致所有联合国会员国和联合国领导人的信息(乌克兰)

“乌克兰战争不仅威胁到可持续发展,而且威胁到人类的生存。 我们呼吁所有国家按照《联合国宪章》行事,通过在战争结束之前通过谈判结束战争,让外交为人类服务。” – 可持续发展解决方案网络,2022 年 XNUMX 月

我们敦促全球和平教育运动的成员和读者签署这一呼吁,以使联合国能够履行其职责,促进结束乌克兰战争的谈判,防止现在威胁人类和地球的核战争。

编辑介绍

废除“拯救后代……”
首先暂停安理会的否决权

俄罗斯对乌克兰的侵略揭示了国际体系不可否认的重大变革的必要性,因为它增加了一场核战争的可能性,一场涉及我们所有人的全球性大火。 虽然个别成员国正在为乌克兰抵抗运动提供军事支持,但负责实现和维护和平的组织并未采取任何重大干预措施来结束武装冲突。 面对最大的挑战之一,联合国似乎陷入瘫痪,全球民间社会正在采取行动,例如联合国发出的呼吁 可持续发展解决方案网络 (SDSN)发布在下面。

GCPE有 最近发表的文章 注意到改变的一些具体步骤。 这一呼吁提出了一些基本行动,除了在安理会暂停否决权之外,可以在目前的联合国宪章范围内采取这些行动。 这 可持续发展解决方案网络,联合国的一项全球倡议敦促采取这些步骤; 通过一项呼吁和平谈判的大会决议; 在进行和平谈判时暂停安理会的否决权; 派遣维和人员实施和平。 这些步骤将使联合国能够实现其基本目标,“使后代免于战祸”,并使这一代免于核毁灭。

这和 以前的帖子 提到了联合国行动的其他可能性。 随后的帖子将关注当前宪章中的其他可能性以及修订宪章的可能性,这些可能性承诺由唯一负责结束战争的现有全球机构采取更广泛和更相关的行动。 在 GCPE 成员、读者和和平教育领域提出的供专业考虑和政治行动的提案中,最突出的将是废除:安理会否决权; 核武器; 和战争制度。 所有和平教育工作者和学生都可以考虑联合国和国际体系的变化,这些变化也可能有助于“结束战祸”。

签署声明 张贴在这里,分发给其他人,并将副本发送给您国家的外交部长或同等职位以及您的常驻联合国代表(联合国大使)。[BAR,4 年 17 月 22 日]

致所有联合国会员国和联合国领导人的信息

(转自: SDSN 协会。 15 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日).

点击这里签署声明

来自联合国可持续发展解决方案网络领导委员会成员和 SDSN 社区成员 [1]

April 14, 2022

乌克兰战争不仅威胁到可持续发展,而且威胁到人类的生存。 我们呼吁所有国家按照《联合国宪章》行事,通过在战争结束之前通过谈判结束战争,让外交为人类服务。

世界必须紧急回到和平的道路上。 和平缔造者是有福的,在福音书中教导耶稣。 古兰经邀请正义的人 达斯萨拉姆, 和平的居所。 佛陀教导 黑慕沙,对所有生物的非暴力。 以赛亚预言有一天民族将不再与民族作战,也不再为战争而训练。

国际和平与安全是联合国的首要宗旨。 在未来的重要时刻,世界各国不敢不为乌克兰带来和平。

用教皇弗朗西斯的话说,俄罗斯对乌克兰的入侵是令人反感的、残忍的和亵渎神明的,使寻求和平成为我们最迫切的需要。 当乌克兰东部发生更具破坏性的军事对抗时尤其如此。 总统弗拉基米尔·普京最近宣布和平谈判处于“死胡同”。 世界无法接受这一点。 所有国家和联合国必须尽其所能恢复和谈,使各方迅速达成成功的协议。

和平需要对话和外交,而不是更多最终将乌克兰彻底毁灭的重型武器。 乌克兰军事升级的道路是注定要遭受苦难和绝望的道路之一。 更糟糕的是,军事升级有可能导致冲突升级为世界末日。

