令人尊敬的国际妇女节问题–善意的呼吁(2021年国际妇女节)

这场大流行暴露了结构上的不平等以及功能不健全的社会和政治体系,这些体系旨在服务于少数有势力的人的无休止的财富积累,同时使数十亿人陷入贫困和绝望。

进步的想法使对话陷入了一个我们只需要加快速度的想法:现在很明显,要实现平等,我们需要改变方向。

这篇由非洲女权主义者合着的文章提醒我们注意妇女运动的共存,它使权力结构能够抵抗实现人类平等所需的实质性和系统性变化。

编辑介绍:讲真话庆祝国际妇女节

本文重述了我们先前讨论的几个主题 电晕连接系列明确指出了抵制性别正义的重要方面,这一点已由大流行赋予了新的活力。 所提到的每个抵抗点都是揭示结构的一个切入点,这些结构保持了表征全球父权制的权力不平衡,巩固了对有色女性影响最大的性别,种族和经济阶层的等级。

和平教育者可以通过对每个不平等情况的反思性调查来阐明这些结构,从而证明全球权力秩序的根本不公正性。 可以通过对诸如非洲妇女的和平努力(在其他地区的妇女中)进行的女权主义政治行动的研究来补充这种探究。 这项查询可以基于全球妇女和平建设者网络(GNWP)在其竞选活动中分享的有关妇女和平建设者的近期录像资料 #10DaysofFeministGiving。 也可以使用GNWP中包含的丰富数据进行查询 COVID-19和妇女,和平与安全数据库。 对于一项全国案例研究,黑人美国妇女的有效选举政治将产生富有成效的询问。

贯穿其中的基本问题是: 为了实现人类平等与安全,必须改变哪些结构? 目前提出的最有希望的替代方案是什么? 可以预见还有哪些其他重要变化? 当前哪些和平与平等运动为教育和说服更大的公民适应变革的需要提供了可能性? 为实现真实和可持续的人类平等,什么是有效的短期行动和建设性的长期战略?

2021年国际妇女节
令人尊敬的国际妇女节的问题–善意的呼吁

姆瓦纳哈米西·辛加诺(Mwanahamisi Singano)和本·菲利普斯(Ben Phillips)

(转自: 国际新闻社服务。 3年2021月XNUMX日)

内罗毕/罗马,3年2021月XNUMX日(IPS) –国际妇女节的有效性面临的最大危险是它已变得受人尊敬。 现在是时候再度成为大麻烦的日子了。

重复三个机构的要点,在国际妇女节上发表受人尊敬的评论已成为一种传统:第一,世界正在进步,但步伐还不够快;第二,世界正在进步。 其次,男人作为一个单一的群体(收入更高,代表更多,获得更多机会)与妇女作为一个单一的群体(收入较少,代表更少,获得更少)之间的比较; 第三,呼吁当权者将其纠正。

妇女节这一天,我们需要粉碎所有这三个传统。

我们不必停止说,世界在性别平等方面正在不断取得进步。 COVID-19危机正在使妇女的权利倒退。

妇女的工作流失速度比男子快得多; 妇女承担着儿童和老人无偿照料增加的大部分负担; 女孩被放学的人数比男孩多; 家庭暴力猛增,这是 女人更难逃脱.

危机一发生,妇女就被推得那么远,这一事实表明,“好时光”是多么的不安全和无聊–如果只允许您撑起雨伞直到下雨,那么您就不是真正的拥有者了。那把伞。

这场大流行暴露了结构上的不平等以及功能不健全的社会和政治体系,这些体系旨在服务于少数有势力的人的无休止的财富积累,同时使数十亿人陷入贫困和绝望。

进步的想法使对话陷入了一个我们只需要加快速度的想法:现在很明显,要实现平等,我们需要改变方向。

我们必须对男人和女人所拥有的东西进行比较,并明确地讲种族,国籍和阶级的交叉不平等使妇女的经历更加复杂。

举一个例子,去年140,000月,美国的数字显示有16,000万人失业。 然后发现,所有这些失业都是女性(男性净增加了156,000个工作,女性净减少了XNUMX个工作)。

因此,故事是,作为一个整体的女性正在输给作为整体的男性。 但是后来发现,所有这些妇女中的工作损失都可以由有色妇女失去的工作来弥补– 白人妇女获得了净工作!

正如詹姆斯·鲍德温(James Baldwin)所指出的,并不是面对的所有事情都可以改变,但是面对面前的一切都无法改变。

再举一个例子,每年一次的联合国妇女权利年度会议(妇女地位委员会)在纽约举行会议(15年26月2021日至XNUMX日),每年全球北部妇女的代表比例都过高。代表全球北方领导的组织的妇女。

由于这次会议是在纽约举行,这一事实使情况更加恶化,因为会议是在纽约召开的,来自全球南方的妇女的旅行费用负担要高得多,而且美国政府需要批准谁可以来,而且它拒绝或不及时批准签证。来自南方南部地区的女性人数更多 比来自全球北方的女性.

