为违反基本社会契约的不公正行为负责,国家有责任执行公民的意愿。 当国家不履行其职责,践踏法律对其权力的限制并蓄意阻挠人民的意志时,公民至少采取了独立的举措来确定这种情况的不公正,并宣布这些人的罪责。负责任的。 在某些情况下,这些公民继续在国家和国际层面的政府系统内寻求法律补救。 正如作者所说明的,其中一些引起决策者注意的举措包括一系列关于暴力侵害妇女行为的公开听证会,例如在与 1995 年联合国第四次世界会议相关的非政府组织论坛上举行的听证会。关于妇女,直到 2000 年在东京举行的精心组成的战时性奴役问题国际法庭,在日本电视上报道,其调查结果提交给联合国人权委员会(现为人权委员会)。精心构建的宪法,声称自己是原东京战争法庭的延伸,旨在确定日本在二战军事行为中犯下的罪行的责任。 该法庭被认为是国家进行程序不足的法庭之一。 2000 年东京法庭为数千名在最初审判中被忽视的“慰安妇”寻求正义,她们在二战期间在日本军队经营的妓院中系统地、不断地遭受强奸。 这个民间社会法庭是一群忠诚的全球公民手中的司法专业典范。 虽然这些程序都没有正式的国家或州际承认,但它们具有重要的道德力量,并说明了法律论证的效用,以阐明和澄清它们所解决的不公正现象。 而且,对于实际全球公民身份的演变最为重要的是,他们展示了公民社会提出这些论点的能力。

正如 Gerson 和 Snauwaert 所说,WTI 无疑是百年历史运动中的一个里程碑 以法律的效力代替武力的法律. 因此,所有认为自己是该运动一部分的人,以及所有致力于使和平知识领域成为促进其效力的重要因素的人都应该熟悉它。 WTI 并非完全以国际法为指导,对国际法的蔑视和滥用导致一些参与者拒绝适用相关国际标准。 尽管如此,它应该在承认(在东京法庭等情况下)援引和适用国际法的民间社会行动的历史中占有重要地位。 它还应该在旨在使这种公民行动成为可能的学习中占有一席之地。

然而,如果没有适当的概念化,就无法培养学习,也无法设计和执行行动。 出于这个原因,和平教育者对必要学习的关注认为回收正义的概念化,这项工作的核心,是对该领域的重大贡献。 从他们对本案的审查和评估中,作者提炼出一个新概念,拓宽了寻求的正义形式的范围,并且在民主的数百年演变过程中有时将其编入国家和国际法中。 他们的描述展示了公民社会的努力,源于二战后国际秩序不可或缺的两项基本政治原则; 公共政策应以公民的意志为基础,追求正义是国家的首要责任。 在美国对伊拉克发动的战争中,这两项原则都遭到了违反。 简而言之,WTI 试图 回收 人民主权是现代国家在 XNUMX 世纪中叶形成并承诺管理旨在“避免战祸”的国际秩序的萌芽政治概念。 到本世纪初,这些国家已经违背了这一目的,并在本案和其他案件中严重违反了这两项原则。

作者断言,WTI 是对编码到二战后国际秩序中的基本规范的回收,建立在联合国作为致力于实现和维护和平以及普遍承认的世界社会的机构中心之上所有人的基本权利和尊严。 应该强调的是,如前所述,这些规范植根于民主的萌芽思想和民主斗争中,即人民的意志应成为治理和公共政策的基础。 论坛本身源于公民对构成国际秩序的大多数,尤其是最强大的成员国违反该原则的愤怒。 正如作者所写的那样,一个新兴的、坚定的、专注的全球公民社会认为,在这种对规范实践和国际法的恶劣和公然蔑视旨在维护来之不易的国家的情况下,(如果仍然希望其意图和能力实现正义的话)是不公正的。和和平,)新兴的全球秩序。 组织者围绕着在本案中对抗和寻求正义的共同承诺聚集在一起,参与了作者认为是一种新形式的“冲突后正义”的过程。

