برنامج جديد للسلام ضد تجنيس الحرب (كولومبيا)

(تم إعادة النشر من: انسايت السلام. 3 ديسمبر 2023)

بقلم لينا ماريا جاراميلو

وفي كولومبيا، غالباً ما تفشل محاولات تنفيذ اتفاقيات السلام أو المفاوضات. ليس فقط لأن النخب السياسية تستفيد من الحرب، ولكن أيضًا لأنه يبدو أن عقيدة استخدام القوة المسلحة والعنف لحل أي صراع قد تم إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي عليها.

وما زال الكثيرون مستمرين في استيعاب فكرة العدو الداخلي التي تصورها وسائل الإعلام باستمرار، ويربطون سياسات الحرب والعمليات العسكرية كحلول معقولة يقدمها القادة السياسيون.

لاستعادة اهتمام المجتمع المدني ببناء السلام المحلي، من الضروري الاعتراف بمأسسة العنف والحرب ومعالجتها.

هل يعاني الكولومبيون من إرهاق التعاطف الجماعي؟

وفي مارس 2022، وصلت القوات العسكرية إلى مجتمع ألتو ريمانسو في مقاطعة بوتومايو، على الحدود الكولومبية الإكوادورية، لتنفيذ عملية عسكرية. ووصف الرئيس آنذاك، إيفان دوكي، ذلك بأنه «هجوم لا هوادة فيه ضد الهياكل الإرهابية المرتبطة بالمخدرات». وقدم الرئيس السابق الأشخاص الأحد عشر الذين قتلوا في هذه العملية على أنهم أعضاء في جماعات منشقة عن القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية (فارك). وأظهرت التحقيقات اللاحقة أن الأفراد الذين قُتلوا لم يكونوا ينتمون إلى أي جماعة مسلحة. وفي عدة حالات، تلاعب الجيش بالأدلة لمحاكاة أن الأفراد كانوا مسلحين. وفي نفس الوقت الذي تمت فيه هذه العملية، أمر دييغو مولانو، الذي شغل منصب وزير الدفاع، بشن تفجيرات على معسكرات المنشقين عن القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية (فارك) والتي استهدفت القُصَّر الذين جندتهم الجماعة المسلحة.

ولم تتم محاسبة دييغو مولانو أو إيفان دوكي أو التحقيق معهم في مقتل الفلاحين في ألتو ريمانسو. حاليًا، دييغو مولانو مرشح لمنصب عمدة بوغوتا، أحد أهم المناصب الانتخابية في البلاد. وعلى عكس ما قد يعتقده المرء، فإن ناخبيه يدافعون عن قراراته كوزير للدفاع، على الرغم من انتهاك العديد منها لحقوق الإنسان ومخالفتها للقانون الإنساني الدولي.

بعد عدة سنوات من العمل في مجال بناء السلام، كممارس وباحث، رأيت كيف يمكن لمحادثات السلام غير المكتملة أو حتى الفاشلة أن تؤدي إلى عودة العنف. وهذا بدوره يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تطبيع الحرب ونوع من الإرهاق من التعاطف الجماعي حيث ينظر الناس إلى بناء السلام باعتباره مسؤولية حصرية للسياسيين. عادة ما يقبل المواطنون تسييس السلام ورواياته دون التشكيك فيه، في حين يقللون من فعالية الآليات اللاعنفية لحل النزاعات. المشكلة الحقيقية هي أن الناس يعتقدون أن العنف والانتقام ليسا أمرين مرغوبين فحسب، بل وسيلة فعالة لتحقيق العدالة والأمان. كان الأمر مشابهًا خلال الإضراب الوطني لعام 2021 في كولومبيا. ومن المهم أن يدرك المجتمع المدني الكولومبي فعالية بناء السلام المحلي. 

كيف يمكن تغيير أيديولوجية الحرب لكسر جمود السلام؟

وينطوي منع نشوب الصراعات على بناء علاقات اجتماعية تعزز الثقة، وتعزز القدرات على منع أي شكل من أشكال العنف، وإنشاء بنية تحتية وطنية ومحلية للسلام. وفي كولومبيا هناك عدة أمثلة على نجاح عملية بناء السلام المحلية بفعالية. ومع ذلك، يتعين على الجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني، مثل وسائل الإعلام والأوساط الأكاديمية والقطاع الخاص، بذل جهد إضافي لعرض هذه الخبرة ودعم الجهود المحلية لبناء السلام. 