历史表明,古巴导弹危机甚至差点导致核战争 after 美苏两国领导人达成外交解决方案。 由于误解,一艘失灵的苏联潜艇差点发射一枚核弹头鱼雷,这可能会引发美国的全面核反应。 只有一名苏联军官在潜艇上的英勇行动阻止了鱼雷的发射,从而拯救了世界。

俄罗斯和乌克兰当然可以达成协议,实现《联合国宪章》的两个基本目标:乌克兰和俄罗斯的领土完整和安全。

乌克兰总统泽连斯基已经确定了一个外交解决方案:乌克兰的中立——不加入北约——以及受国际法保障的领土完整。 俄罗斯军队必须离开乌克兰,但不能被北约军队或重型武器取代。 我们注意到《联合国宪章》49次使用“和平”、“和平”等字眼,但从未使用过“同盟”或“军事同盟”一词。

冲突升级太容易了,而谈判需要智慧和意志力。 联合国成员在对冲突的理解上存在严重分歧,但他们应该完全团结起来,因为他们在立即停火、停止袭击平民和恢复和平方面的共同利益。 战争造成了可怕的死亡和惊人的破坏——对乌克兰的城市造成了数千亿美元的损失,这些城市在短短几周内就被夷为平地——以及世界范围内日益严重的经济混乱:食品价格飙升和短缺,数百万难民,崩溃全球贸易和供应链,以及世界各地日益加剧的政治不稳定,给最贫穷的国家和家庭带来了毁灭性的负担。

联合国安理会(UNSC)负有维护世界和平的神圣责任。 有人说,联合国安理会不能在安理会与俄罗斯一起扮演这个角色。 然而,这种观点是完全错误的。 正是因为俄罗斯、中国、美国、法国和英国都是常任理事国,联合国安理会才能确保和平。 这五个常任理事国以及联合国安理会的其他十个成员必须相互谈判,以找到一条既能维护乌克兰领土完整,又能满足乌克兰、俄罗斯以及其他 191 个联合国成员国的安全需求的前进道路.

我们赞赏土耳其总统塔伊普·埃尔多安(Tayyip Erdogan)为帮助双方达成协议而做出的大胆和创造性的努力,但我们对联合国安理会内部缺乏直接对话表示遗憾。 我们不呼吁外交官互相谩骂的更多声音片段。 我们呼吁在《联合国宪章》的指导下进行真正的谈判。 我们谈论的是通过联合国法治实现和平,而不是通过权力、威胁和分裂的军事联盟。

我们不应该提醒世界各国这些日子令人痛心的脆弱性。 战争随时可能升级。 这发生在正在进行的 COVID-19 大流行期间,该流行病每天夺去大约 5,000 人的生命。 即使是现在,在大流行的第三年,世界也未能为世界上的穷人和弱势群体提供疫苗剂量,这在很大程度上是由于疫苗生产国之间的地缘政治紧张局势。

乌克兰战争导致全球难民大规模流离失所和饥饿加剧,现在威胁着疾病、死亡和不稳定的更大激增,以及贫困国家更深的经济困难。 潜伏在战争和大流行背后的是人类引起的气候变化缓慢移动的野兽,另一个将人类推向悬崖的灾难。 最新的 IPCC 报告提醒我们,我们已经耗尽了气候安全的余地。 我们需要立即采取气候行动。 然而,战争消耗了将我们从人为的气候紧急情况中拯救出来所需的注意力、多边合作和资金。

作为教育工作者和大学领导,我们也认识到我们自己对学生的更高责任。 我们不仅要传授实现可持续发展的科学和技术知识,这些主题在今天很重要,而且要传授通往和平、解决问题和解决冲突的途径。 我们必须教育年轻人,让今天的年轻人通过深思熟虑的谈判和妥协获得尊重全球多样性和和平解决争端的智慧。