然而,回收正义的概念有可能在冲突后局势之外得到更广泛的应用。 我认为它适用于其他社会和政治变革运动。 特别是因为它阐明了全球公民的实际现实,这在目前的国际教育文献中仍然是一个不明确的愿望。 在公民社会或人民法庭的框架内,全球公民得以实现,因为各个国家的个体公民在跨国舞台上行动,能够为共同的全球目标采取合作行动。 简而言之,公民授权公民社会在必要时采取行动以确保公共利益,正如国家在威斯特伐利亚体系中所做的那样。 随着该制度在现代国家中展开,渴望民主,公共利益将由人民的意志决定。

几个世纪以来,人民的意志一再被那些掌握国家权力的人践踏,最令人震惊的是独裁统治,在二战结束后被瓦解并追究法律责任,这一过程在一定程度上激发了人民法庭,并建立了在纽伦堡原则中,包括抵制不公正和非法的国家行为的公民义务、抵制非法和不公正的国家行为的个人责任原则。 那些年还见证了旨在恢复民主原则和实践并将其扩展到欧洲起源之外的机构和公约的建立。 这一战后国际秩序旨在确保回归人民主权的理念,将其作为个人及其所形成的协会(包括特别是国家)所寻求的基本人类尊严的政治表达。 自联合国和其他国家间组织成立以来,据推测,美国独立宣言所宣布的国家是为了确保联合国宣布为和平基础的同样固有权利。 正义,理解为实现和保护这些权利,已被公认为民主政治秩序的指导目标。 但是,如此定义的正义也被许多成员国的领导层认为和压制,他们担心它是对掌权者的威胁。 回收正义挑战了忽视国家基本目的的政治秩序的合法性,并直面对正义的恐惧所带来的后果。

这一概念工具为那些寻求将自我认同的民主国家从当代全球威权主义兴起的掌控中解放出来的人提供了新的希望。 在政府极端推卸公民责任的这个时候,没有任何政治概念比这更相关或更必要了。 它的效用与那些拥有(并不总是合法)行政权力的人使司法制度、法院和法官以及立法、民众代表机构退化的更具破坏性的趋势尤其相关。 各国的威权政权扭曲行政和军事机构,以维护和扩大自己的利益。 面对这些不公正现象,WTI 所体现的相关概念以及跨国公民行动是当务之急。 回收正义的想法回应了这种紧迫性。

最重要的是,这个新定义的概念对于和平教育的实践者和和平知识的建设者来说是一种宝贵的学习和分析工具。 概念是我们的主要思维工具。 在和平教育中使用概念框架来描绘出在表征和平教育课程的多种形式的反思性探究中解决的任何问题的实质。 这些课程的效用取决于它们产生的政治效力的程度。 我断言,这些结果在很大程度上取决于学习调查框架的相关性。 如果没有相关的概念来开发框架,就无法构建框架,也无法对查询进行排序。 作为冲突转化的概念,为可能构建和解决争端的方式带来了一个全新的维度,旨在从根本上改变产生它们的潜在条件,回收正义的概念为运动带来了一个新的、重建的目的克服和改变不公正,以及为公民参与这些运动做好准备的教育。 它为促进政治效能教育提供了基础。 它提供了一种深化和阐明正义理论框架的工具,从而使它们以及制定理论的教育更有效地设计正义政治。 因此,它将继续赋予公民权力并呼吁政府承担责任。 这条恢复民主的新途径是 Morton Deutsch 认为非常实用的好理论,而我声称的那个概念使阐明该理论成为可能。 本书是建设和平知识和通过追求正义发起和平行动不可或缺的资源。

酒吧,2/29/20

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

New book: Reclaimative Post-Conflict Justice

“This book is an indispensable resource for the construction of peace knowledge and the initiation of peace action through the pursuit of justice.” – Betty A. Reardon

Reclaimative Post-Conflict Justice: Democratizing Justice in the World Tribunal on Iraq

By Janet C. Gerson and Dale T. Snauwaert

Published by Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2021

This book presents an important contribution to our understanding of post-conflict justice as an essential element of global ethics and justice through an exploration of the World Tribunal on Iraq (WTI). The 2003 War in Iraq provoked worldwide protests and unleashed debates on the war’s illegitimacy and illegality. In response, the WTI was organized by anti-war and peace activists, international law experts, and ordinary people who claimed global citizens’ rights to investigate and document the war responsibilities of official authorities, governments, and the United Nations, as well as their violation of global public will. The WTI’s democratizing, experimental form constituted reclaimative post-conflict justice, a new conceptualization within the field of post-conflict and justice studies. This book serves as a theoretical and practical guide for all who seek to reclaim deliberative democracy as a viable foundation for revitalizing the ethical norms of a peaceful and just world order.