ويتعين على وسائل الإعلام في كولومبيا أن تلتزم بتغييرات في السرد حتى يتمكن المجتمع الكولومبي من التغلب على حلقة العنف المفرغة. يجب أن يتم الإبلاغ عن أحداث العنف الحالية من خلال مراجعة نقدية وشاملة للحقيقة التي تم الكشف عنها في إطار نظام الحقيقة والعدالة والجبر وعدم التكرار. سيساعد ذلك على فهم ديناميكيات العنف وتجنب إدامة الروايات التبسيطية والخطيرة حول الأطراف المتعارضة مثل "الخير والشر" أو "العدو الداخلي". في الوقت الحاضر، هناك مبادرات محلية مختلفة يقودها الشباب، مثل Generación V+، تهدف إلى نشر استنتاجات ونتائج لجنة الحقيقة في مجتمعاتهم.

وتحتاج كولومبيا أيضاً إلى سياسة للصحة العقلية في مناهج بناء السلام. إن تحديد الصدمات المجتمعية التي تعيقنا عن حل الصراعات بين الأجيال أمر ملح.

والأهم من ذلك أن كولومبيا تحتاج أيضًا إلى سياسة للصحة العقلية في مناهج بناء السلام. إن تحديد الصدمات المجتمعية التي تعيقنا عن حل الصراعات بين الأجيال أمر ملح. نظام الرعاية الصحية الكولومبي ليس مستعدًا لتوفير الرعاية النفسية والاجتماعية للسكان الذين تأثروا بشكل منهجي بمختلف أشكال العنف. لم يعتمد نظام العدالة نماذج العدالة التصالحية كبديل للعدالة الجزائية. عندما كنت أعمل مع المهاجرين وحقوق الإنسان، التقيت بالعمل الذي قامت به مؤسسة دونا، وهي مبادرة محلية تعمل على تعزيز الصحة العقلية من منظور مبتكر للغاية: عندما تكون الصحة العقلية أولوية، يكون لدى المجتمعات إمكانات أكبر للحد من العنف. تعمل دونا مع قادة المجتمع ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، حيث تقدم خدمات للوقاية من مشاكل الصحة العقلية وعلاجها بين ضحايا العنف والمهاجرين الذين يواجهون انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. وتستحق نتائج عملها أن يعرفها الفاعلون على مستوى السياسات. 

إن تثقيف المجتمع المدني حول السلام أمر بالغ الأهمية لمحو ما تعلمته من الحرب واستعادة النسيج الاجتماعي الممزق بشدة في كولومبيا.

إن تثقيف المجتمع المدني حول السلام أمر بالغ الأهمية لمحو ما تعلمته من الحرب واستعادة النسيج الاجتماعي الممزق بشدة في كولومبيا. لقد تم إسناد الجهود الحالية لترسيخ تعليم السلام إلى المجتمعات والعمليات المحلية، والتي يحتاج الكثير منها إلى مزيد من الموارد. هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لـResistencia Pazcifica، وهي مبادرة يقودها الشباب من توماكو، نارينيو، تعمل مع المجتمعات المحلية لتعزيز المعرفة بالأدب الأفريقي الكولومبي وتعزيز التراث لاستعادة التماسك الاجتماعي الذي تقلص بسبب العنف.9 وتكافح Resistencia Pazcifica للحصول على الموارد اللازمة للتنفيذ. عمليتهم داخل المدارس كجزء من تعليم السلام ولكن الأموال المقدمة من الحكومة الوطنية محدودة للغاية.  

وفي الختام

وفي كولومبيا تستمر دورة الحرب. ويبدو أن النمط التاريخي يتكرر: فالأجيال الشابة تصاب بالإحباط عندما تشهد عدم ثبات السلام فتقع في نهاية المطاف في حالة من اللامبالاة. إنهم يكبرون في السن متشككين، معتقدين أنه لا توجد طريقة لكسر دائرة العنف.

لفك تشابك الطريق نحو السلام، يجب على القادة السياسيين والحكومات الاعتراف بمبادرات بناء السلام المحلية، وتحديد الجوانب الملموسة للسلام الإيجابي من هذه العمليات، ودمجها في برامجهم ورؤى الحكم.

فلتكن هذه دعوة للحكومة الكولومبية الحالية، والقيادة الطموحة، والمجتمع المدني الأوسع. 

لن يكون بناء السلام إلا أغنية بعيدة المنال إذا لم يقم المجتمع المدني بدوره التحويلي، من خلال النأي بنفسه عن تسييس السلام والتطلع إلى جهود بناء السلام المحلية والمجتمعية.

انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

A New Agenda for Peace Against the Naturalization of War (Colombia)

(Reposted from: Peace Insight.  December 3, 2023)

By Lina María Jaramillo

In Colombia, attempts to implement peace agreements or negotiations often fail to succeed. Not only because the political elites profit from war but also because it seems that the dogma of using armed force and violence to resolve any conflict has been institutionalized.

Many still continue to internalize the idea of the internal enemy consistently portrayed by the media, and associate war policies and military operations as reasonable solutions provided by political leaders.

