الحظ ليس استراتيجية ...

ولا توجد طريقة للاستعداد لهجوم نووي. علينا أن نمنع حدوث ذلك.

بقلم الدكتورة كيت هدسون

(تم إعادة النشر من: حملة نزع السلاح النووي. 8 أغسطس 2022)

حذر الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ، أنطونيو جوتيريش ، الأسبوع الماضي من أن العالم "بعيدًا عن حسابات خاطئة واحدة عن الإبادة النووية". في حديثه في نيويورك في افتتاح المؤتمر الذي طال انتظاره لمراجعة معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية ، يجب أن تكون كلماته بمثابة جرس إنذار: للقادة الذين ينتهجون سياسات تتجه بلا هوادة نحو حرب نووية - وللشعوب التي لا تفعل ذلك. مع اتخاذ إجراءات لوقف هذه المخاطر الرهيبة.

لا يشك غوتيريش في خطورة الوضع ، فنحن في زمن خطر نووي "لم نشهده منذ ذروة الحرب الباردة". وحذر من الدول التي تسعى إلى "الأمن الزائف" من خلال إنفاق مبالغ طائلة على "أسلحة يوم القيامة" ، وقال إننا حتى الآن محظوظون للغاية لأن الأسلحة النووية لم تستخدم مرة أخرى منذ عام 1945. ولكن كما قال بحق: "الحظ ليس كذلك" استراتيجية. كما أنه ليس درعًا من التوترات الجيوسياسية التي تغلي وتتحول إلى صراع نووي '.

الحظ ليس استراتيجية. كما أنها ليست درعًا من التوترات الجيوسياسية التي تتحول إلى صراع نووي

في الواقع لا يمكننا الاعتماد على الحظ لحمايتنا من مخاطر الحرب النووية. مع احتفالنا بالذكرى السابعة والسبعين لقصف هيروشيما وناغازاكي بالقنابل ، يجب أن نتذكر ما يعنيه الاستخدام النووي ، ونحاول أن نفهم كيف ستبدو الحرب النووية اليوم.

عندما استخدمت الولايات المتحدة قنبلتين ذريتين في عام 1945 ، مات ما يقدر بنحو 340,000 شخص نتيجة لذلك ، من العواقب المباشرة للانفجار نفسه ، وكذلك من الوفيات الرهيبة اللاحقة بسبب الإشعاع. حقا كان ذلك جريمة ضد الإنسانية. نسمع هذه الأرقام كل عام ، ولكن ما الذي حدث بالفعل لهؤلاء الأشخاص في هاتين المدينتين اليابانيتين في أغسطس 1945؟ سيساعدنا ذلك على فهم ما سيحدث لنا إذا استمرت الحكومات في مسارها النووي الحالي.

تصل درجة حرارة قلب الانفجار النووي إلى عدة ملايين درجة مئوية. ينتج عن هذا وميض حراري على مساحة واسعة ، مما يؤدي إلى تبخير جميع الأنسجة البشرية. خارج هذه المنطقة المركزية ، يلقى الناس حتفهم بسبب موجات الحر والانفجار ، مع انهيار المباني واشتعال النيران فيها. تخلق العاصفة النارية قوة إعصار رياح تنتشر وتزيد من حدة الحريق.

أقوى شهادة تأتي من أولئك الذين شهدوا العواقب. هذه الكلمات من الدكتور شونتارو هيدا ، الذي كان يزور مريضًا خارج هيروشيما عندما تم إلقاء القنبلة. شاهد الانفجار فوق المدينة وعاد على الفور لمساعدة الناجينi

'نظرت إلى الطريق أمامي. وقف في طريقي ناجون عراة ومحروقون ودماء لا حصر لهم. تم حشدهم معا. بعضهم يزحف على ركبهم أو على أربع ، والبعض يقف بصعوبة أو ينحني على كتف الآخر. لم يُظهر أحد أي علامة أجبرتني على التعرف عليه أو عليها كإنسان. تم تدمير جميع المباني في المجمع المدرسي تقريبًا ، ولم يتبق سوى مبنى واحد يواجه تل في الجزء الخلفي من أرض المدرسة. امتلأت المنطقة بالحطام. ومع ذلك ، كان أقسى مشهد هو عدد الأجسام الخام التي ترقد واحدة على الأخرى. على الرغم من أن الطريق كانت مليئة بالفعل بالضحايا ، إلا أن الجرحى المروعين والمصابين بالدماء والحروق استمروا في الزحف ، الواحد تلو الآخر. لقد أصبحوا كومة من اللحم عند مدخل المدرسة. يجب أن تكون الطبقات السفلية عبارة عن جثث لأنها انبعثت من رائحة كريهة خاصة للموتى تختلط الآن بلحم محترق ودامي.