Purchase the book via Cambridge Scholars Publishing

About the Authors

Janet C. Gerson, EdD, is Education Director at the International Institute on Peace Education, and served as Co-Director of the Peace Education Center at Columbia University. She received the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award in Human Dignity and Humiliation Studies and the 2014 Peace and Justice Studies Association Award for Public Deliberation on Global Justice: The World Tribunal on Iraq. She has contributed chapters to Human Dignity: Practices, Discourses, and Transformations (2020); Exploring Betty A. Reardon’s Perspective on Peace Education (2019); The Handbook of Conflict Resolution (2000, 2006); and Learning to Abolish War: Teaching toward a Culture of Peace (2001).

Dale T. Snauwaert, PhD, is Professor of Philosophy of Education and Peace Studies and Director of the Graduate Certificate Program in the Foundations of Peace Education and the Undergraduate Minor in Peace Studies at the University of Toledo, USA. He is the Founding Editor of In Factis Pax: Online Journal of Peace Education and Social Justice, and received a Fulbright Specialist Grant for peace education in Colombia. He has published on such topics as democratic theory, theories of justice, the ethics of war and peace, the normative foundations of peace studies, and the philosophy of peace education. His recent publications include: Betty A. Reardon: A Pioneer in Education for Peace and Human Rights; Betty A. Reardon: Key Texts in Gender and Peace; and Human Rights Education beyond Universalism and Relativism: A Relational Hermeneutic for Global Justice (with Fuad Al-Daraweesh), among others.

Foreword

By Betty A. Reardon

Mort, “There is nothing so practical as a well-crafted theory.”

Betty, “Indeed, and there is nothing so practical for crafting theory than a well-defined concept.”

I recalled the above exchange from some years ago with the late Morton Deutsch, a globally respected pioneer in the field of conflict studies, as I reviewed this book, a theoretically and conceptually groundbreaking work. Janet Gerson and Dale Snauwaert offer the entire field of peace knowledge, research, education and action, an innovative and valuable contribution to how we think about and act upon the imperative of justice as the foundation of peace. That foundation, clearly articulated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and numerous other normative statements, thwarted and shaken as it is, remains the ethical ground from which to challenge the multiple forms of violence that constitute the peace problematic.

Reclaimative Justice: Democratizing Justice in the World Tribunal on Iraq embodies three essential elements that inform the most promising contemporary peace action; justice, law and civil society. It places an initiative of contemporary international civil society within the framework of the theories of justice integral to modern political philosophy. It assesses views of and attitudes toward the utility of law to the achievement of sustainable peace and democracy. Most significantly, it provides an innovative concept of “post-conflict justice.” Now, when justice is afforded little or no priority in public policymaking, and democracy is perceived as a dream of fools, this book presents a well documented case study, demonstrating that the pursuit of justice is not futile, and democracy is not a foolish dream.  It shows us that law and juridical processes, even with all their problems of challenged sources, interpretation and execution, remain useful tools for building a just world order.

Justice, the conceptual core of democracy, and its two fundamental and integral catalysts, law and civic responsibility, lies at the heart of multiple popular movements striving to reduce and, ultimately, eliminate the legitimacy of violence as a political strategy.  From national examples such as the US civil rights movement to international mobilizations such as that which achieved Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women Peace and Security and the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, a drive to overcome injustice has energized most organized, nongovernmental civic actions. Citizens from all world regions,   collaborating: to avert the ultimate ecocidal violence of nuclear weapons; to prevent and bring an end to the devastation of armed conflict; to hold back the destruction of the biosphere inherent in climate change; and to overcome the varied, systematic violations of human rights that deny human equality and dignity to millions of the human family, are engaged in quests for justice. Gerson and Snauwaert do them honor in recounting and assessing international civil society’s struggle with the multiple issues and conundrums to be resolved by the World Tribunal on Iraq (WTI). The process vividly manifested civic responsibility at the global level, the participants asserting themselves to be active citizens, rather than passive subjects of the international political order. The tribunal was one of the several outstanding achievements of international civil society that have marked this century, now entering its third decade, as one of increasing authoritarianism, spurred by the flouting of law and increasing repressive violence. Yet it has been, as well, one of unprecedented citizen action toward the reassertion of democracy through the agency of civil society.

