يقول المدافعون إن تزايد التهديد النووي قد يجدد الاهتمام بنزع السلاح

المُقدّمة

دعت حركة الإلغاء النووي في 26 سبتمبر ، يوم القضاء التام على الأسلحة النووية ، إلى زيادة الوعي بالتهديد النووي المتجدد وضرورة إلغائه. على الرغم من عدم ملاحظتها من قبل وسائل الإعلام في السنوات الأخيرة ، إلا أن حركة إلغاء الأسلحة النووية قد تم متابعتها بشكل مطرد من قبل ناشطين ملتزمين. وينضم إليهم الآن دعاة جدد مستوحون من معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية ويقلقون من التهديد باستخدام الأسلحة الذي تشكله الحرب الروسية في أوكرانيا.

يقدم لنا هذا المقال تفكير النشطاء القدامى بين النساء الكاثوليكيات المتدينات وبعض أخواتهن الأصغر سناً. من خلال مشاركة آمال ومخاوف النظراء العلمانيين للأخوات ، نرى الطابع متعدد القطاعات لهذه الحركة ، وتعكس القطعة أيضًا دعوة الأخوات لتحليل أكثر شمولية للقضايا ، وسعيهن إلى تعزيز الوعي بالتكامل. العلاقة بين التهديدات الوجودية للإبادة النووية وأزمة المناخ.

نحث معلمي السلام على تركيز انتباه طلابهم على هذه العلاقة وكيف يمكن أن يؤخذ بناء الوعي بها في الاعتبار في أسئلة التعبئة السياسية التي أثيرت في نهاية المقال. ما هي الطرق المتنوعة التي يمكن من خلالها اتخاذ مثل هذا النهج الشامل لتنمية الحركة من أجل بقاء الأرض والإنسانية؟ (BAR، 9/26/22)

يقول المدافعون إن تزايد التهديد النووي قد يجدد الاهتمام بنزع السلاح

By كريس هيرلينجر

(تم إعادة النشر من: تقرير الأخوات العالمي - مشروع المراسل الكاثوليكي الوطني. 22 سبتمبر 2022)

نيويورك ـ بعد الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا في شباط (فبراير) ، اقترح الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين على الدول الغربية أن تدخلها في الحرب "سيقودك إلى عواقب لم تصادفها في تاريخك".

لقد فعل بوتين قال منذ ذلك الحين أنه "لا يمكن أن يكون هناك رابحون في حرب نووية ولا ينبغي إطلاقها مطلقًا". لكن لا تزال هناك مخاوف من احتمال استمرار روسيا في استخدام سلاح نووي تكتيكي صغير في ساحة المعركة في أوكرانيا. مع تعثر حرب أوكرانيا ، بوتين في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع (21 سبتمبر) متكرر التهديدات النووية المحجبة.

حتى الاقتراحات المحجبة تثير القلق للمدافعين عن عالم خالٍ من الأسلحة النووية ، بما في ذلك الأخوات الكاثوليكيات اللواتي راقبن اجتماعات الأمم المتحدة الأخيرة لنزع السلاح قبل الاجتماع القادم. اليوم الدولي للقضاء التام على الأسلحة النووية، الذي يعقد سنويًا في 26 سبتمبر.

قال المدافعون الذين تحدثوا إلى Global Sisters Report إن هذا قد يكون - ويؤكدون أنه قد يكون - لحظة لقضية ظلت في الخلفية لسنوات لتظهر وتصبح أكثر بروزًا.

قال: "هناك دائمًا الإمكانات ، وهناك دائمًا الأمل" الأب كاثلين كانيه، معلمة سلام وعدالة منذ فترة طويلة ، وعضو في ديانة قلب مريم المقدس وواحدة من عدة أخوات حضرن صلاة الكرسي الرسولي في 12 سبتمبر في كنيسة العائلة المقدسة الكاثوليكية بالقرب من الأمم المتحدة في اليوم السابق لبدء الصلاة. الجمعية العامة السابعة والسبعون للأمم المتحدة. ركزت الصلاة على القضية النووية.

التوترات العالمية بشأن الحرب في أوكرانيا هي السبب الرئيسي في أن التهديد النووي أصبح أكثر بروزًا الآن مما كان عليه ، على سبيل المثال ، قبل عام. مخاوف ذات صلة بشأن السيطرة الروسية على محطة الطاقة النووية زابوريزهزيا في أوكرانيا ، والتي يقول البعض إن روسيا تستخدمها درع لقواتها وورقة مساومة في الحرب ، عاملان أيضًا.

