教育:冲突背景下的挑战

解决暴力极端主义需要解决教育和就业需求。

(转自: 人道主义援助救济信托. 8 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日)

本月,HART 将重点关注我们合作伙伴国家教育面临的挑战以及我们的合作伙伴如何应对这些挑战。

近年来,针对教育目标的恐怖袭击有所增加。 南亚和非洲的恐怖组织,包括尼日利亚的博科圣地组织、阿富汗塔利班以及叙利亚和伊拉克与基地组织有关联的组织,要么越来越多地将袭击教育机构作为恐怖手段,要么接管教育机构以宣传他们的极端主义“品牌”。[I]的  近年来,尼日利亚极端武装组织针对学校的袭击和绑架学生的事件不断增多,已广为人知。

为什么教育机构是目标?

学校、学院和大学是大量人员聚集的相对“软”目标。 军事、政府和民用建筑越来越受到严密保护。 相比之下,教育机构受到的保护较少、更加脆弱并且具有象征价值,因为它们通常被认为是“代表”国家。 对学校的袭击具有很高的“恐怖”价值,并增加了激进组织的形象。

但也有意识形态方面的原因。 尼日利亚的博科圣地和叙利亚等地与基地组织有关联的团体认为,西式世俗教育腐蚀了伊斯兰社会,与他们的信仰观相悖。 事实上,“博科圣地”一词大致可以翻译为“西方教育是被禁止的”。

为什么伊斯兰极端分子厌恶西方教育?

许多伊斯兰主义者认为,通常由基督教传教士引入的西方教育是西方殖民主义宗教的“进口”,它腐蚀了伊斯兰信仰和“传统”价值观,他们寻求回归“纯粹”的宗教教育。

然而,在应用和适应所有文化之后,现代教育不能再被视为“西方”进口。 尽管如此,它仍被认为是对激进组织排他主义意识形态的最大威胁。 劳德政府、外交与战略学院院长博阿兹教授写道:“恐怖分子完全理解,和平、人权、少数族裔和妇女权利以及民主和自由价值观的教育与他们的信息相矛盾,并对其构成最大威胁。正在进行的激进化努力。 如果他们能够关闭竞争对手的教育,他们将垄断未来的思想。”

“恐怖分子完全明白,和平、人权、少数族裔和妇女权利以及民主和自由价值观的教育与其所传达的信息相矛盾,对他们正在进行的激进化努力构成最大威胁。 如果他们能够关闭竞争对手的教育,他们将垄断未来的思想。”

不过,有必要区分宗教暴力和出于政治动机的暴力。 许多极端主义植根于对不公正和边缘化的看法。[II] 贫困和不公正的情况成为可以操纵和发展宗派和宗教紧张局势的温床。 2013 年全球恐怖主义指数报告(第 68 页)确定了与恐怖主义活动密切相关的两个因素:国家实施的政治暴力和更广泛的武装冲突的存在。 “这两个因素与恐怖主义之间的联系如此紧密,以至于不到 0.6% 的恐怖袭击发生在没有任何持续冲突和任何形式的政治恐怖的国家。”[III]  在政治不安全的国家,受过教育的人缺乏就业会增加受过良好教育的人激进化的风险。

什么解决方案?

解决暴力极端主义需要解决教育和就业需求,这就是为什么它是我们大多数合作伙伴如此重要的重点。 解决高辍学率可能是减少招募年轻人参与暴力极端主义的第一步。 同样,无法接受正规教育使儿童容易被招募和激进化。 在贫困社区提供教育和激励措施,为儿童(男性和女性)和工作人员提供安全的学校和基础设施,其中批判性思维、体育、生活技能以及家庭和社区角色被纳入教学大纲,改造社区并提供稳定。

HART 很自豪能够参与我们所有合作伙伴国家的教育项目。 几个月前,我们在苏丹的合作伙伴本杰明·巴纳巴 (Benjamin Barnaba) 在谈到一个深受冲突影响的地区时说:“除了努巴山脉的 HART 之外,没有其他土著或国际或联合国机构能够提供任何教育或学术材料或与教育有关的任何事情。 你的项目是唯一存在于地面上的项目,每个人都依赖它。”

[I]的 纳维德侯赛因。 保护教育免受攻击的全球联盟。 为什么恐怖分子袭击教育。 https://protectingeducation.org/news/why-terrorists-attack-education/ 22年2016月XNUMX日

[II] 萨曼莎·德席尔瓦。 教育在预防暴力极端主义中的作用。 世界银行-联合国联合旗舰报告“发展干预能否帮助预防冲突和暴力?”