One such action trend, the historic framework in which this case is situated is that of peoples’ tribunals, civil society initiatives undertaken when state and interstate juridical institutions offer no hope of just resolution of conflicts or restitution of harms to citizens for violation of commonly held norms, from repression of persons up to and including, the undermining of human security. From the 1966 convening of the Russell-Sartre international tribunal in Stockholm, to expose the illegality and immorality of the Vietnam War, and call to account those responsible for the multiple war crimes committed in the course of that futile and costly armed conflict, to the WTI, civil society has organized to call the responsible to account for injustices that violate the basic social contract that holds the state responsible to carry out the will of the citizenry. When states do not fulfill their responsibilities, trod upon the legal restraints on their power and deliberately thwart the will of the people, citizens have undertaken independent initiatives to – at the very least – establish the injustice of such situations, and declare the culpability of those responsible.  In some cases these citizens continue to seek legal redress within governmental systems at the national and international level. Some of these initiatives that have the caught the attention of policy makers have ranged, as the authors illustrate, from a series of public hearings on violence against women, such as that held at the NGO forum held in association with the 1995 UN Fourth World Conference on Women, up to the meticulously constituted International Tribunal on War Time Sexual Slavery held in Tokyo in 2000, reported on Japanese television, and its findings filed with the UN Commission on Human Rights   (Now the Human Rights Committee.) Organized and conducted under a carefully constructed constitution, it asserted itself to be an extension of the original Tokyo war tribunal, constituted to establish responsibility for crimes committed by Japan in its military conduct of World War II. That tribunal was deemed one of those in which the state conducted process fell short.  The 2000 Tokyo tribunal sought justice for thousands of “comfort women,” ignored in the original trial, who were systematically and constantly subjected to rape in brothels run by the Japanese military during World War II. This civil society tribunal was a model of juridical expertise in the hands of a group of committed global citizens. While none of these procedures had formal state or interstate recognition, they had significant moral force, and illustrated both the utility of legal argument to illuminate and clarify the injustices they addressed. And, mot significant to the evolution of actual global citizenship, they demonstrated the capacity of civil society to make those arguments.

The WTI, as Gerson and Snauwaert recount, is certainly a land mark in the centuries old movement to replace the law of force with the force of law. As such, it should be familiar to all who consider themselves part of that movement, and all who work toward making the field of peace knowledge a significant contributing factor in contributing to its efficacy. WTI was not wholly guided by international law, the flouting and misuse of which had led some participants to reject the application of the relevant international standards. None-the-less, it should be given a significant place in the history of civil society actions that acknowledge – and in instances such as the Tokyo tribunal – invoke and apply international law. It should, as well, feature in the learning intended to make such citizen action possible.

However, without appropriate conceptualization, the learning cannot be cultivated, nor the actions designed and executed. For that reason, a peace educator’s concern with the requisite learning deems the conceptualization of reclaimative justice, the heart of this work, to be a major contribution to the field. From their review and assessment of this case, the authors have distilled a new concept, broadening the range of the forms of justice sought and sometimes encoded into national and international law over the centuries of the evolution of democracy. Their account demonstrates a civil society effort, arising from two essential political principles integral to the post World War II international order; public policy should be based on the will of the citizenry, and the pursuit of justice is a primary responsibility of the state. Both principles had been violated in the war the United Stated initiated against Iraq. In short, the WTI was an attempt to reclaim popular sovereignty, the germinal political concept of the modern states that in the mid twentieth century fashioned and undertook to govern an international order intended “to avoid the scourge of war.” By the beginning of the current century these very states had defied that purpose and egregiously violated both principles in this and other cases.