قالت أريانا سميث ، المديرة التنفيذية لمجموعة المناصرة التي تتخذ من نيويورك مقراً لها: "إنه سلاح ذو حدين" لجنة المحامين المعنية بالسياسة النووية. أعتقد أن هذه هي اللحظة لتثقيف الجمهور على نطاق واسع بشأن المخاطر النووية. الحقيقة هي أن الأسلحة النووية لا تزال موجودة في هذا العالم ، حتى لو كانت موجودة فقط في الخلفية لمعظم الناس يومًا بعد يوم.

وقالت: "لكن الفرصة ، بالطبع ، لهذا الاهتمام والاهتمام المتجدد تأتي على حساب التكلفة الباهظة حقًا" لزيادة المخاطر النووية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

أعتقد أن هذه هي اللحظة لتثقيف الجمهور على نطاق واسع بشأن المخاطر النووية. الحقيقة هي أن الأسلحة النووية لا تزال موجودة في هذا العالم ، حتى لو كانت موجودة فقط في الخلفية لمعظم الناس يومًا بعد يوم. لكن الفرصة ، بالطبع ، لهذا الاهتمام والاهتمام المتجدد تأتي على حساب التكلفة الباهظة حقًا لزيادة المخاطر النووية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لدى المدافعين مثل كانيه وسميث حلفاء بارزون. في صلاة 12 سبتمبر ، رئيس الأساقفة جون ويستر من سانتا في ، نيو مكسيكو ، مؤلف يناير رسالة رعوية بشأن نزع السلاح النووي ، قال: "إذا كنا نهتم بالإنسانية ، وإذا كنا نهتم بكوكبنا ، وإذا كنا نهتم بإله السلام والضمير البشري ، فعلينا أن نبدأ الحفاظ العام على هذه الأسئلة الملحة وإيجاد طريق جديد نحو الطاقة النووية نزع السلاح."

في وقت سابق ، الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريش ، من تكلم دعا السادس من أغسطس خلال احتفالات الذكرى الـ 6 للقصف النووي في هيروشيما باليابان ، إلى نزع السلاح النووي في أعقاب التوترات الدولية الأخيرة.

قال جوتيريس: "أزل الخيار النووي من على الطاولة - إلى الأبد". "حان الوقت لنشر السلام."

لن يكون ذلك سهلاً. دفع ذكر المحطة النووية روسيا إلى رفض لغة لوثيقة ختامية توافق الآراء فشل في الظهور من أربعة أسابيع من اجتماعات أغسطس لتعزيز معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية.

قال ناشط السلام منذ فترة طويلة Maryknoll الأب جان فالون، مؤخرا عين سفير السلام باكس كريستي. "هناك الكثير من الأشخاص الذين لم يتحدثوا أو يسمعوا أو يهتموا بالأسلحة النووية أو أي شيء نووي. لذلك ، هذا "عرض وإخبار" لهم ".

حتى التهديدات المحجبة تقلق كانيه وفالون.

قال كانيه ، الذي شارك في أوائل الثمانينيات في تأليف منهج دراسي حول شبح الحرب النووية وهو من قدامى المحاربين القدامى في مظاهرات السلام: "تهديدات [بوتين] تجعل الناس يفكرون ، وربما تغير آراء الناس بطريقة ما".

قال فالون عن تعليقات بوتين الأولية: "هذا حقًا يضع العالم كرهينة". "التهديد لا يزال قائما. عندما رأيت ذلك ، فكرت ، "أوه ، يا إلهي ، ها نحن ذا." لقد أوصل الأمر برمته إلى ذروته بضربة واحدة ".

على الرغم من أن فالون تعتقد أن القضية الآن في مرحلة خطيرة ، إلا أنها قالت إنه إذا نجا العالم من التوترات الحالية ، فقد تكون هذه لحظة تعليمية - "توعية الناس بخطورة الأسلحة النووية" ، على حد قولها.

"إذا كنا سنفعل شيئًا بشأن الأسلحة النووية ، أعتقد أن هذا هو الوقت المناسب للقيام بذلك."

في الأمم المتحدة ، ديناميات القوة المحبطة

وقال فالون إن إحدى القضايا هي مشكلة مع الأمم المتحدة نفسها ، وهي المنتدى الرئيسي للمناقشات حول السياسة النووية العالمية.

الأعضاء الخمسة الدائمون في مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة - الصين وفرنسا وروسيا والمملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة - هم أكبر الدول التي تمتلك أسلحة نووية ، ولكل منها حق النقض (الفيتو) على أي إعلان قد يؤدي إلى إحراج السياسة النووية لدولة واحدة ، والتي هو ما حدث في حالة روسيا.

