في ذكرى: ديساكو إيكيدا

بقلم كيفن ماهر
المدير التنفيذي، مركز إيكيدا للسلام والتعلم والحوار

(تم إعادة النشر من: مركز إيكيدا للسلام والتعلم والحوار)

بقلب مثقل نعلن نبأ وفاة مؤسس المركز دايساكو إيكيدا. توفي السيد إيكيدا لأسباب طبيعية في منزله في شينجوكو، طوكيو، مساء يوم 15 نوفمبر، عن عمر يناهز 95 عامًا.

كان ديساكو إيكيدا زعيمًا بوذيًا، ومعلمًا، وفيلسوفًا، وبانيًا للسلام، وكاتبًا وشاعرًا غزير الإنتاج. ولد في طوكيو عام 1928، وشهد عن كثب الواقع المأساوي للحرب. في عام 1947، عندما كان عمره 19 عامًا، اعتنق البوذية من خلال لقاء مع جوزي تودا، المربي وزعيم سوكا جاكاي. تم القبض على تودا وسجنه لمعارضته السياسات العسكرية للحكومة.

وتضافرت هذه التجارب لتغرس في السيد إيكيدا التزامًا مدى الحياة بالسلام ونزع السلاح النووي، وهو ما كان أساسًا لكل أعماله، بما في ذلك عمله كرئيس ثالث لمنظمة سوكا جاكاي ومؤسس منظمة سوكا جاكاي الدولية. وفي كل ذلك، كان السيد إيكيدا مؤيدًا قويًا وثابتًا للحوار المفتوح باعتباره أضمن طريق للسلام. وهكذا، بدءًا من السبعينيات، سعى بنشاط إلى الحوار مع الشخصيات الثقافية والسياسية الرائدة، والعلماء البارزين، ومجموعة من بناة السلام الرواد. وقد تم حتى الآن نشر أكثر من 1970 حوارًا من هذه الحوارات في شكل كتاب. بالنسبة له، كان الحوار دائمًا وسيلة لاستكشاف أرضية مشتركة، وبناء الثقة، وتحديد طرق مبتكرة لمعالجة المشكلات المعقدة التي تواجه البشرية.

بالنسبة لدايساكو إيكيدا، كان الحوار دائمًا وسيلة لاستكشاف أرضية مشتركة، وبناء الثقة، وتحديد الطرق الإبداعية لمعالجة المشكلات المعقدة التي تواجه البشرية.

في خريف هذا العام قبل ثلاثين عامًا، ألقى السيد إيكيدا محاضرة في جامعة هارفارد بعنوان «بوذية الماهايانا وحضارة القرن الحادي والعشرين». وفيه، سلط الضوء على المساهمات الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تقدمها بوذية الماهايانا للتطور السلمي للبشرية. وبعد فترة وجيزة، أسس مركز بوسطن لأبحاث القرن الحادي والعشرين (أعيدت تسميته إلى مركز إيكيدا للسلام والتعلم والحوار في عام 21) لتوفير مساحة من شأنها أن تحمل روح تلك المحاضرة إلى الأمام، واستكشاف الموضوعات والمفاهيم التي تساهم في خلق وتوسيع ثقافات السلام.

بالإضافة إلى مركزنا، أسس السيد إيكيدا عددًا من المؤسسات الثقافية والتعليمية وأبحاث السلام حول العالم. تشترك جميع هذه المؤسسات في الالتزام بقيم السلام والإنسانية المستوحاة من سوكا.

أسس السيد إيكيدا عددًا من المؤسسات الثقافية والتعليمية وأبحاث السلام حول العالم. تشترك جميع هذه المؤسسات في الالتزام بقيم السلام والإنسانية المستوحاة من سوكا.

وفي العديد من رسائل وكلمات التشجيع التي قدمها للمركز منذ تأسيسه، أكد السيد إيكيدا باستمرار على الأبعاد التحويلية للحوار المفتوح وكذلك على قيمة الحياة. بالنسبة له، كان التحول من ثقافة اللامبالاة والعنف إلى ثقافة تحترم كرامة الحياة كلها عنصرا أساسيا في تعزيز السلام. وفي رسالة أرسلها بمناسبة الذكرى العشرين لتأسيسنا في عام 20، شارك السيد إيكيدا أفكارًا تجسد جوهر رؤيته. هو يكتب:

أيًا كان البلد الذي ننحدر منه أو المصالح التي نمثلها، ففي النهاية نحن جميعًا بشر. نحن رفاق معًا نواجه التجارب الإنسانية العالمية للولادة والشيخوخة والمرض والموت. حياتنا مثل الأحجار الكريمة تحمل في داخلها قوة لا تقهر من أجل الخير. لقد ولدنا جميعا من أمهات لديهن رغبة عميقة في السلام. عندما نفتح قلوبنا المغلقة مثل قبضات اليد، ونستمع ونتحدث بصدق ونزاهة، يمكننا اكتشاف الصدى المشترك لأرواحنا. عندما نفتح أنفسنا للتعلم من اختلافاتنا، فإننا نختبر الحياة بثراء وعمق جديدين. الحوار هو المفتاح لخلق قيمة للسلام والتعايش المتناغم. إن جهود هذا المركز ترتكز بقوة على قناعة راسخة بالإمكانات الإيجابية للحوار، وهي قناعة سنتمسك بها إلى الأبد.