本着《联合国宪章》和《世界人权宣言》的精神,我们呼吁联合国大会所有国家一致无一例外地通过一项决议,呼吁通过满足乌克兰、俄罗斯的需要和安全的紧急谈判和平,以及所有其他国家。

我们呼吁联合国安理会在必要时召开紧急会议,以确保充分发挥《联合国宪章》的作用,通过外交手段结束乌克兰的战争。

我们呼吁联合国安理会常任理事国通过外交而非仇恨进行谈判,并承认真正的和平必须满足所有国家的安全需求。 没有否决权或否决权; 一项公正的协议将得到所有国家的支持,并得到联合国维和人员的支持。

值得称赞的是,乌克兰已表示愿意以合理的条件与俄罗斯会面。 俄罗斯现在也必须这样做。 世界必须帮助这两个国家完成这项艰巨的任务

最后,我们呼吁各国政府和政界人士强调外交事业,淡化尖酸刻薄,呼吁升级,甚至公开考虑一场全球战争。 今天的全球战争一定是不可想象的,因为它只不过是人类的自杀协议,或政客的谋杀协议。

和平不是绥靖政策,和平缔造者也不是懦夫。 和平缔造者是人类最勇敢的捍卫者。

杰弗里萨克斯, 联合国可持续发展解决方案网络 (SDSN) 主席; 哥伦比亚大学教授

安东尼·安妮特, Gabelli 研究员,福特汉姆大学

驯兽师阿塔巴鲁特, Bogazici 大学终身学习中心 (BULLC) 主任; 可持续发展学院 (SA) 董事会成员; 土耳其新闻委员会高级委员会成员和读者代表; 土耳其大学继续教育中心理事会 (TUSEM) 指导委员会成员和前任主席

理查德·伯纳尔大使, 西印度大学 SALISES 实践教授

伊琳娜·博科娃, 联合国教科文组织前总干事

海伦邦德, 霍华德大学教育学院课程与教学副教授; 美国SDSN联合主席

杰弗里·谢, 双威大学校长 | 马来西亚 SDSN 主席

杰奎琳·科尔贝利, 美国可持续发展联盟创始人兼首席执行官

穆哈马杜·迪亚哈特, 教授,加斯顿伯杰大学

亨德里克·杜托伊特, 创始人兼CEO, 九十一

詹妮弗·斯滕加德·格罗斯, 联合创始人蓝筹基金会

帕维尔·卡巴特,秘书长,人类前沿科学计划; WMO-UN 前首席科学家; IIASA 前总干事

布莱顿考马, 联合国可持续发展解决方案网络全球总监 - 青年

菲比·孔杜里, 雅典经济与商业大学经济学院教授; 欧洲环境与自然资源经济学家协会 (EAERE) 主席

兹拉特科·拉古姆兹亚,教授,波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那前总理; 西巴尔干 SDSN 联合主席

乌普马努·拉尔,哥伦比亚水中心主任; 国际气候与社会研究所高级研究科学家; 哥伦比亚大学 Alan & Carol Silberstein 工程学教授

费利佩·拉雷恩·巴斯库南, 智利天主教大学经济学教授

克劳斯·M·莱辛格,基金会全球价值联盟主席; 联合国秘书长前联合国全球契约特别顾问

贾斯汀·伊夫林, 北京大学国家发展研究院新结构经济研究所&南南合作与发展研究所所长

戈登·G·刘,北京大学博雅国家发展研究院经济学特聘教授; 北京大学全球健康与发展研究院院长

暹罗罗尼, 联合国可持续发展解决方案网络 (SDSN) 全球学校项目主任

戈登麦考德, 加州大学圣地亚哥分校全球政策与战略学院副教授兼副院长

米格尔·安赫尔·莫拉蒂诺斯, 西班牙前外交部长

乔安娜纽曼, 伦敦国王学院高级研究员

阿马杜·伊布拉·娘, 首席执行官, Afrik Innovations

恩戈齐·伊菲奥玛·奥迪亚卡, 尼日利亚贝努埃州马库尔迪联邦农业大学农学院作物生产系教授(现约瑟夫萨旺塔卡大学)