وتوفي العديد ممن نجوا من الانفجار الفوري بعد ذلك بوقت قصير متأثرين بحروق قاتلة. وتوفي آخرون بسبب الانهيار الكامل لخدمات الإنقاذ والخدمات الطبية التي كانت هي نفسها مدمرة. ثم يبدأ العلاج الإشعاعي مع ظهور أعراض الغثيان والقيء والإسهال الدموي وتساقط الشعر. مات معظم هؤلاء الضحايا في غضون أسبوع. مع الإشعاع ، لا يوجد مكان للركض إليه ، ولا مكان للاختباء ؛ إذا هربت من الانفجار لا يمكنك إغلاق الباب أمام الإشعاع ، فهو يسمم ويدمر ، يجلب الأمراض والسرطانات وتشوهات الولادة والموت. هذا أقل ما يمكن أن نتوقعه من الاستخدام النووي.

لأنه كما لو أن هذا ليس سيئًا بما فيه الكفاية ، فإن قنبلة هيروشيما كانت في الواقع قنبلة نووية صغيرة بمصطلحات اليوم. إن الأسلحة النووية اليوم أقوى بكثير من قنبلة هيروشيما.

ولا توجد طريقة للاستعداد لهجوم نووي. علينا أن نمنع حدوث ذلك.

هذه هي مهمتنا الأكثر إلحاحًا لأنه في هذا الوقت الذي تتصاعد فيه الحرب ، مع وجود ترسانات نووية على كلا الجانبين - يتعين علينا بذل كل ما في وسعنا لمنع الاستخدام النووي.

وبالطبع ، فإن السياسات الأخيرة للدول الحائزة للأسلحة النووية لا تجعل الأمر سهلاً. لقد شهدنا منذ عدة عقود تخفيضات تدريجية في الأسلحة النووية ، لكننا الآن نشهد برامج تحديث من جميع الجوانب - مثل استبدال ترايدنت البريطاني. بل إننا نشهد في بعض الحالات زيادات - مثل زيادة ترسانة بوريس جونسون النووية العام الماضي. لكن الأسوأ من ذلك كله هو تطهير فكرة الاستخدام النووي. كان لدى ترامب الكثير للإجابة عن هذا السؤال: لم يتحدث فقط عن ما يسمى بالأسلحة النووية "القابلة للاستخدام" ، بل أنتجها أيضًا ونشرها في العام الأخير من ولايته. لذا فإن فكرة عدم استخدامها أبدًا - نظرية التدمير المؤكد المتبادل للحرب الباردة - قد ولت. نسمع عن أسلحة نووية تكتيكية ، كما لو كان بإمكانك استخدام سلاح صغير في ميدان المعركة وسيكون كل شيء على ما يرام في مكان آخر. هذا محض هراء - وهراء خطير من الناحية الإجرامية.

هذا الأسبوع في نيويورك ، كرر ممثل حكومة المملكة المتحدة في مؤتمر معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي عادة "التزام" المملكة المتحدة بالمعاهدة ، وتفاخر بالتخفيضات الكبيرة في ترسانة المملكة المتحدة النووية منذ الحرب الباردة. لكن لم ترد كلمة واحدة عن زيادات الترسانة التي أعلنها بوريس جونسون العام الماضي ، أو الأسلحة النووية الأمريكية التي عادت إلى بريطانيا.

لكن التحريف والكلام المزدوج من جانب السياسيين لا يمكن أن يصرفنا عن النضال من أجل السلام ونزع السلاح النووي. أناشدكم جميعًا ، إحياء لذكرى أولئك الذين ذبحوا في هيروشيما وناغازاكي - وللحفاظ على عالم للأجيال القادمة - يرجى الانضمام إلى هذا النضال. نحن نحتاجك الآن.

i كاي بيرد ولورنس ليفشولتز (محرران) 1998 ، ظل هيروشيما ، مطبعة Pampleteer's ، ستوني كريك ، كونيتيكت ، ص 417 - 28.

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Luck is not a strategy…

And there is no way to be prepared for a nuclear attack. We have to stop it happening.

By Dr. Kate Hudson

(Reposted from: Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament.  August 8, 2022)

Last week UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres warned that the world is ‘one miscalculation away from nuclear annihilation’. Speaking in New York at the opening of the long-delayed conference to review the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, his words have to be a wake-up call: to leaders that pursue policies inexorably driving towards nuclear war – and to populations that are not yet taking action to stop these terrible dangers.