قال فالون ، الذي مثل ماريكنول في الأمم المتحدة من 2001 إلى 2007.

"الشيء الملح الذي يجب القيام به داخل الأمم المتحدة نفسها هو وقف حق النقض للقوى العظمى. هذا مثال على ما يحدث في الأمم المتحدة عندما يكون لديهم القدرة على تغيير شيء ما ولكنهم لا يفعلون ذلك.

في حين عارضت القوى النووية الكبرى نزع السلاح ، فإن 66 دولة على الأقل إما صدقت أو انضمت إلى عام 2017 معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النوويةوهي معاهدة منفصلة عن معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي تعتبر الأسلحة النووية غير شرعية وتنتهك القانون الدولي.

20 دولة أخرى وقعت على المعاهدة ولكن لم تصدق عليها بعد ، قالت الحملة الدولية لإلغاء الأسلحة النووية ، أو يمكنني، التي فاز بجائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 2017 لجهودها الدعوية. وقالت آيكان إن خمس دول أخرى على الأقل ستوقع أو تصدق على المعاهدة في 22 سبتمبر / أيلول.

حتى مع هذا النجاح ، اتفق ممثلو التجمعات الحالية في الأمم المتحدة على أن ديناميات السلطة في الهيئة العالمية يمكن أن تكون محبطة ومرهقة.

قال الأخت دورستين "داستي" فارنان ، أدريان دومينيكان الأخت الذي يمثل مؤتمر القيادة الدومينيكية في الأمم المتحدة وواحدة من عدة أخوات حضرن صلاة 12 سبتمبر.

وقال فارنان: "ما تقوله لي هو عدم فعالية الأمم المتحدة في هذا الوقت ، وحتى المعاهدة نفسها" ، مضيفًا أن فشل مؤتمر معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي يجب ألا يركز فقط على روسيا.

قال فارنان: "تمتلك الولايات المتحدة كمية لا تصدق من الأسلحة النووية". و الخطط الحالية لتحديث أنظمة الأسلحة الأمريكية بتكلفة لا تقل عن 100 مليار دولار ، يقلق فارنان من حيث التكلفة وإمكانية أن تشكل الأنظمة الحديثة احتمالية أكبر لخطر "الزناد". (يقول المؤيدون للتحديث إنه سيجعل أنظمة الأسلحة أكثر أمانًا).

"الرد الذي نحتاج إلى سماعه من الولايات المتحدة هو:" لماذا نحتاج إلى إنفاق كل هذه الأموال لتحديث هذه الأسلحة ، ولماذا نحتاج إلى كل هذه الأسلحة على أي حال؟ " قال فارنان. "لسنا بحاجة إليهم. إذا كان بإمكان الولايات المتحدة فقط البدء في تقليص حجم ترسانتها ، أعتقد أن ذلك قد يساعد المحادثة في المستقبل ".

Beth Blissman ، الممثل العادي لـ مجتمع لوريتو، وافق ، قائلاً إنه في حين أن روسيا ربما كانت وحدها في عرقلة الإجماع على وثيقة معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية ، فإن أياً من الدول الحائزة للأسلحة النووية "لم تحضر بالفعل إلى المؤتمر بإرادة واستعداد حقيقيين لتقديم التزامات واضحة وقابلة للقياس بشأن عدم الانتشار".

قال قلب مريم الأقدس إن الكارثة الإنسانية المحتملة التي قد تنجم عن حرب نووية فقدت الكثير من النقاش. الأب فيرونيكا براندالذي يمثل جماعتها في الأمم المتحدة. لقد حضرت صلاة 12 سبتمبر وحدثًا جانبيًا خلال مؤتمر معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي ركز على احتمال وقوع كارثة عالمية مدفوعة بالأسلحة النووية.

خسر الكثير من النقاش الكارثة الإنسانية المحتملة التي قد تنجم عن حرب نووية.

وقالت براند إن هذا الحدث فتح عينيها "على الرعب المطلق لما يمكن أن تفعله دولة واحدة تطلق سلاحًا نوويًا ، وهو ما سيؤدي حتماً إلى الانتقام".

دراسة حديثة نشرتها مجلة نيتشر ، وقال أن يمكن أن يموت أكثر من ملياري شخص في حرب نووية بين الهند وباكستان ، بينما قد يموت أكثر من 2 مليارات شخص في حرب نووية بين روسيا والولايات المتحدة.

