سيواصل المجتمع المدني مناصرة أفغانستان

عندما أعلن مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة لطالبان في 30 أغسطس / آب أنها ستظل على علم بحالة حقوق الإنسان في أفغانستان وستشارك بنشاط فيها ، أثار التحدي أمام المجتمع المدني لمواصلة وزيادة نشاطه للدفاع عن قضية حقوق الإنسان. أمن الشعب الأفغاني.

"لأبقى على الموضوع"

آخر كلمات قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2593 [S / RES / 2593 ، تم اعتماده في 30 أغسطس / آب 2021] ، "يقرر أن تظل المسألة قيد نظرنا "، في اللغة العادية تعني" سوف نواكب هذا ". ولذا ينبغي عليهم ، كما ينبغي لنا ، جميع نشطاء المجتمع المدني ، ممارسة الضغط على حكوماتنا والأمم المتحدة لإجلاء جميع من يظلون معرضين للخطر في أفغانستان بأمان ولضمان أمن من بقوا.

كان القرار هو التعبير الثاني عن نية المجتمع الدولي في إلزام الطالبان باحترام المعايير الأساسية لحقوق الإنسان كما هو واجب على جميع أفراد المجتمع. وهي وغيرها من البيانات الأخيرة تُعلم طالبان ، كما حث عليها المجتمع المدني ، بأن الامتثال لهذه المعايير شرط أساسي لقبولهم المرغوب فيه بشدة في "مجتمع الأمم". يجب على الدول والمواطنين التعامل مع طالبان ، التي أصبحت الآن حكومة الأمر الواقع في أفغانستان ، لتوضيح أن انتهاك المعايير يهدد القبول الدولي.

نتمنى بعض الأمل في أنه قد يتم مراعاة المعايير كنتيجة لـ بيان مشترك حول ضمانات السفر لإجلاء أفغانستان دعوة طالبان للسماح لكل من يريد أو يحتاج إلى مغادرة أفغانستان بالقيام بذلك بأمان. صرح سفراء الأمم المتحدة مثل جيرالدين بيرن ناسون من أيرلندا أن الأمم المتحدة ستحاسب طالبان على انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وأي إنكار لكرامة المرأة واستقلالها الذاتي ، وهي معايير يجب أن تفي بها أي حكومة تسعى إلى قبول المجتمع الدولي. نحن في المجتمع المدني نأمل بشدة في هذه المرة ، أن يتم تنفيذ تلك الأوامر ، وألا تبقى الخطاب الذي يرفع الآمال دون الإجراء الذي يوحي به "استمرار الاستيلاء".

سيكون جزء كبير من مسؤوليتنا في المجتمع المدني أن نحمل الدول والأمم المتحدة مسؤولية متابعة جميع إمكانيات العمل. فبدوننا نحن من اتخذوا الخطوات الأولى نحو إرساء معايير حقوق المرأة في المجتمع المدني استشهدت براميلا باتن ، المديرة التنفيذية لهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة في بيانها القوي بشأن ما سيطلبه المجتمع الدولي من طالبان ، قد تظل تلك المطالب مجرد كلام.

وسيظل المجتمع المدني الدولي قيد نظره في هذه المسألة ، وسيواصل الضغط على حكوماتنا والأمم المتحدة للبقاء على هذا النحو لضمان إجلاء جميع المعرضين للخطر الآن ولإزالة الخطر الذي يتهدد النساء ونشطاء المجتمع المدني الباقون في أفغانستان.

بار ، 9/2/21

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Civil Society Will Continue Advocacy for Afghanistan

When on August 30th the UN Security Council declared to the Taliban that it would keep apprised of and actively involved in the human rights situation in Afghanistan, it raised the challenge to civil society to continue and to increase its action to advocate the cause of the human security of the Afghan people.

“To Remain Seized of the Matter”

The last words of Security Council Resolution 2593 [S/RES/2593, adopted August 30, 2021], “Decides to remain seized of the matter”, in ordinary language mean “We will keep up with this.” And so they should, as should we, all civil society activists, bringing pressure on our governments and the UN to safely evacuate all who remain at risk in Afghanistan and to assure the security of those who remain.

The resolution was the second articulation of the international community’s intention to hold the Taliban to the observance of fundamental standards of human rights as is incumbent upon all community members. It and other recent statements inform the Taliban, as urged by civil society, that compliance with these standards is a fundamental requisite to their much-desired acceptance into “the community of nations.” States and citizens should engage with the Taliban, now the de facto government of Afghanistan, making it clear that violation of the standards jeopardizes international acceptance.

We take some hope that the standards may be observed as a consequence of the Joint Statement on Afghanistan Evacuation Travel Assurances calling upon the Taliban to allow all who want or need to leave Afghanistan to do so safely. UN ambassadors such as Geraldine Byrne Nason of Ireland have stated that the UN would hold the Taliban to account for human rights violations and any denial of women’s dignity and autonomy, standards to be met by any government seeking acceptance into the international community.  We in civil society fervently hope that this time, those injunctions will be enforced, not remain the rhetoric that raises hopes without the action that “remaining seized” suggests.

It will be in large part up to us in civil society to hold states and the UN responsible to follow through on all action possibilities. For without us, those of civil society who took the first steps toward the establishment of the norms of women’s rights cited by Pramila Patten, Executive Director of UN Women in her strong statement on what the international community, will demand of the Taliban, those demands may well remain rhetoric.

International civil society will remain seized of the matter, continuing to press our respective governments and the United Nations to remain so seized as to assure the evacuation of all those now at risk and to eliminate the risk to women and civil society activists remaining in Afghanistan.

BAR, 9/2/21

Be the first to comment

Join the discussion...