教育工作者如何应对巴勒斯坦和以色列的事件?

埃利斯·布鲁克斯

教导和平比以往任何时候都更加重要,但似乎从未如此困难。 我们怎样才能成为勇敢的教育者? 英国贵格会的埃利斯·布鲁克斯分享了他对学校面临的一些问题的看法。

贵格会正在免费下载《刀片刺网和橄榄枝》资源,并以折扣价提供实体包。 我们在下面为教育工作者标记了更多资源。

学校里发生了什么?

近年来,英国“阿拉伯以色列冲突”的教学有所减少。 2018 年,苏格兰教育局被迫取消为学校发布有关巴勒斯坦和以色列的资源。 也许这个话题令人沮丧。 也许老师们担心它太有争议,或者根本就很难。

然而,自从暴力事件成为头条新闻以来,有关巴勒斯坦和以色列的教材迅速普及,表明人们对理解的渴望。 这种激增部分是为了回答儿童的紧迫问题,部分是为了满足儿童的迫切需求——犹太人、穆斯林、阿拉伯人——任何与正在发生的事情有联系的人。 一些孩子和老师会因为他们的身份而被视为新闻是“关于他们的”,无论他们是否愿意。 其他人会觉得他们的痛苦被忽视了。

可悲的是,学校里存在仇恨和欺凌行为。 当以色列和巴勒斯坦冲突升级时,反犹太主义和仇视伊斯兰事件就会增加。 教师、家长、照顾者将关注社区中的不宽容现象,以及他们如何应对这些挑战并防止伤害。

尽管存在这些挑战,但正因为这些挑战,学校必须提供勇敢和富有同情心的空间来了解巴勒斯坦和以色列的冲突和建设和平,这一点很重要。

政府告诉学校什么?

教育部长吉莉安·基冈 (Gillian Keegan) 写给英国的学校 提醒他们挑战庆祝暴力或侮辱他人的行为。 她还强调了学校保持公正的责任。 基冈谴责哈马斯的袭击,并表达政府对以色列的声援。 基本信息,尽管不完整。

国务卿不是教师,因此也许可以免除其职业义务,但她的信息实际上是片面的,因为遗漏了一些内容:巴勒斯坦人面临暴力的消息。 仇视伊斯兰教似乎是事后才想到的,并且没有提及国际法,尽管它是法定公民课程的一部分,而且法治被宣传为英国的基本价值观。

这存在着混淆教学的危险。

什么是公正性?

1996 年英国教育法案规定,学校必须“平衡地表达相反的观点”,并且对于这意味着什么有大量的指导。 教师面临的挑战是超越粗略的体重秤方法来培养有道德的、知情的公民身份。 这可能意味着教师采取不同的立场,从公正的促进者到支持一方,为学习者提供一系列的观点和评估它们的工具。

批判性教育者认识到他们自己的公正性永远不可能是完美的。 教师——就像我们所有人一样——不一定意识到自己的偏见。 对一个人来说感觉公正的东西可以消除另一个人的痛苦。

正如爱德华·萨义德所写,“每个帝国……都告诉自己和世界,它与所有其他帝国不同,它的使命不是掠夺和控制,而是教育和解放。”

在对巴勒斯坦和以色列进行教育时,借鉴以下框架是有用的: 原则上的公正性。 这种方法为人权监测提供了信息 巴勒斯坦和以色列普世陪伴计划 (EAPPI)。 这意味着不“支持”任何一方,而是支持人权和国际法。 普世陪伴者的报告遵循这种方法,提供对联合国人权理事会和课堂有用的目击者叙述。

人性化的心灵和头脑

“也许我的话将有助于唤醒世界,这个世界目前正在沉睡,而数百万人在哭泣。”-哈姆扎·N·易卜拉欣,巴勒斯坦教师,我们不是数字。

有原则的公正要求很多:积极倾听、批判性思维、同理心、道德推理、对历史、宗教、地理的理解、人权知识,以及对人们毕生致力于研究的背景的强烈好奇心。 然而,成年人往往是胆怯的,而孩子却是无所畏惧、有远见的学习者。

