诺贝尔妇女倡议对科拉·韦斯的采访

诺贝尔妇女倡议对科拉·韦斯的采访

(来源文章: 诺贝尔妇女倡议。 30 年 2016 月 XNUMX 日)

“看看孩子和孙子,你自己的和其他人的。 他们理应生活在一个健全而安全的世界中,而我们的工作就是为他们提供这个世界!”

科拉·维斯。 (照片:克里斯托弗·尼科尔森)
科拉·维斯。 (照片:克里斯托弗·尼科尔森)

82 岁的 Cora Weiss 已经活跃了半个多世纪,并且参与了我们这个时代的一些最重要的事业。 她是妇女和平罢工的早期成员和后来的国家领导人,该组织帮助结束了大气层核试验,并于 2000 年起草了具有开创性的联合国 安全理事会第 1325 号决议呼吁妇女参与各级政府和预防暴力冲突,并在发生武装冲突的情况下保护妇女和女童。 她赢得了各种奖项,包括多项诺贝尔和平奖提名。


你说如果不解决战争本身的问题,结束战争中的性别暴力或强奸的斗争就不会成功。 你可以解释吗?

我说你不能把强奸从战争中剔除,让战争继续下去,我想废除战争,而不是让女性安全。 那是因为性暴力不是凭空发生的。 对和平的追求是全面的——你不能只解决一个问题,并认为一切都会好起来的。 制止性虐待的运动并没有解决使性虐待成为可能的暴力文化。 它没有解决环境破坏问题——这会导致经济问题、绝望、战争和更多的暴力。 它没有解决气候变化问题,因为人们试图逃避其恐怖,气候变化将引发更多暴力。 经济不平等滋生暴力。 性别歧视滋生暴力。 饥饿滋生暴力。 这就是为什么我致力于 全球和平教育运动1999 年 XNUMX 月海牙呼吁和平会议产生,这是历史上最大的和平会议。 我们需要从暴力文化转向和平文化。 没有教育你就做不到这一点。

我们需要从暴力文化转向和平文化。 没有教育你就做不到这一点。

什么是和平文化? 和平教育如何让我们达到目标?

当世界人民了解其问题并具备建设性解决冲突的技能时,就会产生和平文化。 和平教育意味着民主、人权、性别平等、裁军、可持续发展、传统和平做法的教学。 它是在公民社会中由教师和社区领导人在正式或非正式环境中完成的。 这还不是群众运动,但会流行起来。 它必须。 我们别无选择。

和平教育意味着民主、人权、性别平等、裁军、可持续发展、传统和平做法的教学。

在激进主义的一生中,谁是你的英雄?

我的母亲是一名俄罗斯移民,在一个贫穷的大家庭中长大,后来成为她在纽约大学班级的告别演说员。 我拿到学士学位的那一年,她拿到了博士学位。 哥伦比亚大学人类学博士。 我爱埃莉诺·罗斯福,她是女性的榜样,也是正派和正义的榜样。 还有贝莎·冯·苏特纳(Bertha von Suttner),这位奥地利妇女回答了阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔的广告,成为他的管家,然后是朋友,并告诉他将炸药发明的利润用于和平奖。 冯·萨特纳写了一部有影响力的反战小说,1905 年,她成为第一位获得诺贝尔和平奖的人。 为了性别平衡,让我加上马丁·路德·金、科菲·安南和教皇弗朗西斯——尽管他的政策是和平政策,而不是生育政策。

战争在如此多的地方肆虐,很难不气馁。 随着时间的推移,你是如何保持坚强和投入的?

你所要做的就是看看孩子和孙子,你自己的和其他人的。 他们理应生活在一个健全而安全的世界中,而我们的工作就是为他们提供这个世界! 我有希望,因为有很多理由让我感到希望。 因为就在几周前,数以千计的巴勒斯坦和以色列妇女为和平而一起游行。 因为哥伦比亚的女性和平教育者正在前哥伦比亚革命武装力量领土的 12 所学校教授和解; 因为该国的第一个和平协议——不幸地被投票否决了不到 XNUMX%——包含了性别平等和生殖权利的条款。 因为在菲律宾,妇女致力于支持摩洛解放阵线与政府之间的和平协议。 这 妇女建设和平者全球网络,一个由来自非洲、亚洲和拉丁美洲 25 个国家(其中大多数受冲突影响)的民间社会组织组成的联盟,帮助妇女学习如何参与决策、促进性别平等和预防暴力。 他们创建了一个 Cora Weiss Fellowship 来培训年轻女性,这绝对让我感到震惊。 到处都是体面的口袋,不会停止的人,必须支持和传播的努力。 如果你忽视了这一点,你可能早上都起不来了。

了解更多

阅读有关 Cora Weiss 的更多信息 当我们大胆时:让我们颠倒的世界变得正确的女性,由她们启发的女性撰写的 28 篇关于女性和平缔造者和女权主义者的文章集。

采取行动

与@NobelWomen 和#16Days 联系 FacebookTwitterYouTube及 Instagram.