Guterres has no doubt about the seriousness of the situation, that we are at a time of nuclear danger ‘not seen since the height of the Cold War’. He warned against countries seeking ‘false security’ by spending vast sums on ‘doomsday weapons’ and said that so far we have been extraordinarily lucky that nuclear weapons have not been used again, since 1945. But as he rightly stated: ‘Luck is not a strategy. Nor is it a shield from geopolitical tensions boiling over into nuclear conflict’.

Luck is not a strategy. Nor is it a shield from geopolitical tensions boiling over into nuclear conflict

Indeed we cannot rely on luck to protect us from the risk of nuclear war. As we mark the 77th anniversary of the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, we must remember what nuclear use means, and try and understand what nuclear war would look like today.

When the US used two atom bombs in 1945, an estimated 340,000 people died as a result, from the immediate consequences of the blast itself, but also the terrible subsequent deaths from radiation. Truly that was a crime against humanity. We hear those numbers every year, but what actually happened to those people in those two Japanese cities in August 1945? That will help us understand what will happen to us if governments continue along their current nuclear path.

The heart of a nuclear explosion reaches a temperature of several million degrees centigrade. This results in a heat flash over a wide area, vaporising all human tissue. Beyond this central area, people are killed by heat and blast waves, with buildings collapsing and bursting into flame. The firestorm creates hurricane force winds spreading and intensifying the fire.

The most powerful testimony comes from those who witnessed the aftermath. These words are from Dr Shuntaro Hida, who was visiting a patient outside Hiroshima when the bomb was dropped. He saw the explosion over the city and returned immediately to help survivorsi

I looked at the road before me. Denuded, burnt and bloody, numberless survivors stood in my path. They were massed together; some crawling on their knees or on all fours, some stood with difficulty or leant on another’s shoulder. No one showed any sign that forced me to recognise him or her as a human being. Nearly all the buildings in the school complex had been destroyed, leaving only one structure that faced a hill at the back of the school grounds. The area was filled with debris. Yet, the cruellest sight was the number of raw bodies that lay one upon the other. Although the road was already packed with victims, the terribly wounded, bloody and burnt kept crawling in, one after another. They had become a pile of flesh at the entrance to the school. The lower layers must have been corpses because they emanated a peculiarly nasty smell characteristic of the dead that mingled now with burnt, bloody flesh.’

Many who survived the immediate blast died shortly afterwards from fatal burns. Others died because of the complete breakdown of rescue and medical services which had themselves been destroyed. Then radiation kicks in, with symptoms of nausea, vomiting, bloody diarrhoea and hair loss. Most of these victims died within a week. With radiation, there is no place to run to, no place to hide; if you escape the blast you cannot shut the door on radiation, It poisons and destroys, it brings sicknesses, cancers, birth deformities and death. This is the least we can expect from nuclear use.

Because as if that isn’t bad enough, the Hiroshima bomb was actually a small nuclear bomb in today’s terms. Today’s nuclear weapons are many, many times the power of the Hiroshima bomb.

And there is no way to be prepared for a nuclear attack. We have to stop it happening.

That is our most urgent task because it is in this time of escalating war, with nuclear arsenals on both sides – that we have to do everything possible to prevent nuclear use.

And of course the recent policies of nuclear weapons states are not making it easy. For some decades we had seen gradual reductions in nuclear weapons, but now we are seeing modernisation programmes on all sides – like Britain’s Trident replacement. In some cases we are even seeing increases – like Boris Johnson’s nuclear arsenal increase last year. But worst of all is the sanitizing of the idea of nuclear use. Trump had a lot to answer for this: he not only talked of so-called ‘usable’ nuclear weapons, he also produced them and deployed them in his last year of office. So now the idea that they will never be used – the mutually assured destruction theory of the cold war – has gone. We hear of tactical nuclear weapons, as if you could use a small one on a battle field and everything would be fine elsewhere. This is complete nonsense – and criminally dangerous nonsense.

This week in New York, the UK government representative to the NPT conference typically repeated the UK’s ‘commitment’ to the Treaty, and bragged about the big reductions in the UK’s nuclear arsenal since the Cold War. But not a word about the arsenal increases announced by Boris Johnson last year, or US nukes coming back to Britain.

But misrepresentation and double speak from politicians cannot deflect us from the struggle for peace, for nuclear disarmament. I appeal to you all, in memory of those that were slaughtered at Hiroshima and Nagasaki – and to preserve a world for the coming generations – please join this struggle. We need you now.

i Kai Bird and Lawrence Lifschultz (eds) 1998, Hiroshima’s Shadow, The Pampleteer’s Press, Stony Creek, Connecticut, pp 417-28.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top