罗莎·奥通巴耶娃, 吉尔吉斯斯坦前总统,“Roza Otunbayeva 倡议”基金会负责人

安东尼·普拉森西亚, 巴塞罗那全球健康研究所 (ISGlobal) 总干事

拉博德·波波拉, 伊巴丹大学可再生自然资源学院社会与环境林业系森林经济学与可持续发展教授

斯特凡诺·昆塔雷利, 互联网创业者

萨宾娜·拉蒂、意大利可持续发展联盟、Laudato Si 行动平台和 Fuori Quota 执行委员会成员

欧文·雷德勒纳(Irwin Redlener), 哥伦比亚大学高级研究学者; 爱因斯坦医学院儿科临床教授

安盖洛·里卡博尼, 锡耶纳大学经济与管理学院教授; PRIMA 基金会主席

凯瑟琳·理查森, 哥本哈根大学可持续发展科学中心教授兼负责人

SE 蒙斯。 马塞洛·桑切斯, 宗座科学院院长

哈利法·穆罕默德·萨努西二世殿下, 联合国可持续发展目标倡导者和第 14 任卡诺埃米尔

Marco F. Simoes Coelho, COPPEAD 国际商业研究中心教授和研究员,里约热内卢

David Smith, 西印度大学可持续发展研究所协调员

尼古拉斯·狄奥多修, 塞萨洛尼基亚里士多德大学技术学院土木工程系副教授

约翰思韦茨, 莫纳什可持续发展研究所主席

Rocky S. Tuan, 香港中文大学副校长兼校长

阿尔伯特·范·贾斯维尔德, 国际应用系统分析研究所 (IIASA) 总干事

帕特里克·保罗·沃尔什, 都柏林大学学院国际发展研究正教授

吉川广和, 考特尼·塞尔·罗斯全球化与教育教授和

纽约大学教授

秀吉杨, 韩国 SDSN 名誉主席

*如果您想签署声明,请前往 此处.

____________________________________________________

[1] 联合国可持续发展解决方案网络 (SDSN) 是一个由大学、学者、政治家、商界领袖和信仰领袖组成的全球网络,在联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯的主持下运作。 我们的使命是帮助确定可持续发展的途径。

下载pdf 此处

关闭

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

A Message to all UN Member States and Leaders of the United Nations (Ukraine)

“The war in Ukraine threatens not only sustainable development, but the survival of humanity. We call upon all nations, operating in accordance with the UN Charter, to put diplomacy to the service of humanity by ending the war through negotiations before the war ends us all.” – Sustainable Development Solutions Network, April, 2022

We urge members and readers of the Global Campaign for Peace Education to sign this call to enable the UN to carry out its responsibility to facilitate the negotiation of an end to the war in Ukraine, preventing the nuclear war now threatening humanity and Earth.

Editor’s Introduction

ABOLITION “to save succeeding generations…”
Start by Suspending the Veto in the Security Council

The Russian aggression against Ukraine has revealed the undeniable need for significant change in the international system, as it raises the possibility for a nuclear war, a worldwide conflagration involving all of us. While individual member states are providing military support for Ukrainian resistance, the organization charged with achieving and maintaining peace has initiated no significant intervention to end the armed conflict. As the United Nations appears to be paralyzed in the face of one of its greatest challenges, global civil society is taking action, such as the call issued by the Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) posted below.

The GCPE has recently posted articles noting some specific steps toward change. This call proposes essential actions, which with the exception of the suspension of the veto in the Security Council, can be taken within the present UN charter. The Sustainable Development Solutions Network, a global initiative for the United Nations urges these steps; passing a resolution of the General Assembly calling for peace negotiations; suspending the veto in the Security Council while it negotiates peace; dispatching peacekeepers to implement peace. Such steps would enable the UN to carry out its foundational purpose, “to save succeeding generations from the scourge of war” and to save this generation from nuclear annihilation.

