乔治梅森大学研究生在家中体验人道主义的复杂性

艾玛·莱盖斯

21 年 23 月 2023 日至 40 日期间,美国马里兰州加勒特县的 XNUMX 英亩树林变成了科斯特罗国家,这是一个虚构的国家,同时面临着日益激烈的种族冲突和日益严重的野火。 加拿大最近发生的野火提醒人们,野火对人口造成毁灭性影响,常常导致人们流离失所。 在现场模拟中,来自美国弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿乔治梅森大学卡特学院和美国华盛顿特区美利坚大学国际服务学院的硕士生们扮演了一个国际非政府组织——饲料军团——部署来评估情况; 满足国内流离失所者的需求; 并与政府官员、援助团体和地方领导人进行谈判。

我有机会与参与者交谈并征求他们对这次经历的看法以及它如何改变了他们对人道主义工作的看法。

两个晚上,学生们都睡在狭窄的教堂地下室里,有时很冷。 白天室外气温为 40 华氏度,这两天下了雨。 工作日很长——早上 2 点左右开始,一直持续到午夜。 有时,学生们感到需要评估的信息量过多,包括访谈结果、国家工作人员分享的简报以及他们需要阅读的报告。 作为活动的一部分,有 6 名角色扮演者扮演国内流离失所者、非政府组织成员和政府官员,让研究生们感受到了真实的体验。 模拟环境中的每一个元素——社会、历史、政治或宗教——都增加了现实感。

对于一些人来说,现场模拟是一次具有挑战性的经历。 当科斯特罗警察在半夜叫醒粮草队时,梅隆·德塞感到自己的心都跳到了胸口。 卡拉·圣米格尔因服用药物而感到寒冷、害怕和头晕。 当她和同事们汇合时,他们都在黑暗中排成一排,盯着她看。 她提到,她以为警察要伤害他们,并发现自己无法控制地颤抖。

“看到有人受苦却无法提供帮助,我们感到难以承受,但我们别无选择。”

学生们扮演了人道主义工作者的角色,决心帮助国内流离失所者。 他们很快就面临了真正的人道主义工作者所遇到的困难之一——接受自己无法提供或回应每一项需求的事实。 梅隆表示,“这次经历既摧毁了我的信心,又增强了我的信心。” 苏莱曼·迪奥里 (Souleymane Diori) 表示:“看到有人受苦却无法提供帮助,我们感到难以承受,但我们别无选择。” 他补充道:“我们需要首先帮助自己。”

由于模拟紧张的工作和生活条件,这段经历让学生回忆起了过去经历过的创伤。

这让卡拉想起了 2017 年波多黎各的玛丽亚飓风,当时她在离开居住地之前只有大约 10 分钟的时间收拾必需品。 汇报结束后,她泪流满面,努力应对这种她没有意识到的创伤。

当学生们分享模拟如何影响他们时,他们感到不知所措。 “如果我不得不谈论这件事,我会崩溃的。” 另一位学生娜奥米·戴维斯说。

54小时的密集团队合作教会了他们人道主义工作的基本技能、压力和同理心管理、沟通技巧以及危机期间制定战略的能力。 一名学生表示:“沟通和团队合作非常出色,是一切的关键。”

54小时的密集团队合作教会了他们人道主义工作的基本技能、压力和同理心管理、沟通技巧以及危机期间制定战略的能力。

学生们学会了如何管理自己的情绪。 它帮助他们对自己所拥有的技能更有信心,特别是在有压力的情况下或在危机时期。 当意想不到的后果发生时,梅隆感到内疚:她提供了一名难民的信息,导致他被当局逮捕。 在内心深处,她觉得自己关闭了自己需要提供同理心的部分。

模拟中学生们最喜欢的部分是由科斯特罗国家总监拉斯蒂·琼斯(角色扮演角色)领导的谈判训练。 它教会他们如何与非政府组织和公众人物交谈并影响他们。 内奥米觉得她因此建立了信心,并且能够坚持自己所关心的事情,卡拉说她可以在工作中运用她在日常工作中学到的知识。
模拟向学生展示了上场前培训的重要性。 他们都提到,他们对自己和自己的能力有了很多了解。 模拟帮助他们思考自己作为人道主义工作者的角色。 维克多·加西亚-拉拉 (Victor Garcia-Lara) 表示,学习如何保持中立并保持人道组织的完整性对于他们所帮助的民众的福祉至关重要。 苏莱曼觉得这次经历很有意义。 “它让你意识到在紧急情况下你是谁,以及在这种情况下你可以如何行动”,他反思道。

所有人都认为这次经历是人道主义事业的第一步。 “每个寻求人道主义援助的人都需要首先这样做,”一名学生表示。 一些人认为这是在开展实地人道主义工作之前可以获得的最接近的经历。

通过模拟,一些学生对人道主义援助工作产生了浓厚的兴趣。 其他人意识到,他们更不愿意踏入人道主义世界,因为这意味着付出巨大的牺牲。 他们觉得自己还没有准备好挑战自己的情感、心理和身体状况。

无论如何,他们都会将其添加到他们的课程中,作为他们克服的艰巨经历。 他们收到的证书也可以附在他们的申请中。 “我想说我有这样的经历,我在球场上,这是真实的”,苏莱曼表示。 对于维克多来说,这“打破了第四面墙”,他觉得就自己的能力而言,他还有更多需要探索的地方。
总而言之,学生们离开时对人道主义专业人员的工作以及这是否可能成为他们的职业道路有了新的认识。

