信仰团体援引世俗伦理呼吁采取公民行动反对仇恨引发的暴力

照片由 科林·劳埃德 on Unsplash

“愿我们都起来……”

介绍

看到两个主要信仰团体的声明(发布在下面)对布法罗大屠杀的回应令人振奋犯罪。 他们将“思想和祈祷”的宗教回应留给他人,因为他们作为公民,发出合乎道德、公民义务和非常实际的行动呼吁,所有这些都充分尊重“政教分离”的原则,因此与基于信仰和世俗和平教育的相关性。

纽约宗教间中心弯曲弧线,一个犹太和平组织,在相互补充的声明中,提出了所有公民的基本关注点,从而将和平教育作为学习参与公民责任行动的一种手段。 纽约跨信仰中心提倡任何公民都可以采取无党派政治和社会行动来应对破坏性犯罪的两个重要方面——减轻由此产生的人类痛苦和消除致病因素的要素——通过资助物质援助受害社区,并努力通过立法禁止一种武器,这种武器经常被用来实施这些日益频繁的基于仇恨的屠杀,目标是种族或宗教团体的成员,肇事者被灌输恐惧,认为是对自己的威胁身份和福祉。 一些肇事者及其支持者宣布拒绝被那些不值得平等的人“取代”。

这些因素都提出了和平教育应该解决的问题,在这个特殊的布法罗案例中,在美国,以及在世界上许多也发生过此类屠杀的国家发生的许多类似“身份暴力”行为的案例中. 我们敦促和平教育者邀请学生阅读关于布法罗超市大屠杀的几个叙述,并在一般讨论中回顾各种叙述提供的案件的所有事实。 以事件的事实为基础,然后学习小组应阅读并反思信仰间中心和弯曲弧的帖子,然后进行小组询问,以解决以下提出的问题。

弯曲弧线 敦促其读者 “......起来反对激发这次暴力袭击的危险白人民族主义意识形态,”

  • 为什么会这样 意识形态 是用复数吗? 在我们中间,我们能否确定几种我们将其描述为白人民族主义的思维模式或框架?
  • 你对使用这个词的陈述有何看法, 灵感 而不是这个词, 造成 指的是什么导致了这次袭击? 选择这个词与责任有什么相关性? 正如大屠杀的详细计划所证明的那样,肇事者的故意与他的个人责任有什么关系? 你能描述一下这个和其他大规模杀戮的网络或责任链吗? What might be the position of elected leaders and the general public in your web or chain? 为了消除这些仇恨犯罪,现在可能要求每个人做什么? 为什么回应需要“道德勇气和政治力量”? 我们可能需要学习什么来培养这种勇气和力量?

纽约宗教间中心 直接倡导州立法禁止总督提议的突击步枪。

  • 这项立法可以通过哪些方式减轻大规模仇恨暴力? 您是否认为该禁令足以显着减少枪支暴力? 可能需要哪些额外的立法?
  • 要消除在美国流行的普遍的枪支个人所有权可能需要什么? 这么多人手里拿着这么多枪,还会发生什么其他形式的暴力和意外悲剧? 社会需要“忍受”这些情况吗? 如果您认为情况应该/可以改变,和平教育在实现改变方面可以发挥什么作用?

酒吧,5/18/22

弯曲弧线:犹太人的行动——17 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日时事通讯

主题: 纽约州布法罗

(也可以看看: 弯曲关于在纽约布法罗对十名黑人进行白人至上主义大屠杀的 Arc 声明)