This and previous posts have referred to other possibilities for UN action. Subsequent posts will focus on other possibilities within the present charter and possibilities for charter revision that promise wider and more relevant action on the part of the only existing global institution charged with ending war. Prominent among the proposals presented for professional consideration and political action on the part of GCPE members, readers, and the field of peace education will be abolition of: the Security Council veto; nuclear weapons; and of the institution of war. All peace educators and students might undertake consideration of changes in the UN and the international system that might also serve to “end the scourge of war.”

Please sign the statement posted here, circulate it to others, and send copies to your nation’s minister of foreign affairs or equivalent and to your permanent representative to the United Nations (UN ambassador.) [BAR, 4/17/22]

A Message to all UN Member States and Leaders of the United Nations

(Reposted from: SDSN Association.  April 15, 2022).

click here to sign the statement

From Members of the Leadership Council of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network and Members of the SDSN Community [1]

April 14, 2022

The war in Ukraine threatens not only sustainable development, but the survival of humanity. We call on all nations, operating in accordance with the UN Charter, to put diplomacy to the service of humanity by ending the war through negotiations before the war ends all of us.

The world must urgently return to the path of peace. Blessed are the peacemakers, teaches Jesus in the Gospels. The Qur’an invites the righteous to the Dar as-Salam, the abode of peace. Buddha teaches Ahimsa, nonviolence to all living beings. Isaiah prophesizes the day when nation will no longer fight against nation, nor train for war anymore.

International peace and security are the first purposes of the United Nations. The world’s nations dare not fail to bring peace to Ukraine in the momentous hours ahead.

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is repugnant, cruel, and sacrilegious, in the words of Pope Francis, making the search for peace our most urgent need. This is especially true as an even more devastating military confrontation builds in Eastern Ukraine. President Vladimir Putin has recently declared the peace talks at a “dead end.” The world cannot accept this. All nations and the United Nations must do all in their power to revive the peace talks and bring the parties to a successful and rapid agreement.

Peace requires dialogue and diplomacy, not more heavy weaponry that will ultimately lay Ukraine to utter ruin. The path of military escalation in Ukraine is one of guaranteed suffering and despair. Still worse, military escalation risks a conflict that spirals to Armageddon.

History shows that the Cuban Missile Crisis nearly led to nuclear war even after the leaders of the US and Soviet Union had reached a diplomatic solution. Because of misunderstandings, a disabled Soviet submarine nearly launched a nuclear-tipped torpedo that could have triggered a full nuclear response by the United States. Only the brave actions of a single Soviet party officer on the submarine halted the firing of the torpedo, thereby saving the world.

Russia and Ukraine can certainly reach an agreement that fulfills the two fundamental aims of the UN Charter: territorial integrity and security for both Ukraine and Russia.

President Volodymyr Zelensky of Ukraine has already identified a diplomatic solution: Ukraine’s neutrality – no NATO membership – and its territorial integrity secured by international law. Russia’s troops must leave Ukraine, but not to be replaced by NATO’s troops or heavy weaponry. We note that the UN Charter uses the words “peace” and “peaceful” 49 times, but never once uses the word “alliance” or the phrase “military alliance.”

Escalation of conflicts comes all too easily, while negotiation requires wisdom and willpower. UN members are deeply divided in their understandings of the conflict, but they should be completely united by their shared interest in an immediate ceasefire, halt to attacks on civilians, and return to peace. The war is causing horrific deaths and staggering destruction – hundreds of billions of dollars of damage to Ukraine’s cities, which have been reduced to rubble in mere weeks – and growing economic chaos worldwide: soaring food prices and shortages, millions of refugees, the breakdown of global trade and supply chains, and rising political instability around the world, hitting the poorest nations and households with devastating burdens.