[III] 同上。

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Education: Challenges in contexts of conflict

Tackling violent extremism requires addressing education and employment needs.

(Reposted from: Humanitarian Aid Relief Trust. July 8, 2021)

This month, HART is focusing on the challenges facing education in our partner countries and how our partners seek to address them.

Terrorist attacks against educational targets have increased in recent years. Terrorist groups across South Asia and Africa, including Boko Haram in Nigeria, the Afghan Taliban, and Al-Qaeda linked groups in Syria and Iraq, have either increasingly used attacks on educational institutions as an instrument of terror, or have taken over educational institutions to promote their ‘brand’ of extremism.[i]  In recent years, the increasing number of attacks against schools and the kidnapping of pupils by extremist militant groups in Nigeria have been well publicized.

Why are Educational Institutions Targets?

Schools, colleges and universities are comparatively ‘soft’ targets where large numbers of people gather. Military, government and civil buildings are increasingly well-guarded. By contrast, educational institutions are less protected, more vulnerable and have symbolic value since they are often perceived to ‘represent’ the state. Attacks on schools have high ‘terror’ value and increase the profile of militant groups.

But there are also ideological reasons. Boko Haram in Nigeria and Al-Qa’eda-linked groups in Syria and elsewhere believe that western-style secular education corrupts Islamic society and is contrary to their view of faith. In fact, the words ‘Boko Haram’ can roughly be translated  as “Western education is forbidden”.

Why do Islamic Extremists Loathe Western Education?

Many Islamists consider western education, often introduced by Christian missionaries, to be a western colonialist religious ‘import’ that corrupts Islamic faith and ‘traditional’ values and they seek a return to ‘pure’ religious education.

However, having been applied and adapted to all cultures, modern education can no longer be considered a ‘western’ import. It is nevertheless considered the greatest threat to the exclusivist ideology of militant groups. Prof Boaz, Dean at Lauder School of Government, Diplomacy and Strategy writes: “Terrorists fully understand that education for peace, human rights, minority and women rights as much as democratic and liberal values are contradictory to their messages and pose the biggest threat to their ongoing radicalization efforts. If they can shut down rival education, they will achieve a monopoly on the minds of the future.”

“Terrorists fully understand that education for peace, human rights, minority and women rights as much as democratic and liberal values are contradictory to their messages and pose the biggest threat to their ongoing radicalization efforts. If they can shut down rival education, they will achieve a monopoly on the minds of the future.”

It is necessary though to distinguish between religious and politically motivated violence. Much extremism is rooted in perceptions of injustice and marginalization.[ii] Situations of poverty and injustice become the seedbed in which sectarian and religious tensions can be manipulated and grow. The Global Terrorism Index report of 2013 ( p.68) identifies two factors closely identified with terrorist activity: political violence committed by the state and the existence of broader armed conflicts. “The link between these two factors and terrorism is so strong that less than 0.6 percent of all terrorist attacks have occurred in countries without any ongoing conflict and any form of political terror.”[iii]  Lack of employment for educated persons in politically insecure countries heighten the risk of radicalization of well-educated persons.

What Solutions?

Tackling violent extremism requires addressing education and employment needs, and this is why it is such an important focus for most of our partners. Addressing high drop-out rates may be the first step in reducing recruitment of young people into violent extremism. Likewise, lack of access to formal education renders children susceptible to recruitment and radicalization. Educational provision and incentives in poor communities, where safe schools and infrastructures are available for children (both male and female) and staff, in which critical thinking, sports, life skills and family and community roles are included in the syllabus, transform communities and provide stability.

HART is proud to be involved with educational projects in all our partner countries. A few months ago, our partner in Sudan, Benjamin Barnaba, speaking of an area deeply impacted by conflict, said: “Apart from HART in the Nuba Mountains there is no other indigenous or international or UN agency able to provide any educational or scholastic material or anything to do with education. Yours is the only project that exists on the ground and everyone relies on it.”

[i] Naveed Hussain. Global Coalition to Protect Education from attack. Why terrorists attack education. https://protectingeducation.org/news/why-terrorists-attack-education/ 22 February 2016

[ii] Samantha de Silva.  Role of Education in the prevention of violent extremism. joint World Bank-UN flagship report “Can Development Interventions Help Prevent Conflict and Violence?”

[iii] Ibid.

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...