تقر الأخوات اللواتي يعملن في الأمم المتحدة بوجود العديد من القضايا التي يجب مواجهتها في جهود المناصرة ، وكما تلاحظ الأخت كارول دي أنجيلو ، "لا يمكنك تحقيق العدالة لكل واحدة".

قال دي أنجيلو ، مدير المركز ، إن جوهر العديد منها هو الحاجة إلى رفع أهمية اللاعنف مكتب السلام والعدل ونزاهة الخلق لراهبات المحبة في نيويورك.

قالت ، "هذه قاعدة ، أساس" ، موحّدة مواضيع نزع السلاح النووي ، وأزمة المناخ ، وحتى التأكيد على المساواة بين الجنسين.

وقال بليسمان إن محادثات معاهدة حظر الانتشار النووي كانت "مثالاً آخر على كيفية عمل الأمم المتحدة في صوامع بشأن التهديدات الوجودية المختلفة للبشرية" وكيف أن هناك حاجة "لإجراء بعض الروابط بين أشياء مثل معاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية ومحادثات المناخ".

يقول المدافعون مثل بليسمان إن نزع السلاح النووي لن يقضي على التهديد الوجودي للكوكب فحسب ، بل سيحرر الموارد لمواجهة التحدي المتمثل في أزمة المناخ.

قالت: "نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير بطريقة أكثر منهجية وشمولية ، والمساواة بين الجنسين هي مفتاح هذه المحادثات ، لهذه المناقشات ، لحركة الإنسانية خارج هذه المرحلة [من تاريخ البشرية] التي في بعض طرق الأحداث للغاية ، قتالية للغاية ، متناقضة للغاية ، وهذا ليس أفضل ما يمكن أن تقدمه الإنسانية في الوقت الحالي ".

هل سيقبل الشباب القضية؟

بالنسبة إلى نشطاء السلام الأكبر سنًا مثل فالون وكانيه ، جاءت بعض المعالم البارزة في حركة نزع السلاح النووي منذ عقود ، على الرغم من النشاط من قبل مجموعات مثل المحاريث، التي كان لها دائمًا أخوات كاثوليك في مناصب قيادية ، استمرت.

اكثر عدد ممكن تقارب مليون شخص في سنترال بارك في نيويورك في 12 يونيو 1982 ، لدعم تجميد الأسلحة النووية بين الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفيتي - وهو حدث حضرته كانيه مع أعضاء آخرين من رعايتها وتتذكره باعتزاز.

قالت: "لقد كان مثل هذا اليوم من الأمل والاحتمال".

ينبع نشاط فالون من أجل السلام جزئيًا من خبرتها الطويلة في العمل كمبشرة Maryknoll في اليابان ومعرفتها الناجين من القنبلة الذرية - تجارب شخصية تركت انطباعا عميقا.

هل يمكن الآن أن يجتذب مئات الآلاف في مكان عام مثل سنترال بارك؟

قال فالون: "كما هي الأمور الآن ، لن أعتمد على مجموعة كبيرة من الناس". قالت عن تجاربها الأخيرة: "إذا كنت في أي وقت مضى في مسيرة مناهضة للطاقة النووية ، فقد يكون هناك 200 ، 300 شخص ، وهذا كل شيء".

لكن هناك طرقًا أخرى الآن لرفع القضية: يمكن أن تساعد حملات التوقيع على الإنترنت كثيرًا في لفت انتباه الناس إلى خطورة المشكلة ، كما قال فالون.

قالت فالون ، البالغة من العمر 92 عامًا ، إن أيامها كناشطة على الأرض قد تكون وراءها. لكنها حريصة على أن يتبنى جيل جديد القضية النووية.

سوف يفعلون؟

قالت فالون: "بمجرد أن يدركوا خطورة ذلك ، فإنهم سيفعلون" ، رغم أنها أشارت إلى أن النشطاء الشباب يبدو أنهم أكثر اهتمامًا بتغير المناخ.

أحد المتفائلين بإمكانية زيادة النشاط والظهور هو سميث من لجنة المحامين ، وهي مجموعة يشيد بها فالون لإبقاء قضية تهديد الحرب النووية في أعين الجمهور.

مثل الأخوات الكاثوليك في الأمم المتحدة ، يعترف سميث ، 32 عامًا ، بالتحدي المتمثل في تنافس النشطاء والناشطين الشباب على وجه الخصوص.