美国政府最不经常批准的CSW和其他纽约聚会的发展中国家妇女的签证呢? 贫穷妇女,农村妇女,贫民窟妇女,移民妇女,患有慢性病的妇女,违反法律的妇女,女性性工作者的人-社会上被排斥的越多,您从字面上被排斥的可能性就越大。

在去年的CSW上,Covid危机达到了顶峰,只有驻纽约的代表 允许参加。 在今年的CSW上,它几乎是虚拟的-理论上很棒,但仅固定在纽约时区,迫使亚洲的参与者参加夜间活动或选择退出。

明年,它很可能会重新投入使用,而美国则可能需要疫苗护照-全球南方地区十分之九的人不会拥有护照,因为美国和其他全球北方国家正在阻止南方公司生产仿制版本的护照。疫苗。

再次,来自全球南方的妇女将被排除在有关排斥的会议之外,在会议上将不会有关于如何赢得平等的平等机会。

只有在挑战一切形式的排斥妇女的挑战时,才能实现妇女平等。 当几个非洲国家在COVID-19中实行夜间宵禁时,他们豁免了私人救护车,但没有为那些非正规私人交通工具送往医院的人提供津贴-这是大多数无法负担私人救护车的孕妇的方式,到达那里。

同样,遭受家庭暴力的妇女如果与警察一起去,也可能在晚上离开家,但如果她们缺乏社会资本,无法让警察来陪伴她们(换句话说,就是没有富裕的人),并且他们试图自己去避难所,但因非法走私而被执法部门拦住了-的确,许多妇女告诉Femnet逃离丈夫的殴打,然后遇到警察的殴打。

这些不是决策中支配富裕的男人和女人所预见或计划的挑战。

要说服男权主义者在父权制堡垒中打开狭窄的大门是不够的,只有一小部分最有联系或最受尊敬的妇女才能通过她们加入他们的行列。

为了使多样化的所有妇女都能获得体面的工作,平等的权利和平等的权力,必须推翻围墙。 这些都不会给出,只会赢。

正如奥德丽·洛德(Audre Lorde)所述,我们的任务是“与那些被确定为建筑物外部的人们建立共同的事业,以定义和寻求一个我们都能在其中繁荣发展的世界。 它正在学习如何利用我们的差异并发挥自己的优势。 因为主人的工具永远不会拆除主人的房子。” 可敬性不起作用。 平等需要好麻烦。

Mwanahamisi Singano是非洲女权主义网络FEMNET的计划主管; 本·菲利普斯*(Ben Phillips *)是《如何 与不平等作斗争。

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

The Problem of the Respectable International Women’s Day – an Appeal for Good Trouble (International Women’s Day 2021)

The pandemic laid bare the structural inequalities and dysfunctional social and political systems crafted to serve endless wealth accumulation of a powerful few (men) while leaving billions of people in poverty and hopelessness.

The idea of progress has lulled the conversation into an idea that we only need to speed up: it’s now clear that to get to equality we need to change course.

This article, co-authored by an African feminist, alerts us to the cooptation of the women’s movement that enables the structures of power to resist the substantive and systemic change required to achieve human equality.

Editors' Introduction: Celebrating International Women's Day by Speaking Truth to Power

This essay reprises several of the themes previously addressed in our Corona Connections series, as it unequivocally identifies significant points of resistance to gender justice that have been given new vigor by the pandemic. Each point of resistance named is an entry point into the revelation of the structures that maintain the imbalance of power characterizing the global patriarchy, entrenching the hierarchy of gender, race, and economic class that impacts most heavily on women of color.

Peace educators could illuminate these structures through reflective inquiry into each instance of inequality that demonstrates the fundamental injustice of the global power order. Such inquiry might be complemented by the study of such feminist political action as African women’s peace endeavors (among those of women in other regions). This inquiry could be based on the recent video profiles of women peacebuilders shared by the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders (GNWP) in their campaign #10DaysofFeministGiving.  Inquiries might also be developed using the rich data contained in GNWP’s COVID-19 and Women, Peace and Security Database. For a national case study, the effective electoral politics of Black American women would make for a productive inquiry.

The underlying questions throughout are: what are the structures that must be changed to achieve human equality and security? What are the most promising currently proposed alternatives? What other essential changes might be envisioned? What present peace and equality movements offer possibilities for educating and persuading the larger citizenry to the need for change? What might be effective short-term actions and constructive long-term strategies toward the achievement of authentic and sustainable human equality?

