呼吁继续支持阿富汗高等教育

Gawhar Shad 大学的女性正在学习以母婴健康为重点的护理和健康教育。 (照片: 通过 Flickr 直接救济, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.)

我们呼吁全球和平教育运动的所有美国成员立即采取行动,防止美国停止对阿富汗高等教育的援助。 请将以下文本发送给您的国会代表、参议员、美国国际开发署署长和总统。

感谢你们与阿富汗人民站在一起。 (酒吧,1 年 8 月 22 日)

呼吁继续支持阿富汗高等教育

在过去的二十年里,美国政府一直是阿富汗教育最有效的支持者之一。 女孩和妇女在教育部门取得的成就, 特别是在高等教育, 意义重大。 在美国纳税人的支持下,公立大学得到了复兴,国内研究生项目的机会蓬勃发展并吸引了许多女教师,女教授的晋升显着增加,导致她们担任校长、副校长、院长等享有盛誉的职位。在大学担任领导职务,  所有大学都开设了许多额外的学位课程。 USG 的支持促成了数以千计的奖学金,以提高讲师和学生的技能水平。 所有这一切最终导致到 700,000 年 2021 月,超过 33 名学生进入大学(其中 XNUMX% 为女性)。

除此之外,还制定了无数的学术政策和指导方针,以提高阿富汗教师和学生的质量、机会、公平和技能,并打击大学的惰性和腐败。 2020 年,一名煤矿工人的女儿在 170,000 名高中生参加的大学入学考试中获得了最高分,这一事实充分说明了美国纳税人资助的项目在阿富汗取得的成就。 此外,在阿富汗在大流行期间面临极端困难的时候,喀布尔医科大学由美国国际开发署资助的副学士学位项目的学生自己生产了一台呼吸机; 这个例子进一步证明了 USG 提供的支持的积极影响和有效性。 最重要的是,从 2000 年私立大学为零开始,到 2021 年 135 月,阿富汗拥有超过 XNUMX 所私立高等教育机构,从而扩大了该国大部分地区的高等教育机会。

随着美国政府/美国国际开发署就阿富汗的教育支持制定战略,对高等教育的支持仍然是新战略的核心,这一点至关重要。 USG 必须支持与私立大学的合作(如果可能,甚至与公立大学合作),以便通过奖学金和其他能力建设举措,女学生可以继续入学并在学业上取得进步。 女教师需要支持才能继续在大学工作。 目前,需要更多的女教师来教授女学生。

不支持高等教育将打破阿富汗高等教育前所未有的发展势头——这一势头是由美国纳税人的慷慨支持引发的。 大学毕业生是一个国家经济稳定的中坚力量。 如果阿富汗不支持高等教育,劳动力素质低导致的财政损失将是危险的,并将进一步推动该国陷入暴力和绝望的恶性循环。 没有女性接受高等教育的机会尤其会对阿富汗的社会结构产生毁灭性的影响。

我们敦促国会议员与美国国际开发署的同事联系,鼓励他们从各个角度研究并制定战略,以便在阿富汗制定有效的高等教育计划,这将有利于青年,特别是女孩和妇女。

瓦希德·奥马尔
教育顾问

索拉亚·奥马尔
人权活动家

克洛伊布雷耶
纽约的宗教间登特

埃伦·切斯勒
拉尔夫邦奇研究所,纽约市立大学

贝蒂·里登
国际和平教育研究所

托尼詹金斯
全球和平教育运动
美国乔治敦大学

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Appeal for Continued Support for Higher Education in Afghanistan

We call upon all American members of the Global Campaign for Peace Education to take immediate action to prevent the cessation of US assistance to higher education in Afghanistan. Please send the text below to your Congressional representative, your Senator, the Administrator of USAID and the President.

Thank you for standing in solidarity with the Afghan people. (BAR, 1/8/22)

Appeal for Continued Support for Higher Education in Afghanistan

During the past two decades, the Government of the United States has been one of the most effective supporters of education in Afghanistan. The gains made by girls and women in the education sector, particularly at higher education, are highly significant. With US taxpayers’ support, public universities were revived, opportunities for in-country graduate programs flourished and attracted many female instructors, promotions of female professors increased significantly resulting in them holding prestigious positions such as chancellor, vice-chancellors, Deans, and many other leadership positions at universities, and many additional degree programs were established at all universities. USG support resulted in thousands of scholarships to improve the skill levels of lecturers and students. All of this culminated in more than 700,000 students’enrollment in universities by August 2021 (33% of them females).

In addition to the above, countless academic policies and guidelines were developed to improve quality, access, equity, skills among Afghan faculties and students, and to combat inertia and corruption at universities.  The fact that in 2020 the daughter of a coal miner received the highest score in university entrance exam in which 170,000 high school students were competing, speaks volumes about what US Taxpayers’ funded programs achieved in Afghanistan.  Moreover, students of an associate degree program established with USAID funds at Kabul University of Medical Sciences produced a ventilator on their own at a time when Afghanistan was facing extreme difficulties duringthe pandemic; this example further demonstrates the positive impact and effectiveness of the support provided by USG.  Most importantly, starting with zero private universities in 2000, by August 2021 Afghanistan had more than 135 private higher education institutions, thereby expanding higher education access in most parts of the country.

As USG/USAID strategizes about educational support in Afghanistan, it is essential that support for higher education remains central to the new strategy. USG must support work with private universities (if possible, even with public universities) so that through scholarships and other capacity building initiatives, female students can continue to enroll and advance academically. Female faculty members need support to continue their jobs at universities. Currently, more female faculty members are needed to teach female students.

Not supporting higher education would break the unprecedented momentum of advancement in higher education in Afghanistan – a momentum which was sparked by US taxpayers’ generous support. University graduates are the backbone of economic stability in a country. If higher education is not supported in Afghanistan, the fiscal devastation due to low quality labor force would be dangerous and would further propel the country into a vicious cycle of violence and desperation. No higher education opportunities for women especially would have ruinous consequences for Afghanistan’s social fabric.

We urge the member of congress to reach out to the colleagues at USAID and encourage them to study all angles and strategize about devising effective higher education programs in Afghanistan that will be beneficial for the youth, especially girls and women.

Wahid Omar
Education Consultant

Soraya Omar
Human rights activist

Chloe Breyer
Interfaith Denter of New York

Ellen Chesler
Ralphe Bunch Institute, CUNY

Betty Reardon
International Institute on Peace Education

Tony Jenkins
Global Campaign for Peace Education
Georgetown University

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top