Book Club Fundraiser: Comprehensive Peace Education with Betty Reardon

In March 2022, the International Institute on Peace Education and Global Campaign for Peace Education will hold a weekly online book club with the participation of Betty Reardon (and special guests) to discuss the 2021 Edition of Comprehensive Peace Education.  This special book club fundraiser is limited to 20 participants.

For $100, each participant will receive a paperback copy of the book with a signed and personalized insert from the author.

Not interested in joining the virtual book club?  Get your copy of the book here.

When

The book club will meet for 1 hour weekly on Saturdays in March 2022 (March 5, 12, 19, 26) at 4:30pm EST (New York City Time).

Corresponding Times Around the World
  • San Francisco, USA: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 1:30 pm PST
  • Mexico City, Mexico: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 3:30 pm CST
  • New York, USA: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 4:30 pm EST
  • London, United Kingdom: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 9:30 pm GMT
  • Paris, France: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 10:30 pm CET
  • Vienna, Austria: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 10:30 pm CET
  • Cape Town, South Africa: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 11:30 pm SAST
  • Tehran, Iran: Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 1:00 am IRST
  • New Delhi, India: Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 3:00 am IST
  • Manila, Philippines: Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 5:30 am PHST
  • Tokyo, Japan: Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 6:30 am JST
  • Sydney, Australia: Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 8:30 am AEDT
  • Corresponding UTC: Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 21:30

We will let you know in advance the chapters of the book that will be discussed each week along with the Zoom details to access the discussions.

Where

Zoom (details to be shared upon registration)

About the Book

Betty A. Reardon’s groundbreaking work, Comprehensive Peace Education: Educating for Global Responsibility, originally authored in 1988, provides one of the first and clearest articulations of the field of peace education in theory and practice. Through reflection on her own experiences, Reardon assesses the state of peace education and offers a new comprehensive approach. She addresses the need to help educators and citizens alike understand what peace education is, why it is needed, and how it is and should be pursued.  She investigates the root causes of the violent conditions facing society so that we can better understand how education can be used to interrupt the cycles of violence and create the conditions for sustainable peace and justice. Comprehensive peace education, for the author, takes place at every level, and in every subject area, of both formal and non-formal education.

In this special 2021 Edition, Reardon provides a new, reflective introduction on the emerging needs and challenges to the field for the 21st century.  Formal and non-formal educators, theorists, students, and activists will find practical and transformative wisdom immediately applicable to diverse conditions and contexts in Comprehensive Peace Education.

[Read more about the book at Peace Knowledge Press]

About the Author

Betty A. Reardon is acknowledged around the world as one of the founders of the field of peace education. She has been extensively involved in the international peace education movement and has been published widely in the field.  She is a co-founder of both the International Institute on Peace Education and the Global Campaign for Peace Education.

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:
Scroll to Top