International Women’s Day, 2021
The Problem of the Respectable International Women’s Day – an Appeal for Good Trouble

By Mwanahamisi Singano and Ben Phillips

(Reposted from: Inter Press Service.  March 3, 2021)

NAIROBI / ROME, Mar 3 2021 (IPS) – The greatest danger to the effectiveness of International Women’s Day is that it has become respectable. It is time for it to be a day of good trouble again.

It’s become somewhat of a tradition for respectable International Women’s Day commentaries to repeat three establishment talking points: first, that the world is making progress but not fast enough; second, a set of comparisons between men as a single group (earning more, represented more, accessing more) with women as a single group (earning less, represented less, accessing less); and third, an appeal to those in power to put it right.

This Women’s Day we need to smash all three of those traditions.

We need to stop saying that the world is making continuous progress on gender equality. The COVID-19 crisis is seeing women’s rights go into reverse.

Women’s jobs are being lost at a much faster rate than men’s; women are shouldering most of the increased burden of unpaid care for children and elders; girls have been taken out of school more than boys; domestic violence has shot up, and it’s harder for women to get away.

And the fact that as soon as the crisis happened women were pushed so far back shows how insecure and insubstantial were the “good times” – if you are allowed to keep holding onto an umbrella only until it rains, then you don’t really own that umbrella.

The pandemic laid bare the structural inequalities and dysfunctional social and political systems crafted to serve endless wealth accumulation of a powerful few (men) while leaving billions of people in poverty and hopelessness.

The idea of progress has lulled the conversation into an idea that we only need to speed up: it’s now clear that to get to equality we need to change course.

We have to go behind the comparisons between what men and what women have and speak plainly about the intersecting inequalities of race, nationality, and class that compound the experience of women.

To give one example, in December last year the US figures showed 140,000 job losses. Then it was revealed that all these job losses were women (men had in fact net gained 16,000 jobs, and women net lost 156,000).

So, the story was that women as a group were losing to men as a group. But then it was revealed that all these job losses amongst women could be accounted for by jobs lost by women of color – white women had net jobs gained!

As James Baldwin noted, not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.

To give another example, every year the annual United Nations meeting on women’s rights – the Commission on the Status of Women – meets in New York (15-26 March 2021), and every year there is hugely disproportionate representation by women from the Global North and by women representing global North-led organizations.

This is exacerbated by the fact that because the meeting is in New York, the travel cost burden is much higher for women from the Global South, and the US Government needs to approve who can come, and it refuses or fails to approve in time visas for women from the Global South in far higher numbers than women from the Global North.

And the visas for women from developing countries that the US government least often approves for the CSW and other New York gatherings? Those of poor women, rural women, slum-dwelling women, migrant women, women with chronic illnesses, women who have been in conflict with the law, women sex workers – the more socially excluded, the more likely you are to be literally excluded.

At last year’s CSW, the Covid crisis saw this reach a peak, with only New York based representatives allowed to participate. At this year’s CSW, it has gone all virtual – great in theory, but it remains fixed to a New York time zone only, forcing participants in Asia to take part through their night or opt-out.

Next year it is likely to go back to being live, and the US is likely to require vaccine passports – which 9 in 10 people in the Global South will not have because the US and other Global North countries are blocking Southern companies from making generic versions of the vaccines.

Once again, women from the Global South will be excluded from the meeting about exclusion, will have no equality in the meeting about how to win equality.

Equality for women will only be realized when all the forms of exclusion holding women back are challenged. When several African countries introduced night-time curfews in COVID-19, they made exemptions for private ambulances but did not make allowances for those taking informal private transport to the hospital – which is how the majority of expectant women, who cannot afford private ambulances, get there.

Likewise, women experiencing domestic violence could leave their houses at night if they went with the police, but if they lacked the social capital to be able to have the police come to accompany them (in other words, anyone not well-off), and they tried to make their own way to a shelter, they found themselves stopped by law enforcement for being out, illegally – indeed, many women told Femnet of fleeing the beatings of their husband to then meet the beatings of the cops.

These were not challenges well foreseen or planned for by well-off men and women who dominate policymaking.

It is not enough for the men in power to be persuaded to open a narrow gate in the fortress of patriarchy, through which a small group of the most well-connected or respectable women can slip through to join them.

For all women in their diversity to be able to access decent jobs, equal rights, and equal power, the walls must be brought tumbling down. None of this will be given, it will only be won.

As Audre Lorde set out, our task is “to make common cause with those others identified as outside the structures in order to define and seek a world in which we can all flourish. It is learning how to take our differences and make them strengths. For the master’s tools will never dismantle the master’s house.” Respectability isn’t working. Equality requires good trouble.

Mwanahamisi Singano is Head of Programmes at the African feminist network FEMNET; Ben Phillips* is the author of How to Fight Inequality.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...