征集章节提案:社区参与和平、社会正义和人权教育实践

工作标题:和平、社会正义和人权教育中的社区参与实践:合作促进变革

编辑:Sandra Sirota、Maria Hantzopoulos、Amy Argenal(共同编辑)

征集书籍章节摘要 [500 字]
截止日期:1 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日
在此提交摘要。

在过去的几十年里,和平与人权教育领域已经走出边缘,并明显成为全球公认的学术和实践领域。 通过联合国 (UN)、民间社会、基层教育工作者和集体等多种努力的推动,在学前至 12 年级 (p-12) 教育环境以及学术界,和平与人权教育举措力求考虑内容旨在消除各种形式的暴力并走向更广泛的和平、正义和人权文化的进程和结构。 这些领域随着社会正义教育的普及而发展,特别是在美国,美国同样关注开发关键的分析工具来促进社会变革。 这方面的例子包括最近在 K-12 学校教育中纳入民族研究课程和文化维持方法。 鉴于他们对个人和集体变革、反种族主义、废奴、非殖民化和消除基于身份的歧视等概念的持续共同承诺,这些领域与解放教育的更广泛目标联系在一起。 它们体现了对话、实践、批判意识和协作等教学过程和方法作为关键原则。

尽管它们的扩散和意图,这些解放教育领域往往以自上而下的规定方式实施,将主流文化(即北半球、西方)的规范强加给社区或青年,而不是将当地知识集中在行动中。转变和解放。 随着和平、社会正义和人权教育成为更广泛接受和主流化的领域,学者和实践者越来越有必要审视本土经验和实践如何塑造和挑战一些规范性和普遍性的假设、话语和实践,框架字段的起源。 通过研究正规、非正规和非正式教育空间如何通过以下方式重新构想教育: 社区参与的伙伴关系和举措 学者和从业者对重组和改善教育以建立一个更加公平和社会公正的世界有了更深入的了解。 

我们邀请参与社区和平、社会正义和/或人权教育(广义)伙伴关系以促进转型和社会变革的从业者、学者、艺术家和社区组织为这本拟议的编辑卷提交摘要。 我们明白 社区参与 在此背景下,让社区成员参与伙伴关系——彼此之间和/或外部个人或研究人员、从业者、艺术家等群体——表现出诸如相互信任感、共享权力和决策等特征,学与教的相互关系以及开放的思想交流。 e 以多种方式概念化社区参与的伙伴关系,包括但不限于社会运动、学校项目、社区组织、课外俱乐部、研究项目、艺术倡议、理论贡献、专业发展机会、教育倡议和公民社会的协作参与行动。

我们力求突出研究、项目和理论贡献,这些研究、项目和理论贡献以社区参与实践为中心,致力于社区和正规教育环境中的公平和正义。 我们对强调和集中青年和社区参与、变革机构和赋权的伙伴关系感兴趣,作为手段,不仅在各自的文化和政治背景下改善教育成果,而且致力于建设和平、人权和文化的文化。社会正义显而易见。 我们欢迎多种类型的提交——实证案例研究和研究项目、艺术和经验反思和论文、该领域的理论论文及其与社区参与实践的关系——等等。

我们感兴趣的一些问题包括:

  • 解放教育中的社区参与实践如何扰乱和挑战教学、研究、行动主义等的主导等级结构?
  • 社区参与实践如何加强解放教育的研究和/或实践?
  • 社区参与实践如何使当地社区受益? 这又如何影响全球优先事项?
  • 对于研究人员/从业者/社区成员来说,社区参与的解放教育实践面临哪些挑战?
  • 解放教育中社区参与实践的新理论或新模式是什么?

提交摘要的截止日期是 月1,2023。  摘要字数限制为500字。 请填写此 申请 提交您的摘要和相关信息。

我们将在 15 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日之前通过电子邮件通知所选摘要的作者。

完整书籍章节提交(最多 8000 字,使用 APA 指南)截止日期为 1 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日。

我们正在与两家出版社进行讨论,目标是在 2024 年 XNUMX 月之前提交图书提案。

请注意,在完整章节提交经过严格的同行评审之前,不能保证发表。

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Call for chapter proposals: Community-Engaged Praxis in Peace, Social Justice, and Human Rights Education

Working Title: Community Engaged Praxis in Peace, Social Justice, and Human Rights Education: Partnering for Transformative Change

Editors: Sandra Sirota, Maria Hantzopoulos, Amy Argenal (equal co-editors)

CALL FOR BOOK CHAPTER ABSTRACTS [500 words]
Due November 1, 2023
Submit abstracts here.