愿本周末在布法罗遇害的所有十名美国黑人的记忆成为一种祝福。 愿我们都站起来反对激发这次暴力袭击的危险白人民族主义意识形态。

这个周末,我们想起了一个古老而永恒的真理: 白人至上是民主美国梦想的最大威胁,每个人都可以安全和繁荣。

无论我们是走进社区的超市、购物中心、犹太教堂、清真寺还是教堂,我们每一个人都应该得到安全。

周六,一名白人民族主义者驱车前往纽约州布法罗,意图谋杀黑人,造成十人死亡,多人受伤。 再一次,在白人至上主义恐怖行为之后,我们的心被撕裂了,我们充满了愤怒。

我们正在为受伤者的康复祈祷,我们为受害者哀悼:65 岁的 Celestine Chaney; 罗伯塔·德鲁里,32 岁; 安德烈·麦克尼尔,53 岁; 凯瑟琳·梅西,72 岁; 马格斯 D. 莫里森,52 岁; 海沃德·帕特森,67 岁; 亚伦 W. 索尔特,55 岁; 杰拉尔丁·塔利,62 岁; 露丝·惠特菲尔德,86 岁; 和 77 岁的珀莉·杨。

愿他们的回忆成为一种祝福,愿他们的遗产成为行动。 我们的多种族犹太社区将我们的爱、团结和支持延伸到布法罗的黑人社区和所有处于痛苦中的人。

这次袭击并非偶然。 被指控的枪手驱车数小时瞄准这个社区——选择了一家 Black Buffalo 居民多年来游说的超市——意图谋杀尽可能多的黑人。1

枪手的宣言引用了“伟大替代”的危险谎言,这是一种种族主义和反犹太主义的阴谋论,声称犹太人支持取代美国白人的努力,通常是通过移民或选举。 同样的谎言在 2018 年针对匹兹堡的犹太人和 2019 年针对埃尔帕索的移民的枪声中得到了回应。2,3

这不是巧合。 “替代”的想法是一个古老的想法,现在是为了在美国人口结构变化的时代散布白人恐慌。

近年来,这种谎言已经从白人民族主义运动的边缘走向右翼政治言论的主流。 越来越多的右翼政客和权威人士——从福克斯新闻的塔克·卡尔森到众议院第三高级别共和党众议员埃莉斯·斯特凡尼克——正在向数百万观众散布这个谎言。4,5

现在,上周公布的一项民意调查显示,近一半的共和党选民至少在一定程度上同意“替代理论”——这与激发布法罗大屠杀的想法相同。6

这是一种策略。 面对日益增长的多种族民主、黑人解放和所有人的自由运动, 这些政客和权威人士玩世不恭地煽动白人的不满情绪,制造分裂和恐惧,以增强他们的权力,无论谁受到伤害。 他们的目标是阻止所有种族和阶级的人跨界工作,以赢得我们都需要茁壮成长的东西。

我们必须以所需的全部道德勇气和政治力量来应对这一时刻。 战胜这种对我们社区安全和我们国家民主的共同威胁必须是我们犹太机构的第一要务。

我们将共同建设一个人人都能自由、安全和有归属感的国家——无论我们的种族、祈祷方式或来自哪里。

团结一致,
Bend the Arc 团队

PS 近年来,Bend the Arc 一直在追踪这一阴谋论,并努力追究传播它的政客和权威人士的责任。 我们在 Twitter 上发布了一个帖子,其中包含您需要了解当前正在发生的事情的多个事实和视频。 如果您有兴趣,请阅读并分享.

来源

1. 纽约时报, 枪手瞄准了数十年种族隔离形成的黑人社区
2.美国国家公共电台, 什么是“伟大的替代者”,它与布法罗枪击案嫌疑人有何联系?
3. 纽约时报, 布法罗嫌疑人的种族主义著作如何揭示与其他攻击的联系
4. 琼斯妈妈, 布法罗射手的宣言依赖于塔克卡尔森推动的同样的白人至上主义阴谋
5. 华盛顿邮报, 众议员 Elise Stefanik 回应了据称由布法罗嫌疑人支持的种族主义理论
6. 华盛顿邮报, 近一半的共和党人同意“伟大的替代理论”


声明和资源:布法罗的反黑人家庭恐怖

纽约宗教间中心

(在此处查看原始声明)