艾玛·莱盖斯 2023 年春季,她是弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿乔治梅森大学卡特学院的交换生。她是法国人,曾是法国红十字会工作人员,将于 2023 年秋季在巴黎政治学院完成国际发展与合作硕士学位,法国斯特拉斯堡的一所政治研究所。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

George Mason University Graduate Students Experience Humanitarian Complexities at Home

By Emma Laigaisse

Over April 21-23, 2023, 40 acres of woods in Garrett County, Maryland, USA were transformed into the country of Costero, a fictional country dealing simultaneously with a simmering ethnic conflict as well as growing wildfires. The recent wildfires in Canada are a reminder that wildfires have devastating impacts on a population, often requiring individuals to be displaced. During the field simulation, master’s degree students from the Carter School at George Mason University in Arlington, VA, USA and the School of International Service at American University in Washington, DC, USA role played as members of an international non-governmental organization – the Forage Corps – deployed to assess conditions; respond to the needs of internally displaced persons; and negotiate with government officials, aid groups, and local leaders.

I had the opportunity to talk with those participating and seek their views of the experience and how it transformed their thinking about humanitarian work.

During the two nights, the students slept in a cramped church basement that was at times cold. The outside temperatures were in the 40s F during the day and it rained during the 2-days. The work days were long – starting at around 6 a.m. and continuing until midnight. At times, students felt overloaded with the amount of information that needed to be evaluated including findings from interviews, briefings shared by country staff, and reports they needed to read. As part of the event, there were 30 roleplayers acting as internally displaced persons, members of NGOs, and government officials who made the graduate students feel the experience was real. Every element of the context in the simulation – social, historical, political, or religious – increased the sense of realism.

For some, the field simulation was a challenging experience. When the Costero police woke the Forage Corps in the middle of the night, Meron Derseh felt her heart in her chest. Carla San Miguel was cold, scared and dizzy because of medication she had taken. And when she joined her colleagues, they were all lined up in the dark and staring at her. She mentioned thinking the police were about to harm them and found herself uncontrollably shaking.

“It was overwhelming for us to see someone suffering and not being able to help, but we had no choice.”

The students took on the role of humanitarian workers and were determined to help internally displaced people. They quickly faced one of the difficulties encountered by real humanitarian workers – to accept they can’t provide or respond to every need. According to Meron, “This experience both broke and built my confidence.” “It was overwhelming for us to see someone suffering and not being able to help, but we had no choice” said Souleymane Diori. He added “We needed to help ourselves first.”

Due to the intense working and living conditions of the simulation, the experience recalled for students past trauma they had experienced.

It reminded Carla of hurricane María in Puerto Rico in 2017 when she had just about 10 minutes to pack essentials before leaving the area where she was living. After the debrief, she broke into tears and struggled to process this trauma she wasn’t aware of.

When the students shared how the simulation impacted them, they felt overwhelmed. “I would have broken down if I had to talk about it.” said Naomi Davis, another student.

The 54 hours of intensive teamwork taught them humanitarian work basic skills, stress and empathy management, communication skills, and the ability to strategize during a crisis. “The communication and teamwork was excellent and key for everything” said one student.

The 54 hours of intensive teamwork taught them humanitarian work basic skills, stress and empathy management, communication skills, and the ability to strategize during a crisis.

The students learned how to manage their emotions. It helped them build more confidence in the skills they have, especially during stressful situations or in the time of crises. Meron experienced guilt when an unexpected consequence happened: she gave information about one of the refugees which caused his arrest by the authorities. Internally, she felt like she shut down the part of her that needed to offer empathy.

A favorite part of the simulation for students was negotiation training led by Rusty Jones (roleplay character) , the Costero Country Director. It taught them how to speak with and influence NGOs and public figures. Naomi felt she built confidence as a result and was able to stand up for what she cares for, and Carla said she can use what she learned at her everyday job in her work.
The simulation demonstrated to students how important training is before going on the field. They all mentioned that they learned a lot about themselves and their capacities. The simulation helped them consider their roles as humanitarian workers. According to Victor Garcia-Lara, learning how to remain neutral, and keeping the integrity of a humanitarian organization was essential to the wellbeing of the population they were helping. Souleymane felt this experience was meaningful. “It makes you realize who you are in times of emergency, and how you can act in that situation”, he reflected.

The experience was considered by all as a first step in a humanitarian career. “Everyone going to humanitarian aid needs to do this first, “ felt one student. Several felt it is the closest experience you could have before going on the ground humanitarian work.

As a result of the simulation, several students had their interest spiked for humanitarian help work. Others realized they are more reluctant to step into the humanitarian world because of the demanding sacrifices it implies. They felt like they weren’t ready to challenge their emotional, psychological and physical condition.

In any case, they will all add it on their curriculum as a demanding experience they overcame. The certificate they received can be attached as well to their applications. “I want to say I have that kind of experience, I was on the field, it was real”, indicated Souleymane. For Victor it “broke the fourth wall” and he felt like he had way more to explore in terms of what he’s capable of.
All in all, the students left with new appreciation for the work of humanitarian professionals and whether it might be a career path for them.

*Emma Laigaisse was an exchange student at the Carter School at George Mason University in Arlington, VA in the spring 2023. A native of France and former French Red Cross worker who will be finishing in the fall 2023 her master’s degree in international development and cooperation at Sciences Po, an Institute of political studies in Strasburg, France.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top