尽管暴力规模令人着迷,但学习可以从故事开始,让统计数据背后的人变得人性化。 他可能是一名战士转型为和平缔造者,一个承受损失、挺身维护正义或跨越分歧的人。 他们可能是宗教人士、农民、难民、父母、孩子; 他们将是我们可以尝试去观察和理解的人。 故事可以引发问题和学习探究。

巴勒斯坦和以色列的教育

“与巴勒斯坦伙伴的直接接触给了我一个有趣的教训,让我明白了生而为人意味着什么,了解对方并减少绝望。”- 尼夫·萨里格,盖伊的兄弟,他在以色列军队服役时被狙击手杀死1996 年(通过家长圈家庭论坛)。

在我们哀叹我们面临的挑战之前,值得注意的是巴勒斯坦和以色列的教师面临的困难。 无论课程内容如何,​​儿童首当其冲地受到警报和火箭的袭击,学校被摧毁,儿童被拘留或杀害。

学校开学并不意味着它们就没有冲突。 哈马斯在加沙负责教育,巴勒斯坦权力机构 (PA) 负责管理西岸的学校,尽管联合国巴勒斯坦难民机构 (UNRWA) 也运营着许多学校。 近东救济工程处仅仅因为宣讲大屠杀而遭到哈马斯的严厉批评。 巴勒斯坦权力机构的教科书受到以色列一些人的猛烈批评,尽管独立审查发现目前的教科书并不反犹太主义。

在以色列,教科书被指责使阿拉伯人丧失人性并将历史政治化。 家长圈-家庭论坛(PCFF)是一个由在冲突中失去直系亲属的以色列和巴勒斯坦联合组织组成的组织,被教育部禁止进入以色列学校。

尽管教学空间不断缩小,但我相信有人会在他们能找到的任何空间中教授人类。

“我的心充满痛苦,”写道 沙赫德·萨菲,一位加沙老师在一首 2022 年的诗中。 “但我不会失去希望。”

人类呼唤我们自学和互相教导。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

1 关于“教育工作者如何应对巴勒斯坦和以色列的事件?”的思考

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

How can educators respond to events in Palestine and Israel?

By Ellis Brooks

It feels more important than ever to teach peace, but it can seem like it’s never been harder. How can we be brave educators? Ellis Brooks from Quakers in Britain shares his thoughts on some of the issues schools are facing.

Quakers are making Razor Wire & Olive Branches resources downloadable for free and the physical pack available at a discount. We’ve sign-posted more resources for educators below.

What’s happening in schools?

Recent years saw a fall-off in teaching of ‘the Arab Israeli conflict’ in England. In 2018, Education Scotland was pressured to unpublish resources on Palestine and Israel for schools. Perhaps the subject is depressing. Perhaps teachers fear it is too controversial, or just plain difficult.

Yet teaching materials on Palestine and Israel have seen rapid uptake since violence spilt into the headlines, pointing to a thirst for understanding. This surge will be partly to answer children’s urgent questions, and partly a response to the acute needs of children – Jewish, Muslim, Arab – any who feel a connection with what’s happening. Some children – and teachers – will be treated as if the news is ‘about them’ because of their identity, whether they want it to be or not. Others will feel their pain is ignored.

Sadly, there is hate and bullying in schools. When conflict escalates in Israel and Palestine, antisemitic and Islamophobic incidents increase. Teachers, parents, carers will be concerned about intolerance in their communities and how they navigate these challenges and prevent harm.

Not in spite of these challenges but because of them, it is important for schools to facilitate brave and compassionate spaces to learn about both conflict and peacebuilding in Palestine and Israel.

What is the government telling schools?

The Education Secretary Gillian Keegan has written to schools in England reminding them to challenge behaviour that celebrates violence or stigmatises others. She also highlighted schools’ duty to impartiality. Keegan condemned the Hamas attacks and expressed government’s solidarity with Israel. Essential messages, although incomplete.

The Secretary of State isn’t a teacher, so is perhaps exempt from their professional obligations, but her message is literally partial because of what was left out: news of Palestinians facing violence. Islamophobia is alluded to as a seeming afterthought and there’s no mention of international law, even though it’s part of the statutory citizenship curriculum and the rule of law is promoted as a fundamental British value.

