تدعو الشبكة إلى إدراج تعليم السلام في المناهج المدرسية (غرب إفريقيا)

(الصورة: من مراسلي النهار)

(تم إعادة النشر من: مراسلو وضح النهار. 28 سبتمبر 2020)

"يسعى المشروع إلى استكشاف استخدام المناهج الدراسية كوسيلة لغرس الصفات اللازمة لمقاومة التطرف وتبني ثقافة السلام في المجتمع لدى الشباب."

نجيب ساني أدامو

دعت شبكة غرب إفريقيا لبناء السلام (WANEP) إلى إدراج تعليم السلام في المناهج المدرسية بهدف منع التطرف العنيف في القارة. قامت الشبكة بالدعوة يوم الاثنين في باوتشي أثناء إطلاق مشروع خاص حول منع التطرف العنيف (PVE) في منطقة الساحل ونيجيريا من أجل إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على تعليم اللاعنف والسلام في المؤسسات الابتدائية والثانوية والعالية في نيجيريا.

اعترافًا بالتعليم باعتباره تدخلاً إنمائيًا رئيسيًا مهمًا لبناء السلام ومكافحة التطرف العنيف ، قامت WANEP بالتعاون مع الجماعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب إفريقيا (ECOWAS) والشراكة العالمية لمنع النزاعات المسلحة (GPPAC) بتطوير منهج تعليمي لمكافحة التطرف العنيف في البلدان المتضررة.

في رسالة من WANEP عند إطلاق المشروع الذي أقيم في فندق وأجنحة شارتويل ، قال باوتشي ، الممثل الميداني للمشروع ، حاجية أمينة جبرين ، إن المشروع يهدف إلى استكمال جهود WANEP في إعداد جيل جديد من الشباب المرنين المجهزين والمجهزين لمحاربة التطرف العنيف بجميع أشكاله في نيجيريا.

وقالت: "يسعى المشروع إلى استكشاف استخدام المناهج الدراسية كوسيلة لغرس الصفات اللازمة لمقاومة التطرف وتبني ثقافة السلام في المجتمع لدى الشباب".

وفقًا لها ، "في نيجيريا ، تم اختيار ولاية باوتشي للمرحلة التجريبية لمقاومة التطرّف العنيف مع خمس مدارس تم اختيارها للمشاركة في المرحلة التجريبية للمشروع. ومن أجل تحقيق هدف المشروع ، تم اقتراح العديد من الأنشطة وتم تنفيذها بما في ذلك زيارات الدعوة إلى أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين للحصول على تأييدهم لمشروع منع التطرّف العنيف ، وقد تعهدوا بدعمهم لمشروع منع التطرّف العنيف. "

أكد بالا جيبرين من حاجية أمين أنه "بينما نطلق مشروع منع التطرف العنيف اليوم في بوتشي ، نتوقع أن يكون منهج منع التطرف العنيف في التخصصات الحالية أو البرامج التعليمية في مدارس مختارة في الولاية ، ونعتقد أيضًا أنه في نهاية في هذا المشروع ، سيكون هناك تقدير عميق وقدرة على التغيير السلوكي الإيجابي من قبل التلاميذ والطلاب في المدارس المشاركة وفي المدارس الأخرى التابعة في ولاية باوتشي ".

"سيساعد هذا في بناء ثقافة السلام والتسامح الديني واحترام الذات بين الشباب في المدارس."

دعا الحاج سليمان أحمد بشير ، حاكم تقليدي وشيرمان باوتشي يمثله دان إيا باوتشي ، في رسالته الطيبة ، كل نيجيري إلى تبني التعايش السلمي والعلاقة المتناغمة بين مختلف الكيانات الاجتماعية والثقافية والعرقية والدينية في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

ودعا تشيرومان باوتشي ، الذي شدد على أهمية السلام في المجتمع ، إلى حلول سلمية لجميع القضايا المتعلقة بأمة نيجيريا من أجل النمو والتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية في البلاد.

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

Network advocates inclusion of peace education in schools curriculum (West Africa)

(Photo: via Daylight Reporters)

(Reposted from: Daylight Reporters. September 28, 2020)

“The project seeks to explore the use of school curriculum as a medium to inculcate in youths the attributes needed to resist radicalization and embrace a culture of peace in the society.”

By Najib Sani Adamu

West Africa Network for Peace building (WANEP) has advocated the inclusion of peace education in schools curriculum with a view to preventing violent extremism in the continent. The network made the advocacy Monday in Bauchi while launching a special project on the Prevention of Violent Extremism (PVE) in the Sahel and Nigeria towards institutionalizing nonviolence and peace education in primary, secondary and tertiary institutions in Nigeria.

Recognizing education as a major critical development intervention for Peacebuilding and combating violent extremism, WANEP in collaboration with the Economic Community of West Africa States (ECOWAS) and the Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflicts (GPPAC) developed a teaching curriculum to fight violent extremism in the affected countries.

In a message from WANEP at the Launch of the Project held at the Chartwell Hotel, and Suites, Bauchi the Project Field Representative, Hajiya Amina Jibrin said the project was aimed towards complementing WANEP’s efforts in grooming a new generation of resilient young people equipped and prepared to fight violent extremism in all its form in Nigeria.

“The project seeks to explore the use of school curriculum as a medium to inculcate in youths the attributes needed to resist radicalization and embrace a culture of peace in the society,” she stated.

According to her, “In Nigeria, Bauchi state was selected for the PVE pilot phase with five schools selected to participate in the pilot phase of the project. And in order to achieve the objective of the project, several activities were proposed and have been implemented including Advocacy visits to relevant stakeholders to get their buy-in on the PVE project, and they have pledged their support for the PVE project.”

Hajiya Amin’s Bala Jibrin emphasized that, “as we launch the PVE project today in Bauchi, we expect that the PVE curriculum will be into existing disciplines or learning programmes in selected schools in the state, and it is our believe too that at the end of this project, there will be deepened appreciation and capacity for positive behavioural change by the pupils and students in the participating schools and in extension other schools in Bauchi state.”

“This will help build a culture of peace, religious tolerance and self esteem amongst youths in schools.”

In his goodwill message, a traditional ruler and Chiroman Bauchi represented by the Dan Iya Bauchi, Alhaji Suleiman Ahmad Bashir called on every Nigerian to embrace peaceful coexistence and harmonious relationship among the various socio- cultural and ethno- religious entities across the country.

The Chiroman Bauchi who stressed the importance of peace in the society, called for peaceful resolutions of all issues on Nigeria’s nationhood for the over all socio – economic and political growth and development of the country.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...