نداء من أجل استمرار الدعم للتعليم العالي في أفغانستان

ندعو جميع الأعضاء الأمريكيين في الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام إلى اتخاذ إجراءات فورية لمنع وقف المساعدة الأمريكية للتعليم العالي في أفغانستان. يرجى إرسال النص أدناه إلى ممثل الكونجرس وعضو مجلس الشيوخ ومدير الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية والرئيس.

شكرا لتضامنك مع الشعب الأفغاني. (بار ، 1/8/22)

نداء من أجل استمرار الدعم للتعليم العالي في أفغانستان

خلال العقدين الماضيين ، كانت حكومة الولايات المتحدة واحدة من أكثر الداعمين فعالية للتعليم في أفغانستان. المكاسب التي حققتها الفتيات والنساء في قطاع التعليم ، خاصة في التعليم العالي، مهمة للغاية. بدعم من دافعي الضرائب في الولايات المتحدة ، تم إحياء الجامعات العامة ، وازدهرت فرص برامج الدراسات العليا داخل البلاد وازدهرت واجتذبت العديد من المدرسات ، وزادت ترقيات الأستاذات بشكل كبير مما أدى إلى شغلهن مناصب مرموقة مثل المستشارة ، ونواب المستشارين ، والعمداء ، وغيرهم الكثير. مناصب قيادية في الجامعات ، و تم إنشاء العديد من برامج الدرجات العلمية الإضافية في جميع الجامعات. نتج عن دعم USG آلاف المنح الدراسية لتحسين مستويات مهارات المحاضرين والطلاب. وبلغ كل هذا ذروته في تسجيل أكثر من 700,000 طالب في الجامعات بحلول آب (أغسطس) 2021 (33٪ منهم إناث).

بالإضافة إلى ما سبق ، تم تطوير عدد لا يحصى من السياسات والمبادئ التوجيهية الأكاديمية لتحسين الجودة والوصول والإنصاف والمهارات بين الكليات والطلاب الأفغان ، ولمكافحة الجمود والفساد في الجامعات. حقيقة أن ابنة عامل منجم الفحم حصلت في عام 2020 على أعلى الدرجات في امتحان القبول بالجامعة الذي كان يتنافس فيه 170,000 ألف طالب من طلاب المدارس الثانوية ، تتحدث كثيرًا عما حققته البرامج الممولة من دافعي الضرائب الأمريكيين في أفغانستان. علاوة على ذلك ، قام طلاب برنامج درجة الزمالة الذي تم إنشاؤه بتمويل من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في جامعة كابول للعلوم الطبية بإنتاج جهاز التنفس الصناعي بأنفسهم في وقت كانت فيه أفغانستان تواجه صعوبات شديدة أثناء الوباء ؛ يوضح هذا المثال أيضًا التأثير الإيجابي والفعالية للدعم المقدم من حكومة الولايات المتحدة. الأهم من ذلك ، بدءًا من عدم وجود جامعات خاصة في عام 2000 ، بحلول أغسطس 2021 ، كان لدى أفغانستان أكثر من 135 مؤسسة تعليم عالي خاصة ، مما أدى إلى توسيع نطاق الوصول إلى التعليم العالي في معظم أنحاء البلاد.

بينما تضع USG / USAID إستراتيجيات حول الدعم التعليمي في أفغانستان ، من الضروري أن يظل دعم التعليم العالي محوريًا في الإستراتيجية الجديدة. يجب أن تدعم USG العمل مع الجامعات الخاصة (إن أمكن ، حتى مع الجامعات العامة) بحيث يمكن للطالبات من خلال المنح الدراسية ومبادرات بناء القدرات الأخرى الاستمرار في التسجيل والتقدم أكاديميًا. أعضاء هيئة التدريس الإناث بحاجة إلى الدعم لمواصلة عملهن في الجامعات. حاليا ، هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من أعضاء هيئة التدريس لتعليم الطالبات.