纽约跨信仰中心向上周末因国内恐怖主义和反黑人仇恨而丧生的 10 名布法罗居民的家属表示最深切的哀悼。 我们也为三名受伤的人祈祷,为那些目睹大屠杀的人祈祷,也为更广泛的社区祈祷,在暴力和激进的白人至上主义者在当地超市开火之前,结构性种族主义的挑战对他们来说已经是巨大的。

这场大规模枪击事件排在许多其他地方:2012 年在 Oak Creek gurdwara,2015 年在伊曼纽尔母亲,2018 年在生命之树犹太教堂,2019 年在埃尔帕索沃尔玛,2019 年在基督城的清真寺,2021 年在亚洲拥有的小型亚特兰大的企业,还有太多其他的。 然而,作为一次重大的反黑人杀戮,这起枪击事件在美国独特的种族主义暴力历史中占有一席之地,可以追溯到奴隶制、家庭分离、私刑和吉姆·克劳。

作为圣公会的首席主教和土生土长的布法罗人,最高牧师迈克尔·库里(Michael Curry)说:“任何人的生命丧生都是悲惨的,但这场枪击事件是由深深的种族仇恨驱动的,我们必须摆脱我们国家的致命道路已经走了太久了。” 库里主教的完整声明 点击此处详细了解。.

作为一个致力于让我们的城市远离种族主义和宗教偏见的组织,ICNY 与国家和更大社区的成员一起哀悼这些可预防的死亡和令人震惊的损失。 以下是一些在祷告之外采取行动的建议:

VoiceBuffalo 多年来一直为布法罗的社区服务。 您可以同时捐赠 这里的食品分发和尿布和卫生用品。 你可以在 Facebook 上找到它们 点击此处。

同样,布法罗穆斯林公共政策委员会与教会和社区领导层合作,为受害者及其家人提供支持。 穆斯林社区通过 Jami Masjid 设立基金 为“Tops Market Shooting Victims” 支持受害者家属。 筹集的资金将用于支付葬礼费用和医疗费用。 链接在这里。

州长 Kathy Hochul 将提出一项法案,扩大该州对某些攻击性武器的现有禁令。 她的提议还将包括对纽约法律的修改,以解决美国最高法院预期的裁决,该裁决可能取消纽约对携带隐蔽武器的限制。 让州长知道你的看法 关于这些建议并联系纽约州教会委员会 [电子邮件保护].

Sincerely,

牧师 Chloe Breyer 博士
执行董事
纽约宗教间中心

 

关闭

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Faith Groups Invoke Secular Ethics to Call for Civic Action against Hate Induced Violence

Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

“May we all rise up…”

Introduction

It was heartening to see the statements of two major faith-based groups (posted below) in response to the Buffalo massacre that took the lives of ten and seriously wounded three more, all but one African Americans, in a deliberately and elaborately planned racist hate crime. They leave the religious response of “thoughts and prayers” to others, as they as citizens, voice ethical, civically imperative, and very practical calls to action, all of which fully respect the principle of “separation of church and state” and therefore of relevance to both faith-based and secular peace education.

The Interfaith Center of New York and Bend the Arc, a Jewish peace organization, in statements complementing each other, make points of fundamental concern to all citizens, and thereby, to peace education as a means of learning toward engagement in actions of civic responsibility. The Interfaith Center of New York advocates non-partisan political and social action that any and every citizen can take to respond to two significant dimensions of the shattering crime – relieving the consequent human suffering and eliminating elements of the causative factors – by funding material assistance to the victimized community and working to pass legislation to ban one type of weapon so often used to perpetrate these increasingly frequent hate-based slaughters of people, targeted as members of a racial or religious group the perpetrators have been indoctrinated to fear as threats to their own identities and wellbeing. Some perpetrators and their supporters declare a refusal to be “replaced” by those not worthy of equality.

