民间社会将继续为阿富汗宣传

30 月 XNUMX 日,当联合国安理会向塔利班宣布将随时了解并积极参与阿富汗的人权状况时,它向民间社会提出了挑战,要求其继续并加强其倡导人类事业的行动。阿富汗人民的安全。

“保持对此事的掌握”

安理会第 2593 号决议的最后一句话 [S/RES/2593,30 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日通过],“决定 继续处理此事”,在日常语言中的意思是“我们会跟上这件事”。 因此,他们应该和我们所有的民间社会活动家一样,向我们的政府和联合国施加压力,要求他们安全疏散阿富汗境内所有处于危险之中的人,并确保留下来的人的安全。

该决议是国际社会要求塔利班遵守所有社区成员应尽的基本人权标准的意图的第二次表达。 它和其他最近的声明告诉塔利班,在民间社会的敦促下,遵守这些标准是他们渴望被“国际社会”接受的基本条件。 国家和公民应与塔利班(现在是阿富汗事实上的政府)接触,明确表示违反标准会危及国际认可。

我们抱有一些希望,因为这些标准可能会得到遵守 关于阿富汗疏散旅行保障的联合声明 呼吁塔利班允许所有想要或需要离开阿富汗的人安全离开。 联合国大使,如爱尔兰的杰拉尔丁·伯恩·纳森 (Geraldine Byrne Nason) 表示,联合国将要求塔利班对侵犯人权和任何剥夺妇女尊严和自主权的行为负责,这是任何寻求被国际社会接受的政府都必须达到的标准。 我们公民社会热切希望这一次,这些禁令能够得到执行,而不是在没有“保持被扣押”的行动的情况下,保持希望的言辞。

在很大程度上,我们公民社会要让各国和联合国负责贯彻所有行动的可能性。 因为如果没有我们,那些朝着建立妇女权利规范迈出第一步的民间社会 联合国妇女署执行主任普拉米拉·帕滕(Pramila Patten)在其强有力的声明中引用 关于国际社会将向塔利班提出什么要求,这些要求很可能仍然是空谈。

国际民间社会将继续关注此事,继续敦促我们各自的政府和联合国继续关注此事,以确保所有目前处于危险之中的人撤离,并消除留在阿富汗的妇女和民间社会活动家面临的风险。

酒吧,9/2/21

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Civil Society Will Continue Advocacy for Afghanistan

When on August 30th the UN Security Council declared to the Taliban that it would keep apprised of and actively involved in the human rights situation in Afghanistan, it raised the challenge to civil society to continue and to increase its action to advocate the cause of the human security of the Afghan people.

“To Remain Seized of the Matter”

The last words of Security Council Resolution 2593 [S/RES/2593, adopted August 30, 2021], “Decides to remain seized of the matter”, in ordinary language mean “We will keep up with this.” And so they should, as should we, all civil society activists, bringing pressure on our governments and the UN to safely evacuate all who remain at risk in Afghanistan and to assure the security of those who remain.

The resolution was the second articulation of the international community’s intention to hold the Taliban to the observance of fundamental standards of human rights as is incumbent upon all community members. It and other recent statements inform the Taliban, as urged by civil society, that compliance with these standards is a fundamental requisite to their much-desired acceptance into “the community of nations.” States and citizens should engage with the Taliban, now the de facto government of Afghanistan, making it clear that violation of the standards jeopardizes international acceptance.

We take some hope that the standards may be observed as a consequence of the Joint Statement on Afghanistan Evacuation Travel Assurances calling upon the Taliban to allow all who want or need to leave Afghanistan to do so safely. UN ambassadors such as Geraldine Byrne Nason of Ireland have stated that the UN would hold the Taliban to account for human rights violations and any denial of women’s dignity and autonomy, standards to be met by any government seeking acceptance into the international community.  We in civil society fervently hope that this time, those injunctions will be enforced, not remain the rhetoric that raises hopes without the action that “remaining seized” suggests.

It will be in large part up to us in civil society to hold states and the UN responsible to follow through on all action possibilities. For without us, those of civil society who took the first steps toward the establishment of the norms of women’s rights cited by Pramila Patten, Executive Director of UN Women in her strong statement on what the international community, will demand of the Taliban, those demands may well remain rhetoric.

International civil society will remain seized of the matter, continuing to press our respective governments and the United Nations to remain so seized as to assure the evacuation of all those now at risk and to eliminate the risk to women and civil society activists remaining in Afghanistan.

BAR, 9/2/21

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...