وباعتبارنا منظمة مهمتها تنفيذ رؤيته لتعزيز السلام من خلال التعلم والحوار، فإننا أكثر تصميماً من أي وقت مضى على اتباع المسار الذي صاغه، خاصة الآن، عندما تكون هناك حاجة ماسة إليه. كموظفين، نشعر بإحساس عميق بالامتنان لدعمه وتشجيعه، بالإضافة إلى الطاقة المتجددة لمواصلة العمل الحاسم الذي كرس نفسه له: تعزيز أسس عالم ينعم بالسلام والتعايش المتناغم.

خالص التحيات ،

كيفن ماهر
المدير التنفيذي
مركز إيكيدا للسلام والتعلم والحوار

انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

In memoriam: Daisaku Ikeda

By Kevin Maher
Executive Director, Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning and Dialogue

(Reposted from: Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning and Dialogue)

It is with a heavy heart that we share the news of the passing of Center founder Daisaku Ikeda. Mr. Ikeda passed away from natural causes at his home in Shinjuku, Tokyo, on the evening of November 15, at the age of 95.

Daisaku Ikeda was a Buddhist leader, educator, philosopher, peacebuilder, and prolific writer and poet. Born in Tokyo in 1928, he experienced firsthand the tragic reality of war. In 1947, at the age of 19, he came to embrace Buddhism through an encounter with Josei Toda, educator and leader of the Soka Gakkai. Toda had been arrested and imprisoned for opposing the government’s militaristic policies.

These experiences combined to instill in Mr. Ikeda a lifelong commitment to peace and nuclear disarmament that informed all of his work, including as third President of the Soka Gakkai and founder of the Soka Gakkai International. Through it all, Mr. Ikeda was a strong and steadfast proponent of open dialogue as the surest path to peace. Thus, beginning in the 1970s he actively pursued dialogue with leading cultural and political figures, prominent scholars, and a host of pioneering peacebuilders. To date, more than 80 of these dialogues have been published in book form. For him, dialogue was always a means for exploring common ground, building trust, and identifying creative ways of addressing the complex problems facing humanity.

For Daisaku Ikeda, dialogue was always a means for exploring common ground, building trust, and identifying creative ways of addressing the complex problems facing humanity.

Thirty years ago this fall, Mr. Ikeda delivered a lecture at Harvard University titled “Mahayana Buddhism and Twenty-first Century Civilization.” In it, he highlighted key contributions that Mahayana Buddhism can make to the peaceful evolution of humanity. Soon after, he founded the Boston Research Center for the 21st Century (renamed the Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning, and Dialogue in 2009) to provide a space that would carry the spirit of that lecture forward, exploring themes and concepts that contribute to the creation and expansion of cultures of peace.

In addition to our Center, Mr. Ikeda founded a number of cultural, educational, and peace research institutions around the world. All of these institutions share a commitment to soka-inspired values of peace and humanism.

Mr. Ikeda founded a number of cultural, educational, and peace research institutions around the world. All of these institutions share a commitment to soka-inspired values of peace and humanism.

In the many messages and words of encouragement he offered the Center since our founding, Mr. Ikeda consistently emphasized the transformative dimensions of open dialogue as well as the preciousness of life. For him, a shift from a culture of apathy and violence to one that respects the dignity of all life was a key element in fostering peace. In a message he sent on the occasion of our 20th anniversary in 2013, Mr. Ikeda shared reflections that captured the essence of his vision. He writes:

Whatever country we hail from or interests we represent, in the end we are all human. We are comrades together confronting the universal human experiences of birth, aging, sickness and death. Our lives are like precious gems bearing within them an indomitable force for good. We were all born of mothers whose deepest desire is for peace. When we unclench hearts closed like fists, and listen and speak with honesty and integrity, we can discover the shared resonance of our souls. When we open ourselves to learn from our differences, we experience life with new richness and depth. Dialogue is the key to creating value for peace and harmonious coexistence. The efforts of this Center are firmly grounded in an unwavering conviction in the positive potential of dialogue, a conviction we will uphold for eternity.

As an organization with the mission of carrying forth his vision of fostering peace through learning and dialogue, we are more determined than ever to follow the pathway he forged, especially now, when it is so urgently needed. As staff, we feel a deepened sense of gratitude for his support and encouragement, as well as renewed energy to continue the critical work he dedicated himself to: strengthening the foundations for a world of peace and harmonious coexistence.

Sincere regards,

Kevin Maher
Executive Director
Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning and Dialogue

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top