التعليم: التحديات في سياقات الصراع

تتطلب معالجة التطرف العنيف تلبية احتياجات التعليم والتوظيف.

(تم إعادة النشر من: صندوق الإغاثة الإنسانية. 8 يوليو 2021)

في هذا الشهر ، تركز HART على التحديات التي تواجه التعليم في البلدان الشريكة لنا وكيف يسعى شركاؤنا لمعالجتها.

ازدادت الهجمات الإرهابية ضد أهداف تعليمية في السنوات الأخيرة. الجماعات الإرهابية في جميع أنحاء جنوب آسيا وأفريقيا ، بما في ذلك بوكو حرام في نيجيريا ، وحركة طالبان الأفغانية ، والجماعات المرتبطة بالقاعدة في سوريا والعراق ، إما استخدمت بشكل متزايد الهجمات على المؤسسات التعليمية كأداة للإرهاب ، أو استولت على المؤسسات التعليمية من أجل الترويج لـ "علامتهم التجارية" للتطرف.[أنا]  في السنوات الأخيرة ، تم الإعلان بشكل جيد عن العدد المتزايد للهجمات ضد المدارس واختطاف التلاميذ من قبل الجماعات المسلحة المتطرفة في نيجيريا.

لماذا المؤسسات التعليمية مستهدفة؟

المدارس والكليات والجامعات أهداف "سهلة" نسبيًا حيث يتجمع عدد كبير من الناس. المباني العسكرية والحكومية والمدنية تخضع بشكل متزايد لحراسة جيدة. على النقيض من ذلك ، فإن المؤسسات التعليمية أقل حماية وأكثر ضعفًا ولها قيمة رمزية حيث يُنظر إليها غالبًا على أنها "تمثل" الدولة. الهجمات على المدارس لها قيمة "إرهابية" عالية وتزيد من صورة الجماعات المسلحة.

لكن هناك أيضًا أسباب أيديولوجية. تعتقد بوكو حرام في نيجيريا والجماعات المرتبطة بالقاعدة في سوريا وأماكن أخرى أن التعليم العلماني على النمط الغربي يفسد المجتمع الإسلامي ويتعارض مع وجهة نظرهم الدينية. في الواقع ، يمكن ترجمة عبارة "بوكو حرام" تقريبًا على أنها "التعليم الغربي ممنوع".

لماذا يرفض المتطرفون الإسلاميون التعليم الغربي؟

يعتبر العديد من الإسلاميين التعليم الغربي ، الذي غالبًا ما يقدمه المبشرون المسيحيون ، "استيرادًا" دينيًا غربيًا استعماريًا يفسد العقيدة الإسلامية والقيم "التقليدية" ويسعون إلى العودة إلى التعليم الديني "النقي".

ومع ذلك ، بعد أن تم تطبيقه وتكييفه مع جميع الثقافات ، لم يعد من الممكن اعتبار التعليم الحديث استيرادًا "غربيًا". ومع ذلك فهو يعتبر أكبر تهديد للأيديولوجية التفردية للجماعات المسلحة. كتب البروفيسور بوعز ، عميد كلية لودر للإدارة الحكومية والدبلوماسية والاستراتيجية: "يفهم الإرهابيون تمامًا أن التعليم من أجل السلام وحقوق الإنسان وحقوق الأقليات والمرأة بقدر ما تتعارض القيم الديمقراطية والليبرالية مع رسائلهم وتشكل أكبر تهديد لهم جهود التطرف المستمرة. إذا تمكنوا من إغلاق التعليم المنافس ، فسوف يحققون احتكارًا لعقول المستقبل ".

يدرك الإرهابيون تمامًا أن التربية من أجل السلام وحقوق الإنسان وحقوق الأقليات والنساء بقدر ما تتعارض القيم الديمقراطية والليبرالية مع رسائلهم وتشكل أكبر تهديد لجهودهم المستمرة في التطرف. إذا تمكنوا من إغلاق التعليم المنافس ، فسوف يحققون احتكارًا لعقول المستقبل ".

لكن من الضروري التمييز بين العنف الديني والعنف ذي الدوافع السياسية. الكثير من التطرف متجذر في تصورات الظلم والتهميش.[الثاني] تصبح حالات الفقر والظلم البذر الذي يمكن فيه التلاعب بالتوترات الطائفية والدينية وتنمو فيها. يحدد تقرير مؤشر الإرهاب العالمي لعام 2013 (ص 68) عاملين مرتبطين ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالنشاط الإرهابي: العنف السياسي الذي ترتكبه الدولة ووجود نزاعات مسلحة أوسع. "الصلة بين هذين العاملين والإرهاب قوية لدرجة أن أقل من 0.6 في المائة من جميع الهجمات الإرهابية وقعت في بلدان لا يوجد فيها أي صراع مستمر وأي شكل من أشكال الإرهاب السياسي".[ثالثا]  يؤدي نقص فرص العمل للأشخاص المتعلمين في البلدان غير الآمنة سياسياً إلى زيادة مخاطر التطرف لدى الأشخاص المتعلمين جيدًا.

ما الحلول؟

تتطلب معالجة التطرف العنيف تلبية احتياجات التعليم والتوظيف ، وهذا هو سبب كونه مركزًا مهمًا لمعظم شركائنا. قد تكون معالجة معدلات التسرب المرتفعة الخطوة الأولى في الحد من تجنيد الشباب في التطرف العنيف. وبالمثل ، فإن عدم الحصول على التعليم الرسمي يجعل الأطفال عرضة للتجنيد والتطرف. توفير التعليم والحوافز في المجتمعات الفقيرة ، حيث تتوفر المدارس والبنى التحتية الآمنة للأطفال (ذكورًا وإناثًا) والموظفين ، حيث يتم تضمين التفكير النقدي والرياضة والمهارات الحياتية والأدوار الأسرية والمجتمعية في المنهج الدراسي ، وتحويل المجتمعات وتوفيرها المزيد.

