伊拉克青年致力于建设和平文化

2017 年 XNUMX 月,伊拉克青年穿着传统服饰跳舞,这是庆祝文化和信仰差异的社区活动的一部分。 该活动只是由伊拉克 al-Amani 协会和东门诺大学正义与和平建设中心推动的青年建设和平和领导力培训所产生的众多高潮项目之一。 (图片由伊拉克 al-Amani 协会提供)

(转自: 东门诺大学。 30 年 2017 月 XNUMX 日)

通过劳伦杰斐逊

情人节那天,在伊拉克的一家商场里,购物者看到了独特的景象。 XNUMX 名身着来自该国多种文化的传统服饰的年轻人聚集在一起唱歌、跳舞,并分发鲜花和气球,传达爱与共存的信息。

该活动是伊拉克青年在伊拉克各地创建和实施的 42 项活动之一,旨在促进在分裂的政治气候中挣扎的伊拉克社区之间的和平共处和宽容。

该项目汇集了东门诺大学的 正义与建设和平中心 和 伊拉克阿迈勒协会 在一个以青年和学者为重点的多阶段项目中,以在该国建立和平文化。

根据由联合国开发计划署资助的项目赠款,作为伊拉克社会结构的主要利益相关者,青年和学者“被视为有助于加强社会凝聚力和促进民间社会倡议以及各族裔和宗教团体之间的对话”。 (开发计划署)。

五名EMU教职员工和校友参与其中:Dr. 阿尔玛·阿卜杜勒·哈迪·贾达拉,Kommon Denominator 总裁兼董事总经理,以及 CJP 兼职教员; 阿拉阿里 MA '14, 开发计划署发展干事; 辛西娅·纳西夫 MA '14 黎巴嫩,和 Najla El Mangoush MA '15 利比亚,乔治梅森大学的博士生; 和 艾哈迈德·塔里克 MA '16,伊拉克。

Nassif、Mangoush 和 Tarik 用阿拉伯语为青年和学者设计了解决冲突的讲习班。 Jadallah 于 2016 年 XNUMX 月为青年提供了第一次培训,随后为伊拉克大学的青年提供了另外两个培训和三个为学者提供的培训。 虽然学术培训将导致伊拉克各地大学共享的和平建设课程,但青年培训最终形成了一系列社区建设和平项目提案。

Mangoush 很高兴有机会与 CJP 校友在一个项目上合作,“实践我们作为来自不同阿拉伯国家的和平建设者的信念和技能,以协助伊拉克的和平。” 她补充说,该项目的一个重要方面是“承认需要从当地的角度和通过宗教宽容来促进和平。”

超过563名来自纳杰夫、尼尼微和巴格达的青年申请参加培训。 七十二人入选,标准包括年龄、潜力、经验、人脉、责任、多样性和远见。

Nassif 表示,培训结束后,参与者创建了项目提案,利用体育、艺术、社交媒体、倾听和对话来解决各种主题:妇女权利、儿童教育、流离失所者和东道国社区参与、宗教间对话和解决冲突研讨会。 . El Mangoush 和 Nassif 评估并选择了资助提案。

伊拉克 al-Amal 协会的青年项目协调员 Muntather Hassan 参加了每次培训,与青年合作制定他们的建议,并观看选定的项目取得成果。

除了情人节项目,其他资助项目包括:

  • 一个 Facebook 页面,为以和平为主题的艺术作品提供空间。 五位艺术家开始了这个项目,另外还有 50 位艺术家加入了他们的行列。
  • 埃尔比勒的探视计划,穆斯林活动家在埃尔比勒探访国内流离失所的基督徒儿童,在巴格达,基督徒和穆斯林活动家都探访了穆斯林儿童。

尽管伊拉克充满了问题,但哈桑说,年轻人看到了改变和解决“老一辈看不到”的问题的机会。 他说,他们的动机是希望过上没有恐惧的正常生活,“普通的需求给了他们动力。”

“像这样的旅程一生只有一次,”一位参与者写道。 另一位分享说,他感到“被爱、被尊重、被支持和被倾听”。 另一个人了解到并非所有穆斯林都是伊斯兰国。”

“穆罕默德从埃尔比勒回来时是一个不同的人,一个更好的人,”一位参与者的父母说。

(转到原始文章)

成为第一个评论者

加入讨论...