وقالت: "قد يكون من الصعب أكثر من أي وقت مضى التنافس مع جميع القضايا الملحة التي يواجهها العالم". "ومع ذلك ، من المهم معرفة أين يتقاطعان أيضًا واستخدام ذلك في عملنا."

قد يكون التنافس مع جميع القضايا الملحة التي يواجهها العالم أصعب من أي وقت مضى. ومع ذلك ، من المهم معرفة أين يتقاطعان أيضًا واستخدام ذلك في عملنا.

وقالت إن تغير المناخ والمخاطر النووية "متقاطعة" لأن "تغير المناخ يزيد من خطر نشوب صراع حول العالم بشكل عام ، ويزيد الصراع من خطر تورط الأسلحة النووية".

قالت سميث إنها تعتقد أن هناك "مجموعة كبيرة من الشباب تعمل على هذه القضية" ، حتى أن البعض يركز بشكل خاص على التقاطع بين تغير المناخ ونزع السلاح النووي.

قال سميث: "هذه قضية ذات صلة بالشباب تمامًا ، وهي تحظى بالاهتمام ، على الأقل في أوساط الشباب الذين استثمروا بالفعل في النشاط والمناصرة بشكل عام. وهناك إمكانية للمزيد ".

اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر وذكرت في أوائل عام 2020 ، من بين 16,000 جيل من جيل الألفية شملهم الاستطلاع في 16 دولة ، قال 84٪ أن استخدام الأسلحة النووية غير مقبول على الإطلاق ، ويعتقد 54٪ أنه "من المرجح أكثر من غير ذلك أن هجومًا نوويًا سيحدث في العقد المقبل".

وقال سميث على أقل تقدير ، "يدرك المزيد والمزيد من الناس المخاطر الحالية والإمكانية المتجددة لأكبر دولتين نوويتين من المحتمل أن تنخرط في حرب نووية". وعلى الرغم من أن "معظم الخبراء سيقولون بحق أن الخطر لا يزال صغيرًا نسبيًا ، فقد زاد أيضًا مؤخرًا ، وهو أمر غير مقبول".

الحاجة إلى تأمين عالم أكثر سلاما

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يرتكزون على العقيدة الدينية ، حتى التفكير في استخدام الأسلحة النووية أمر غير مقبول.

في باقة قراءة الرسالة في اجتماع عقد في فيينا في يونيو بشأن معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية ، أعاد البابا فرانسيس التأكيد على موقف الكنيسة بأن "استخدام الأسلحة النووية ، فضلاً عن حيازتها ، أمر غير أخلاقي". وقال إن امتلاك مثل هذه الأسلحة "يؤدي بسهولة إلى التهديد باستخدامها ، ويصبح نوعًا من" الابتزاز "الذي ينبغي أن يكون بغيضًا لضمير الإنسانية".

 تقول الأخوات في الأمم المتحدة إن تحطيم "الصوامع" هو جزء من عملية تأمين عالم أكثر سلامًا ، وقد بدأ المزيد من الناس يفهمون ذلك.

 تقول الأخوات في الأمم المتحدة إن تحطيم "الصوامع" هو جزء من عملية تأمين عالم أكثر سلامًا ، وقد بدأ المزيد من الناس يفهمون ذلك.

قال دي أنجيلو: "كانت هناك زيادة حقيقية ووعي متزايد حقًا". "لم نصل إلى هناك بعد. لا أعتقد أننا في المكان الذي نريد أن نكون فيه ، لكنني أعتقد أن هناك بالتأكيد حركة متنامية ".

قال براند إن التلاقي ممكن في حركة يمكن أن "تجتذب الشباب ، ويمكن أن تجتذب كبار السن ، ويمكن أن تمكننا من إقامة روابط بين تغير المناخ ، بين اللاعنف ، بين الكرامة الإنسانية والحاجة إلى معالجة الفجوة الهائلة بين الأغنياء والفقراء ، وتعزيز الحياة على كوكبنا وكوكبنا في المستقبل ".

"إنه عمل الروابط التي أعتقد أنها مهمة للغاية. إنها الحياة. كل شيء عن الحياة. الحياة في امتلائها ".

كريس هيرلينجر هو مراسل نيويورك والمراسل الدولي لـ Global Sisters Report كما أنه يكتب عن القضايا الإنسانية والدولية لصالح NCR. عنوان بريده الإلكتروني هو cherlinger@ncronline.org.