تفخر HART بالمشاركة في المشاريع التعليمية في جميع البلدان الشريكة لنا. قبل بضعة أشهر ، قال شريكنا في السودان ، بنيامين بارنابا ، متحدثًا عن منطقة تأثرت بشدة بالنزاع: "باستثناء HART في جبال النوبة ، لا توجد وكالة أصلية أو دولية أو تابعة للأمم المتحدة قادرة على توفير أي مواد تعليمية أو مدرسية أو أي شيء له علاقة بالتعليم. مشروعك هو المشروع الوحيد الموجود على الأرض ويعتمد عليه الجميع ".

[أنا] نافيد حسين. التحالف العالمي لحماية التعليم من الهجوم. لماذا يهاجم الإرهابيون التعليم. https://protectingeducation.org/news/why-terrorists-attack-education/ 22 فبراير 2016

[الثاني] سامانثا دي سيلفا. دور التعليم في منع التطرف العنيف. التقرير الرئيسي المشترك بين البنك الدولي والأمم المتحدة "هل يمكن للتدخلات الإنمائية أن تساعد في منع الصراع والعنف؟"

[ثالثا] المرجع نفسه.

كن أول من يعلق

اشترك في النقاش...

Education: Challenges in contexts of conflict

Tackling violent extremism requires addressing education and employment needs.

(Reposted from: Humanitarian Aid Relief Trust. July 8, 2021)

This month, HART is focusing on the challenges facing education in our partner countries and how our partners seek to address them.

Terrorist attacks against educational targets have increased in recent years. Terrorist groups across South Asia and Africa, including Boko Haram in Nigeria, the Afghan Taliban, and Al-Qaeda linked groups in Syria and Iraq, have either increasingly used attacks on educational institutions as an instrument of terror, or have taken over educational institutions to promote their ‘brand’ of extremism.[i]  In recent years, the increasing number of attacks against schools and the kidnapping of pupils by extremist militant groups in Nigeria have been well publicized.

Why are Educational Institutions Targets?

Schools, colleges and universities are comparatively ‘soft’ targets where large numbers of people gather. Military, government and civil buildings are increasingly well-guarded. By contrast, educational institutions are less protected, more vulnerable and have symbolic value since they are often perceived to ‘represent’ the state. Attacks on schools have high ‘terror’ value and increase the profile of militant groups.

But there are also ideological reasons. Boko Haram in Nigeria and Al-Qa’eda-linked groups in Syria and elsewhere believe that western-style secular education corrupts Islamic society and is contrary to their view of faith. In fact, the words ‘Boko Haram’ can roughly be translated  as “Western education is forbidden”.

Why do Islamic Extremists Loathe Western Education?

Many Islamists consider western education, often introduced by Christian missionaries, to be a western colonialist religious ‘import’ that corrupts Islamic faith and ‘traditional’ values and they seek a return to ‘pure’ religious education.

However, having been applied and adapted to all cultures, modern education can no longer be considered a ‘western’ import. It is nevertheless considered the greatest threat to the exclusivist ideology of militant groups. Prof Boaz, Dean at Lauder School of Government, Diplomacy and Strategy writes: “Terrorists fully understand that education for peace, human rights, minority and women rights as much as democratic and liberal values are contradictory to their messages and pose the biggest threat to their ongoing radicalization efforts. If they can shut down rival education, they will achieve a monopoly on the minds of the future.”

“Terrorists fully understand that education for peace, human rights, minority and women rights as much as democratic and liberal values are contradictory to their messages and pose the biggest threat to their ongoing radicalization efforts. If they can shut down rival education, they will achieve a monopoly on the minds of the future.”

It is necessary though to distinguish between religious and politically motivated violence. Much extremism is rooted in perceptions of injustice and marginalization.[ii] Situations of poverty and injustice become the seedbed in which sectarian and religious tensions can be manipulated and grow. The Global Terrorism Index report of 2013 ( p.68) identifies two factors closely identified with terrorist activity: political violence committed by the state and the existence of broader armed conflicts. “The link between these two factors and terrorism is so strong that less than 0.6 percent of all terrorist attacks have occurred in countries without any ongoing conflict and any form of political terror.”[iii]  Lack of employment for educated persons in politically insecure countries heighten the risk of radicalization of well-educated persons.

What Solutions?

Tackling violent extremism requires addressing education and employment needs, and this is why it is such an important focus for most of our partners. Addressing high drop-out rates may be the first step in reducing recruitment of young people into violent extremism. Likewise, lack of access to formal education renders children susceptible to recruitment and radicalization. Educational provision and incentives in poor communities, where safe schools and infrastructures are available for children (both male and female) and staff, in which critical thinking, sports, life skills and family and community roles are included in the syllabus, transform communities and provide stability.

HART is proud to be involved with educational projects in all our partner countries. A few months ago, our partner in Sudan, Benjamin Barnaba, speaking of an area deeply impacted by conflict, said: “Apart from HART in the Nuba Mountains there is no other indigenous or international or UN agency able to provide any educational or scholastic material or anything to do with education. Yours is the only project that exists on the ground and everyone relies on it.”

[i] Naveed Hussain. Global Coalition to Protect Education from attack. Why terrorists attack education. https://protectingeducation.org/news/why-terrorists-attack-education/ 22 February 2016

[ii] Samantha de Silva.  Role of Education in the prevention of violent extremism. joint World Bank-UN flagship report “Can Development Interventions Help Prevent Conflict and Violence?”

[iii] Ibid.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...