إن عدم دعم التعليم العالي من شأنه أن يكسر الزخم غير المسبوق للتقدم في التعليم العالي في أفغانستان - وهو الزخم الذي أطلقه الدعم السخي لدافعي الضرائب الأمريكيين. خريجو الجامعات هم العمود الفقري للاستقرار الاقتصادي في أي بلد. إذا لم يتم دعم التعليم العالي في أفغانستان ، فإن الدمار المالي الناجم عن قوة العمل المنخفضة الجودة سيكون خطيرًا وسيزيد من دفع البلاد إلى حلقة مفرغة من العنف واليأس. لن يكون لأي فرص تعليم عالٍ للنساء بشكل خاص عواقب وخيمة على النسيج الاجتماعي في أفغانستان.

نحث أعضاء الكونجرس على التواصل مع زملائهم في الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية وتشجيعهم على دراسة جميع الزوايا ووضع استراتيجيات حول ابتكار برامج تعليم عالي فعالة في أفغانستان تعود بالفائدة على الشباب ، وخاصة الفتيات والنساء.

وحيد عمر
مستشار التعليم

ثريا عمر
ناشط في مجال حقوق الإنسان

كلوي براير
دار الأديان في نيويورك

إلين تشيسلر
معهد رالف بانش ، مدينة نيويورك

بيتي ريردون
المعهد الدولي لتعليم السلام

توني جنكنز
الحملة العالمية لتعليم السلام
جامعة جورج تاون

اغلق
انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اشترك في النقاش...

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Appeal for Continued Support for Higher Education in Afghanistan

We call upon all American members of the Global Campaign for Peace Education to take immediate action to prevent the cessation of US assistance to higher education in Afghanistan. Please send the text below to your Congressional representative, your Senator, the Administrator of USAID and the President.

Thank you for standing in solidarity with the Afghan people. (BAR, 1/8/22)

Appeal for Continued Support for Higher Education in Afghanistan

During the past two decades, the Government of the United States has been one of the most effective supporters of education in Afghanistan. The gains made by girls and women in the education sector, particularly at higher education, are highly significant. With US taxpayers’ support, public universities were revived, opportunities for in-country graduate programs flourished and attracted many female instructors, promotions of female professors increased significantly resulting in them holding prestigious positions such as chancellor, vice-chancellors, Deans, and many other leadership positions at universities, and many additional degree programs were established at all universities. USG support resulted in thousands of scholarships to improve the skill levels of lecturers and students. All of this culminated in more than 700,000 students’enrollment in universities by August 2021 (33% of them females).

In addition to the above, countless academic policies and guidelines were developed to improve quality, access, equity, skills among Afghan faculties and students, and to combat inertia and corruption at universities.  The fact that in 2020 the daughter of a coal miner received the highest score in university entrance exam in which 170,000 high school students were competing, speaks volumes about what US Taxpayers’ funded programs achieved in Afghanistan.  Moreover, students of an associate degree program established with USAID funds at Kabul University of Medical Sciences produced a ventilator on their own at a time when Afghanistan was facing extreme difficulties duringthe pandemic; this example further demonstrates the positive impact and effectiveness of the support provided by USG.  Most importantly, starting with zero private universities in 2000, by August 2021 Afghanistan had more than 135 private higher education institutions, thereby expanding higher education access in most parts of the country.

As USG/USAID strategizes about educational support in Afghanistan, it is essential that support for higher education remains central to the new strategy. USG must support work with private universities (if possible, even with public universities) so that through scholarships and other capacity building initiatives, female students can continue to enroll and advance academically. Female faculty members need support to continue their jobs at universities. Currently, more female faculty members are needed to teach female students.

Not supporting higher education would break the unprecedented momentum of advancement in higher education in Afghanistan – a momentum which was sparked by US taxpayers’ generous support. University graduates are the backbone of economic stability in a country. If higher education is not supported in Afghanistan, the fiscal devastation due to low quality labor force would be dangerous and would further propel the country into a vicious cycle of violence and desperation. No higher education opportunities for women especially would have ruinous consequences for Afghanistan’s social fabric.

We urge the member of congress to reach out to the colleagues at USAID and encourage them to study all angles and strategize about devising effective higher education programs in Afghanistan that will be beneficial for the youth, especially girls and women.

Wahid Omar
Education Consultant

Soraya Omar
Human rights activist

Chloe Breyer
Interfaith Denter of New York

Ellen Chesler
Ralphe Bunch Institute, CUNY

Betty Reardon
International Institute on Peace Education

Tony Jenkins
Global Campaign for Peace Education
Georgetown University

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top