The UN Security Council (UNSC) has the world’s sacred responsibility to keep the peace. Some say that the UNSC cannot play this role with Russia on the Security Council. Yet this view is completely mistaken. The UNSC can secure the peace precisely because Russia, China, the US, France, and the United Kingdom are all permanent members. These five permanent members, together with the other ten members of the UNSC, must negotiate with each other to find a way forward that preserves the territorial integrity of Ukraine while meeting the security needs of Ukraine, Russia, and indeed the other 191 UN member states.

We applaud the bold and creative efforts of President Tayyip Erdogan of Turkey to help the two parties to find an agreement, yet we bemoan the lack of direct talks within the UN Security Council. We are not calling for more soundbites in which diplomats hurl invectives at each other. We are calling for true negotiations guided by the UN Charter. We are talking about peace through the UN rule of law, not through power, threats, and divisive military alliances.

We should not have to remind the world’s nations of the harrowing fragility of these days. The war threatens to escalate by the hour. And this occurs during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, which claims around 5,000 lives each day. Even now, in the third year of the pandemic, the world has failed to provide vaccine doses for the world’s poor and vulnerable and has failed in no small part because of the geopolitical tensions among the vaccine-producing nations.

The massive displacement of refugees and rising hunger worldwide due to the war in Ukraine now threaten an even greater surge of disease, death, and instability and deeper financial hardship for poor nations. And lurking behind the war and pandemic is the slow-moving beast of human-induced climate change, another woe pulling humanity towards the cliff. The most recent IPCC report reminds us that we have exhausted the margin of climate safety. We need immediate climate action. Yet the war drains the attention, multilateral cooperation, and the financing needed to rescue us from our manmade climate emergency.

As educators and university leaders, we also recognize our own heightened responsibilities to our students. We must teach not only scientific and technical know-how to achieve sustainable development, as important as those topics are today, but also the pathways to peace, problem solving, and conflict resolution. We must educate young people so that today’s youth gain the wisdom to respect global diversity and to settle disputes peacefully, through thoughtful negotiation and compromise.

In the spirit of the UN Charter and Universal Declaration of Human Rights, we call on all nations of the UN General Assembly, unanimously and without exception, to adopt a resolution calling for an urgent negotiated peace that meets the needs and security of Ukraine, Russia, and all other nations.

We call on the UN Security Council to meet in an emergency session, for as long as necessary, to ensure that the full weight of the UN Charter is brought to bear to end the war in Ukraine through diplomatic means.

We call on permanent members of the UNSC to negotiate with diplomacy rather than rancor and to recognize that true peace must meet the security needs of all countries. There is no need or room for a veto; a just agreement will be supported by all nations and can be backed by UN peacekeepers.

Ukraine, to its profound credit, has signaled its readiness to meet Russia on reasonable terms; Russia now must also do the same. And the world must help these two nations to accomplish this difficult task

Finally, we call on all governments and politicians to emphasize the cause of diplomacy and to tamp down the vitriol, calls for escalation, and even open contemplation of a global war. Global war today must remain unthinkable, as it would be nothing other than a suicide pact for humanity, or a murderous pact of politicians.

Peace is not appeasement, and peacemakers are not cowards. Peacemakers are the bravest defenders of humanity.

Jeffrey Sachs, President, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN); University Professor, Columbia University

Anthony Annett, Gabelli Fellow, Fordham University

Tamer Atabarut, Director, Bogazici University Lifelong Learning Centre (BULLC); Board Member, Sustainability Academy (SA); High Council Member & Readers’ Representative, Press Council of Turkey; Steering Committee Member & Past President, Council of Turkish Universities Continuing Education Centres (TUSEM)

Ambassador Richard L. Bernal, Professor of Practice, SALISES, University of the West Indies

Irina Bokova, Former Director-General of UNESCO

Helen Bond, University Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, School of Education, Howard University; Co-Chair of SDSN USA