These factors all raise issues that should be addressed by peace education, in this particular Buffalo case, in the United States, and in the cases of so many similar acts of “identity violence” in many countries around the world where such slaughters have also occurred. We urge peace educators to invite students to read several accounts of the Buffalo supermarket massacre, and in general discussion review all the facts of the case that the various accounts provide. With the facts of the event as the foundation, the learning group should then read and reflect on the Interfaith Center and the Bend the Arc posts, followed by a group inquiry that addresses queries proposed below.

Bend the Arc urges its readers to “… rise up against the dangerous white nationalist ideologies that inspired this violent attack,”

  • Why is it that ideologies is used in the plural? Among us can we identify several modes of thought or frameworks we would characterize as white nationalist?
  • What do you make of the statement using the word, inspired rather than the word, caused in referring to what led to the attack? What relevance might the word choice have to responsibility? What relevance does the intentionality of the perpetrator, as evidenced in the detailed planning of the massacre, have to his individual responsibility? Can you describe a web or a chain of responsibility for this and other mass killings? What might be the position of elected leaders and the general public in your web or chain? What might be asked of each now to eliminate these hate crimes? Why might responding require “moral courage and political strength?” What might we need to learn to develop that courage and strength?

The Interfaith Center of New York directly advocates for state legislation to ban assault rifles as proposed by the Governor.

  • In what ways might this legislation mitigate mass hate violence? Do you believe that the ban is sufficient to significantly reduce gun violence? What additional legislation might be called for?
  • What might be necessary to eliminate the widespread personal ownership of guns that is at epidemic proportions in the United States? What other forms of violence and accidental tragedies occur as a consequence of so many guns in so many hands? Are these circumstances that society needs to “live with?” If you believe that the situation should/could be changed, what role might peace education play in achieving the change?

BAR, 5/18/22

Bend the Arc: Jewish Action – May 17, 2022 Newsletter

Subject: Buffalo, NY

(See also: Bend the Arc statement on the white supremacist massacre of ten Black people in Buffalo, NY)

May the memories of all ten Black Americans murdered in Buffalo this weekend be a blessing. And may we all rise up against the dangerous white nationalist ideologies that inspired this violent attack.

This weekend, we were reminded of an old and enduring truth: white supremacy is the greatest threat to the dream of a democratic America where every single person can be safe and thrive.

Whether we are walking through the doors of our community’s supermarkets, shopping centers, synagogues, mosques, or churches, every single one of us deserves to be safe.

On Saturday, a white nationalist drove to Buffalo, NY with the intention of murdering Black people, killing ten and injuring more. Once again, our hearts are torn apart and we are filled with rage in the aftermath of an act of white supremacist terror.

We are praying for the recovery of those injured and we mourn the victims: Celestine Chaney, 65; Roberta Drury, 32; Andre Mackniel, 53; Katherine Massey, 72; Margus D. Morrison, 52; Heyward Patterson, 67; Aaron W. Salter, 55; Geraldine Talley, 62; Ruth Whitfield, 86; and Pearly Young, 77.

May their memories be a blessing, and may their legacy be action. Our multiracial Jewish community extends our love, solidarity, and support to the Black community in Buffalo and all who are in pain.

This attack was no accident. The alleged shooter drove several hours to target this neighborhood — choosing a supermarket Black Buffalo residents lobbied for years to get — with the intention to murder as many Black people as he could.1

The shooter’s manifesto cites the dangerous lie of “great replacement,” a racist and antisemitic conspiracy theory which claims Jewish people are behind efforts to replace white Americans, often through immigration or elections. This very same lie echoed in gunshots aimed at Jewish people in Pittsburgh in 2018 and immigrants in El Paso in 2019.2,3

This is no coincidence. The idea of “replacement” is an old one, now tailored to spread white panic in a time of changing demographics in the United States.