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Increased nuclear threat may renew interest in disarmament, advocates say

Introduction

September 26, the Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons has been called by the nuclear abolition movement to raise awareness about the renewed nuclear threat and the urgency of abolition. While not noted by the media in recent years, the nuclear abolition movement has been steadily pursued by committed activists. They are now joined by new advocates inspired by the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons and alarmed by the threat of the use of the weapons posed by Russia’s war in Ukraine.

This article introduces us to the thinking of long-time activists among Catholic women religious and some of their younger sisters. In sharing the hopes and concerns of the sisters’  secular counterparts, we see the multi-sectoral character of this movement, The piece also reflects the sisters’ advocacy of a more holistic analysis of the issues, and their seeking to promote awareness of the integral relationship between the existential threats of nuclear annihilation and the climate crisis.

We urge peace educators to focus their students’ attention on this relationship and how building awareness of it might be factored into the questions of political mobilization raised toward the end of the article. What might be a variety of ways in which such a holistic approach might be taken to growing the movement for the survival of Earth and Humanity? (BAR, 9/26/22)

Increased nuclear threat may renew interest in disarmament, advocates say

By Chris Herlinger

(Reposted from: Global Sisters Report – Project of the National Catholic Reporter.  September 22, 2022)

NEW YORK — After Russia’s February invasion of Ukraine, Russian President Vladimir Putin suggested to Western countries that their interference in the war would “lead you to such consequences that you have never encountered in your history.”

Putin has since said that “there can be no winners in a nuclear war and it should never be unleashed.” But concerns remain that Russia might still employ a small tactical nuclear weapon on the Ukraine battlefield. With the Ukraine war faltering, Putin earlier this week (Sept. 21) repeated veiled nuclear threats.

Even veiled suggestions are worrisome to advocates for a nuclear-free world, including Catholic sisters who monitored recent United Nations disarmament meetings ahead of the upcoming International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons, held annually Sept. 26.

The advocates who spoke to Global Sisters Report said this may — they emphasize may — be a moment for an issue that has hovered in the background for years to emerge and become more prominent.

“There’s always the potential, and there’s always the hope,” said Sr. Kathleen Kanet, a longtime peace and justice educator, a member of the Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary and one of several sisters who attended a Sept. 12 Holy See prayer service at Holy Family Catholic Church near the United Nations the day before the start of the U.N.’s 77th General Assembly. The prayer service focused on the nuclear issue.

Global tensions over the war in Ukraine are the main reason the nuclear threat is more prominent now than it was, say, a year ago. Related concerns about Russian control of the Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant in Ukraine, which some say Russia is using as a shield for its troops and a bargaining chip in the war, are also a factor.

“It’s a double-edged sword,” said Ariana Smith, the executive director of the New York-based advocacy group Lawyers Committee on Nuclear Policy. “I do think this is a moment to educate the wider public on what nuclear risks are. The fact is that nuclear weapons are still in this world, even if they exist only in the background for most people day-to-day.

“But the opportunity, of course, for this renewed attention and interest obviously comes at the really high cost” of increased nuclear risk around the globe, she said.

I do think this is a moment to educate the wider public on what nuclear risks are. The fact is that nuclear weapons are still in this world, even if they exist only in the background for most people day-to-day. But the opportunity, of course, for this renewed attention and interest obviously comes at the really high cost of increased nuclear risk around the globe.

Advocates like Kanet and Smith have prominent allies. At the Sept. 12 prayer service, Archbishop John Wester of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the author of a January pastoral letter on nuclear disarmament, said, “If we care about humanity, if we care about our planet, if we care about the God of peace and human conscience, then we must start a public conservation on these urgent questions and find a new path toward nuclear disarmament.”

Earlier, U.N. Secretary-General António Guterres, who spoke Aug. 6 during ceremonies marking the 77th anniversary of the atomic bombing in Hiroshima, Japan, called for nuclear disarmament in the wake of recent international tensions.

“Take the nuclear option off the table — for good,” Guterres said. “It’s time to proliferate peace.”

That won’t be easy. Mention of the nuclear plant prompted Russia to reject language for a consensus outcome document that failed to emerge from four weeks of August meetings to strengthen the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, or NPT.

“Because of what’s happening in Ukraine, it’s now becoming upfront center for the whole world,” said longtime peace activist Maryknoll Sr. Jean Fallon, recently named a Pax Christi Ambassador of Peace. “There are a lot of people who’ve never talked about, heard or are interested in nuclear weapons or nuclear anything. So, this is a ‘show and tell’ for them.”

Even veiled threats worry Kanet and Fallon.

“[Putin’s] threats are making people think, possibly changing people’s minds in some way,” said Kanet, who in the early 1980s co-authored a curriculum on the specter of nuclear war and is a longtime veteran of peace demonstrations.