Jeffrey Cheah, Chancellor, Sunway University | Chairman, SDSN Malaysia

Jacqueline Corbelli, Founder and CEO, US Coalition on Sustainability

Mouhamadou Diakhaté, Professor, Université Gaston Berger

Hendrik du Toit, Founder & CEO, Ninety One

Jennifer Stengaard Gross, Co-Founder Blue Chip Foundation

Pavel Kabat, Secretary-General, Human Frontier Science Program; Former Chief Scientist, WMO-UN; Former Director General, IIASA

Brighton Kaoma, Global Director, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network – Youth

Phoebe Koundouri, Professor, School of Economics, Athens University of Economics & Business; President, European Association of Environmental and Natural Resource Economists (EAERE)

Zlatko Lagumdzija, Professor, Former Prime Minister of Bosnia and Herzegovina; co-chair Western Balkan SDSN

Upmanu Lall, Director, Columbia Water Center; Senior Research Scientist, International Research Institute for Climate & Society; Alan & Carol Silberstein Professor of Engineering, Columbia University

Felipe Larrain Bascuñan, Professor of Economics, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Klaus M. Leisinger, President, Foundation Global Values Alliance; Former Special Advisor to the UN Secretary-General on the UN Global Compact

Justin Yifu Lin, Dean, Institute of New Structural Economics & Institute for South-South Cooperation and Development, National School of Development, Peking University

Gordon G. Liu, Peking University BOYA Distinguished Professor of Economics at National School of Development; and Dean of PKU Institute for Global Health and Development

Siamak Loni, Director, Global Schools Program, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN)

Gordon McCord, Associate Teaching Professor & Associate Dean, School of Global Policy and Strategy, The University of California, San Diego

Miguel Ángel Moratinos, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain

Joanna Newman, Senior Research Fellow, King’s College London

Amadou Ibra Niang, CEO, Afrik Innovations

Ngozi Ifeoma Odiaka, Professor, Crop Production Department, College of Agronomy, Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi, Benue State, Nigeria (Now Joseph Sarwuan Tarka University)

Roza Otunbayeva, Former President of Kyrgyzstan, Head of Foundation “Initiatives of Roza Otunbayeva”

Antoni Plasència, Director General, Barcelona Institute for Global Health (ISGlobal)

Labode Popoola, Professor of Forest Economics & Sustainable Development, Department of Social and Environmental Forestry, Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources, University of Ibadan

Stefano Quintarelli, Internet Entrepreneur

Sabina Ratti, Italian Alliance for Sustainable Development, Laudato Si Action Platform and Fuori Quota executive board member

Irwin Redlener, Senior Research Scholar, Columbia University; Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Angelo Riccaboni, Professor, School of Economics and Management, University of Siena; Chair, PRIMA Foundation

Katherine Richardson, Professor and Leader of Sustainability Science Centre, University of Copenhagen

S.E. Mons. Marcelo Sánchez, Chancellor, The Pontifical Academy of Sciences

His Highness, Khalifa Muhammad Sanusi II, UN SDG Advocate and 14th Emir of Kano

Marco F. Simoes Coelho, Professor and Researcher, COPPEAD Center for International Business Studies, Rio de Janeiro

David Smith, Coordinator, Institute for Sustainable Development, The University of the West Indies

Nicolaos Theodossiou, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, School of Technology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

John Thwaites, Chair, Monash Sustainable Development Institute

Rocky S. Tuan, Vice-Chancellor and President, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Albert van Jaarsveld, Director-General, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)

Patrick Paul Walsh, Full Professor of International Development Studies, University College Dublin

Hirokazu Yoshikawa, Courtney Sale Ross Professor of Globalization and Education and

University Professor, New York University

Soogil Young, Honorary Chairman, SDSN South Korea

*If you would like to sign the statement, please go here.

____________________________________________________

[1] The UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) is a worldwide network of universities, scholars, politicians, business leaders, and faith leaders operating under the auspices of UN Secretary-General António Guterres. Our mission is to help identify pathways to sustainable development.

Download the pdf here

close
Join the Campaign & help us #SpreadPeaceEd!
Please send me emails:

Join the discussion...

Scroll to Top