Youth wearing traditional dress dance in Iraq in February 2017 as part of a community event celebrating cultural and faith differences. The event was just one of many culminating projects that resulted from youth peacebuilding and leadership trainings faciliated by the Iraqi al-Amani Association and Eastern Mennonite University's Center for Justice and Peacebuilding. (Photo courtesy of the Iraqi al-Amani Association)

Iraqi youth work to build culture of peace

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

(Reposted from: Eastern Mennonite University.  June 30, 2017)

By Lauren Jefferson

In an Iraqi mall on Valentine’s Day, shoppers were treated to a unique sight. Twenty-eight young people wearing traditional dress from the many cultures in the country congregated to sing, dance, and hand out flowers and balloons with messages of love and co-existence.

The event, one of 42 created and implemented by Iraqi youth across Iraq, was to promote peaceful coexistence and tolerance among Iraqi communities struggling through a divisive political climate.

The project brings together Eastern Mennonite University’s Center for Justice and Peacebuilding and the Iraqi al-Amal Association in a multi-phase project that focuses on youth and academics to build a culture of peace in the country.

As key stakeholders in Iraqi social fabric, youth and academics are “seen as instrumental in strengthening social cohesion and promoting civil society initiatives and dialogue between various ethnic and religious groups,” according to the project grant, which is funded by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

Five EMU faculty and alumni are involved: Dr. Alma Abdul-hadi Jadallah, president and managing director of Kommon Denominator, and CJP adjunct faculty; Aala Ali MA ’14, UNDP development officer; Cynthia Nassif MA ’14 of Lebanon , and Najla El Mangoush MA ’15 of Libya, both doctoral students at George Mason University; and Ahmed Tarik MA ’16, of Iraq.

Nassif, Mangoush and Tarik designed workshops on conflict resolution in Arabic for both youths and academics. Jadallah provided the first training for youth in October 2016, followed by two others for youth and three for academics from Iraqi universities. While the academic trainings will lead to a peace building curricula that would be shared by universities across Iraq, the youth trainings culminated in a series of community peacebuilding project proposals.

Mangoush appreciated the opportunity to work together with CJP alumni on one project, “practicing our beliefs and skills as peacebuilders from different Arabic countries to assist peace in Iraq.” An important aspect of the project, she adds, is “acknowledging the need to promote peace from a local perspective and through religious tolerance.”

More than 563 youth from Najaf, Nineveh and Baghdad applied to participate in the trainings. Seventy-two were selected, with criteria including age, potential, experience, connections, responsibility, diversity and vision.

After the trainings, participants created project proposals that employed sports, arts, social media, listening and dialogue to address a variety of topics: women’s rights, children’s education, displaced persons and host community engagement, interfaith dialogue and conflict resolution workshops, according to Nassif. El Mangoush and Nassif evaluated and selected proposals for funding.

Muntather Hassan, youth program coordinator for the Iraqi al-Amal Association, has attended each training, worked with youth on their proposals, and watched selected projects come to fruition.

Besides the Valentine’s Day project, other funded projects include:

  • A Facebook page that provides a space for artworks created on the theme of peace. Five artists started this project, and they’ve been joined by 50 others.
  • Visitation programs in Erbil, where Muslim activists visited internally displaced Christian children in Erbil, and in Baghdad, where both Christian and Muslim activists visited Muslim children.

Though Iraq is full of problems, Hassan says young people see a chance to make a difference and to address issues “the older generation can’t see.” They are motivated, he said, by the desire to live a normal life without fear, “ordinary needs that give them motivation.”

“A journey like this comes once a life,” wrote one participant. Another shared that he felt “loved, respected, supported and listened to.” Yet another learned not all Muslims are ISIS.”

“Mohammed came back from Erbil as a different person, a better one,” said one participant’s parents.

(Go to original article)

CONTENT DISCLAIMER: please read the Global Campaign for Peace Education's content disclaimer / policy regarding the posting and sharing of content.