Over the past several decades, the fields of peace and human rights education have moved out of the margins and emerged distinctly as recognized global fields of scholarship and practice. Promoted through multiple efforts, including through the United Nations (UN), civil society, grassroots educators and collectives, in preschool to grade 12 (p–12) educational settings, and in the academe, peace and human rights education initiatives seek to consider content, processes, and structures that aim to dismantle various forms of violence, as well as move toward broader cultures of peace, justice, and human rights. These fields have moved alongside the proliferation of social justice education, particularly in the United States, which is similarly concerned with developing critical analytical tools to catalyze social change. Examples of this are the recent integration of Ethnic Studies curriculum and culturally sustaining approaches in K-12 schooling. Given their ongoing shared commitments to concepts like individual and collective transformation, anti-racism, abolition, decolonization, and the dismantling of identity-based discrimination, these fields connect to the broader goals of liberatory education. They embody pedagogical processes and approaches such as dialogue, praxis, critical consciousness, and collaboration as key tenets.

Despite their proliferation and intentions, these fields of liberatory education are often implemented in a top-down prescriptive fashion, imposing norms from the dominant culture (ie. Global North, West) on communities or youth, rather than centering local knowledges in the acts of transformation and liberation. As peace, social justice, and human rights education become more widely accepted and mainstreamed fields, it is increasingly critical for scholars and practitioners to interrogate how localized experiences and praxis both shape and challenge some of the normative and universalizing assumptions, discourses, and practices that frame the origins of the fields. By examining the ways in which formal, non-formal, and informal educational spaces are reimagining education through community-engaged partnerships and initiatives scholars and practitioners gain deeper insight into restructuring and improving education for a more equitable and socially just world. 

We invite practitioners, scholars, artists, and community-based organizations, who are involved in community-engaged peace, social justice, and/or human rights education (broadly defined) partnerships for transformation and social change to submit abstracts for this proposed edited volume. We understand community-engaged in this context to involve members of a community in partnerships – with each other and/or an outside individual or group of researchers, practitioners, artists etc. – that demonstrate characteristics such as mutual feelings of trust, shared power and decision-making, a reciprocal relationship of learning and teaching, and an open exchange of ideas. e conceptualize community-engaged partnerships in many ways, including but not limited to collaborative participation in social movements, school programs, community-based organizations, extracurricular clubs, research projects, arts initiatives, theoretical contributions, professional development opportunities, educational initiatives, and civic actions.

We seek to highlight research, projects, and theoretical contributions which center community-engaged praxis working toward equity and justice in both community and formal education settings. We are interested in partnerships that emphasize and center youth and community participation, transformative agency, and empowerment as means to not only improve educational outcomes within their respective cultural and political contexts, but also ones that work towards building cultures of peace, human rights, and social justice writ large. We are open to many types of submissions – empirical case studies and research projects, artistic and experiential reflections and essays, theoretical treatises on the field and its relationship to community-engaged praxis – and more.

Some of the questions, among others, that we are interested in are:

  • How does community-engaged praxis in liberatory education disrupt and challenge dominant hierarchical structures of teaching and learning, research, activism etc.?
  • How does community-engaged praxis strengthen research and/or practice in liberatory education?
  • How can community-engaged praxis benefit local communities?  How in turn can this shape global priorities?
  • What are the challenges of community-engaged praxis in liberatory education for researchers/practitioners/community members?
  • What are new theories or models of community-engaged praxis in liberatory education?

The deadline to submit abstracts is November 1, 2023.  The abstract word limit is 500 words.  Please fill out this form to submit your abstract and related information.

We will notify authors of selected abstracts via email by December 15, 2023.

Full book chapter submissions (8000 words max, using APA guidelines) are due by July 1, 2024.

We are in discussions with two presses, and aim to submit the book proposal by January 2024.

Please note that publication is not guaranteed until full chapter submissions undergo rigorous peer review.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top