WTI, the authors assert, was a reclaiming of the fundamental norms encoded into the Post World War II international order, constructed on the United Nations as the institutional center of a world society committed to the achievement and maintenance of peace, and to the universal recognition of fundamental rights and dignity for all people. It should be emphasized that those norms, as noted, were rooted in the germinal idea of and struggle for democracy, that the will of the people should be the basis of governance and public policy.  The tribune itself arose from citizen outrage at the violation of that principle by most, and especially the most powerful, member states that comprised the international order. As the authors write, an emergent, committed and focused global civil society perceived injustice in this egregious and flagrant state defiance of the normative practices and the international law intended to maintain the hard won, (if still wanting in its intentions and capacities to enact justice and peace,) emerging global order. The organizers gathered around a common commitment to confront and seek justice in this case, engaged in a process observed by the authors to be a new form of “post conflict justice.”

The concept of reclaimative justice, however, holds the potential for a far wider application beyond post conflict situations. I would argue that it is applicable to other movements for social and political change. Especially because it has illuminated the practical reality of global citizenship, which is still largely an ill-defined aspiration as it appears in the present literature of international education. Within the framework of civil society or people’s tribunals, global citizenship is realized, as individual citizens of various nations, acting within a transnational arena, become enabled to take collaborative action toward a common global goal. In short, citizens empower civil society to act in instances of necessity to assure the public good, as states were intended to do within the Westphalian system.  As that system unfolded into modern states, aspiring to democracy, public good was to be determined by the will of the people.

Through the centuries the will of the people was repeatedly trampled by those who held state power, never more egregiously than by the dictatorships,   dismantled and brought to legal accountability in the wake of WWII in a process that to some extent inspired people’s tribunals, and established in the Nuremberg Principles, including the civic duty to resist unjust and illegal state action, the principle of individual responsibility to resist illegal and unjust state actions. Those years also saw the establishment of institutions and conventions designed to reinstate democratic principles and practices, and to extend them beyond their European origins. This post war international order was intended to assure a return to the idea of popular sovereignty as the political expression of the fundamental human dignity sought by individuals and by the associations they form, including and especially states. Since the founding of the UN and other interstate organizations, states, it was presumed as pronounced in the American Declaration of Independence, were formed to secure the same inherent rights that the UN declares to be the foundation of peace. Justice, read as the realization and protection of those rights has been recognized as the guiding purpose of democratic political orders. But justice, so defined, has also been perceived and repressed by the leadership of many member states who feared it as a threat to the holders of power. Reclaimative justice challenges the legitimacy of political orders that neglect the presumed fundamental purpose of states and confronts the consequences of that fear of justice.

This conceptual tool offers fresh hope to those who seek to free self-identified democracies from the grasp of the contemporary global rise of authoritarianism. No political concept is more relevant or more necessary at this time of extreme abnegations of governmental responsibility to citizenries. Its utility is especially relevant to the even more damaging trend of the degradation of juridical systems, courts and judges and legislative, popular representative institutions by those who hold (not always legitimately) executive power. Authoritarian regimes in various countries distort administrative and military institutions to uphold and extend their own interests. In the face of these injustices, relevant concepts as well as transnational civic actions such as those embodied in the WTI are urgent necessities. The idea of reclaimative justice responds to this urgency.

Above all, this newly defined concept is a valuable learning and analytic tool for practitioners of peace education and builders of peace knowledge. Concepts are our primary thinking devices. Conceptual frameworks are used in peace education to map out the substance of whatever problematic is being addressed in the multiple forms of reflective inquiry that characterizes peace education curricula. The utility of such curricula are to be judged by the degree of political efficacy they engender. Those outcomes, I would assert are largely determined by the relevance of the frameworks of the learning inquiries.  Frameworks cannot be constructed nor inquiries sequenced without relevant concepts from which to develop them. As the concept of conflict transformation, brought a whole new dimension to ways in which disputes might be framed and resolved, aiming toward a fundamental change in the underlying conditions which produced them, the concept of reclaimative justice brings a new, reconstructive purpose to movements to overcome and transform injustice, and to the education that prepares citizens to participate in those movements. It offers a basis through which to facilitate education for political efficacy. It provides a vehicle to deepen and clarify the theoretical frameworks of justice, so as to make them, as well as the education to enact the theories, more effective in devising the politics of justice. In so dong it will continue to empower citizens and call governments to responsibility. This new avenue to the restoration of democracy is that good theory that Morton Deutsch found so practical and that concept that I claimed made it possible to articulate that theory. This book is an indispensable resource for the construction of peace knowledge and the initiation of peace action through the pursuit of justice.

BAR, 2/29/20

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...