“That’s really putting the world as a hostage,” Fallon said of Putin’s initial comments. “The threat is still there. When I saw that, I thought, ‘Oh, gosh, here we go.’ It brought the whole issue to a head in one fell swoop.”

Though Fallon believes the issue is now at a dangerous point, she said if the world survives the current tensions, this could be a teaching moment — “making people aware of the seriousness of nuclear weapons,” she said.

“If we’re going to do something about nuclear weapons, I think that this is the time to do it.”

At the UN, frustrating power dynamics

Fallon said one issue is a problem with the United Nations itself, the principal forum for debates about global nuclear policy.

The five permanent members of the U.N. Security Council — China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States — are the largest nuclear weapons states, and each has veto power over any declaration that could risk embarrassment over one country’s nuclear policy, which is what happened in the case of Russia.

“They went through that whole meeting [on the NPT], and people were happy with the document, and then Russia said, ‘No,’ and that was the end of it,” said Fallon, who represented Maryknoll at the United Nations from 2001 to 2007.

“An urgent thing that must be done within the U.N. itself is to stop the veto of the great powers. That’s an example of what happens at the U.N. when they have the power to change something but don’t,” she said.

While the major nuclear powers have opposed disarmament, at least 66 nations have either ratified or acceded to the 2017 Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, a separate treaty from the NPT that calls nuclear weapons illegal and a violation of international law.

Another 20 states have signed the treaty but not yet ratified it, said the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, or ICAN, which won the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize for its advocacy efforts. At least five more countries will sign or ratify the treaty Sept. 22, ICAN said.

Even with that success, current congregational representatives at the U.N. agreed that the power dynamics at the world body can be frustrating and daunting.

“It seems as if no one at the U.N., including all those people at the [NPT] treaty conference, can or could actually bring about any helpful conversation and deliberation on the situation,” said Sr. Durstyne “Dusty” Farnan, an Adrian Dominican sister who represents the Dominican Leadership Conference at the U.N. and one of several sisters who attended the Sept. 12 prayer event.

“What it says to me is the ineffectiveness of the U.N. at this time, and even the treaty itself,” Farnan said, adding that the failure of the NPT conference should not focus solely on Russia.

“The United States has its own incredible amount of nuclear weapons,” Farnan said. And current plans to modernize U.S. weapons systems at a cost of at least $100 billion worries Farnan both for the cost and for the possibility that modernized systems pose a greater potential for “hair-trigger” risk. (Advocates favoring modernization say it would make the weapons systems safer.)

“The response that we need to hear from the U.S. is: ‘Why do we need to spend all this money to modernize these weapons, and why do we need all these weapons anyway?’ ” Farnan said. “We don’t need them. If the U.S. could just begin to downsize its arsenal, I think that might help the conversation in the future.”

Beth Blissman, a lay representative for the Loretto Community, agreed, saying that while Russia may have been alone in blocking consensus on the NPT document, none of the nuclear weapons states “really came to the conference with a real will and willingness to make clear, measurable commitments to nonproliferation.”

Lost in much of the discussion is the potential humanitarian catastrophe that would result from a nuclear war, said Sacred Heart of Mary Sr. Veronica Brand, who represents her congregation at the United Nations. She attended both the Sept. 12 prayer service and a side event during the NPT conference focusing on the potential for a nuclear-prompted global catastrophe.

Lost in much of the discussion is the potential humanitarian catastrophe that would result from a nuclear war.

That event, Brand said, opened her eyes “to the absolute horror of what one state launching a nuclear weapon could do, which would inevitably set off retaliation.”

One recent study, reported by Nature magazine, said that more than 2 billion people could perish from a nuclear war between India and Pakistan, while more than 5 billion might die from a nuclear war between Russia and the United States.

The sisters who work at the U.N. acknowledge there are many issues to contend with in their advocacy efforts and, as Sr. Carol De Angelo, notes, “you can’t give justice to each one.”

Yet at the core of many them is the need to lift up the importance of nonviolence, said De Angelo, director of the Office of Peace, Justice and Integrity of Creation for the Sisters of Charity of New York.

“That’s a base, a foundation,” she said, uniting themes of nuclear disarmament, the climate crisis and even the affirmation of gender equality.

Blissman said the NPT talks were “yet one more example of how the U.N. operates in silos on different existential threats to humanity” and how there is need “to make some of the connections between things like the nuclear nonproliferation treaty and the climate talks.”