In recent years, this lie has gone from the fringes of the white nationalist movement to the mainstream of right-wing political rhetoric. A growing number of rightwing politicians and pundits — from Fox News’ Tucker Carlson to Rep. Elise Stefanik, the third highest-ranking Republican in the House — are spreading this lie to audiences of millions.4,5

Now, a poll released last week shows that nearly half of Republican voters agree to at least some extent with “replacement theory” — the same idea that inspired the massacre in Buffalo.6

This is a strategy. In the face of a growing movement for multiracial democracy, Black liberation, and freedom for all, these politicians and pundits are cynically stoking white grievances to manufacture division and fear in order to grow their power, no matter who gets hurt. They aim to keep people of all races and classes from working across lines of difference to win the things we all need to thrive.

We must respond to this moment with the full moral courage and political strength it requires. Defeating this concerted threat to the safety of our communities and our country’s democracy must be the number one priority of our Jewish institutions.

Together, we will build a country where everyone is able to live with freedom, safety, and belonging — no matter our race, how we pray, or where we come from.

In solidarity,
The Bend the Arc team

P.S. In recent years, Bend the Arc has been tracking this conspiracy theory and working to hold the politicians and pundits who spread it accountable. We’ve posted a thread on Twitter with multiple facts and videos you need to understand what’s happening now. Please read and share if you’re interested.

Sources

1. The New York Times, Gunman Targeted Black Neighborhood Shaped by Decades of Segregation
2. NPR, What is the ‘Great Replacement’ and how is it tied to the Buffalo shooting suspect?
3. The New York Times, How Buffalo Suspect’s Racist Writings Reveal Links to Other Attacks
4. Mother Jones, The Buffalo Shooter’s Manifesto Relied on the Same White Supremacist Conspiracy Pushed by Tucker Carlson
5. The Washington Post, Rep. Elise Stefanik echoed racist theory allegedly espoused by Buffalo suspect
6. The Washington Post, Nearly half of Republicans agree with ‘great replacement theory’


Statement and Resources: Anti-Black Domestic Terror in Buffalo

The Interfaith Center of New York

(see original statement here)

The Interfaith Center of New York extends our deepest condolences to the families of the 10 Buffalo residents who lost their lives to domestic terrorism and anti-black hate this past weekend. Our prayers are also for the three individuals injured, for those who witnessed the massacre, and for the wider community for whom challenges of structural racism were already substantial before a violent and radicalized White Supremacist opened fire in their local supermarket.

This mass shooting stands in a long line of others: 2012 at the Oak Creek gurdwara, 2015 at Mother Emmanuel, 2018 at the Tree of Life synagogue, 2019 at an El Paso Walmart, 2019 at mosques in Christchurch, 2021 at Asian-owned small businesses in Atlanta, and too many others. As a major anti-Black killing, however, this shooting occupies its own place in the unique history of racist violence in the US, going back to slavery, family separation, lynching, and Jim Crow.

As the Episcopal Church’s Presiding Bishop and native of Buffalo, the Most Rev. Michael Curry says “The loss of any human life is tragic, but there was deep racial hatred driving this shooting, and we have got to turn from the deadly path our nation has walked for much too long.” For Bishop Curry’s full statement click here.

As an organization that seeks to make our city safe from racism and religious bigotry, ICNY join members of the state and greater community in mourning these preventable deaths and shattering losses. Below are a few suggestions for taking action beyond prayer:

VoiceBuffalo has served the community in Buffalo for many years. You can donate both for food distribution and diapers and hygiene products here. You can find them on Facebook here.

Likewise, the Muslim Public Policy Council of Buffalo has worked with the Churches and the Community leadership to support the victims and their families. The Muslim Community, through Jami Masjid, has established a fund for “Tops Market Shooting Victims” to support the families of the victims. The money raised will support funeral costs and medical expenses. The link is here.

Governor Kathy Hochul is to propose a bill expanding the state’s existing ban on some assault weapons. Her proposal will also include changes that could be made to New York’s laws to address an expected ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court that could strike down New York’s restrictions on carrying a concealed weapon. Let the Governor know your views about these proposals and contact the New York State Council of Churches [email protected].

Sincerely,

Rev. Dr. Chloe Breyer
Executive Director
The Interfaith Center of New York

 

close

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...