There is a danger that this will confuse and confound teaching.

What is impartiality?

The 1996 Education Act for England says schools must provide “balanced presentation of opposing views”, and there’s substantial guidance about what that means. The challenge for teachers is to go beyond a crude weighing-scales approach to build ethical, informed citizenship. This can mean the teacher taking different stances ranging from impartial facilitator to advocate for one side, giving learners a range of perspectives and the tools to evaluate them.

Critical educators recognise their own impartiality can never be perfect. Teachers – like all of us – are not necessarily conscious of their own biases. What feels impartial to one silences the pain of another.

As Edward Said wrote, “Every empire… tells itself and the world that it is unlike all other empires, that its mission is not to plunder and control but to educate and liberate.”

In educating on Palestine and Israel, it’s useful to draw on the framework of principled impartiality. This approach informs the human rights monitoring of the Ecumenical Accompaniment Programme in Palestine and Israel (EAPPI). It means being ‘for’ neither side, but pro human rights and international law. Ecumenical Accompaniers’ reports adhere to this approach, providing eyewitness accounts that can be useful for the UN Human Rights Council and for the classroom.

Humanise with heart and head

“Perhaps my words will assist in awakening the world, which is currently sleeping while millions cry.”- Hamza N. Ibrahim, Palestinian teacher, We are not numbers.

Principled impartiality asks a lot: active listening, critical thinking, empathy, ethical reasoning, understanding of history, religion, geography, knowledge of human rights, and deep curiosity about a context people devote lifetimes to studying. Yet it’s often adults who are timid, while children can be fearless and farsighted learners.

Despite the mesmerising scale of violence, learning can start with a story, humanising the people behind statistics. It might be a warrior-turned-peacemaker, someone enduring loss, standing up for justice or reaching out across divides. They might be religious, a farmer, a refugee, a parent, a child; they will be a person we can try to see and understand. Stories can provoke questions and learning inquiry.

Education in Palestine and Israel

“Direct contact with the Palestinian partners taught me a fascinating lesson in what it means to be human, getting to know the other and diminishing the despair.”- Niv Sarig, brother to Guy, who was killed by a sniper while in the Israeli Army in 1996 (via Parents Circle Families forum).

Before we bemoan our challenges, it’s worth noting the difficulties faced by teachers in Palestine and Israel. Whatever the curriculum says, children bear the brunt of sirens and rockets, schools demolished, children detained or killed.

When schools open, it doesn’t mean they’re free from conflict. Hamas runs education in Gaza, while the Palestinian Authority (PA) governs schools in the West Bank, although the UN agency for Palestinian refugees (UNRWA) also operates a lot of schools. UNRWA has been castigated by Hamas simply for teaching about the Holocaust. The Palestinian Authority’s textbooks are fiercely criticised by some in Israel, although the current volumes were found not to be antisemitic by an independent review.

In Israel, textbooks have been accused of dehumanising Arabs and politicising history. The Parents Circle – Families Forum (PCFF), a joint Israeli-Palestinian organisation of families who have lost immediate relatives to the conflict, was banned from Israeli schools by the Ministry of Education.

Despite this shrinking teaching space, I have faith there are those teaching humanity in whatever space they can find.

“My heart fills with agony,” wrote Shahd Safi, a Gazan teacher in a 2022 poem. “But I will not lose hope.”

Humanity calls to us to teach ourselves and each other.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

1 thought on “How can educators respond to events in Palestine and Israel?”

  1. Implement Universal Peace Education Forthwith to Stop Violence in Schools
    By Surya Nath Prasad, Ph. D. – Transcend Media Service
    https://www.transcend.org/tms/2018/02/implement-universal-peace-education-forthwith-to-stop-violence-in-schools/

    On UCN News Channel – DVD Education – YouTube
    A Dialogue on
    Universal Peace Education
    For Eradication of Corruption, Crime and Violence
    By Surya Nath Prasad, Ph.D.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LS10fxIuvik

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top