To restore the interest of civil society in local peacebuilding it is necessary to acknowledge and address the institutionalisation of violence and war.

Do Colombians suffer from collective compassion fatigue?

In March 2022, the military forces arrived in the Alto Remanso community in the department of Putumayo, on the Colombia-Ecuador border, to carry out a military operation. The then-president, Iván Duque, described this as an “unrelenting offensive against narco-terrorist structures.” The former president presented the 11 people killed in this operation as members of dissident FARC groups. Subsequent investigations showed that the individuals killed were not part of any armed group. In several cases, the military tampered with evidence to simulate that the individuals were armed. At the same time of this operation, Diego Molano, who served as Minister of Defence, ordered bombings on FARC dissident camps that targeting minors recruited by the armed group.

Neither Diego Molano nor Iván Duque has been held accountable or investigated for the killings of peasants in Alto Remanso. Currently, Diego Molano is a candidate for the mayorship of Bogotá, one of the most important elective offices in the country. Contrary to what one might think, his electorate defends his decisions as Minister of Defence,5 despite many violating human rights and running counter to International Humanitarian Law.

After several years working in peacebuilding, both as a practitioner and a researcher, I have seen how incomplete or even failed peace talks can result in the resurgence of violence. In turn this can lead to the normalisation of war and a sort of collective compassion fatigue where people view peacebuilding as an exclusive responsibility of politicians. Citizens usually accept the politicisation of peace and its narratives without questioning it, while underestimating the effectiveness of non-violent mechanisms of conflict resolution. The real problem is that people think that violence and retaliation are not only desirable but an effective way to attain justice and safety. It was similar during the national strike of 2021 in Colombia. It is important that Colombian civil society realise the effectiveness of local peacebuilding. 

How to change a war ideology to break the deadlock of peace?

Conflict prevention involves building social relationships that foster trust, strengthening capacities to prevent any form of violence, and establishing national and local peace infrastructure. In Colombia are several examples of local peacebuilding working effectively. However, civil society actors such as the media, academia and the private sector need to make an extra effort to showcase this expertise and support local efforts to build peace. 

The media in Colombia must commit to narrative changes so that Colombian society can overcome the vicious cycle of violence. Reporting on current violent events should be done through a critical and thorough review of the truth revealed within the framework of the Truth, Justice, Reparation, and Non-Repetition system. This will help to understand the dynamics of violence and avoid perpetuating simplistic yet dangerous narratives about opposing sides such as, “the good and the bad,” or the “internal enemy.” Presently, there are different local initiatives led by youth, such as Generación V+, aimed to disseminate in their communities, the conclusions and findings of the Truth Comission.

Colombia also needs a mental health policy in peacebuilding approaches. Identifying the societal traumas that hinder us from resolving intergenerational conflicts is urgent.

Importantly, Colombia also needs a mental health policy in peacebuilding approaches. Identifying the societal traumas that hinder us from resolving intergenerational conflicts is urgent. The Colombian healthcare system is not prepared to provide psychosocial care to a population that has been systematically affected by various forms of violence. The justice system has not adopted restorative justice models as an alternative to retributive justice. When I was working with migrants and human rights, I met the work done by Corporación Dunna,8 a local initiative that promotes mental health from a very innovative perspective: when mental health is a priority, societies have more potential of reduce violence. Dunna works with community-leaders and civil society organisations, providing services to prevent and treat mental health issues among victims of violence and migrants facing human rights violations. The results of its work are worthy to be known by policy-level actors. 

Educating civil society about peace is critical to unlearning war and restoring Colombia’s deeply fractured social fabric.

Educating civil society about peace is critical to unlearning war and restoring Colombia’s deeply fractured social fabric. Present efforts to establish peace education have been entrusted to local communities and processes, many of which need further resourcing. That’s the case of Resistencia Pazcifica, a youth-led initiative from Tumaco, Nariño, working with communities to enhance knowledge of afro-Colombian literature and promoting heritage to recover the social cohesion diminished by violence.9 Resistencia Pazcifica is struggling to get resources to implement their process within schools as part of peace education but funds from the national government are very limited.  

Conclusion

In Colombia the cycle of war persists. The historical pattern seems to repeat: Younger generations become disheartened as they witness the impermanence of peace and eventually fall into apathy. They age skeptically, believing there’s no way to break the cycle of violence.

To untangle the path toward peace, political leaders and governments must acknowledge local peacebuilding initiatives, identify concrete aspects of positive peace from these processes, and incorporate them into their programs and governance visions.

Let this be a call to the current Colombian government, the aspiring leadership, and the broader civil society. 

Peacebuilding will only be an elusive song if civil society does not assume its transformative role, by distancing itself from the politicization of peace and looking towards local and community peace-building efforts.

Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top