Advocates like Blissman say nuclear disarmament would not only eliminate an existential threat to the planet, but free up resources to tackle the challenge of the climate crisis.

“We need to be thinking in a more systemic, more holistic way,” she said, “and gender equity is key to these conversations, to these discussions, to the movement of humanity out of this phase [of human history] that in some ways is very juvenile, is very combative, is very conflictive, which is not the best that humanity can put forth right now.”

Will young people embrace the issue?

To older peace activists like Fallon and Kanet, some of the milestones in the nuclear disarmament movement came decades ago, though activism by such groups as Plowshares, which has always had Catholic sisters in leadership roles, has continued.

As many as 1 million people converged on New York’s Central Park on June 12, 1982, to support a nuclear arms freeze between the United States and the Soviet Union — an event Kanet attended with other members of her congregation and remembers fondly.

“It was such a day of hope and possibility,” she said.

Fallon’s peace activism stems in part from her longtime experiences working as a Maryknoll missioner in Japan and knowing atomic bomb survivors — personal experiences that left a deep impression.

Could a rally attracting hundreds of thousands in a public space like Central Park be possible now?

“As things are now, I wouldn’t count on a large group of people,” Fallon said. “If you’ve ever been at an anti-nuclear rally, there might be 200, 300 people, and that’s it,” she said of her recent experiences.

But there are other ways now of lifting up the issue: Online signature campaigns can “help a lot to bring to people’s attention the seriousness of the problem,” Fallon said.

At age 92, Fallon said her own on-the-ground activist days may be behind her. But she is eager for a new generation to embrace the nuclear issue.

Will they?

“Once they’re aware of the seriousness of it, yes, they would,” Fallon said, though she noted that young activists seem to be more concerned with climate change.

One of those optimistic about the possibility of increased activism and visibility is Smith of the Lawyers Committee, a group Fallon praises for keeping the issue of the threat of nuclear war in the public eye.

Like the Catholic sisters at the U.N., Smith, 32, acknowledges the challenge of competing issues for activists, and young activists in particular, to embrace.

“It can be harder than ever to compete with all the really urgent issues the world is facing,” she said. “However, it’s important to see where they intersect as well and use that in our work.”

It can be harder than ever to compete with all the really urgent issues the world is facing.  However, it’s important to see where they intersect as well and use that in our work.

Climate change and nuclear risk, she said, are “crosscutting” because “climate change increases the risk of conflict around the world in general, and conflict increases the risk of nuclear weapons becoming involved.”

Smith said she believes there is “a significant group of young people working on this issue,” even some focusing specifically on the intersection of climate change and nuclear disarmament.

“This is absolutely a youth-relevant issue,” Smith said, “and it’s garnering attention, at least in the circles of young people who are already invested in activism and advocacy at large. And there’s potential for more.”

The International Committee of the Red Cross reported in early 2020 that of 16,000 millennials surveyed in 16 countries, 84% said the use of nuclear weapons was never acceptable, and 54% believed “more likely than not that a nuclear attack will occur in the next decade.”

At the very least, “more and more people are aware of the current stakes and the renewed possibility of the two biggest nuclear weapon states possibly engaging in a nuclear war,” Smith said. And while “most experts would rightly say that the risk is still relatively small, it has also increased recently, which is not acceptable.”

The need to secure a more peaceful world

For those grounded in religious faith, even the thought of using nuclear weapons is not acceptable.

In a message read at a June meeting in Vienna on the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, Pope Francis reaffirmed the church’s position that “the use of nuclear weapons, as well as their mere possession, is immoral.” He said the possession of such weapons “leads easily to threats of their use, becoming a sort of ‘blackmail’ that should be repugnant to the consciences of humanity.”

 Breaking down “silos” is part of the process of securing a more peaceful world, say the sisters at the U.N., and more people are coming to understand that.

 Breaking down “silos” is part of the process of securing a more peaceful world, say the sisters at the U.N., and more people are coming to understand that.

“There’s been a real surge and really a growing consciousness,” De Angelo said. “We’re not there yet. I don’t think we are where we want to be, but I think that there is definitely a growing movement.”

Brand said a coming-together is possible in a movement that can “draw young people, can draw older people, and can enable us to make the links between climate change, between nonviolence, between human dignity and the need to address the incredible gap between rich and poor, and to promote life on and our planet into the future.”

“It’s making the links that I think are extremely important. It’s life. It’s all about life. Life in its fullness.”

Chris Herlinger is the New York and international correspondent to Global Sisters Report and also writes on humanitarian and international issues for NCR. His email address is cherlinger@ncronline.org.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top