订阅 通过电子邮件,并在 16 天的激进主义活动中每天将个人资料发送到您的收件箱。

(转到原始文章)

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Nobel Women’s Initiative interview with Cora Weiss

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

Nobel Women’s Initiative interview with Cora Weiss

(Original article: Nobel Women’s Initiative.  November 30, 2016)

“Look at the children and grandchildren, your own and everyone else’s. They deserve a sane and safe world to live in, and it’s our job to give it to them!”

Cora Weiss. (Photo:  Christopher Nicholson)

Cora Weiss. (Photo: Christopher Nicholson)

At 82, Cora Weiss has been active for more than half a century, and in some of our age’s most important causes. She was an early member and later national leader of Women Strike for Peace, which helped end nuclear testing in the atmosphere, and in 2000, worked on drafting the groundbreaking UN Security Council Resolution 1325, which called for the participation of women at all levels of government and in the prevention of violent conflict, and the protection of women and girls in situations where armed conflict occurs. She has won a variety of awards, including several Nobel peace prize nominations.


You say fights to end gender violence or rape in war can’t succeed without addressing the issue of war itself. Can you explain?

I say that you can’t pluck rape out of war and let the war go on, and that I want to abolish war, not make it safe for women. That’s because sexual violence does not occur in a vacuum. The quest for peace is holistic—you can’t solve only one problem, and think things will be all right. A campaign to stop sexual abuse does not address the culture of violence that makes sexual abuse possible. It does not address environmental damage—which leads to economic problems, which causes desperation, which causes war, and more violence. It does not address climate change, which will beget still more violence, as people try to escape its horrors. Economic inequality breeds violence. Gender discrimination breeds violence. Hunger breeds violence. That is why I’m devoted to the Global Campaign for Peace Education, which came out of the Hague Appeal for Peace Conference in May 1999, the biggest peace conference in history. We need to go from a culture of violence to a culture of peace. And you can’t do that without education.

We need to go from a culture of violence to a culture of peace. And you can’t do that without education.

What is a culture of peace? How will peace education get us there?

A culture of peace comes when people of the world understand its problems and also have the skills to resolve conflict constructively. Peace education means teaching for democracy, for and about human rights, gender equality, disarmament, sustainable development, traditional peace practices. It’s done within civil society, by teachers and community leaders whether in formal or informal settings. It is not a mass movement yet, but it will catch on. It has to. We have no alternative.

Peace education means teaching for democracy, for and about human rights, gender equality, disarmament, sustainable development, traditional peace practices.

Over a lifetime of activism, who have been your heroes?

My mother, a Russian immigrant raised in a poor extended family who became the valedictorian of her class at New York University. The year I got my bachelor’s degree, she got her Ph.D. in anthropology from Columbia.  I loved Eleanor Roosevelt, who was a role model for women, and also for decency and justice. There’s also Bertha von Suttner, the Austrian woman who answered an ad from Alfred Nobel, became his housekeeper, then friend, and told him to put the profits from his dynamite invention into a peace prize. Von Suttner wrote an influential anti-war novel, and in 1905, she became the first to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. For the sake of gender balance, let me add Martin Luther King, Kofi Annan, and Pope Francis—though for his policies on peace, not reproduction.

With war raging in so many places, it’s hard not to be discouraged. How have you stayed strong and committed over time?

All you have to do is look at the children and grandchildren, your own and everyone else’s. They deserve a sane and safe world to live in, and it’s our job to give it to them! I have hope because there are many reasons to feel hopeful. Because thousands of Palestinian and Israeli women marched together for peace just a few weeks ago. Because women peace educators in Colombia are teaching reconciliation in 12 schools in former FARC territory; because the country’s first peace agreement – tragically voted down by less than one percent – contained provisions for gender equity and reproductive rights. Because in the Philippines, women work to support the peace agreement between the Moro Liberation Front and the government. The Global Network of Women Peacebuilders, a coalition of civil society organizations in 25 countries across Africa, Asia, and Latin America—most of them, conflict-affected – helps women learn how to participate in decision making, to promote gender equality and prevent violence. They have created a Cora Weiss Fellowship to train young women, which absolutely knocks me out. Everywhere, there are pockets of decency, people who won’t stop, efforts that have to be supported and spread. If you lose sight of that, you might as well not get up in the morning.

LEARN MORE

Read more about Cora Weiss in When We Are Bold: Women Who Turn Our Upsidedown World Right, a collection of 28 essay about women peacemakers and feminists by women they’ve inspired.

TAKE ACTION

Connect with @NobelWomen and #16Days on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and Instagram.

Subscribe by email and have a profile delivered to your inbox each day of the 16 Days of Activism.

(Go to original article)

CONTENT DISCLAIMER: please read the Global Campaign for Peace Education's content disclaimer / policy regarding the posting and sharing of content.